Hyundai Santa Fe launched in Malaysia – 2.4 petrol and 2.2 diesel, seven-seat SUV from RM163,888

hyundai santa fe-30

After all the spyshots and ads, Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) officially launched the Hyundai Santa Fe this afternoon in KL. The third-generation DM is locally assembled in Kulim, Kedah, and wears exterior Inokom badges as a result. Since every other badge is a stylised H, badge swapping will be a simple two-piece affair.

Like before, the Santa Fe is offered here with two engine choices, a 2.2 ‘R’ CRDi e-VGT diesel version (197 hp and 436 Nm from 1,800 to 2,500 rpm) and the Theta II 2.4 MPI petrol version with 176 hp and 227 Nm. Both are paired to an in-house developed six-speed automatic with Shiftronic manual override. An “Active Eco” button retards everything to maximise fuel economy.

The 4WD system is of the active on-demand variety, but there’s a 4WD Lock button that spreads drive 50:50 between the front and rear wheels below 40 km/h. Above that speed, the system reverts back to automatic.

hyundai santa fe-35

The Motor Driven Power Steering, Hyundai’s name for EPS, gets a Flex Steer system that gives the drive three steering weights to choose from – Comfort, Normal and Sport.

By the way, our Santa Fe is the standard wheelbase version with a seven-seat option, and not the long-wheelbase SUV you might have read about here. Like the outgoing car, the foldable third-row of seats is there to make a 2-3-2 formation.

Boot volume with the third-row folded is 585 litres (including under floor space), which is enough for four golf bags and four Boston bags, according to HSDM. The second-row can slide for and aft, recline and split fold, the latter with a remote folding feature from the boot.

hyundai santa fe-36

The “Storm Edge” design Santa Fe’s footprint hasn’t changed by much, and the 2,700 mm wheelbase is retained, although you might notice that it’s less upright than before. Your eyes are right, the new car sits 45 mm lower than before. A rising belt line and a shallow glass area also contributes to the “smaller than before” and more dynamic impression.

Two specs are available for each engine – Elegance and Executive Plus. Standard across the board features include ABS, EBD, BA, ESP, Downhill Brake Control, Hillstart Assist Control, Vehicle Stability Management, dual airbags, rear parking assist, electric parking brake, Smart Key with push start button, 12-way powered driver’s seat, auto headlamps, third-row AC vents, steering wheel controls and cruise control.

Also included are locally fitted “Nappa” black leather seats and 18-inch alloys with 235/60 tyres. There’s also an aftermarket “safe drive recorder” that records video clips of the view ahead.

hyundai santa fe-49

The Executive Plus spec adds on niceties like dual-zone auto air con, navigation, HID xenon headlamps, cornering lamps, LED rear lamps, reverse camera (optional on Elegance), rain sensor, full length panoramic sunroof, brown nappa leather seats (pictured here) and 19-inch alloys with 235/55 rubber.

Prices start from RM163,888 for the 2.4 petrol Elegance, rising to RM177,888 for the petrol Executive Plus. If you want diesel power, the entry point is RM176,888. The range topping 2.2 CRDi Executive Plus with all the bells and whistles retails for RM189,888 OTR with insurance. Like other Hyundais, the Santa Fe comes with a five-year or 300,000 km warranty.

hyundai santa fe-14

HSDM also announced something new at the launch, a “Leader Card” for Santa Fe owners. The privilege card comes with a concierge service that can arrange everything from a game of golf to medical assistance.

Members are given access to the airport Plaza Premium Lounge (first time complimentary, special rate thereafter), special rates for limo services to and from the airport (first time free on a Hyundai Sonata, or top up for a real limo), special offers for hotels and dining, plus priority service at Hyundai 3S centres. Leader Card holders also get a special price for basic health screenings, consultation, room and board at Sime Darby Medical Centre Ara Damansara.

UPDATE: Read our full review of the Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2 CRDi here.

Learn more: ,

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Retep on Jun 24, 2013 at 5:41 pm

TWO airbags? Really?

As far as I know this car is sold in other markets with at least SIX airbags as standard.

Heck even the CRV here comes with FOUR.

Inokom of ALL things to skimp/songlap, you do it with the airbags?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 204 Thumb down 3
    • 4g63t DSM on Jun 24, 2013 at 6:02 pm

….all the bells and whistles except the full complement of airbags.

Shame on inokom.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 1
      • Anti Crony on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:31 am

Everyone here can make all the noise they want about airbags but SDAC don’t care a crap about your concern. They got unlimited contracts to supply the Santa Fe to nearly ALL the government departments in Malaysia. Open your eyes and see, every Santa Fe as some Kerajaan stickers on it. ALL JKR cars are Santa Fe. The Jabatan Perhutanan also use Santa Fe. So, all your complaints about 2 airbags will be IGNORED. Its one crony (SD) supplying to another Crony (Jabatans)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
      • Syarikat Abuya dan adik iparnya on Jun 25, 2013 at 6:45 pm

People here in Malaysia are so so bodoh. The car is so cheap in the US. Only USD$24,700. You get real CBU Korean made quality. Here, you get the penis logo quality. Now, that is RM75,000. But here it is RM190,000 for Malaysian Made car. You pay more for lower quality. Why I say lower quality??

Malaysian factory workers are most of the time half asleep. Have you been to a Malaysian factory and Korean factory and compared notes? I have. In Korea, they focus and concentrate until they go back home. Conversations are kept to the minimum and seriousness is the culture of the day. In Malaysia, in the kilang, half the time, they are going out to smoke, constantly talking about which awek kilang they want to kongkek, whistling at all the girls in the kilang bus etc. While soldering your CKD parts of your car, Malaysian kilang workers are looking at the aweks non stop. You think they can solder right?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 17
    • kambinganas on Jun 24, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Masalahnya, SD will never learn. Balik2 with this 2-airbag nonsense. If they think people will pay RM190K for Inokom CKD, they are in for a surprise. They should learn from their sister AP king NazaKIA, jangan kurangkan spec keselamatan.

