Mazda CX-5 2.5 CKD gets higher specs, lower prices

cx5-ckd-pricelist-edit

Now this is exciting news indeed. The official pricelist of the yet-to-be-launched Mazda CX-5 2.5 CKD has made its way on to the Internet, and it looks like the locally-assembled SUV is set to get higher specifications compared to the existing CBU models, but matched with lower prices.

The document lists the 2.5 2WD model at RM144,756.70 with solid paint, and RM145,156.70 with metallic paint (both OTR without insurance). This compared very favourably against the 2.5 2WD CBU’s RM160,609.70 price tag. The 2.5 4WD variant seems to have been discontinued for this run.

In fact, such prices make the 2.5 litre CKD models more affordable than the equally locally-assembled CX-5 2.0 4WD High Spec variant, which goes for RM150,165.50.

Mazda-CX-5_02

Even more surprising is that this new introduction will see the return of the CX-5’s large 19-inch wheels, which had been replaced with 17-inch items in Malaysia since late 2012. The specsheet lists the bigger alloys, together with GPS navigation, leather seats, nine-speaker Bose sound system and “Mazda SkyTint” safety film.

If you’re looking for a catch, well, there is a big one, unfortunately. The model in question here the pre-facelift Mazda CX-5, and not the updated version that has had a limited introduction in Malaysia earlier this year. If you don’t mind the old looks, though, this seems like a very good deal indeed.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• I love Mazda on Aug 18, 2015 at 4:19 pm

So basically just clearing old stock at discounted prince la

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
    • Toyota Salesman Suicidal on Aug 19, 2015 at 10:01 am

Habis la Toyota salesman now. This car, although SUV, is better value than the jamban Camry. Who will buy Camry now?

Sam Loo, Same Lorrr and his other identity SamShowedMetheHilux all crying now. You will see so many Altis in used car dealership because nobody wants a car with no VSC. It is a Moving Coffin. Camry and Altis BOth got 2 airbags and no VSC and this Mazda got far more airbags and VSC

• sleman on Aug 20, 2015 at 4:53 am

prince or price? o_O

• Dafuq? Why selling old junk to us? Do they even sincere in launching products????? Malaysian car distributors these days… Tsk tsk.. Very disappointing!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • shawal on Aug 18, 2015 at 4:58 pm

the lack of 4WD is surely based on market demand , bermaz are as selling a boatload of these things and they are merely giving in to the demands….

its not all bad , the car might not fulfill those ‘camel trophy’ dreams ,but as a daily driver, its lighter, more fuel efficient than a 4wd stablemate , and you’d appreciate more that 9 speaker bose system and 19 inch rims…

• sepul on Aug 18, 2015 at 5:58 pm

I agree with you.

That aside, I find it very hard to justify why a CX-5 is sold at a much lower price than the MX-5, considering the MX-5 is mechanically simpler. I don’t think CKD is a factor.

I’ll be hard pressed if Bermaz’s pricing strategy is purely on profit margin alone. If that was the case, the MX-5 should not have been sold at all. If they were to satisfy enthusiast niches, the car should have been much cheaper (less than 130k) and comes with a manual and 1.5 litre engine as the base model.

• Shawal on Aug 18, 2015 at 8:55 pm

yes… Mx 5 shubbe cheaper, at least by 50k…
        Thats still 170k but at least they’d sell them by the boatloads

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 18, 2015 at 5:12 pm

Mazda Malaysia must be high from smokin weed after a good run with their best selling CX-5 that they decided to pull this stupid stunt

• Rangers on Aug 18, 2015 at 5:58 pm

i think after the honeymoon launching, Bermaz got hype that CX5 and Mazda6 doing well, and divert the grab the market plan, but now Honday catching up, and kill them badly..

• omegle on Aug 18, 2015 at 6:25 pm

where dem cx3 at?

• DPCraft on Aug 18, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Wow 2.5 for that price is actually very worth, compare to CR-V.

• They are making way for the new facelift edition for CKD…that’s y clear all these batch 1st

• Ernest on Aug 18, 2015 at 8:37 pm

Any Comments on CKD CX-5 units?

