Hyundai Santa Fe – third-gen surfaces on oto.my

Hyundai Santa Fe

An ad has popped up on oto.my for the yet-to-launch third-gen Hyundai Santa Fe. An estimated price of RM190k is listed for the 2.2 litre four-pot CRDi-powered variant, which has 197 PS and 436 Nm of torque at its disposal. It is likely the five-seater version, as the longer-wheelbase version is LHD-only.

Equipment listed in the ad include HID headlamps with auto-levelling and cornering lights, LED rear lamps, reverse camera, electronic parking brake with Auto Hold, VSM, ESC, traction control and Hill Start Assist. Transmission is listed as a six-speed auto; 4WD with Active on Demand mode is also mentioned.

But you know the drill – these are all indicative, and things have yet to be confirmed or made official. Click here to view the ad in full, or here for more information on the 2012 New York show-debuting SUV.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• @bong on Apr 05, 2013 at 1:19 pm

this is what i have been waiting. Please bring in the 7 seater version. My current Kia sorento 2.4 7seater is doing great. This is better!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • Jimmy on Apr 05, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Are we stupid or something? This car is priced at US$24,450. that makes it around RM75,000. That also its the CRDi or the 190hp Petrol.

How can the price jump to RM190,000? Lagi pun, Inokom will CKD it, so, how can the price be like 3 times? Somemore in US, its the 7 seater.

We need to vote wisely in this coming election.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 15
      • Jimmy on Apr 05, 2013 at 5:17 pm

I am glad and proud to see another person who likes this name. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
        • It’s hard to tell who from who since most doesn’t have Gravatar, but first Jimmy is right, we cried outrage when the 2.4 CRV was said to be priced at 190k, saying the Santa Fe will eat it for breakfast, now even the Santa Fe is priced that high and the only advantage is the better diesel drivetrain….and rather good-looking for the 5-seater ver, best design Hyundai(I really disliked the fluidic design)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Mat Global on Apr 06, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Cheap and popular comments. Among Asean countries there is no such car prices.
        In fact Thailand and Indonesia car prices are only about 10 – 20% cheaper than us.But their pump fuel prices are more than doubled at around RM4 per litre.

As always some people always forget or take for granted the many cheap or even free things available in their own country.
        Why not stay in U.S and try to own a living there? or if still insist to be here then shift to Langkawi to benefit the free duty status.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 43
        • nitebird on Apr 07, 2013 at 10:06 am

wish everyone in sime darby and other party getting rich and rich from taking our money, its culture here. rm190k for 5 seated suv, which previous 7 seated version sell at rm170k, and the weird thing is, people still affordable to buy it regardless price increase.

• Hyundai De la Junk on Apr 05, 2013 at 4:41 pm

Okey I have to admit, I may have to change my name. Korean cars are starting to look attractive and with that kind of torque, even a Porsche 911 does not have that kind of power (torque). I was driving a friend’s Elantra this whole week, I admit, it was a damn good car. Maybe I have been wrong all this while.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 11
      • sharvind varma on Apr 05, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Diesel cars generally do produce higher torque compared to its petrol siblings…but 190k is way too much…140-155k will be the reasonable pricing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
      • Hyundai De La Junk on Apr 08, 2013 at 8:52 am

Ha Ha Ha ! If u try to immitate me make sure you spell it correctly, notice the “L” in La is in cap ? Anyway this car doesn’t need my comment, the RM 190,000 price tag is enough to kill it self.

• Sam Loo on Apr 05, 2013 at 7:59 pm

now pre Hyundai Santa Fe RV will drop like Hell..bad RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 36
      • No need to promote how good is ur Toyotata and super high RV! Hyundai RV drop like hell yet enjoy like heaven unlike those ugly cheap looking cars…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
      • Jeff Wong on Apr 12, 2013 at 11:10 am

buy what u like, who cares about RV….

