Hyundai Santa Fe listed on oto.my – end-June debut

oto-santa-fe-01

Another ad has popped up on oto.my for the third-generation Hyundai Santa Fe, and it looks like the stock is already here, judging by the photos accompanying the listing for the SUV.

UPDATE: The new Hyundai Santa Fe is now launched in Malaysia. Click here for our launch report and pics.

The Santa Fe was spied last month, and an earlier ad had initially teased the impending arrival of the vehicle. The latest ad mentions a launch date for the five-seater DM, and it’s supposedly the end of June.

We won’t be getting the long-wheelbase Santa Fe with three rows of seats, though the standard version – with a 2,700 mm wheelbase, same as the current second-gen Santa Fe – can also be specified with a third row of two seats.

The Santa Fe will be powered by a 2.2 litre R-series diesel engine – the VGT-equipped mill offers 197 hp and 436 Nm in the way of output numbers, paired with a six-speed automatic gearbox. The earlier ad lists items such as HID headlamps with cornering lights, LED rear lamps and a reverse camera for the SUV, but it won’t be long now before we know what the complete kit list is.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• brutus on May 29, 2013 at 8:53 pm

This really put the Japanese to shame! Barring the smart looking CX-5. Driven the current version with VGT, it is really something!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 16
    • This junk cannot compare with the king CX5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 105
      • Santa Fe (Porsche) on May 30, 2013 at 6:27 am

Try this car first. I have driven a Porsche Carerra (my brother) and my company 2012 crdi Santa Fe. It is hard to believe but the Santa Fe is MORE powerful than the Porsche Carrera. If you know about cars, its not all about bhp. Its the torque that really matters. This car has a gila 436 NM torque!!!. You see Bhp is only good for 0 to 60. But real power is something else. Once you try a diesel torque, when you tekan, you will be “pulled back” on your seat. Let me tell you again, this Santa Fe has more power than a Porsche Carrera!

Also, the diesel is so economical. No black smoke and a full tank gives me 800KM. For that size of a vehicle, a mammoth size, the biggest SUV around to give 800KM, its really something.

I have to agree 190k is not a good price. Inokom must bring it down to 150 to 160. If they do that, the the CX5 and CRV will be wiped out. By the way, don’t laugh with Inokom quality. I used it for many years also I got no problem at all. Never once car give me a problem. Not even a squeek. I have a Mercedes but always got some issue with it. Koreans have really come up. Safely say, they are same level as Honda and Toyota. To all the Korean bashers, I am no salesman but a lawyer.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 9
        • qwerty on May 30, 2013 at 12:56 pm

erm mr lawyer, horsepower is for top speed, torque is the one that decides 0-100km/h time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 23
          • erm.. your understanding is not totally correct also.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
        • Maaajeeedaaa on May 30, 2013 at 1:48 pm

Your company’s Santa Fe sir? Are you working for Sime Darby/Hyundai or as a Car Salesperson? I’m saying this because i prefer all of us (that includes me)try to avoid this rebranded ‘Inokom Santa’ Fe at so much of an expansive price…They must respect us Malaysians…Because for me, i’m willing to use a Hyundai than a Inokom brand..Supporting Inokom Santa Fe is supporting GLCs with capitalist ideology…However if you are buying a Hyundai Santa Fe, then you are knowledgeable in car and in the market price…Boycott GLCs!!! If they still want to sell, they must sell this car as a Hyundai!!!! Not a bloodsucking GLC company name.. Oh ya, if you still buy this as a Inokom brand and you just change the emblem…you are totally an *&diot..just like those Myvi turning Passo owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 35
          • Penis Logo on May 31, 2013 at 9:34 am

You talk so much but nearly ALL cars in Malaysia is CKD. That you keep quiet but make noise about Inokom. Hello bangau, this is also CKD lah. Its just a damn logo. Nothing else. Its the same as Toyota or Honda CKD. Pandai cerita banyak but talk rubbish. If you want to make noise, make noise about CKD as a whole and why ALL our cars are not CBU. Let me drill it into your numskull, its just a mere logo. Inokom is also another CKD like Honda, Toyota, Nissan etc. You not happy with the penis logo, just put the Hyundai logo lah. That is all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
        • paullie on Jun 22, 2013 at 4:22 pm

What is so proud to be a lawyer? What is so proud o get a sante fe as company car from a “lawyer firm “? u sure?

• Are u nuts…CX5 / CRV are just puny to this Torque Monster…at 440nm its have more than double the pulling power/torque of those asthmatic CRV/CX5….go try first u’ll be hooked by its torque….btw, its sips fuel like a myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
        • Buy Wisely on May 30, 2013 at 10:00 am

They can price this car even RM200,000k it will sell well because all kerajaan cars use Santa Fe. Look at JKR, all their cars Santa Fe. Look at GLC Sime Darby, all their cars are Santa Fe. So, they don’t care for you small ikan bilis consumer. Just government contracts alone and GLC contracts alone enough to sell thousands of Santa Fe per month. This kind of unfair practice the MAA and MAI don’t do anything. They like to talk big and make noise over stupid things. Shut down the MAA and MAI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
        • Pandai on Jun 02, 2013 at 10:44 pm

It’s diesel diesel diesel! Thus minus Biem and ‘lord of d rings’, they still got much to learn. Eg 520d has almost 2s faster century time compare to this car 10.something with less power/torque rating, even more with 2 wheel drive.

