Hyundai Santa Fe Premium – 6 airbags, RM179k-191k

Hyundai Santa Fe Premium 1

The facelifted Mazda 6 wasn’t the only car that was quietly introduced today – another model that has made its way into showrooms in a hush-hush manner is the Hyundai Santa Fe Premium, a new range-topping variant that replaces the previous Executive Plus.

Available in both 176 hp/226 Nm 2.4 litre petrol and 197 hp/436 Nm 2.2 litre diesel guise, the Premium gets almost exactly the same kit as before – automatic xenon headlights with LED positioning lights, 19-inch alloy wheels, keyless entry, push button start, auto wipers, a panoramic sunroof, dual-zone auto climate control, Supervision cluster, 12-way power-adjustable seats in brown Nappa leather and a reverse camera.

The big news, however, concerns the safety kit – the new model finally receives side and curtain airbags to join the dual front airbags on the outgoing variant, bumping the count up to six airbags. As before, ABS with EBD and brake assist, ESP with Vehicle Stability Management (VSM), Hill Start Assist and Downhill Brake Control (DBC) are fitted as standard.

Other added kit include a power-operated tailgate (as seen on the updated 2015 US-market Santa Fe), as well as a new Android-based navigation system. The latter is a locally-sourced unit and looks to be slightly different from the one in the Sonata – the user interface differs slightly, and the “Navi” hard key opens Waze instead of the Sonata’s Papago navigation app.

Pricing for the Hyundai Santa Fe Premium starts at RM178,821 (RM6,672 more expensive than the Executive Plus) for the 2.4 petrol model, rising up to RM190,545 (RM5,734 higher) for the 2.2 CRDi diesel. Both prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of 6% GST.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 17, 2015 at 8:18 pm

About bloody time isn’t it Hyundai?

Did it take you guys that long to launch one with reasonable specs?

Too bad, many have decided against it, for the Sorento or other options. Though I do admit I really like the leather used, for once someone did leather at this price right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
    • Sam real name Danny umw on Apr 17, 2015 at 9:02 pm

Anytime better than the hailat fortuner. Danny shall agree.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 47
      • Same LOrrrr son Joey on Apr 18, 2015 at 1:04 am

I will ask my papa Danny (Sam)for this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
        • Kimchi-me Hailat-face on Apr 18, 2015 at 7:58 am

Don’t make the mistake like me, this is a JUNK with no RV, later your face will become HAILAT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 24
          • Sam Lorrrr on Apr 18, 2015 at 10:38 am

You make mistake to become junior umw sales man like me. Sad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
          • jemah on Apr 18, 2015 at 10:38 am

hailat kepala ayah kau. kalau harga mcm ni lebih baik aku beli Citroen C4 Grand Picasso lebih safety lebih byk funtion lebih cantik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 23
          • helmi on Apr 18, 2015 at 3:37 pm

You boleh hailat Ayah kau sam loo. Belilah saga lagi .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
          • Toyota Salesman Don't Jealous! on Apr 18, 2015 at 2:32 pm

There will be so many faggots that will come here and bad mouth Korean cars. Well, Hyundai alone last year sold 8 million cars. You plus that with Kia, I think it would be double.

Anyway, let us take just Hyundai for an example. How can 8 million people be wrong and a few pariahs in PT bad mouthing Koreans be right?

As for RV, that is Toyota salesman talk la in the forums. They got no sales, they come online and bad mouth Korean cars. Go check Mudah, Carlies and Oto, Korean cars have the SAME RV as Honda and Toyota. Infact, Toyota has worse RV than Korean cars. For example, a 10 month old 2014 Toyota Camry 2.5 now selling for RM120,000, down from RM180,000.

So, Toyota salesman, pls lah, don’t be jealous and come here disguising your names as various people.

These people who bad mouth were the ones those days say Motorola handphones were the best and Samsung handphones were crap. Now, see all these pariahs, they all using Samsung handphones now.

These are the same pariahs who also went around telling people Pioneer Kuro was the best TV in the world. Go to their houses now, you see a Samsung LED TV hung up on their walls.

It is high time all those sad Toyota salesman and fanboys go online to mudah, carlies and oto and compare each B, C and D segment with Korean cars. You will see, it is all a big lie. Japanese cars, whatever the segment has the same RV as Korean cars.

Its high time Sam Loo, De La Junk, Same Loor, therealmaserati and all those scum who bad mouth Korean cars to get a life. You all are frustrated in life and got no love from your family, that is why you come here bad mouthing Korean cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 144
          • Cabbage Toyota on Apr 18, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Toyota Camry 2.5, just 10 months old, selling for RM98k. Brand new RM180k.
            I think sushi loses more RV than kimchi nowadays.

