VIDEO: Hyundai Sonata LF has an Android head unit

The new Malaysian spec Hyundai Sonata LF comes with a double-din touchscreen head unit powered by Android KitKat. It’s standard on the Elegance and Executive variants, with only the basic Elegance B variant getting a normal radio/CD/MP3 head unit. The head unit is a locally sourced head unit, not the official Hyundai BlueLink unit which supports features like Android Auto and Apple CarPlay.

Other than the relatively new version of Android, what’s most interesting to us is the availability of the Google Play app store and the fact that the head unit does not shut off when you drive. This means there should be absolutely no issues downloading Waze from Google Play and using it when you drive.

We decided to head over to the Hyundai 3S centre in Glenmarie to record a short video playing around with the head unit. Other than Waze, we also tried the Youtube app and the web browser. While there’s no built in SIM card, the head unit has Wifi connectivity so it can access your phone or MiFi device’s hotspot.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 4:11 pm

can download Here Map and use offline map without wifi or 3g/4g connectivity.

• Kotembad on Dec 18, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Yeah, why use Waze when there’s HERE.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.here.app.maps

• wazer on Dec 18, 2014 at 4:59 pm

the reason people wanna use waze is because there’s real time update on traffic situations (jams, accidents, roadworks, etc.) If u wanna use offline maps, there’s already a papago navigation system built into the unit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Tuscon owner on Dec 18, 2014 at 7:31 pm

HERE????? Don’t waste your Data quota downloading HERE. I can’t even find my house in Putrajaya. Very outdated maps and at times asked me to drive off the flyover to turn left down to the road below !!!!! I stopped using it right away. HERE maps (Navteq) is too outdated and not mature. HERE’s main business is in the US for American cars. In Asia no one uses HERE. Japanese car manufacturers like Toyota and Nissan avoid using them. They have their own map providers and mostly local provider. My friend’s imported Toyota Alphard uses Speednavi with local Thai map provider. Very beautiful system.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 7:53 pm

lol i use HERE map no problem, Malaysia map is updated u can download into ur android phone now…can use online if wanna see traffic jam.

• Waze & Google the best on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:32 pm

Yes, HERE map got quality issues. It also asked me to turn right on a flyover and I almost got stumped. Definitely not for Malaysia. HERE better improve the quality first before introducing it to Malaysia.

Remember Apple Maps when they ditched Google Maps just a few years ago. Wrong move until Apple’s CEO had to apologies.

Apple is using TomTom Maps and like HERE the maps sucks big time not only in the USA but the rest of the world, especially Malaysia.

BTW, which app did the CEO recommended? Waze :) !!!!!!

• kzm (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 11:58 pm

i use no problem…check ur phone first ur GPS sensor might be spoil..
            Samsung has temporary exclusive right for HERE map before Nokia release it to other android u know..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Ah Beng Kia on Dec 18, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Lambat la bro…

Iriz long ago had already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
    • weeee on Dec 18, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Iriz & Suprima’s system is based on an outdated version of Android. It lags a lot, the screen sensitivity is crap & screen quality is crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • IrizX on Dec 19, 2014 at 9:27 am

That is an old DIY hacked it yourself Android HU. Like those cheap China HU available everywhere. The hardware is cheap hardware, (like the car), and that version of the OS is simply not meant for car usage. You would be better off with a normal touch screen HU.

• LeJohn on Dec 18, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Please use your brain before commenting. Proton gives an obsolete version and lags a lot ….

• No more Value on Dec 18, 2014 at 8:56 pm

tell u one thing, the one in proton car is just a normal android system. the one in sonata is android auto which is design for car driving.

• weeee on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:38 pm

the sonata’s system is just like any other stock android tablet

• No more Value on Dec 19, 2014 at 1:41 pm

android wont change much of it interface. But they will added some exclusive function for different android. For people who dislike my comment, do your own research.

here the link untuk you orang:
          http://www.android.com/auto/

• HERE is the best on Dec 20, 2014 at 12:25 pm

No you are wrong, the system in the Malaysian Sonata is not the real OEM system. Just some very cheapskate compromise move that Sime Darby did. Malaysian consumers are not stupid.

• weeee on Dec 18, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Oh great thats totally not distracting at all.