• Dude, u’re so wrong. I’m currently in China, and I’ve checked out on this Santa Fe at a showroom here in Kunming. It’s superb ;) Way better than the CX-5

• Hyundai is a Winner on May 31, 2013 at 10:27 am

Toyota and Honda salesman already running like chickens takut. Now Hyundai has really eaten an even bigger chunk of their market. They are so scared even the kimchi bashing online has stopped. Sam Loo also running scared trying to pull his panties up. Now, every other car you see is a Hyundai. People are happy with Hyundai because it is so reliable, higher spec than T & H and gives 5 years warranty with no cathces. Most cars with 5 years warranty got cap to their number of KM eg 60,000 KM etc. Only Hyundai gives 300,000 KM. They are SO sure of their product, they give you 5 years or 300,000. Real shame to all others. Yes, I got a Tucson and I am happy with it. Already 100,000KM, no breakdowns and no fault. Still enjoying 166Bhp and not the low Bhp that CX5 and CRV gives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • Hyundai salesman, why talk so much,nobody believe you, look at the sales figure, and the sales figure don’t lie like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • sudonano on May 29, 2013 at 8:53 pm

Judging by the Inokom logo, its CKD. Looks very like a curvy Q7 though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
  • Roarr on May 29, 2013 at 9:11 pm

The red santa is one daymn fine good looking vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • feitsa on May 29, 2013 at 9:23 pm

definitely more powerful and bigger than cx-5 and retaining the good looking out exterior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 7
  • Gorgeous look and powerful figure on paper, wonder how much will it be?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Maaajeeedaaa on May 29, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Inokom Santa Fe…….gosh, if the price tag is more than 150k….it will be a let off. Better choose CX5 then. Why….becos I’m not willing to pay 190k for a local branding SUV. If it is a pure Hyundai Santa Fe….then I may revise my opinion….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 33
  • Maserati on May 29, 2013 at 9:47 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 166
    • dreaming of maserati on May 31, 2013 at 12:56 am

Are you high on weed?
      440 Nm is rubbish? and what so cheap about the interior? it is like lexus grade if compared to cheapo fortuner / hilux interior.

• Will hope to swap my tucson for it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Proton, we want green turbo diesel powered car please..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • good spec, dont praay praay…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • I viewed the car 2 months ago in shenzhen china.nice car. my wife is driving 2008 diesel version santa fe. she love the car very much..hyundai santa fe is on par with harrier not cx5 or crv..somebody bought used one year used lexus rx350 ap car with RM290K. but actual price for the car only cost RM58k before tax and ap charges.
    lexus rx350 one year used ap car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • Why must it be rebadged as inokom? Why cant just use the hyundai badge, regardless whether its ckd or cbu? Disgusting!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • protonkia on May 30, 2013 at 12:08 am

nice car, i hope it will be around 170-180k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • I owned a 6 yrs old getz, 6 mths old tucson, & I love this version of Santa Fe too! Anyone, how much pls?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • jackson on May 30, 2013 at 12:25 am

It MUST NOT be priced more than rm170k OTR. Sime only wants to keep it’s so called good KPI as a GLC.

Better specs not withstanding, it needs to be priced at that price. Else, people who have stayed with Hyundai since the turn of the century, will leave the brand for good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • jackson on May 30, 2013 at 12:27 am

better yet, price it at rm150k. Shows the ruling government, as a GLC, Sime is supporting the call for lower car prices.

Show us you can do it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Sorry Japs, Koreans ‘tapao’ you this time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 15
  • KillBox1Alpha on May 30, 2013 at 8:10 am

Exterior not to bad…few ideas lifted off the Audi Q’s…but interior does look cheap…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • sam loo junior on May 30, 2013 at 8:43 am

190k ??!!!! you must be kidding me, what a joke of a price for kimchi car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
  • You Name It on May 30, 2013 at 9:35 am

This is what proper SUV should be, for those who think this car is crap, search in youtube and try to check out the review, who say korean kimchi car is not good…. how many of those complaining korean car bad do not own korean product at home nowadays, a LG or Samsung TV, fridge, washing machine, or your samsung mobile phone and tablets. Don’t just judge by the name and the look, go to the showroom and check it out.

I had been Honda owner for 15 years, and this will be my next car to change. Japanese brand like toyota and honda is getting very disappointing in Malaysia. Is time to give korean car a chance.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 2
  • Yours Faithfully (YF) Sonata on May 30, 2013 at 10:56 am

Saw it in the metal. Looks good. Would like to get the diesel and pass my sonata to my wife. Service with Hyundai is fast and no problems. No problems on the sonata as well.

