2016 Toyota Hilux to get new “GD” turbodiesel engines

toyota-hilux-teaser-thailand

Toyota has officially introduced the engines that will be powering the next generation Toyota Hilux at the 2015 Vienna Motor Symposium. The new engines are from the GD family, which replaces the outgoing KD engines found in the current Hilux and other Toyota models.

The new “Economy with Superior Thermal Efficient Combustion (ESTEC)” engines are the 2.8 litre 1GD-FTV and the 2.4 litre 2GD-FTV, which replaces the 3.0 litre 1KD-FTV and 2.5 litre 2KD-FTV respectively.

The larger 2.8 litre engine is rated at 177 horsepower at 3,400 rpm and 450 Nm of torque at 1,600-2,400 rpm (reportedly 420 Nm with a manual), while the 2.4 litre does 160 horsepower and 400 Nm. However different tunes may be used in different countries and/or different models.

The new GD engines will feature common rail direct injection at 1,350 bar and a variable geometry turbocharger. They will be mated to a six-speed automatic gearbox.

Other than the new Hilux and Fortuner, the new GD family of turbodiesels are expected to be a feature in the Toyota Landcruiser Prado as well.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Sam Loo1 on May 11, 2015 at 8:15 am

Toyota is the best. Toyota has high RV also. It gives you a different experience and long term durability and reliability. After 30 years, your car still can run well. Don’t want high RV car, then pity you because you never own this brand and couldn’t afford this brand also. That’s why you always talk bad about Toyota. I forgive you all. It’s alright actually. We are still a strong brand in global even in this country. Go drive your P1 and P2 with your sour faces while I’m always driving happily and enjoying it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 34
    • Telan minyak on May 11, 2015 at 9:33 am

Campro still the world’s best engine.

Now even better with new name VVT engine.

But Lotus still stupid using Toyota engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
      • Same L0rrrr on May 11, 2015 at 6:32 pm

Typical Proton Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok.

I even heard Proton can land on Mars. lol

When this Hilux is out, more Mitsubishi/Ford/Isuzu salesman will be free for long tea break.

• same lor keem mak on May 12, 2015 at 9:08 am

i love my old pajero no matter what you say abt it.
        no loan no problem

• Toyota Hilux are for weeaboos. You are a weeaboo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Bravo sam loo!!!

• You know, Toyota Hilux, like other Japanese trucks, are for weeaboos?
      The diesels are lousy, crappy gearbox, and even worse, not sold in JDM. Don’t be a weeaboo and don’t buy a Hilux.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • Nathan Ferdinand on May 12, 2015 at 7:59 am

I’m in doubt about this.

1GD-FTV is a JDM spec and also exported worldwide. Instead of Hilux & Fortuner, 1GD also used for Toyota Prado in Japan, and all of them mated with 6-speeders.

Does anyone have Toyota with 6-speed gearbox here? Is the gearbox still lousy like the prev 4 or 5-speed?

• Philp L on May 12, 2015 at 9:03 am

overall OK and fine for 6 speeds in land cruiser 4.5 D4d. for me, only gear change bit slower than others 6 speeds transmission. ZF transmission still the best!

• Bravo Toyota. No doubt Toyota makes good quality and durable car. And hope they will continue to do so. What we don’t like is the way Toyota brand is positioned in this country..highly priced but with strip down safety features that make the modest Korean looks good in comparison.

Well, at least they listen to customer complains and improves. This will no doubt make the Korean and other brands to work harder in order to compete for market share.

• Nathan Ferdinand on May 12, 2015 at 8:04 am

Toyota is a good & durable car. Everyone love its robustness. What we don’t like is the lousy UMW – they strip down the spec and sell the cars with expensive prices. Example, in other countries, Toyota Innova sold less than RM 100k, including tax & insurance.

• same lor keem mak on May 12, 2015 at 9:19 am

i agreed with your statement bro. i have been using hilux(2007 model) over 8 years now and what i can say about it: durable and robust car. it gave me peace of mind for 8 years. In Sarawak, hilux is the best selling car even though ford and isuzu are getting the pace due to changing of their marketing strategy and new design.

what i hate about toyota is that they always put price higher compare to their competitor because they know they have a very good product and selling figure talks about it popularity. This is fact…
        is not all about RV .. for me the car with less problem, easy maintenance, durable and availability of spare part are the factors for me to choose hilux over others car brand like dmax, ranger, triton, navarra, wiggle, etc.
        new hilux model will be launched in just a month to come, but for me, i will stick with my old hilux no matter how good the new car can offer.
        at the end of the day the money is yours, and its up to you on how you spend your money..

no loan no problem..

• Toyota Hilux and other Japanese trucks are for weeaboos. Not sold in JDM, lousy diesels, and not powerful enough. Prefer Chevy Colorado over this weeaboo truck.

• HALLO Bro on May 11, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Hi bro, just to remind that colorado using Isuzu engine…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • Paul Tan on May 11, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Colorado uses its own engines. Only platform is shared.

• Philp L on May 12, 2015 at 8:52 am

but to tell u also, for D-max and Colorado, ONLY fuel tank, dashboard and few parts are the same for both! both frames slightly different, Colorado has 7 cross sub frame and D-max only has 6. Colorado has bigger and different absorbers, bushes,leaf springs,balljoints. Engine and transmission are totally different!

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 11, 2015 at 9:56 pm

Pick up trucks are almost non-existent in Japan.

• American loves diesel 4wd.

• Good to see Toyota coming up with new engines. Their previous engine way too outdated and uncompetitive now. Hopefully this new one is actually fuel efficient.
    Toyota is well-known for their car reliability and they spend nearly all their development budget on reliability. Which explains why Toyota looks so ugly and rides so cheap.