In 10 months, can lose RM82k. Accident free Camry and only done 22k km

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 30
          • Cabbage Toyota on Apr 18, 2015 at 3:13 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 129
          • Cabbage Toyota on Apr 18, 2015 at 3:19 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 130
          • Kerajaan Bayar RM191k on Apr 18, 2015 at 3:21 pm

Kerajaan bayar RM191k for Santa Fe, no problem.

But I wonder why it is RM191k. In the US, its only US25k. Ours should be cheaper because Malaysian made Inokom. This car should sell for less than RM100k.

But no problem. JKR will order about 1000 units on launch day itself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • April Motor on Apr 17, 2015 at 9:16 pm

This year April is very busy for the car distributor to launch new cars. Now waiting for Ford Mondeo.

• Kerajaan Bayar RM191k on Apr 18, 2015 at 3:24 pm

Actually, there are hardly any buyers of Santa Fe. The ones you see on the road, if it does not have a kerajaan badge on it, means, it is a 3 year old car and most likely it is sold to the staff of Kerajaan.

Sime Darby also the same. They all use Santa Fe as company car. After 3 years, they sell the company car to the use for dirt cheap. Somewhere around RM50k.

So, Santa Fe actually has no real buyers in the market. It is 100% completely bought by kerajaan or GLC to support Hyundai Sime DArby and later sold to staff for peanuts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
  • the second half on Apr 17, 2015 at 8:25 pm

Look the headunit. It looks like a chinese-crap-aftermarket headunit. And you think people will buy this car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
    • Lagroid on Apr 18, 2015 at 9:57 am

Better than Iriz headunit display.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Nenek Kau on Apr 19, 2015 at 2:55 pm

Which part of the HU you think they design it wrongly? Could you tell us how it should look like? If you cant provide the answer, i would assume that your head look alike cow’s head.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 17, 2015 at 9:00 pm

At this price what does other makes have to offer for the size? Only Nissan has an answer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • brazbuz on Apr 17, 2015 at 9:06 pm

Great move but the price bump is quite high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Sam L0rrrr on Apr 17, 2015 at 9:16 pm

How come Hyundai has got more power than my Camry!!!!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 15
    • Cabbage Toyota on Apr 18, 2015 at 3:14 pm

Camry not only got less power, it has no VSC and only 2 airbags. It is as good as getting a coffin and putting 4 wheels under the coffin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 37
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 19, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Hyundai definitely has more powder than Camry.

Its chilli powder added to ferment the rotten cabbage

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 17, 2015 at 10:21 pm

Great news. I will now offer RM45k for 18 month old Santa Fe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 21
    • paulnut2 on Apr 17, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Good news, your son saga has better RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 41
    • Kimchi-me Hailat-face on Apr 18, 2015 at 8:00 am

Can you take my Santa Fe? I offer RM35K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 6
      • Cabbage Toyota on Apr 18, 2015 at 3:02 pm

Again, Toyota salesman try to play dirty. Already got ZERO sales. Now so desperate got to do road show even. Yet, they don’t learn their lesson and still come here and bash Korean RV.

Sushi RV now is so bad until 2014 July Toyota Camry 2.5 selling for RM98k, down RM82k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
      • You dont even hv Santa Fe! But if you do … you dont even want do that too …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
    • Cabbage Toyota on Apr 18, 2015 at 2:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 128
  • spongewai on Apr 17, 2015 at 10:30 pm

as Same Lorr said

“kimchi car is LOW RV, better buy Toyota cause of high RV”

lol

sry for interrupting you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • huehuehue on Apr 17, 2015 at 10:45 pm

about time the hyundai malaysia put such vital features in the family mover. the only problem is the head unit. it really does look like some cheap china shitty aftermarket unit. it really does adds shitiness to the interior of the so-so interior of tge car. it would be better if hyundai would just stick to the oem headunit. bad move SD.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 17, 2015 at 11:30 pm

at least hyundai listens to what paultan peeps say

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Rm191k fr premium.not worth at all.maximum fr crdi price fr Hyundai is approximately Rm 90k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • Balls on Apr 18, 2015 at 1:36 am

Quietly launch bcos they know at this price point no one will buy. Same with Mazda 6. Too high a jump in price.

• santa? but it’s only april laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Now that’s better. But at that price, Sorento is a much better value. Good buy if there is big discount offered towards the year end, maybe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 18, 2015 at 9:49 am

Hyundai cars can be traded in, KIA can’t.

Smarter sorhai will buy Hyundai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
  • I’ve bought my Santa Fe for 6 months.satisfied with performance and quality . Worth my money.never regret it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 39
    • Hilat kimchi owner on Apr 18, 2015 at 9:30 am

Sorry nobody going to believe you, even the used car dealer like Sam Loo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
      • Korean and Japs handling so so lor, cannot beat conti/ford/p1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 20, 2015 at 8:25 am

6 month old Santa Fe will fetch around RM75k now.