Dahlah, facelift Sonata takde orang nak beli. Yang kat jalan raya kebanyakannya the first few batches.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 5
    • sudonano on Jun 24, 2013 at 6:25 pm

EXACTLY. Of all things, 2 airbags.

Come on la, Inokom is going the same route as ETCM with the Almari and UMW? :face palm:

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 0
    • frenzyaustin on Jun 24, 2013 at 7:56 pm

Is airbag really that expensive? Why a lot of greedy company love to ditch airbags 1st but not reverse camera, touchscreen navi…etc?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 0
      • Jimmy on Jun 24, 2013 at 9:49 pm

I am very glad to see that younger generations have already put heavy weight on safety equipments when making decisions for new vehicles.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 1
    • BeemerFreak on Jun 24, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Simple, just buy the sorento

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • Street Truckers on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:38 pm

sorento takde diesel!

• Ben-X on Jun 26, 2013 at 1:24 am

Yeah Sorento it’s a wiser choice… The petrol is not that bad…. Full airbags are far more important, than a diesel engine…

Why want a Diesel engine ? For economy & POWER!!
          With only 2 airbags… Unleashing that power is a very unwise decision…

• Ahh confused… outside Inokom badges, inside Hyundai badges! what the hxll is this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • SUV fan on Jun 25, 2013 at 7:36 am

I think all the praise and big talk about Korean car superiority really got into SD head. They thought wrong that people will buy this and just forget about the basic safety aspects!
      For me, this has been on my radar since the day it was launched globally more than a year back. I waited and hold back from changing my car, but really sad it came to this now that it’s finally here. A pity really since this could have been the death knell for the Fortuner and other SUV’s. Pricing way too high and omitting the airbags, the joke is on you SD!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • hmm, 7 passengers in this car and they will have to share 2 airbags upon an accident. That’s a tough mathematic question.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • RedLine on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:59 am

RM173k? Nah…better to wait 1-2 years, buy used and save RM50-60k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Yeap, the 2-air bag factor just made a tough decision much easier to make. I held back and waited for this launching becos i was hesitating whether to get a CX-5 or should i wait for this. I am now going to Mazda to place a booking for CX-5. Better luck next time, Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Heskey on Jun 24, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 228
    • protonsucks on Jun 24, 2013 at 6:43 pm

your mother must be very proud of your talent

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 7
  • thinkreallydifferent on Jun 24, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Hi Danny,

If I remembered correctly, this generation of Santa Fe only features cruise control where the current(pre-launched) model does not have cruise control right?

• Hedfi on Jun 24, 2013 at 5:57 pm

Photo no 2 nice rear bumper. 2 airbags for 180k? That will make buying decision easier, for others

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • You are right, Hedfi!
      2 airbags for 180K is a big joke, I am going for Sorento.

• Jimmy on Jun 24, 2013 at 5:57 pm

2 airbags only, am I seeing a Toyota Fortuner from UMW?
    They think they are No 1 in the World and No 1 in Malaysia.
    Boycott those vehicles with 2 airbags with prices above RM90k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 1
    • Veneno on Jun 24, 2013 at 7:21 pm

no dude, u seeing a Hyundai Santa Fe with stupid badge and got only 2 airbags..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
  • Maserati on Jun 24, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Hyundai make rubbish cars. I had an élantra 1.8 high spec version for a week. Made a few trips from penang – kl- melaka.

It’s a ok car if u drive it at say 80-100km/h. Anything above that on the highway say 140kmh and its pure rubbish. Steering feels numb,no feedback while cornering. Handling is Alll over the place.Even my previous Honda city 1.5 E spec handles so much better and is so much better composed on the highway. And the Elantra Steering does not feel right, feels too light at high speeds. Engine is blardy noisy at high rpms.And FC isn’t great either.

My main complain with Hyundais is the refinement. It just shows Koreans have a lot to do if they are going to even catch up with the Japs. At this moment, the Koreans are miles behind.

Still dare to buy a Hyundai? Pls think twice .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 48
    • jolly_idiot on Jun 24, 2013 at 10:04 pm

Any regret with your elantra?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • lorenzo on Jun 25, 2013 at 2:22 am

which Elantra may i asked? i’d be surprised if u said it’s the latest gen. im driving the 1st gen. it sure did give a lot of trouble to my parents but i can deal with that. still can goes 180 ;)

• crazy sky on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:17 am

I am not sure about Elantra performance, but I am happy with my Forte.

To me the overall handling of Forte is moderate, it is certainly not better than Proton (I drove Gen2 for 6 years long) and also conti-car. But I don’t think it is far behind Japanese. I sat in Altis and Sylphy before, I feel floating at 140km/h. Forte is remain stable while driving at speed 140km/h, maybe because of the 17inch rim.

I did drive my eldest brother’s City (2007) and the handling is completely “junk”. The body rolling is worse when in corner. My colleague driving latest City 1.5E, the body rolling is still bad.

To be honest, I am happy to own Forte because at this price range I can only go for Vios or City which is “far behind” Forte.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Also, reviews have pointed out that the torsion-beam rear suspension doesn’t do well in dealing with all the bumps. It’s a shaky and uncomfortable ride in the Elantra.

Hyundai cars definitely look gorgeous but let’s not be blinded. Pretty stuff need pretty interiors too.

