Mazda CX-5 GL launched, new base variant at RM126k

mazda-cx-5-gl-launched-malaysia 1062

Launched at Mid Valley Megamall alongside the locally-assembled (CKD) Mazda 3 range is the Mazda CX-5 GL. This is the new name for the cheapest CX-5 variant, following in the footsteps of the cheapest CKD Mazda 3, which is also called the GL.

Essentially, the CX-5 GL is the previous 2.0 2WD Mid Spec, but while the Mid Spec offered leather seats and navigation for free (these items were not on the original spec list), this one doesn’t any more. If you want leather, that’s a RM2,900 extra, and if you want navigation, you’ll have to move up to the middle-child 2.0 2WD High Spec.

Everything else maintains status quo – you still get six speakers, a reverse camera, auto headlamps and wipers, a leather-wrapped steering wheel, powered driver’s seat, cruise control, fog lamps, six airbags and stability control. No keyless entry nor self-levelling bi-xenon headlamps with AFS, as before.

New options include the aforementioned leather seats (RM2,900), SkyTint film (RM1,900) and sill plates with blue illumination (RM310).

Locally-assembled (CKD) at Kulim, Kedah, the Mazda CX-5 GL is priced at RM125,766, OTR with GST before insurance, for metallic colours (for solids, minus RM600). In comparison, the previous Mid Spec car went for RM133,219.

What about the rest of the CX-5 range? The 2.0 2WD High Spec is now priced at RM140,166 and the 2.0 4WD High Spec RM150,166 – very slightly less than what they cost pre-GST.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Good value.. T and H can only survive with Vios, City and Accord only liao… If the 6 also gets this kind of treatment.. GG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 43
    • Same Lorrrr Lingerie Sdn Bhd on Apr 08, 2015 at 3:03 pm

Habis la Toyota. How to compete? Mazda 3 already wipe Altis out completely. Now, this CX5, is a million times better than the Moving Coffin Camry with 2 airbags and no VSC.

I am happy though. I left UMW just in time. No point being a car salesman. I rather sell ladies undergarments and make more money. Any PT readers interested in discounts on Skiva, Sorella, Triumph, Bee Dees, Wacoal, pls contact your former friendly UMW salesman Same Lorrr. Either contact me or Sam Loo (ori1), we will give you the best in bra and panties.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 12
      • Where is Najib's Promise? on Apr 08, 2015 at 3:35 pm

Yes, it has been reduced a bit but spec taken out. Leather seats alone worth RM3k. So there is no real reduction. The price of RM126 just to excite people.

What happened to Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%? Najib promised and swore that he would reduce car prices by 30% if we voted BN. He further swore that BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji.

So, if Najib really honoured his promise and not cheated us Malaysians, the price of this CX5 will be RM137k (mid spec) – 30% (RM41k).

So by right, this car should be RM96k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 15
    • But I saw a lot of new facelift CRV thn CX5 all day long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 23
      • U live near honda plant?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 21
        • mitsu on Apr 08, 2015 at 4:14 pm

No because cx5 so crap. Sux big time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 48
          • autodriver (Member) on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:58 pm

did you drove CX-5 before, crap? I am not fans of Mazda but I did drove my brother’s CX-5 2.0 CKD sometimes. To be honest to you CX-5 has some features where you hardly seen in Txyota or Hxnda where is great furnishing, engine smoothness, the quick shifting transmission and the handling is surprisingly well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 10
        • BeemerFreak on Apr 08, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Haha or he lives beside a Honda 3S center.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
      • zamer on Apr 08, 2015 at 5:40 pm

yes..i noticed more new CRV than CX-5..and the CRV looks refreshed with nice LED.

anyway, what is the point coming up this model when FL is also coming?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • theanswer on Apr 08, 2015 at 2:49 pm

fuuh..dasat. bpeluh ni crv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • MrNyx (Member) on Apr 08, 2015 at 2:56 pm

