Mazda CX-5 facelift – ads appear on oto.my, RM172k

mazda-cx5-oto-my

Hang on, what’s this? It would seem as though advertisements for the upcoming Mazda CX-5 facelift have surfaced on our sister classifieds site, oto.my. In an earlier report, we mentioned that the facelifted crossover was due to arrive on Malaysian soil at the end of the year.

However, with ads already popping up, this could only indicate that the Mazda CX-5 facelift is set to make its local debut a lot sooner than we would have thought. A Bermaz source has revealed a launch date of somewhere between April and May this year.

The Mazda CX-5 facelift will initially be brought in as a CBU model with CKD operations expected to commence a while after the launch. As illustrated in the ad, the CX-5 facelift will be made available with in a 2.5 litre/all-wheel drive guise.

As is the case with most facelifts, the 2.5 AWD CX-5 facelift will arrive with more obvious front grille inserts, restyled bi-xenon head lamps with LED daytime running lights as well as LED rear lamps. Inside, the new car gets a seven-inch TFT touchscreen infotainment system replete with navigation and a reverse camera.

Other goodies include an electronic parking brake, keyless entry with push start button, automatic windscreen wipers, automatic dimming rear view mirror and a 9-speaker Bose sound system. On the safety front, it would seem that the Malaysian-spec 2.5 litre AWD CX-5 will be kitted out with a total of six airbags.

Elsewhere, the usual array of ABS, electronic brakeforce distribution (EBD), brake assist, stability and traction control are featured. Further information from the ad discloses the power figures from the 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G petrol engine – a total of 185 hp and 250 Nm of torque is touted.

GALLERY: Malaysian-spec pre-facelift Mazda CX-5 2.5

GALLERY: Mazda CX-5 facelift

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:52 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
    • underpowercrampy on Mar 11, 2015 at 12:34 pm

Diesel 2.2l
      -150ps and 380Nm
      -0-100 sprint : 10.2 sec

If petrol 2.5l with 185 hp and 250 Nm?? i think will be around 11 – 12 sec! Quite underpower for 2.5l!

Not to mention “cheap” 2.0l!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
      • W204 C63 AMG on Mar 11, 2015 at 12:41 pm

Wrong, the 2.5 Mazda6 0-100 is 8 secs. The CX-5 which is based on a Mazda3 has have a sub 10 secs 0-100.

• it is 7.8 secs.

• kakakakka on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Lol that’s only on those bolehland eyes, try to look at UK website, they dun dare to con people.

Then people has tested those claimed 9 sec sprint, it’s BS. More less like 11 secs!

Hahahahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 12:48 pm

butthurt honda salesmen…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Drift King Kong on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:47 pm

Sam Loo going to sell mazda?

• Enough with this bull**it RV crap already. Go and get a life man. Aren’t you tired of this? No one’s really caring anymore and you have made yourself a mocking ground for others here. Yeah at the beginning it was “funny” and “cute” and even they featured you in one of their episodes but then now it’s turning into an idiotic sequence of annoyance and you gotta know when to stop.

• car-fans on Mar 11, 2015 at 12:09 pm

CX-3 Pls … But make sure the price is reasonable else consumer go for HR-V :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Malaysia didn’t get LED headlights ? Damn we dint get the full specifications again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 28
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 12:35 pm

got la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • Led and bi-xenon is different. Im not talking about LED running lights

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:14 pm

check out mazda japan’s website…pretty sure thats the led lights

• lantis on Mar 11, 2015 at 12:55 pm

Is it very important to have LED headlight? having a full spec or non full spec doesn’t related if this CX-5 is not your cup of tea rite?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 12:36 pm

prefer the pre-facelift grille

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • cheaper_older_version on Mar 11, 2015 at 1:03 pm

i hope with this new facelift, the price of current version can be dropped for 20-30k. then i will not be hesitate to get one for myself.

• Pathetic rim design.

C’mon everywhere in the world the CX5 comes with nice 19 inches rim, why we only getting that noobie 17 inch???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • sepul on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:12 pm

Cheaper to replace the tires, dude. Plus more ride comfort.

17 inch sizes is reasonable for this type of car.

• Megane on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:42 pm

Come on dude, 19″ tyres are too expensive here in Malaysia. If you prefer just change them from 17″ to 19″ as u wish. Not all people are as rich as you are

• Seattle on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:49 pm

Because the same fellow like you complained about the 19′ tires are too expensive and complaint what Mazda Malaysia are doing when they first brought in 19′. You guys will just complaint, complaint, complaint until we have a Aston Martin selling at 60K. But then there will still be complaint also, Aston Martin fuel consumption too high. So 60k still not worth it.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 11, 2015 at 9:42 pm

i agree the sentiment that berjaya should have reduced the price when they switched to smaller rims…but 19 inch tyres are really expensive….and its not good on malaysian roads…best way…berjaya should give it as a cost extra option

• Hopefully sound of “Tikus Singing” at the back would gone forever…

• sam loo (not toyota salesman) on Mar 11, 2015 at 2:17 pm

When i see this im thankful i have a camry..RV is king

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • Everything is Ok..but the problem Mazda is SC..not many SC especially outside Klang Valley..that why more Malaysian prefer Toyota n Honda…n still think resale value..unless Mazda setting more SC…

• Khairi on Mar 11, 2015 at 6:50 pm

Does the ad on OTO has been removed???????? Can’t find it anymore

• Anwar on Mar 11, 2015 at 8:04 pm

I live and work in KSA..so I can share firsthand overview of car prices here

The price of full spec, Japan CBU of Mazda CX-5 model 2015 is SR 95k (equiv RM 93,671.18)

No roadtax, and gasoline RON95 is SR0.60/liter, ‘cheaper’ RON91 is SR0.45/liter

By the way, the bigger sibling Mazda CX-9 costs SR 125.5k (RM 123,744.56)

The only drawback is drivers here are all idiots, no comparison, even by the worst of Malaysian drivers.

• lolerd on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:35 pm

What is KSA? YOur dreamland? LOLOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
      • berombon on Mar 11, 2015 at 11:08 pm

KSA = Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.
        Aiyoo….sangat suka menampakkan sendiri punya bodoh la you ni….cer try google ke dulu baru post comment tu tadi..

• Stone Cold on Mar 12, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Ha ha ha..

• lolerd on Mar 12, 2015 at 11:06 pm

No need to go there to know the prices, only idiots will say he is in here and there just to talk kok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • Booyah on Mar 13, 2015 at 5:34 pm

If so bro, tell me how much is the price of Mazda 6 in the Middle East? Big cox no egg la u

• tiger on Mar 11, 2015 at 10:12 pm

Mazda, 5 year warranty please. 3 years become stone age already.

• diesel lover on Mar 19, 2015 at 4:15 pm

Hopefully the facelift cx5 wil paired the 2.2 skyactiv-d engine

• The front grille ruined the car. The previous old model with the honeycomb grille looked better.