• I’d love to say that this is the best looking Hyundai, ‘StormEdge'(crap name) really is miles better than their fluidic design. I’d love to say it has a neater interior, is quite spacious and has quite a generous features. But by now all this will probably fall on deaf years once the Internet warriors(myself included) notice only 2 airbags in a car of this price.

BTW, why does the grill wears the Inokom Badge while the steering wheel has the proper slantinng ‘H’badge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • FluidicSculpture on Jun 24, 2013 at 9:52 pm

Exterior of locally assembled Hyundai must not have badges directly indicating they’re Korean, Even though majority of the parts are imported. Else you’ll pay for AP instead of local excise duty(which is much lower). The Santa Fe enters Malaysia as a ‘semi’ knock down units which are mostly completed in Korea, come in, bolts this, screw that up, and sticks the leather and tyre in.

Same thing with Forte(No KIA badges, and are called ‘Licensed Product’), 206 Bestari(No lion badge), doesn’t seem to affect locally assembled Japanese and certain European car

• frenzyaustin on Jun 24, 2013 at 6:13 pm

With all this spec gizmo and looks with this price, definitely a buy! Until 2 airbags across the range, sorry, a CX-5/Kuga is better choice. Even the CR-V give us 4 airbags. They can give us tons of useless Gizmo but thet can’t provide us better safety? Paying 190K still 2 airbags, you thought you are UMW?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
  • namanama on Jun 24, 2013 at 6:22 pm

nice looking but low specs,and again stupid pricing for Korean car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
  • Wipeass on Jun 24, 2013 at 6:30 pm

Its a freaking car not a god damn woman! We can use more than two airbags please!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
  • gdntsk on Jun 24, 2013 at 6:34 pm

I don’t think the petrol version of the Santa Fe will survive here given the obvious fact that its fully imported sibling (Sorento) is CHEAP & YET IT’S FULLY LOADED.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
  • Koala on Jun 24, 2013 at 6:36 pm

Meh, design is okay. Its stunning at first sight, but similar to the K5 from KIA, the edgy design dies after ahwhile.. And 2 airbags? Really? You have all these features the two airbags.

I know, people (pro-kia/hundai/kimchiers) would defend the brand by saying that its the distributors/inokoms fault for this, but arnt all car models that many of you bash, kimchis, sushis, bratwursts, knackerbrots etc have higher prices/limited features all because of the Malaysian counterpart distributors?? And not the car itself?

Stunning, but okay design, love the front end, but meh with the features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
  • Jab! Strong! Fierce! on Jun 24, 2013 at 7:09 pm

Finally, a “grown up”, nicely designed SUV for our roads, I have to hand it over to Hyundai for the sharp exterior and sleek interior

Surprisingly the diesel version is very torque-ish and on the other note, it’s just too bad Inokom priced the car way too close to it’s competitor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • MrPoppyplants on Jun 24, 2013 at 7:12 pm

How can Sime Darby not read any of these comments and realise what consumers are complaining about?

Or are they just plain oblivious to it all?

Also, the pricing. Are you serious? Way too ambitious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • 4g63t DSM on Jun 24, 2013 at 7:53 pm

That’s the problem. They are still trying to get away with it.

I had a salesman try to hard sell a Chevy Orlando for a good 20 mins until I told him I won’t buy a car with only 2 airbags….after all ..it’s no improvement over my 2006 Citra. Good car, good price, missing airbags killed it. Maybe he’ll report back to Naza and say ppl want 6 airbags especially for a FAMILY MPV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • Retep on Jun 24, 2013 at 8:18 pm

Also, I don’t understand how Inokom sees a gimmicky aftermarket “safe drive recorder” to be more important than airbags.

“Gee 6 airbags are far too plenty for our customers! Why don’t we remove 4 of them and we’ll throw in a safe drive recorder! That’s definitely more useful then them pesky bags of air!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Jimmy on Jun 24, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Good, insist on 6 airbags, if not more.

• Veneno on Jun 24, 2013 at 7:18 pm

it wears stupid badge and come with stupid spec.. why the hell there only two airbags..??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Comments all you want about the price and the specs. What I observe happening to the previous generation was the sheer number bought by government departments. My guess is the same will happen for this one, enough for Sime Darby to meet their numbers!

• shawal on Jun 24, 2013 at 7:50 pm

Kia sorento has d same 2.4 petrol engine , gearbox, platform even, fully loaded with bells and whistles , fully imported from korea , rm159k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • Because its a KIA, so have to sell it cheap. Otherwise who would buy a Kia if they are not known to be cheap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
      • frenzyaustin on Jun 24, 2013 at 9:24 pm

KIA = cheaper, “BLING”er, better spec hyundai.

• 4g63t DSM on Jun 24, 2013 at 11:37 pm

While in many markets, Hyundai is positioned above KIA, this sort of pricing and specification on the Santa Fe here makes no sense at all.

The only thing going for it would be the diesel. For the petrol unit, who in the right mind would buy the Santa Fe when they can choose the fully loaded and CBU Serento for much much less money… And comes with 6 airbags…for what is the same car under the sheet metal.

• 4g63t DSM on Jun 24, 2013 at 11:42 pm

I don’t fault for hyundai positioning themselves slightly upmarket from KIA. If they want to sell premium, at least equip it with proper specification. Only in malaysia people get suckered into paying more for less.

If I ever see a petrol powered Santa Fe on the road, my first thought would be what an idiot the driver was to have bought one…..sorry to say, unfortunately.

• Jeff wong on Jun 24, 2013 at 8:21 pm

Look like with 2 air bags, the GLC Darby loses a lot of potential buyers…. Me too, will think more than twice before purchase ………………..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • SaveTheEarth on Jun 24, 2013 at 8:22 pm

Dual airbag only. Will not consider in buying then. Shame of Hicom

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Everything looks good except 2 airbags!! Will cancel my booking..really dispointed……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • 70gti on Jun 24, 2013 at 8:35 pm

Malaysian lives are cheaper than other ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • jdmftw on Jun 24, 2013 at 8:44 pm

Rubbish company. Think they are so advanced ?