• Sam Loo on Apr 05, 2013 at 8:09 pm

And have you checked how much your Sorento is worth now? Be prepared for the hailat swearing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 35
  • Specs is great, 2.2 CRDI is awesome, we don’t get much diesel car here but I think there’s a mistake with the price, RM 190k is wee bit too high. Hope it’s wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
  • Anonymous on Apr 05, 2013 at 1:25 pm

Did I read correctly…? LWB 7-seater only available in LHD…?

Sad Sad Sad… :( :(

• Sam Loo on Apr 05, 2013 at 1:25 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 120
    • frenzyaustin on Apr 05, 2013 at 1:54 pm

I know Hilux is a great car but don’t compare a pick up to a 7 seater SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 9
    • hilux better?
      try latest ford ranger & chevrolet calorado 1st
      b4 u make tis comment.
      even i dont own those car,but i drive it all already
      the result,hilux,no way i donna have u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
      • Sam Loo on Apr 07, 2013 at 12:35 pm

Hilux not only has great RV, but also serves as the polite way of telling kimchi owners that they have made the mistake of buying one and will be penalised with low trade in value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
        • David D on Apr 07, 2013 at 2:48 pm

Sam, still on your RV nonsense again? Let me tell you this:- Trade in value for a 2011 Santa Fe? 110k, brand new 170k. 60k trade in value what you claimed? Nowhere near it. Ask the used car dealers who know cars well, and your Hilux, 2011 year, is being taken it at 60k. That’s 2/3 of its value, almost the same as the Santa Fe. Still wanna say you only lose 10% after a few years? That’s bullshit.

At least I lose and arm and a leg virtually, whereas you, in your Toyota, stands a good chance of losing a real arm and leg no thanks to the lack of safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • OMG…U should compare this with T.Fortuner, dun always just mentioned your hilux…Ford Ranger is much more better than your hilux …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • BeemerFreak on Apr 06, 2013 at 6:36 am

Better buy bicycle lah…..

• Sam Loo on Apr 06, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Fake Fella

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • KIA = killed in accident on Apr 05, 2013 at 1:29 pm

190k ???!!! for a hyundai ???

you gotta be kidding me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 26
    • Sam Loo on Apr 06, 2013 at 2:58 pm

1 year later, used car fella will give you RM90k if you are lucky

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
  • Jimmy on Apr 05, 2013 at 1:33 pm

If it is true RM190k for 5-seater Korean brand, then good luck our UMW brother. Best wishes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
    • brian on Apr 05, 2013 at 1:50 pm

huh ? good luck ??!!! they don’t need luck if Hyundai is selling at 190k… even crv 2.4 is estimated to priced at 190k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Apr 05, 2013 at 5:42 pm

Malaysian just have a new UMW’s brother, a little shorter one, who shares the same gene.

• Jimmy on Apr 05, 2013 at 1:34 pm

RM160K more realistic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • @bong on Apr 05, 2013 at 3:36 pm

if Pakatan win.. that should be the price…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
      • less than rm100k,proton future how? must take over by others manufacture

• Rakyat on Apr 05, 2013 at 9:19 pm

Proton no future liao. Go sell bicycle after GE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • Rocket on Apr 07, 2013 at 2:07 pm

BN close shop, proton close shop, crony close shop, car price reduce, rakyat happy.

Do you want happy ending? If so, vote wisely.

• Diamler on Apr 06, 2013 at 6:31 pm

iF PAKATAN win, selling it at RM160k,
        I will not choose this lousy drivetrain car also.

• Sam Loo on Apr 05, 2013 at 8:13 pm

I would buy 1 year later, at RM60k, and there will be a great selection all over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 32
  • seancorr on Apr 05, 2013 at 2:28 pm

If the price is right then we won’t be seeing many of these on the road..in fact I don’t see many Santa Fe’s on the road now either

• Allen on Apr 05, 2013 at 3:36 pm

The indicative pricing is correct somehow.
    Heard that from Sime Darby Hyundai sales department people, it will be at such price range.