Anyone can comment on the diesel as I heard from my service guy that because our diesel is of the lower grade, common problem such as valve occurs. Any comments ladies n gentlemen?

• It is Handsome look!

• rulered on May 30, 2013 at 11:09 am

Diesel makes it more attractive, I wonder whether there is a 7 seater version?

• Anthony, how fast would this car go from 0-100km/h?

• the 0-100kph are not relevant in real world, its the on gear accelaration which matter most..wt 440nm on tap, u’ll find these beast overtake/climb hills effortlessly …those huge torque will feels like being pull by a locomotive

• apamau on May 30, 2013 at 11:21 am

Time to ubah, talk is easy until u yourself ubah from toyota/honda to kimchi, kimchi goods is no more cheap, see how samsung kimchi crush all the pana,sony like capati.., with their high price products.

love the car, will surely be my next SUV when upgrade.

• apalumau on May 30, 2013 at 12:52 pm

Sounds funny to use certain place as car name.

Why not Proton use name as Batang Berjuntai as new SUV??

Proton Batang Berjuntai…hmmmm

• qwerty on May 30, 2013 at 12:58 pm

An awesome-looking car with an awful emblem.

• Maserati on May 30, 2013 at 1:36 pm

Alot of you are unaware that yes samsung is a big name when it comes to phones, tv etc etc.

But they break down so damn easily. I went to harvey norman wanted to get the rm6499 samsung tv but the salesman ask me to avoid samsung. So many claim warranty within first year.

Yes korean stuff look good, but reliability like crap! I ended up with a sharp tv which so far no problems !!

To me, japanese stuff are more reliable . Just that they dont do much marketing unlike the koreans.

And many ppl are easily fooled by these koreans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 36
    • Angry bird on May 30, 2013 at 2:18 pm

I got a 2008 elantra x20… 5 year already..so far no problem…aside from other car love to kiss its bumper

• dugong on May 30, 2013 at 3:01 pm

I got 2 samsung phones, 3 a/c , 2 lcd, washing machine and 2 korean cars. Never had whatsoever problems you are talking about for past 5-6 yrs.I used to buy jap products and found that they were highly overrated and overpriced.
      Perhaps you like to listen to toyota salesman only?
      They normally bash korean products so that you will pay premium for lower grade jap products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • well!I HAVE A 2003 HYUNDAI SONATA TILL TODAY STILL IN GOOD CONDITION WITH LOW MAINTAINANCE. ALMOST TEN YEARS AND NEVER CHANGE THE POWER WINDOW….FRONT AND BACK WITH MULTILINK DOUBLE WISH BONE .VERY COMFORTABLE….DO NOT FOOLED BY HARVEY NORMAN SALE MAN..WHEN THEY WANT TO CLEAR SOME PRODUCTS, THEY WILL CLAIM OTHERS NO GOOD. I FACED THIS BEFORE.
        WHEN U GO TO USED CAR DEALER ALSO HAVE THE SAME TACTICS. OR THEY WILL SAY ARE YOU THE GUY CALL YESTERDAY FROM PENANG OR JB WANT TO VIEW THIS CAR?HAHA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • This car will not sell if priced more than 150 k.

• valjean on May 30, 2013 at 4:41 pm

So, is it going to be 7 seater or not? Pleaselah give us this most important details.

• torque on Jun 01, 2013 at 6:46 pm

To answer ur question bro…yes, it is 5 + 2 seaters which means the 2 back seat r meant for childrens only. Not fret btw, it also comes with 3 rows aircond vent…front, center n the back as well with 2 blowers. Cheers!

• An awesome-looking car.

• voonvoon on May 30, 2013 at 5:23 pm

as far as my understanding, the 7 seater only made in LWB currently and most probably we will be getting 5 seater species for time being…

• frenzyaustin on May 30, 2013 at 8:35 pm

Wow, really high torque and very good looking too. But priced at 170K is quite impossible as this is a 7 seater and a segment higher than CX-5. It might priced like a Fortuner because you know, Korean car in Malaysia priced like a Japs car. But for me, is such a high torque will wear off the tire really quick?

• RejimKejamGanas on May 30, 2013 at 11:19 pm

This is not a 7-seater. It is a 5 seater only. I doubt the Inokom branding and cut down features will be able to justify a RM190K price tag. Imagine paying RM190K for this with only 2 air bags.

• FluidicSculpture on May 31, 2013 at 4:11 am

Unless someone is saying the 4 units I saw during the preview were one-off, the Santa Fe we are getting is the short wheel base version with seven seats.

• FInally an oil burner offering from Hyundai..kinda disappointing to see the new Sorento is not offered with diesel. But SWB version for 7 seaters would be suicidal..like Naza Citra. Having 2 grown up kids 3 seaters make sense sometimes as I can put one in each row and solve the problem of arguing throughout the journey.

• a BEAUTIFUL car…

• ventura on Jun 12, 2013 at 3:11 am

This one is 5 seater version, the rear side windows and brake lights design slightly different compare to 7 seater version. What the extimated price for 7 seater version if available in M’sia market?

• Design almost like Tucson new facelift.