So expensive, only 2 airbags somemore.
    If all Kimchi cars are below RM60k then its okay.

RM160k+ ?! Those scums think they are Japanese ?
    I think only people who want to go to the other world will want Kimchi cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 14
    • Brian on Sep 15, 2013 at 8:02 pm

Ohh please.. not Hyundai done that.. it’s INOKOM who done that.

• William on Jun 24, 2013 at 8:45 pm

Booked one yesterday without noticing dual airbag!! Even with electronic hand brake is useless without safety. 190k crdi high spec but same with myvi 2 airbag…. Disspointed will can cancel booking soon. Not to mention, lousy sound system? Only 4 speaker and 2 tweeter. Price paid does not justify the things given especially for a Korean car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
    • Jimmy on Jun 24, 2013 at 10:01 pm

I like your 3rd sentence.

• William on Jun 24, 2013 at 10:24 pm

You mean the myvi part? Heck even my old Mazda MPV comes with 4 airbag. We initially planned to replace this with the aging MPV but thanks to Hyundai Malaysia I’m going to hunt for other car…

• ben yap on Jun 24, 2013 at 10:42 pm

did you really order or not? don’t talk only, show me your booking form.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
      • Hadi75 on Jun 25, 2013 at 11:17 am

Why should he show you his booking form/receipt???he use your money is it….

• Marzuki on Jun 24, 2013 at 9:03 pm

nice looking car , are there special rebate for this car? ..HOPE I CAN SEE IT AT DRB-HICOM AUTOFEST THIS COMING EVENT @ DRB-HICOM AUTOFEST

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Bobby on Jun 24, 2013 at 9:27 pm

Drb Hicom also selling this car??? Did they sign JV with Sime Darby lol…….

• Loplopl on Jun 24, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Anyone sense the price is intensionally mark up as a counter measure so that hv a reserved 30% price reduction to comply with gov plan?

• FluidicSculpture on Jun 24, 2013 at 9:47 pm

Car price won’t go down figure to figure, the best business strategy many car company is looking into is to up accessory bit by bit while maintaining a lower drop in price. Add-in accessory that have market value of 100% at the cost of 25%(bulk buy, distributor costing), and they only thin their margin by the material cost, rather than a literal price cut.

• Jimmy on Jun 24, 2013 at 10:03 pm

Car price can go down in the hand of Mr A and Mr L, because they don’t have friends in auto bisnes to take care of. So you know what to do in 4.5-year time.

• FluidicSculpture on Jun 24, 2013 at 9:41 pm

Many feedback were given about the two air bag when SAs went for training, sorry to say but it’s a big oversight. The safety system on the Santa Fe DM is akin to trying to run without learning to walk, all that great safety feature through ESP, 4WD, they neglected the fundamental basic of having more airbag.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Actually it is not an oversight. According to the trainer that did the training for this new Santa Fe, SD’s main aim is to sell to govt departments. Even the high specs are tailored to VIPs in govt dept. He even told me that there was a tender to replace the existing Santa Fe fleet used by govt before Raya. The specs they put are intended to hype the car just enough to beat the other contenders while justifying the ridiculous price. If you check carefully, other diesel SUVs have far fewer gadgets and none of them have more than 2-airbags. SD main target for this SUV was never the general public but govt depts. The leader card was also tailored for their VIPs.

While I have test drive the SUV and liked the diesel especially. I was very disappointed with the safety specs and pricing after waiting for a long time for this car to arrive here. Boycott is not going to do SD any harm to improve the specs. You are better off hoping that Naza will reconsider bringing in the Sorento diesel instead.

• FluidicSculpture on Jun 24, 2013 at 9:44 pm

I’ve done some research on my own between KIA and Hyundai and I’ll say for now, the cons of owning a KIA outweighs the cons of owning a Hyundai. I am secretly looking forward to the Cerato although I am a SA with Hyundai.

• think.... on Jun 24, 2013 at 10:43 pm

how d cons of owning kia outweight d cons of owning hyundai?

• FluidicSculpture on Jun 24, 2013 at 11:12 pm

Look is subjective, but many will agree Hyundai cars’ design can withstand time better than often over the top design from Kia.

Secondly, interior wise, Hyundai has a more cabin oriented design, this is actually one selling point on why Sonata still sell well despite K5’s launching.

Not sure this is true too, but I’ve heard from many people from different field that after sales services like servicing and spare part are generally more affordable and accessible for Hyundai than KIA.

I working with Hyundai for 2 years, so I’ve seen some changes to the way SD handles Hyundai, in many parts I am giving thumbs down. Good car, ran down by bad business decisions.

• Sam Looser on Jun 25, 2013 at 1:10 am

That’s just your assumption and hearsay..truth is Kia current design is better and long lasting than Hyundai’s..you can say your opinion..but I trust Peter schreyer’s design more..Kia spare parts just as easy to find and cheap nowadays same like Hyundai as they share most of the parts..but with better spec in Malaysia..Kia definitely better than Hyundai

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:39 pm

I have been driving Hyundai since the days Berjaya was running the franchise. I can tell you that SD has not improved the specs and service levels in any significant way. There are far more KIA 3S centers and only the Glenmarie Hyundai service center actually know what they are doing. The reason I prefer a Hyundai, is because I know the service center people well and know who is competent to solve my problems. However, I will switch to another brand if SD keeps delivering poor specs at high prices. Even if I need start all over again with identifying good service people for my new ride.

• Very very disapointed with 2 air bags. Is that the Malaysian standard?