• kambinganas on Apr 05, 2013 at 4:13 pm

SD/Inokom is really screwing over the Hyundai brand with such pricing. I guess they think they are in the same league as UMW/DRB even though their after sales is not even the same standard.

• confused on Apr 07, 2013 at 11:44 pm

first the veloster, now the santa fe. i understand hyundai is slowly increasing its price in europe, however they do have the quality and service to backup. Malaysia is still miles away from them.

• qwerty on Apr 05, 2013 at 5:30 pm

Somehow I think this is the best-looking Hyundai. The design is matured and it makes the car looks smart. Less flamboyant I suppose. I’m a Japanese-car guy but I have to say, well done, Hyundai.

• Jefferson Lim on Apr 05, 2013 at 5:37 pm

For full spec of the car surf to official Hyundai Australia website! Google “Hyundai Santa Fe Ix45 Australia” Basically my boss said It’ll be Almost identical to Australian FULL spec Except for no of airbags! 2 or 7? Eg. Elantra 1.8 got 6 airbags worldwide but Bolehland spec only 2 airbags!

• Jimmy on Apr 05, 2013 at 5:56 pm

RM190K is only ok for this SUV if it is:
    1. 7-seater
    2. 9 airbags(NINE) , like Sharan
    3. Panoramic sunroofs
    4. VSC/TC, HSA, downhill control, ABS/EBD/BA, blind spot monitoring system, forward collition mitigation system, anti-rollover, lane departure assist, attention assist, 5-star NCAP, active headlights(left-right, auto adjust), bixenon and tyre pressure monitoring.
    5. FULL OFFROAD CAPABILITIES.
    6. Keyless entry and start/stop.
    7. Leather seats.
    Optional barang-barang orang muda (bluetooth, NAV, auto-this/that).
    We don’t mind if there is no adaptive chassis control.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
  • Why is that every time new car out … price is higher than previous one? Is it in M’sia only?

• boyke on Apr 05, 2013 at 6:19 pm

Don’t complain about a RM190k 5-seater Hyundai just yet!

My Indonesian in-laws just bought one in Jakarta, and I can assure you they are 7-seaters all right.

Now, I’m not sure about spec differences in Malaysia and Indonesia, but since most cars in Malaysia and Indonesia have similar specs, I’m pretty sure we’ll get 7 seats as well.

Aside from the features listed in the ad, the Indon spec gets 6 airbags and a 3-row panoramic sunroof, but it’s missing the GPS nav and reversing camera.

But that price is ridiculous. In Indonesia they’re priced at RM130k for the 2.4 petrol with 170 hp and RM140k for that 190 hp 2.2 diesel, and even that’s ridiculous for them!

Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Jeffers Lim on Apr 05, 2013 at 6:39 pm

It’s a 7 seater like Sorento, Aussie specs & UK specs! FULLY Loaded with Arkamys 12 speakers sound system with Amp & Subwoofer! Power adjustable Driver & Passenger Seats with 3 memory at driver seat! Also, Elec Tilt+slide panoramic sunroof! Price for top of the range diesel! 2.4 Petrol estimated price only RM160k to 175k only!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo on Apr 05, 2013 at 8:11 pm

In Oz, all kimchis have no RV as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 31
    • Jimmy on Apr 05, 2013 at 10:53 pm

So the top of the range gets nine airbags right?
      Remember that Fortuner 2.7V is actually RM145k only if its situation is the same as Santa Fe in Malaysia, taking into account RV, maintainence etc.
      BTW, the target customers are likely paying little attention to the sound system, did I mention it above?
      I cannot remember what little-little functions/gadgets that my cars have. May you feel that one day.

• Kalun on Apr 05, 2013 at 6:53 pm

Hopefully they sell the 2.0 crdi at RM 150k because this is too expensive. It’s even more expensive than it’s cousin Kia Sorento.

