Mazda MX-5 in Malaysia – 2.0 auto, high-spec, RM220k

Mazda-MX-5-Malaysia-Price

If the new Mazda MX-5 is your kind of car, we’re pretty sure you don’t need anymore encouragement or stimulation. The little red teaser has starred in so many persuasive videos and ads, you’re probably ready for the climax by now. The fourth-gen roadster’s Malaysian launch is just around the corner now, but all you need to know is now here thanks to the availability of a price list.

We already know that the ND will reach Malaysia with the bigger of two engines available, and without a stick shift. A 2.0 litre SkyActiv naturally-aspirated motor and a six-speed torque converter automatic with steering shift paddles is our lot, so the rare few who want the full Zoom-Zoom experience (Mazda videos never fail to show the joys of stick shifting) will have to enquire with the grey importers. We suspect it won’t be easy though, because demand is high.

mx-5 02

The official price list we obtained shows an on-the-road without insurance price of RM219,999, slightly higher than the earlier suggested range of RM190k to RM210k, probably because of unfavourable forex. That’s a big sum for a small car, but it’s at least very well specified, probably the highest spec out of the factory without optional packs.

Included with your new MX-5 are 17-inch wheels, i-stop (auto start stop), i-ELOOP (brake energy regeneration), lane departure warning, auto adaptive headlamps with high beam control and ABS/EBD/BA/DSC are standard. Also in are keyless entry and push start, MZD Connect with seven-inch screen, auto air con, cruise control, auto dimming rear view mirror and powered folding wing mirrors.

Mazda-MX-5-Malaysia-Spec

The audio system has CD, Bluetooth, USB, AUX and SD card functions, and is connected to a nine-speaker Bose system. The latter includes cool seat headrest-mounted speakers, pioneered on the original Miata. They create a wide sound stage despite being just behind the occupants’ heads and music doesn’t fade in the breeze, Bose says.

So there you go, a well-equipped Malaysian-spec Mazda MX-5 for RM220k. The masses with the money will go for a premium branded compact exec and many enthusiasts will go down the well-trodden turbocharged hot hatch route; but you, the driver who prefers feel over speed, the one who wants wind (and dust) in the hair, what do you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jay Law on Aug 18, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Who would buy one in auto?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • John X on Aug 18, 2015 at 4:02 pm

Probably older men who want their trophy wives to drive in a convertible, but aren’t way up in the rich scale.

• thepolygonal on Aug 18, 2015 at 4:34 pm

I think they will go for the 2nd hand current model of the SLK 200/250 or the Z4 at RM180k~ish or the new Audi TT from RM280k++

• Jane X on Aug 18, 2015 at 4:58 pm

LOL John X – you’re funny. I suppose you drive a Mercedes convertable with an automatic?

• sepul on Aug 18, 2015 at 3:00 pm

I suppose this may go down the fate of Toyota 86 over here.

Malaysian who enthuse driving are mostly average earners. This car is supposedly the perfect choice, but ruined by the price and lack of manual option.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • kington on Aug 18, 2015 at 6:01 pm

Yup, that’s why the 1.5 was not brought in here.

Price it low, it affects CKD cars, which in turn affects local companies controlling these brands.

• sepul on Aug 18, 2015 at 9:48 pm

Not necessarily. CKD cars are for mass market models. This one is for niche market.

I am using the Honda CRZ as a base of argument. Even after excise duty exemption was lifted, the car’s price never shoot past 200k mark.

During the exemption, with low pricing, the CRZ sees plenty of happy owners and quite a common sight. Back then it was manual only before the CVT came in to fill the gap. And the sales of Honda City remain strong still.

I find it a strong indication that niche buyers are aplenty when pricing is right in their budget. And Honda’s CKD models remain unaffected at the time.

• GT3 (Member) on Aug 18, 2015 at 8:59 pm

Yea. Most driving enthusiast don’t want a heavy full-spec car with auto just like the Grand Turismo variant. Instead, we want a minimalist car with no techy-techy stuffs, just steering, three pedals and a stick shift.
      Even if not mandated in our law and can untick ABS, we don’t want it LOL.

• hailthepurist on Aug 18, 2015 at 3:00 pm

for an FR at this price range, GT86 or BRZ stil top pick(s).. plus a real roof, this got no RV..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • karam singh on Aug 18, 2015 at 6:58 pm

agreed yet this car 2.0 very little power compared to BRZ

• crash on Aug 18, 2015 at 7:18 pm

golf gti can easily smoke this shite, haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
        • You sure?

MX-5 0-100km needs only 5.9 secs.

• mx5junk on Aug 19, 2015 at 1:28 pm

GTi needs only 5.7. Focus ST needs 5.6.
            RIP MX5, LOL

• GTi needs only 5.7 ?? Focus ST needs 5.6 ??
            what nonsense bullshit are u talking here ? show your proof.

• No. You’re wrong. This MX5 can achieve 0-100 in 7.3 secs. 6AT & 6MT. 157hp 201Nm of torque. 208 km/h of top speed.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Aug 18, 2015 at 9:29 pm

Well, not really, if you watch youtube from motor trend mx5 has faster lap time compare to BRZ

• mohawk on Aug 18, 2015 at 3:00 pm

bring in the manual and you can take my money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • good luck selling them

• this car should’ve been 170k-190k and have absolutely no equipment except a manual box to keep the weight down

• pontiac on Aug 18, 2015 at 3:12 pm

so. the gov janji manifesto to bring down car price cant be achieved due to currency. damn this car is so expensive. U got the same 2.0 engine which are currently used by the mazda 6 and 3. u got the same spec as mazda 6 top ranged which is 20k cheaper. damn u bermaz.. good luck selling this crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • John X on Aug 18, 2015 at 4:00 pm

You obviously don’t know jack. Forget about the pricing, which can be debated about. But you want to talk about the engine and specs? You definitely aren’t someone who is part of the auto enthusiast culture. MX5/Miata isn’t about raw speed and power, but rather the pleasure about driving, and being at one with the car. But what’s it worth arguing with you. If you had taken the time to maybe look up a few videos on youtube, you wouldn’t made a dumb comment. Crap it is not, expensive it may be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • what the hell are u on about ? u don’t even understand Pontiac’s point. he is asking bermaz why mazda6 2.0 which is sharing same drivetrain can be sold at 160k , while mazda6 2.5 is 190k ?