• In an imaginary board room meeting not too far away…save money give only 2 airbags but customer no worry cos put in a camera recorder so that police can see who cause fatal crash and give leader card for medical assistance..problem solved.

• tommyyeoh on Jun 24, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Pricing for the diesel range is a bit steep cheapest one at around 180k not many people will consider this. My choice would still be CX5 ckd at 140k with 3 years free service and 3 years warranty.

• Jimmy on Jun 24, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Cut 30%, then add back 40% by giving another 4 airbags, both to be done on 32-Feb-2014.

• jolly_idiot on Jun 24, 2013 at 10:12 pm

They might be giving 2 real real huge airbag with that price tag.

• 2airbags on Jun 24, 2013 at 10:24 pm

everyone is commenting about the 2 airbags..not surprising. I went to the pre-launch in glenmarie and was quite amazed by the car until i was told that all versions come with only 2 airbags. Even the expensive trims have only 2! unbelievable!

• jackson on Jun 24, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Will cancel my booking for a 2.2 diesel, black, panoramic roof Santa Fe.

NOT at that price and NOT with only two airbags. Thank you Sime Darby. Thanks for nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Jeff Wong on Jun 24, 2013 at 10:43 pm

USD 30k product selling rm180k in Malaysia. All bcos of one old man!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Just cut n paste what i wrote on previous blog.
    Been detailing this car over the weekend, tested the petrol version. 2.4 MPI engine not worth at it price@$164k low spec neither on $178k for high spec. Come on at least given GDI engine where u gave everywhere out there beside Malaysia. Imagine it just slightly more power then CRV 2.0 for almost $180k price tags? I can get 2.4 DOHC powerful engine from CRV 2.4 with cheaper price or Ford Kuga. Also tested 2.2 diesel turbo version, hmm it better option compared to petrol one @$177k for low spec & $190k for high spec but both only come with max 2 airbag??? If @$190k I do rather pick all new Subaru Forester powerful petrol engine given 363nm. Conclusion is this chick was priced too high, with the spec given. If $190k forester for sure, $170k will go CRV2.4 high spec & lastly $150k below with ford Kuga or best with new cKD CX5 around 140k…..hmmmm, wat shd I pick then…is totally wat budget I hv now

• think.... on Jun 24, 2013 at 11:17 pm

Will, did u try out FL kia Sorento? Even the powertrain is the same as 2.4 MPI not tht good. Bt i heard NVH n ride is good? like u i m considering which one to choose?

• For Sorento, although SA said is all new but to me just Facelift. Only 2.4 GDI petrol or 2.2 CRDi worth considering for both Kia Sorento & Santa Fe. Am now seriously thought of Santa Fe 2.2 CRDi low spec version at 177k versus CRV 2.4. But one think really come to my attention is Hyundai always give plenty discount when clearance like current 2013 Santa Fe 2.2CDRi old version selling close to 130k fr 167k….wah wonder those existing buyer will cry for it RV. And reliability after 5 yrs? Becos of these concern, am more toward CRV2.4 although I love this Santa Fe 2.2 diesel turbo version….like beautiful gal will never become wife as it need high maintenance and decent look gal will most properly accompany us till old…agree?

• Yup, agreed that the petrol 2.4 is pathetic and will surely guzzle up petrol wt its puny torque figures. U will need to rev the heck of this petrol engine to carry its weights (worse if fully loaded wt 7 ppl).

Only good option is the 2.2 diesels,got good 440nm of torque at low rev. Very suitable for a load lugger like this SUV. But wt only 2 airbags – Its a MAJOR TURN OFF. Stupid Hyundai Sime Darby!

• think.... on Jun 24, 2013 at 10:55 pm

SD and SD SAs, u heard it, everyone is complaining about AB. Pls do something by year end. If not, look at what happen to the all new Camry, 20k discount also nobody wanna buy. Even the notorious UMW are not spared by Malaysian Safety Savy buyers.

• RoKie on Jun 24, 2013 at 11:12 pm

The brunette reminds me of Mila Kunis. She’s hot !

• PauKaya on Jun 24, 2013 at 11:38 pm

hyundai/inokom im really shocked. plus seriously brown leather only for the higher spec version you want. really?

• Sam Loo's step dad on Jun 24, 2013 at 11:49 pm

good car for its value, at least it spicens up the competition in this segment. more competition, better price and quality

also glad to see my son is not showing up in these threads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
  • Kuryakin on Jun 24, 2013 at 11:51 pm

Kimchi car learning from Sushi car…less is more for Malaysian market.

• sime dracula on Jun 25, 2013 at 12:41 am

Besides the dumb decision to cut down on airbags..the ugly brown leather as single option for the high spec is also another horrible call by SD..the black leather suits the cabin better.

• west end boys on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:07 am

rm162 starting price not bad for a crossover

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • 809se3 on Jun 25, 2013 at 5:31 am

Malaysian lives only worth 2 aisbags only , car recorder is useless .

• zaimi on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:42 am

nampak nye kena cancel….less mandatory spces compared with CRV and expensive for CKD unit..

• jawchng on Jun 25, 2013 at 9:02 am

i would rather go for Chevrolet Optima or Orlando…

• Dr Cooper on Jun 25, 2013 at 9:09 am

Why the heck every variant only get 2 airbags !!!? I rather not having those unnecessary nappa leather thing and that slow-poke power seat for more airbags option. What the hell HSDM? They just generalize Malaysian like to show off than think on car safety

• kecewa on Jun 25, 2013 at 9:12 am

very disappointed.
    190k for 2 airbags is unacceptable.

Sorento has 6 airbags. Santa Fe gives fancy spec but neglected the fundamental security needs.