Wait for another 6 months it will nose dive to RM60k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Leafable on Apr 18, 2015 at 9:40 am

Sorry Sime Darby as typical Malaysian company again doing half fill glass again. Where’s the 7th Knee airbag and the OEM head unit?

• Eeewan on Apr 18, 2015 at 11:19 am

Only u not believe.i don’t even bother u believe or not since I’m driving the car not you.just want to share my experience.i got 12k discount and that a good saving for me with a quality product.ive done my research for 2 years and test drive lot lot of cars and Santa Fe is my choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
  • Eeewan on Apr 18, 2015 at 11:50 am

Love my Santa Fe.want to drive it everyday.dont care about RV because I don’t plan to sell it and just keep it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
    • Big brotherly Sista on Apr 18, 2015 at 12:45 pm

wait till something of the car broken, and found out that replacement are parts so expensive and had to wait months before it arrives.

Your car probably broken, unfixed and parked at roadside collection dry leaves, and growing moulds….

To sell the car, too low price. To keep the car, oso no point becoz the car is broken.

Perhaps you could use the car to grow mushroom and sell it to the neighnors…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 32
      • spybeck on Apr 18, 2015 at 1:46 pm

i am totally agree with you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • No wonder that a Camry is more reliable. It’s so slow that you’ll need ten years to cover just 10k kilometers…

• Toyota Saleman Crying on Apr 19, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Spot on. My Sonata literally was a nightmare after 2 years.

The irony is that after 24 months, Sam only gave me RM35k for it. After a while, I realised that I got a bargain as the car is as good as scrap metal oledi

• near 200k for a korean?? i cant gel this..
    and purposely give 2 airbags in prefacelift so can charge more now?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 20, 2015 at 7:25 am

Wait for a 36 month old unit.

Should be priced around RM20k. You save 90% or RM180k

• spybeck on Apr 18, 2015 at 1:45 pm

Scary price compare to CX-5 2.5 and CRV 2.5…

• Cabbage Toyota on Apr 18, 2015 at 3:16 pm

This car sure fail big time. Mazda CX5 is ony RM126k. But don’t worry. JKR and all kerajaan compulsory to buy this Santa Fe. Hidden unwritten contract.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Fourwheeler on Apr 18, 2015 at 2:22 pm

… You should try the diesel power of this 197hp, 436 nm first…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • sammy on Apr 18, 2015 at 4:10 pm

Just what makes hyundai think that they can charge so much for their car in malaysia?

• Same Lorrr (ori) on Apr 18, 2015 at 4:33 pm

I love suck cocks. Yummy!

Latest Camry hybrid sale figure : 97

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • C.P. MOHAN on Apr 18, 2015 at 6:34 pm

The difference in vehicle prices like many others e.g. hand phones is mainly due to four factors 1) Sales volume (economies of scale) 2) Tax regime (business friendliness) 3) Affordability (wealth distribution) 4)Skill sets (consumer/manufacturer or both). The difference in prices between us and others is not only due to PROTON.

• notohonda on Apr 18, 2015 at 7:08 pm

Most, if not all of the negative commenters here have never driven the Santa Fe CRDi before or owned a Hyundai. You know nuts about the Santa Fe and Hyundai.

I strongly suggest you test drive the Santa Fe CRDi before make stupid comments.

You might fall in love with the 436NM of torque. CRV, CX5, HRV, Sportage, Tucson, Sorento, XTrail, 3008, Kuga, all go play far far away.

As for parts, I never have a problem with parts.

And on the RV and price, it is relative to your income. If you cannot afford the RV and price, don’t blame others, blame yourself for being poor. Learn to live with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 34
    • Jimmy on Apr 18, 2015 at 10:02 pm

Handling.
      Refinement.
      Figure good on paper. Momentum.

What is the most refined vehicles below the price point of RM200K?

What is anti-roll?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 19, 2015 at 4:40 pm

For kimchi, extra large diameter anti-roll bars are built in for the owner to prevent them from turning turtle with their rotten cabbage after they are shown the Hilux.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Toyota Saleman Crying on Apr 19, 2015 at 5:58 pm

You will fall off the edge of the cliff when you try to sell off the rotten cabbage after 1 year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Lorrrr on Apr 19, 2015 at 6:55 pm

@notohanda

I will see Your hailat face when you trade in your Sante.fe junk to me at RM 15K next year

• hahaha on Apr 24, 2015 at 2:44 pm

sorry hah, although it is very torquey, it’s still too expensive for middle income people like us. If we’re in the market of SUV, and we got a moderate family, we’ll just choose the cheap ones like the Honda CR-V as its spacious and practical. You can say that honda CR-V is underpowered or what but its undeniable that it ferries the whole family from point A to point B without a hassle. Im not saying that the santa fe is not practical. Santa fe has more space. But it’s just too expensive. We have to measure our clothes first before buying a thing. Not to be cocky and thick-faced by buying something which exceeds your budget.