• John X on Aug 19, 2015 at 4:40 pm

Then it makes you both idiots. Size of engine and drivetrain shouldn’t matter. The US Mazda6 2.5l top spec is same price as the Mazda MX5 with a smaller engine. and the fact is, economies of scale come into play. how many mazda 6s are being made, and how many MX5s are being made. The audi a5 uses the same engine and drivetrain as GTI. Should they be priced similarly. Sure this comment is all over the place, but that is to show you many ways this argument can be had. Logic escapes you too.

• 1. if the reason for the price gap is due to economies of scale, then you could have explained that when replying to Pontiac in the first place . instead of ranting nonsense about “MX5/Miata isn’t about raw speed and power” . this proves u are a gigantic a**hole

2.You obviously don’t know jack. the audi and gti drivetrains are different. the torque is different, engine head is different (I think), and audi used 7 speed dsg while gti uses 6 speed dsg. If you had taken the time to maybe look up a few specs on internet, you wouldn’t made a dumb comment. this proves u are an idiot.

3. so in summary, no only are u a gigantic a**hole, but u are also an idiot.

• Sh*t!!, I want this car

• Sgt Scoop on Aug 18, 2015 at 3:44 pm

I guess, with the tax structures in Malaysia, there is no chance of an affordable sports car. Could P1 build a little 2 seater?

• nabill (Member) on Aug 18, 2015 at 3:46 pm

This car no matter how great, is just not made with tropical weather in mind, i can see why in Europe n sunny States are wildly popular…. Its weather n price friendly over thr… Not here.. Nt in southeast Asia… U can get a GTI 4 door with that price…
    U can only blame the weak ringgit to a level, then all sort of Dracula taxes apply n suddenly its a ridiculous price…

• lantis on Aug 18, 2015 at 3:55 pm

For your info, Japan market Mazda MX-5 1.5L that having similar spec to what M’sia market selling, retailing at 3,142,800 JPY whereas Mazda6 2.0L retailing at 2,867,400 JPY, so it is not the story of engine capacity.

• flipper2uman (Member) on Aug 18, 2015 at 4:05 pm

Taking a long drive down a coastal road wearing a Hawwaiian shirt. Nice!!!!

• MAZDALAME on Aug 18, 2015 at 4:11 pm

NO MANUAL BETTER NOT SELL HERE

• Love it’s alarm system . Simply can’t afford such luxury. Just have to stick to my CX-3 plan.

• thepolygonal on Aug 18, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Guys and girls, I am trying to look up some sports options but have you guys noticed the BRZ is no longer in the Malaysia Toyota website, so are the 370zs in Nissans and RCZ from Peugeots. They stopped selling those?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Matchy on Aug 18, 2015 at 7:09 pm

Of course you can’t find the BRZ from Toyota website… because it is a Subaru car!

http://www.motorimage.net/MY/showroom/BRZ/MY13/?pg=introduction

If you mean the 86, I think UMW might bring it for you (only) for a premium.

• Zoom Zoom on Aug 18, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Mazda 2.0 NA 2 seater for RM 227k? too expensive! Unless is more powerful, better handling and fun to drive than Audi TT…

• GT3 (Member) on Aug 18, 2015 at 9:03 pm

It IS better handling and more fun to drive than Audi TT, it’s just less powerful. But the MX-5 is more than just about numbers.

• Funny, bring in a little sport car with auto gearbox?

• Thought launch together with CX3…

• bizzzzzzzzz on Aug 19, 2015 at 10:06 am

who will freaking buy this car…

220k with such a small car.

not even worth it.

if 150k below yes the price is right ..

is mazda not what kind of so limited or branded car.

and dont have sport equitment on . other then SKYACTIV….

• Top up a bit could get a VW GTI, although a lot negative feedback from public. I’d get a GTi.

• lolpanda on Oct 21, 2015 at 5:56 pm

if you could afford it to begin with.

always a lot of “could”, “would”, and “if” in the comments section because the bunch of guys who can actually afford cars like these aren’t here leaving comments like these.

for the most part, manual is generally not a popular option in bolehland so from a business perspective it makes no sense to bring a manual variant into the market.

now i’m a big fan of manuals but look at the number of Megane RS, Focus ST, Fiesta ST, 208 GTi on the road..then look at the number of Golf GTi on the road.

in fact, the Fiesta ST and 208 GTi are both priced under RM150k yet if you go to that page on this website…i guarantee you will see a whole bunch of trash talkers in the comments section picking faults from head to toe as well.

face it guys, the cars are not the problem..its the bunch of whiny pants who complain about everything here because they can’t remotely afford it to begin with.

yes, unfavourable taxes and pricing in Malaysia is a pain. such is the case in S.Korea, Singapore, etc…and now i guarantee someone will say “but public transportation there is so much better”; but here we are debating about how a RM200k+ car is out of reach but face the facts, at the very least you guys have the option of an ‘okay’ RM30k tin can we know as Protong to drive about vs. having to transit, queue, and wait under the hot sun for public transportation.