• Jeffers Lim on Apr 05, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Dream on Kalun, current model 2.2crdi already selling at RM165k after discount (normal price 173k)! Note that Sorento is Petrol! Naza No longer have B@lls to import diesels after their disaster reliability experience with their 2004 to 2007 Sorento 2.5 diesel! 3rd cause of Low Low resale value of Naza after Huge 5 figures discounts and poor poor Aftersales & low parts inventory!

• Sam Loo on Apr 06, 2013 at 8:46 pm

Why buy new?

Buy pre-owned at at least 50% off 1 year later

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
      • kambinganas on Apr 06, 2013 at 10:29 pm

Dear SD salesman, the original price of the current SantaFe was only RM164K. I have the proof here:
        http://www.hyundai.com.my/newsantafe/pricelist.pdf

That was the pricing originally set by Hyundai-Berjaya. After SD completed the buyout from Berjaya, they revised the price to the current ridiculous figure of RM174K for no good reason. SD has always been a blood sucking leech. When Berjaya operated the franchise, they had at least 6 mechanics at the Glenmarie SC. Now after all the lavish renovations by SD, they only have 3 mechanics and at higher service charges.

I know a lot of Hyundai owners who will never buy another car from this brand as long as the blood sucking SD is running it. SD is like that for anything they take over, you can ask SJMC patients for another such example. Thank god they did not successfully take over IJN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
        • Jimmy on Apr 07, 2013 at 3:53 pm

This is the diamond, not even gold, comment that I have seen over years in Paultan.org.
          SJMC, I wish your boss is Hap Seng Star.
          Who is behind this SD ha? If it is PR, then we please don’t vote for PR.
          No one should take over or monopolise every businesses, rakyat will die.
          If I am the ruler, I will not allow this kind of thing to happen, but now we cannot because there are so many coffee drinkers in Malaysia. Again, Thank god they did not successfully take over IJN, very well phrased.

• Ah Beng on Apr 05, 2013 at 9:23 pm

Hyundai more expansive than VW?

• FED UP on Apr 06, 2013 at 1:07 am

LET’S VOTE FOR PAKATAN FOR A 20% CHEAPER PRICE!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo on Apr 06, 2013 at 8:47 pm

For kimchis, PR or BN, it’s RV will be great for smart buyers who choose pre-owned.

So sorry for the 1st owners though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • Except US all new Santa Fe come in SWB of US’ model but “LWB” enough for the rest of the world. While in US the SWB variants have 5 or 7 seater configuration and Malaysia got similar UK or European 7-seater.

While Kia Sorento merely RM158K I can’t imagine a Inokom badge Santa Fe will be priced closer to RM200K.

Simply not augur well with global pricing. This is crazy of Malaysia NAP.

• Singapore aside, this country really love to make car price like property’s.

• yayang on Apr 06, 2013 at 3:13 pm

I want to buy Hyunday , how much is it?

• awan suci on Apr 06, 2013 at 3:42 pm

RM160K-RM170 is more competitive prize. Like pajero sport and fortuner. Close to RM200k Waaahhh gila ke? Unless that one is diesel hybrid la. But immposible. Bila nak masuk Malysia? kita tunggu dah lihat saja la…

• old dog on Apr 06, 2013 at 8:51 pm

should be Sante Fe Sports please…

• nitebird on Apr 07, 2013 at 10:12 am

rm190k for kimchi suv 5 seated somemore? i rather change my plan to peugeot 508gt or get current version, saw mudah new car price at rm144k !!

• The ad is saying
    Interior:
    Leather upholstery – 7 seats (2-3-2)

Anyone interested in bulk ordering it?

• No joke. Santa fe always disappoint me. No matter how good the torque in the brochure said, it nvr gives the experience i was expecting. Driving experience is what matters, not the stupid lying numbers. Hope this one will be a different case.

• Jeff Wong on Apr 09, 2013 at 5:46 pm

so, when will it be launching in Malaysia ?
    fair price after PR take over, RM145K for 7-seater version.