• This model finishing oredi means new FL CKD very soon….also launching together with CX3?…

• Kamal on Aug 18, 2015 at 10:09 pm

This is a very generous offer. It’s cheaper and loaded with features. The latest are face-lift only. May be my very first SUV for the family.

• brianxyz on Aug 18, 2015 at 10:15 pm

The price is attractive if you compare to CRV. You get a Bose system and 19″ tyres. Although the 19″ tyres will burn your pocket when changing time. Old stock or not, this is still a good car. You guys, high price complain, now low price also complain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • i feel like a fool now after just purchased the CBU unit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • brianxyz on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:45 pm

Moral of the story is: Early bird catches the worm, Lazy bird catches even more worms. Sorry mate! That’s life. You get some, you lose some.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 19, 2015 at 12:30 am

not really…ckd version full of problems

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • brianxyz on Aug 19, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Usually the ones who complained about CKD quality are CBU buyers who felt cheated and jealous. If not CBU buyers, maybe one day after saving enough money, they will aspire to buy one.

• Jimmy Ng on Aug 18, 2015 at 11:05 pm

My Mazda 2 is less than 6 months old and the cabin smell of petrol fume badly! The workshop says nothing is wrong! Never drive a Mazda car. Very low quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • Finally can buy one for those who always wanted CX-5. Bye bye Hideous Honda CR-V! LOL!

• crvowner2014 on Aug 19, 2015 at 12:21 pm

Betul la bro ur comment. Abang saya beli CRV baru tak sampai 3 bulan aircon boleh rosak. Dashboard krik kruk ETC.
      Dia kata boleh jual dan beli CX-5 model ini. Celaka punya Honda CR-V. LOL!! JeNama HONDA syok sahaja tapi SUV macam Berak.

• Hafriz – one key highlight not mentioned is the new head unit now comes with DVD

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Aug 19, 2015 at 7:17 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have high RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • jacky on Aug 19, 2015 at 1:36 pm

This seems to be a good buy but should I wait for cx3?

• applegreen on Aug 19, 2015 at 3:39 pm

u can wait but prepare for very high price because of weaker ringgit nowdays. Just look at how high mx5 price is

• Kamal on Sep 11, 2015 at 3:19 pm

I am the first customer for this old looks CKD Mazda CX5 2.5. Mileage now almost 700 km. The car feels good. Comfortable and responsive compared to the 2.0 CKD. 9 Bose speaker set up is awesome. It has a front parking sensors. Other features are as the face-lift 2016 version, minus the centre console with electronic parking brake, sport mode and i-stop technology. Exterior is without sunroof and new headlights and without led tail lights.

This is mostly assembled in Thailand. Noise, vibration and harshness is acceptable and justifiable for the price that you paid for. If you want it to be more quiet, there are shops that specialises in those areas. Just show them the money.

Safe to say, I have no regret buying this ‘old looks’ version. Save the premium of more than 21,000 for the CBU. The centre touch screen with 7 inch displays work flawlessly. Just wish that it can fit 6 CD instead of 1 only, however, the unit could play DVD too.

I am a very satisfied customer of Mazda. Some of the specs are even better than my Mercedes-Benz. Congratulations Mazda and Bermazhab for bringing in this model into Malaysia.

• benalish on Sep 23, 2015 at 9:51 pm

Was wondering how good is the quality of equipped safety Skytint, any comment ?

• benalish on Sep 23, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Wondering if the equipped safety Skytint good in quality, any comment ?

• Hisyam on Oct 04, 2015 at 1:39 am

Thanks for your feedback Mr Kamal. I just booked one CKD CX-5 2.5 last week. I just wonder if it is possible to replace the front grill with the new FL? Do you think so?

• Nor Azelan A Rahman on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:34 am

WAITING FOR CX 5 2.0L …MAYBE END OF THIS WEEK. CANCEL MY HONDA HRV BOOKING.I GOGGLE EVERY WEBSITE BEFORE DECIDED TO BUY CX5.