Let’s boycott Santa Fe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Maserati on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:27 am

Jolly_idiot, it wasnt my car. It was a company elantra 1.8 which i borrowed for a week.its a C segment car but drove worst than a B segment car.

Lorenzo, yes its the latest gen elantra 1.8 full spec with sunroof which was useless, nvr opened once. Cruise control was ok, but whats the point when the elantra drives worst than my previous honda city e spec.

And somehow these Korean cars chassis feels weird. Doesnt seem right to drive whereas the japs feel composed and everything feels just right.

Pls stop buying Korean junk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • italiancrap on Jun 25, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Yes, jap is a milo tin and feels just right. When accident, i think i rather be in a 5 star ncap than your crap jap.

• Richard on Jun 25, 2013 at 10:55 am

If we are comparing what we have in Malaysia that is in the same category 7 seat SUV, here is short summary :

1. Mitsubishi Pajero Sport 2.5 : RM171k. 2 air-bags • 178ps 350Nm • 5speed auto ( For real off roader with power to go )
    2. Toyota Fortuna 2.7 Petrol : RM170k • 2 air-bags • 160bhp 241Nm • 4 speed auto ( For real off roader without issue)
    3. Kia Sorento 2.4 petrol: RM158k • 6 air-bags • 176ps 227Nm• 6 speed auto ( For Family and comfort )
    4. SsangYong Rexton : 2.7diesel : RM169k • ? air-bag • 165ps 330Nm • 5 speed auto ( For ur…..not sure about this)
    5. Hyundai Santa FE : 2.2diesel : RM176k • 2 air bags • 197ps 445Nm • 6 speed auto ( For Family, comfort and power to go )

Feel free to add on if i miss any SUV with 7 seater.

• valjean on Jun 25, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Good list. You just miss

Chevrolet Captiva : 2.0Diesel : RM160K . 4 air bags . 163ps 360nm .6 speed auto

• I already booked in April 2013. RM163k is acceptable if the price for diesel.

If the diesel almost RM200K with UGLY penis emblem l rather canceled and take Mazda CX5 instead.

• Lewis on Jun 25, 2013 at 12:15 pm

For once I agree that emblem really terrible shape of penis, just like the Waja tail light also!

• 2 airbag only,better buy kia sorento

• Naturalist on Jun 25, 2013 at 12:11 pm

Never mind 2 airbags, but the lady in pink dress is real cutie…prettiest of them all…that’s natural beauty!

• kuryakin on Jun 25, 2013 at 12:19 pm

6 airbags should be the minimum for all vehicles, especially for SUVs,crossovers and pickups as these are prone to rollovers due to their higher CG.
    Curtain airbags help to prevent ejection of occupants in a rollover.
    So I’ll just forget the Santa Fe which I had been waiting for so many years.

• Jimmy on Jun 25, 2013 at 6:05 pm

And protection against side impact injury (minimal crumple zone).

• kuryakin on Jun 25, 2013 at 12:20 pm

What a let down

• FrankTrother64 on Jun 25, 2013 at 12:22 pm

For the distributor of Hyundai Santa Fe here.

Get the facts right

1) Everybody is complaining of 2 airbags for a 190k car. The local distributor here need to get the feedback from users to sell their products.

Not the other way round. Put 6 air bags and the original specs. Don’t flick it away to save cost. All of us can see the difference online compare to the same specs sold overseas.

2) Price has been mark-up wayyyyyyy too high. Just like Toyota 86. Excellent car sold at high price. Eventually nobody buys it even though the promotion and opening was happening. At the end, after a year, how many Toyota 86 on the road?

I have yet to see one, not to mention two.

3) Respect
    Lower than the price to show that you respect our intelligence. Price is clearly transparent worldwide. Every detail, every metal or screw can be researched online. We can compare the worth of this car and see any significant difference on how Malaysian company mark up the price and sell it to fellow Malaysians.

If you continue to do business like 50 years ago, it will not work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • fourwheel on Jun 25, 2013 at 1:18 pm

…how sad for m’sian buyers…don’t worry.sd will launch special raya version with 7 airbags, one four every passanger , plus xtra few thousands up the price…

• 7 airbags in Australia…pity Malaysian…

http://www.hyundai.com.au/vehicles/all-new-santa-fe/safety-performance

• jefiance on Jun 25, 2013 at 2:21 pm

Yes. you guys keep on complaining about 2 airbags and boycott it. maybe who knows they might add more airbags for the facelift

• disappointed on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:31 pm

Very disappointing.
    You think we are buying bicycle ah with 2 air bags? Close to RM200k’s 7 seater SUV and you expect us to accept just 2 freaking air bags? What do you think our lives are worth?
    Handsome design but you guys cocked up with the stupid logo. Hyundai designer must be seriously depressed seeing their designs being manipulated like pasar malam goods.
    Australia is getting this car fully loaded at RM120k with premium grade spec such as 7 air bags, Sat-Nav, premium 10 speakers audio system, more options of interior colors and 5-star ANCAP safety ratings. Sime Darby, where is your safety rating for this car with just 2 air bags?

• Bro, till next year u shd able to get used rx350 from Lexus year 09/10 car at just 230k….so this kimchi lw spec car want sell 200k….dream on.

• paparazi on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:58 pm

why only 2 airbags? I guess they will give Iron man Mark42 suit to the buyer/driver to protect the rest!

• CCC696 on Jun 25, 2013 at 3:59 pm

What a let down…I have been waiting for this model for so long, at the end ONLY 2 airbags with RM189k price tag…Halo brother.. safety is much much more important and should be given priority. Let me ask u HSDM …where is that BOSE speaker? Do we need a recorder in the car? I would go for Sorento if they come with diesel version…Yes it has that great look and no doubt it…very very pity Malaysian to have this version in our soil

• Eazy79 on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:04 pm

Unfortunately, the automotive industry in Malaysia does feel like a government-regulated cartel instead of a government-regulated competition. Once in a while, somebody will shock the system for their own gain, but then will rejoin the horde after obtaining some brand mileage. Let’s see how the new Cerato will be priced.