• alldisc on Dec 18, 2014 at 4:32 pm

tiru suprima.

lariikkk…. hahahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • thefact on Dec 18, 2014 at 6:07 pm

bangga la tu… suprima and preve version is so outdated..n u want to be proud of that? buggy n unresponsive as well.

• Al haffi on Dec 18, 2014 at 10:08 pm

your superima-ass android head unit is made from china

• TECHLOVER on Dec 18, 2014 at 4:38 pm

THIS IS THE BEST INTUITIVE CAR INTERFACE !!! IT SO SUIT OUR MALAYSIA LIFE STYLE…. IT IS FAR BETTER THAN GERMAN CAR MAKER!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • mystvearn on Dec 18, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Paul, when you say: “The head unit is a locally sourced head unit”

Meaning we can now retrofit our cars now with this unit? Any ideas on the manufacturer of the unit? The touchscreen looks like capacitive and not resistive like in the Suprima/Iriz.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Dec 18, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Flyaudio maybe? Last time, if i’m not mistaken, Flyaudio was the OEM supplier of HU for Hyundai here..Flyaudio’s office is just 1 or 2 blocks away from Hyundai’s in Glenmarie.

• Looks like it’s use TN panel. Low brightness, colour shift at angle. I’m still waiting good display panel for HU become available. Might as well put 8″ tablet on it

• This might be the solution https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C_raKYG7SLQ

• tishaban on Dec 18, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Many android phones/tablets don’t work well with polarized sunglasses, both my LG Nexus 5 and Asus Nexus 7 blank out in landscape mode when I use polarized sunglasses because their screens are polarized too. Don’t have any problems with the iPhone or iPad.

I hope Hyundai Malaysia thought about this before sourcing the tablet.

• elson on Dec 18, 2014 at 6:07 pm

just a China device

• Tuscon owner on Dec 18, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Sadly, Hyundai Sime Darby does it again with cheap China made Navi Head Unit and not original Hyundai system. Crappy hardware, does not even fit nicely on the dashboard. Original Hyundai Bluelink system is no way this inferior. Shame on Hyundai for allowing such low grade quality hardware to be installed. Flyaudio OEM? are you guys joking? You can buy the same Head Unit aftermarket at very cheap price. Please find out what is OEM in the first place.

• Gavin y on Dec 18, 2014 at 8:26 pm

why Hyundai did not give the version that has the buttons integrated into the centre console but a tacked on unit?

• Tuscon owner on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Cause Hyundai Sime Darby is not giving us the original stuff. My Korean friend laughed when I told them my Navi system is the best from Korea. They told me I kena Con. PaPaGo is not Korean and definitely very ugly and crude. I wanted to bury my head into the ground. When they showed me the Korean version of the Navi system I was fuming mad and went to complained to my salesperson. He told me, local spec like that one. No Malaysia map for Hyundai so use PaPaGo. No Malaysia map??? are you kidding us?

• Tuscon owner on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:05 pm

One more thing, the car’s warranty period and the Head Unit warranty is not the same. Ask Hyundai Sime Darby are they giving the same 8 years warranty for the Head Unit for the Sonata LF. Mine was 2 years only. The LCD screen sure sucks and the touch, pathetic.

• Everything due to “Malaysian Duty Excise Structure”.. Change to local Head Unit also entitled lower excise duty..

• Gavin Y on Dec 19, 2014 at 8:53 am

Hey Hyundai/sime darby, do you read this comments here?

You can have your roadshows and get big name mainstream bloggers like Mr. Paul to do flashy reviews but you ain’t cheating the consumer.

Come on man, you want to compete or not?

• ipoh lad on Dec 18, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Yeap once again. Cheap chinese crap. This is the “OEM” Navigation system https://www.hyundaiusa.com/sonata/technology.aspx

You been coned by the Sime Darby

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 18, 2014 at 10:22 pm

No love for iPhone or Blackberry users?

• Omg the button click sound. Errghhh. Really?

• protonsucks on Dec 19, 2014 at 3:29 am

can install clash of clans in it ma ?

• Old uncle on Dec 19, 2014 at 9:17 am

OEM suppliers will never allow that to happen. Only cheap China aftermarket units do. Better off buying a RM300~RM400, Asus & Lenovo 7 tablets. Better specs anytime than the aftermarket units, processor, screen quality and touch performance. If only they have something like a special mount/bracket for the Head Unit console. I’m now using a windscreen mount and quite satisfied with it especially for older people like me.