• anak sarawak on Apr 18, 2015 at 7:27 pm

I guess PT should really start another column to address reliability of cars that is being sold in Malaysia (ConsumerReviews done quite a good job but did not really reflect much on our regions in term of weather,road conditions/usage). I think that might help the malaysians who are researching for new cars. Shades some lights on unrealistic/without facts comments and SAM LOO talks of Toyota which is now can be matched by other Jap/Koreans brands. Comments on SC quality by PT would do help as well as it kinda push the SC available in Malaysia in all brands to improve.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 22, 2015 at 2:31 pm

Toyota matched by other Japs/Korean makes?

Sure. A 10 year old Camry is worth roughly the same as a 11 month old Sonata.

• t f lee on Feb 12, 2016 at 3:23 pm

Agreed. Coz our car price is high and we need more info on the reliability for car age from 5 yrs to 10 yrs. Sometimes RS value is not under our consideration.

• With that price SD should offer the longer version…

• anak Simpang pulai on Apr 19, 2015 at 1:37 pm

SDarby priced too steep for korean car !!!! like that they will continue to lose market share…RV are equally bad…for those owned Korean will feel it…i won’t dare to go back…Kpop never mind lah

• Ohhsome on Apr 19, 2015 at 2:26 pm

Sama harga & kelas in UK!

BMW X3 xDrive20d M Sport – £37,940 Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2 CRDi Premium SE – £37,690

• Nenek Kau on Apr 19, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Yg BMW i8 1.18mil xde plak yg kata mahal. Ker sbb BMW, everyone think bmw priced it correctly. The more it is pricier, the more it match the badge status? Cehhh pathetic

• drCooper on Apr 19, 2015 at 9:51 pm

The price is totally a turn down..damn you blood sucker HSDM…

• Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 20, 2015 at 7:25 am

Wrong move SD, too pricey meh…in this beloved country no matter how good the car those kiasu people gonna question why want to spent 200k on Korean made…

• Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 20, 2015 at 7:30 am

The entertainment system looks like using old Sony based android aaa?…those icons on the screen looks very similar to my old Sony Ericsson smartphone..

• Joe Hung on Apr 20, 2015 at 9:34 am

Hyundai = Hyu Buy Hyu Dai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • applegreen on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:44 am

If if dont have a choice and need to select between kia or hyundai, definitely i’ll take hyundai. From small cars to tucson, sonata, i think hyundai’s vehicles better than kia.

• Jebonr (Member) on Apr 20, 2015 at 1:15 pm

Did I see a Free “DVR”. And the the Android base headunit, I would love to have that.

• Not the same model sold in US or elsewhere, they are still ripping off many features.

• Hyundie on Apr 20, 2015 at 4:00 pm

Strongly encourage you to buy a brand new Hyundai.
    1) Remorse will set in right after you pay the deposit. When you collect the car, the hailat feeling sinks in immediately.
    2) 1 day after you bring the rotten cabbage home, friends and neighbours give you a funny look. What they are saying is that “why this fella so tai lan ngong one, buy a korean?”
    3) 3 months on, your bosses deny your promotions coz you are not deemed trustworthy, your friends start to stay away from you. You park far far away at family gatherings.
    4) 6 months on, you start to scout around used car yard & online ads for the value of your kimchi. You will realise that the value is now around 1/2 of the purchase price.
    5) 12 months on, you don’t feel like renewing your insurance & road tax on the car. Die die also must renew coz no way to sell.
    6) 15 months on, you will find that my car yard will offer you the best Hyundai trade in. U come in, I show you the Hilux, you scream Hailat and I write a cheque for you.
    7) You head down to a UMW Showroom and order yourself a real car and a few weeks later will be the happiest man alive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • Lu Sapa on Apr 20, 2015 at 5:14 pm

Too expensive la bro! 1 year later the price will drop to 50k… be ‘Besi Buruk’ like Naza Ria.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 21, 2015 at 12:45 pm

H-Hailat
    Y-you
    U-until
    N-near
    D-death
    A-and
    I-irritated

K-Keep
    I-it
    A-Away

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 21, 2015 at 9:04 pm

S-suckers
    A-and
    N-nut heads
    T-tries to
    A-advertise to sell

F-fails
    E-everytime

• jeez, price increased?

http://paultan.org/2010/11/29/hyundai-santa-fe-prices-announced-rm159k-to-rm170k/

it was RM159k starting price.