Seriously, Malaysian want cheap cars, not in this way tho. Offer cheaper price but also come with lower specs. Might as well save up the money a little longer to get full specs to enjoy what Mazda truly wants you to experience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • You’re right in some ways. But this “lower spec” ain’t a “kosong spec”. Somehow i would say that this was done right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
      • Same Lorrrr Lingerie Sdn Bhd on Apr 08, 2015 at 4:43 pm

Kosong spec is Toyota. Look at the Altis. Its completely kosong for RM139k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
        • Well done Mazda n Toyota on Apr 30, 2016 at 12:51 pm

Yup…i have to admit..altis was totally kosong..dashboard mmg standard…wlaupun ada touch screen..i’m also an altis owner..already used it for 5 months..but altis was good in handling , performance n consumption..even many people said that sushi cars dont offer VSC and it was available with 2 airbags…yess…its true…they were lack of safety features…but i only love a car which can give best driving experience..same with mazda..i owned a mazda 3…very good handling when cornering in a high speed..both was a good cars..i’m glad to see mazda has come out with new models with more cheaper price…good job Bermaz…

• sepul on Apr 08, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Leather seats is luxury item so omission is fine, but safety features must be full and standard.

Good one Bermaz for this CX-5.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 5
  • UMW Mampus on Apr 08, 2015 at 2:56 pm

Wow.. Bermaz is really generous in giving full safety features. UMW must learn from this.

Malaysians must be more safety conscious and car companies should start setting a high benchmark for others to follow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
  • KIA = Junk on Apr 08, 2015 at 3:08 pm

Junk Sportage & Junk Tucson will bungkus for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 19
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 08, 2015 at 3:08 pm

told everyone the specs would be lower when gst price for mazda came out..but nobody believe me…im good friends with vincent tan ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 17
  • value for money!!

• Haha, HRV can tapau lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
  • SameLorrr on Apr 08, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Even at 126k is overly expensive for an average Malaysian.

This car only sells RM70k in Australia and New Zealand, Taiwan, Korea and Japan after conversion and those are CBU units.

Here CKD still selling at RM126k before insurance is way way way overpriced.

Najib had failed his promises of reducing the car prices by 30%!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 16
  • Ismail on Apr 08, 2015 at 4:32 pm

Even at 126k is way overpriced!!

This car CBU only sells for RM70k in Australia, New Zealand, Taiwan, Korea and Japan but in bolehland becomes RM126k and its CKD!

All thanks to Dr M and the rubbish junk Proton crap shit!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 18
  • why blame mahathir you cant afford a 130k car? maybe to much fb during office hour…get back to work!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 24
  • Macha on Apr 08, 2015 at 6:46 pm

Guys, I’m byk pelik la. Can ha u explain to me. Last week I attend to Mazda dealer as I want to booking this cx5 laa but then they said stock sampai 4bulan woo. Ayaaaaa! Terus cancel my booking as too long lorh nk tunggu

• kavitha Kusbhoomathy on Apr 08, 2015 at 7:33 pm

My bf want to buy this car but it is too chepo. No proper spectacle with so many things missing. I think need new bf. Maybe paul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • ah lek on Apr 08, 2015 at 7:35 pm

Wah now i can buy oledi. Last time no money liao. Now cheaoer i buy lo. Change lim and tier. Put big ladio.

• old dog on Apr 09, 2015 at 12:14 am

get the cheapest, upgrade to leather, the Sat Nav easily can buy from internet for few hundred US$ only, youtube shown you how easily to connect it.
    only missed is the keyless entry :(

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 09, 2015 at 8:45 am

Went to check out the CKD sedan (but no hatchback in sight). Specs are very good for the price. The HUD is really cool as no other cars in the C segment(correct me if i’m wrong) have one. The dash is as good looking as the exterior. Sadly, the style all comes at a price – the practicality. Shoulder room is tight compared to the other 3 Japanese rivals. Front legroom and headroom is decent – not the best. But rear legroom is tighter than even a B segment City, the rear seat is set too low and the seat is too short -suitable for kids but people with long legs could find it tiring during long journeys. Thankfully the leather seats are soft & plush. But gosh, the car looks just beautiful in the flesh – much better than in photos.