• FiestaWong on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Truly saddened by the 2 airbags.
    Wife and I checked out several cars but a test drive in the old diesel Santa Fe made a powerful impression.
    CX5 has small seats and no rear air-cond vents.
    CRV has no hands free blue tooth kit for phone connection.
    Kuga has a tight interior and a smallish engine.
    albeit turbocharged..
    Looks like

• Ahbeng on Jun 25, 2013 at 4:47 pm

Greedy sime darby. Put 2 airbags. Go and die lar. Only a fool will pay for this suv with 2 airbags. Good product but screw up franchisee.

For prospective buyers, you are better off without this 2 airbags suv.

• Maaajeeedaaa on Jun 25, 2013 at 6:37 pm

Muahahahahaha……told you guys already in the previous post by Pautan.org regarding this monster. The potential buyer are just buying a rebranded Santa Fe… Not worth it i am telling you.. A rebranded car must be sold less than RM 140k….these SD jokers are taking advantages over our current NAP which is already expired!!!

• Kecewa on Jun 25, 2013 at 7:01 pm

Anyone knows any way to channel our comments here to Hyundai Korea?

or even write our comments/feedback on our local newspaper?

• bongeks on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:00 pm

May i know the exact person or group of SD who approves the two-will-do airbags?

• Miss Eunice on Jun 25, 2013 at 8:16 pm

My question, So before getting a new car, you’re so sure that you’re gonna get into a serious accident? Or maybe you wish that you’ll face one? And, are you sure you wont injured or even die in a car with more than two airbags?

Read this, or google it yourself, instead? :)
    http://www.caranddriver.com/columns/airbags-kill-more-kids-than-school-shootings

http://www.straightdope.com/columns/read/1293/we-know-air-bags-can-kill-people-do-they-actually-save-anybody

etc etc etc.

And uhmm… Everyone have rights to complain, comment or whatsoever, but why criticize? I just don’t get it.

Just my opinion, take it or leave it. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • RejimKejamGanas on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:40 am

Why even bother with the other safety specs then? Uncles have been driving cars with even lower safety specs and higher price. Am I right?

• frenzyaustin on Jun 26, 2013 at 9:39 am

I thins Santa Fe is the most expensive car with 2 airbags in Malaysia

• Pathetic SD. Have not learnt a thing about selling cars. No doubt Honda CRV is selling like hot cake…those buyers had a whif about the new SF price with so-so spec. Well, that’s cronyism…we all gave them this opportunity to take advantage of us. I’d doubt that M’sia will ever change for another 100 years.

• Yours Faithfully (YF) Sonata on Jun 26, 2013 at 12:43 pm

just out of curiosity, if the president of Hyundai Malaysia were to monitor these comments, summary is you guys want :
    1. Lower pricing
    2. Minimum 6 airbags
    3. Listen to Voice of Customers(VOC) before releasing a product
    4. Remove video recording device
    5. Change to black leather seats for high end models

Anything else ?

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 26, 2013 at 8:18 pm

Include bluetooth as standard in all models. I checked the entry level test drive models and it did not have any.

They should also look at the complaints at the Hyundai Malaysia Facebook page. It seems that a lot of people got turned off by the new Santa Fe because of these issues as well.

• Tell u wat! This car will ended up low demand. And then they will give great discount onto it later in year end for stock clearance….then those who bought now?….RV is like that Liao lo

• Jeff Wong on Jun 27, 2013 at 7:19 am

Does anyone has the figure of bookings since launching ? The puchong branch they have less than 20 before launching.

• Kuryakin on Jun 27, 2013 at 4:37 pm

No Bluetooth, Only 2 airbags,weak suspension bushings, after market driving cam easily available for Rm250 but stratospheric price, I will stick with my old ride a few more years and save some $$$$$.

• roxas on Jun 29, 2013 at 2:02 am

I love Hyundai, but inokom Sxxx !!! they rip every features off the car !!! and left with 2 airbag, at a price where sister Kia provide tons n tons n tons of spec list !

• Jeff Wong on Jun 30, 2013 at 5:34 pm

Thank u old man for expensive cars in Malaysia !

• b!tches on Jun 30, 2013 at 5:56 pm

Haiyaa… For almost 200k and 2 airbags is not worth it la…. Hoping in the next few years SD will release the 5 seater version with a shitload of airbags and if can CBU version la.. Btw Tyre pressure monitor got with this santa fe ah?

• Frankly, I was quite impress with all the specs but the 2 air bags spoil the whole thing..and the price.

• Willie on Jul 01, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Yes! Finally something about letter.

• Mencius on Jul 03, 2013 at 4:03 pm

Seriously considering to buy… until 2 airbags? I was thinking they will give like 8 airbags this time… no sales of them!

• retard on Jul 04, 2013 at 7:40 pm

sd car price all very pricey, if continue like that hyundai will become hyun-DIE!!!

• ericquah on Jul 05, 2013 at 9:53 am

Korean cars look stunning,especially the 2013 made but lack the reliability and safety features.Problems will start to appear after 3 to 5 years of daily driving. Above all, way too expensive for the so called Malaysian assembled cars.

• Poor memory on Jul 05, 2013 at 11:42 pm

Rumours has it that toyota cars in US & globally suffered serious failures with their brakes & accelerator. But what the heck, it was just rumours…

• Elchino on Jul 06, 2013 at 11:05 am

Any news on the volume of sales for this expensive car with only 2 airbags? My friend’s old Sante Fei had fuel pump problems after 4 years and he was told that our poor fuel quality is the main cause.