• johan on Apr 09, 2015 at 11:33 am

I thought based on the recently new price release by Paultan on Mazda price, the cx-5 2wd will be priced at RM126165.50 otr without insurance. So in this article saying the 2wd is RM133.219 is the old price or new price with insurance? confusing pricing

• Sammy on Apr 09, 2015 at 3:08 pm

I wonder HRV full spec or this CX-5 basic is a better buy?? Hmm… Can’t decide.
    And the damn HRV has longer waiting list I guess… so…

• Car seeker on Apr 10, 2015 at 11:37 pm

Well done bermaz! Will consider to get cx5 GL soon

• MC Lee on Apr 12, 2015 at 1:13 pm

Just booking GL model at KL, SA offered another 5k discount. Around124k on the road….2015 car, free 3years service and 3 years warranty

• Clement Chan on Apr 12, 2015 at 10:46 pm

MC Lee, may I know where you book the CX-5 with 5K discount? I plan to buy. JB here only give discount 2K.

• MC Lee on Apr 14, 2015 at 12:47 am

I booked from one KL SA. I am from Johor too and finding KL discount is more.

• Liyana on Apr 29, 2015 at 4:38 pm

MC Lee, is it at this address?
          Bermaz Motor Trading Sdn Bhd(Glenmarie HQ)
          No 7, Jalan Pelukis U1/46,
          Temasya Industrial Park,
          Seksyen U1, 40150 Shah Alam,
          Selangor Darul Ehsan.

• Liyana on Apr 29, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Hi MC Lee,
          I just called Mazda KL SA. they said no discount for Mazda CX-5 GL Model and it is RM126++ on the road.. :( maybe u can share the sales person name or contact. thanks…

• What else SA offer under this 125k?
      Leather seats?

• stanley on May 08, 2015 at 2:22 pm

Can i have ur agent contact?

• Francis on May 29, 2015 at 2:57 pm

3 years Free service ? include Tyre ?

• Anwar on Apr 13, 2015 at 8:22 am

MC Lee..5k discount? Where? Is better buy GL spec or full spec ? GL spec many things gone

• Jay Choo on Apr 04, 2016 at 4:56 pm

things gone in GL spec compared to full spec (CX5 2015):
      1)Navigation system
      2)smart keyless entry
      3)front parking sensors
      4)front seat power adjustment (driver only)
      5)leather seat
      6)High spec LED Bi-Xenon Headlamps with AFS compared to GL spec Manual leveling Halogen Headlamps

Hope this can help you, by the way you may contact 010-7886700 we are Mazda Muar Johor

• I was so lucky not to buy altis mid spec at 123k last year..else i will be crying now..even toyolcar sales asking where is thr best service centre for fixing noise problem..hahaha..totally embarassing..m sure altis owner all crying.

• anoyanoy on Apr 15, 2015 at 9:59 am

don’t waste time…
    give us the facelift.

• Izack on Jun 02, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Owned this Mazda CX-5. Got problem with the front lower arm bush. Sent for service and part replaced but the problem still occur. Always got sound during wet road condition/rainy day especially when going through road bumpers etc. You can hear noisy sound too from the side mirror (driver side) when you cruising more than 100km/hr :(

• CX-5 auto gearbox failure
    i would like to share my experience with everyone.
    My CX-5 did 77K and will be 3 years old this October.
    The transmission started to have grinding noise and jerking while shifting up from 1st to 2nd.
    This happened very suddenly while i was driving the other day.
    Afraid of further damage, i called AAM and got it towed to Glenmarie service centre.
    i have read about all the good reviews and praises before i bought the CX-5 but i am very disappointed now.
    Mazda told me that it will take around one month to have the transmission replaced and they could not provide a loaner to me while waiting for warranty repairs.
    i hope Mazda will standby their products and make me believe I made the right choice in purchasing the CX-5.
    If it was a known problem they could at least stock up some spare parts.
    i wonder if anyone has similar issues?

• Too bad…just want to make booking CX5 after raya..looks superb but quality not like T & H :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • Honda also damn susah to give u warranty. They make u beg n scream before they allow warranty claims. My own experience. They surely won’t forget me coz i gave them hell. They should be more professional and receptive of their own defects.