• Julian on Jul 18, 2013 at 12:59 am

I just booked my CRV 2.4 and to be very honest Santa Fe’s designs are gorgeous but the brand Hyundai I still can’t make myself buying it despite I test drive the car and I love it but power wise is not that great. If you are looking for 2.4l SUV, CRV is the practical cars and cheaper. Malaysia weather who really needs a panoramic roof? That is why we tinted our windows so dark and it defeats the purpose of having a dark environment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • stingray on Jul 20, 2013 at 7:18 pm

I have just buy Hundai Tucsons and driving it for seven month, until now there is no complaints, i have speed up until 170/80 km/hrs and the engine is quite goods. I think this is a god starts for Hyundai cars.

• Eventhough with 2 airbags, a lot people still booking for this suv.The problem is that the production is quite slow. Very soon, this suv will be everywhere on the road..

• ahben on Aug 06, 2013 at 12:18 pm

tested twice on the 2.2 deisel. overall features and performance are sexy! and the chicks at the Jln Klang lama are stunning too hahaha oops, but again is the same old shit, 2 airbag. they were counter back saying the side door with 150 stamping.. hahaha i can imagine when my head bang on the door w/o airbag, 150 stamping is real pain la~
    but the sales gal shown me, 4 units sold from july – august. emm…. interesting~

• Jason Tan on Aug 09, 2013 at 11:30 pm

We should be driving cars/SUV with curtain airbags. Mosty back row passengers are our kids, wives and parents.

• The Santa Fe here offers 7 airbags as standard across the range. It is one of the better value 7-seat SUV in the market with sharp looks and performance.

• Outlander Outcast on Aug 26, 2013 at 2:07 am

Looking for 7 seater brand new SUV for quite some time with the price < 200K. This is best option so far. Furthermore it use diesel high power / high torque. Love the look of the car and darn that 19" wheels look gorgeous. Took it for test drive, excellent control, the pick up was enormous and suspension is flawless at its class of course

The interior looks slick with all the electronic gadgets and that leather seat by default. This is mandatory requirement especially when you have kids. Kids will love the panaromic + sunroof especially when get it open at nite. Its spacious that you can flatten the back seat, lay down and and look at the star and tell them your past great story. Love the 3 choice of steering control. comfort for street driving and sports for highway. Make the car feel not "floating" when driving at high speed.

Bit of disapointment on the airbag. But it has all the assist available to keep your car on the road and prevention is better than cure. Nevertheless, your first line of defense is your seat bealt. No points bragging about 10 airbags but no one at the back seat wearing the seatbelt. It will be ping-pong ball when you hit something hard. I will keep remind myself not to unleash this car full power unless i'm driiving them alone and alone in the road thus i guess i can live with its 2 airbag

I'll certainly book for this car cause i've already fall in love at first sight. I told you that looks are important. Something that other car manufacturer can do better about it.

• Brian on Sep 15, 2013 at 8:12 pm

Ford Kuga the better choice compared to this Hyundai and Kia Sportage.

• Dissapointed on Sep 23, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Does anyone waited a bit too long for their car?

I booked not long after launched but till date i hv yet to receive my car.

I chose ocean view 2.2 diesel high spec. Apparently they do not bring in the colour in accordance to confirmed orders, but by their own estimation of what colour is best to bring in.

Another words, either u change your colour to what is available or u just wait. My first Hyundai and so much dissapointment… Maybe i should cancel and change to others.

• jeff wong on Sep 26, 2013 at 9:28 pm

No even one unit seen on the road……r u sure this suv a hot seller ?

• Booking since June 2013 but yet to get the car. The salesman only can give excuses every time you asked them. Fell regret and stupid…

• Dissapointed on Oct 09, 2013 at 6:28 pm

Up till now still no news abt my car…. Dealer said 2-3 weeks now is 3 mths plus. Anyone know where to complain effectively? I hv called all numbers i can possible get and complaints were being ignored. This is totally not acceptable. Not even the slightest news on when my car is arriving. No appologies, no customer care at all.

• Mak minah on Oct 11, 2013 at 2:20 pm

Alasan dari my salesman
    Hai kak , , terlebih dulu ribuan maaf dipinta kerana ada berita buruk nak disampaikan .Macam tak ada rezeki utk saya kak. Semua kereta Santa Fe 2.2 diesel turbo belum ada production kat assembly plant .Production hanya akan bermula pada Disember ni aje.kereta akan dapat tahun depan bulan satu. Hari tu abang dah marah lama sangat tunggu.Saya dah tak boleh suruh akak tunggu lagi.akak dah boleh buat keputusan utk cancel .Terpulang pada kak.Bincang dgn abang dan apa jua keputusan akak .no problem ,I ikut aje.kalau nak beli brand lain I pun boleh arrange kan. Tq dan sorry.

• If you don’t mind smaller space. I would recommend Mazda CX-5:
    1) Cheaper
    2) 6 airbags. Santa Fe gives only 2. However, singapore spec giving 7 airbags. Sime Darby Motor should answer this
    3) Need to fork in more money for Rear Reverse Camera and Autonavigator
    4) 18 & 19 inch tyre easily cost more than RM1k/piece
    5) Rear most seats are for pets, children or midget.

• i saw a lot of tuscon on the road, but few new santa fe only ….. why???

• tricycle on Dec 09, 2013 at 10:26 am

why don’t they bring the US spec, which got 2.0T with more than 250hp? at least 0-100 and overtaking acceleration not that slow.

• flat topman on Feb 28, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Harap 2014 ada pembaikan utk SF…