VIDEOS: Look up, Mazda MX-5 launched Down Under

The Mazda MX-5 is now launched in Australia, with the 1.5 litre model priced from $31,990 (RM92,411). A “GT” spec 1.5L with MZD Connect, nine-speaker Bose stereo, navi, auto wipers/headlamps, keyless entry and leather, among other goodies, is theirs for $6,000 (RM17,345) extra. The 2.0 litre variant will reach showrooms Down Under in November, priced from $34,490 (RM99,628).

Jealous yet? The fourth-gen roadster is coming to Malaysia very soon, but there will be no manual option and the price tag will be around RM190k to RM210k.

With the Aussie launch comes more “poison” from Mazda. The message of the ad, titled Look Up, is simple. Stop looking down at your phone, checking Facebook and emails, and look up to the unlimited view provided by Mazda’s roadster. Freedom, the open road, you get the drift.

I’m sold, because Driving Matters, but unfortunately this writer doesn’t have the funds nor the interest in an automatic Miata. How about you?

More videos from Mazda Australia show the optional two-stage alarm system that works with the top down (initial warning when intruder gets close, siren when evil hand enters the cabin) and a Kuroi Sports Pack which includes under spoilers (front, rear, side), a rear lip spoiler and multi-spoke alloys.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Eric g on Aug 07, 2015 at 5:05 pm

MY GOD THATS ONE GOOD LOOKING CAR.

• thepolygonal on Aug 07, 2015 at 5:12 pm

I am sure we can’t get the aussie price but … Come on Bermaz, gimme RM150k for the 1.5 soft top version… pleeeeeaaaassseee…

• Captur / CX-3 on Aug 07, 2015 at 5:34 pm

If really 150k , then I might ditch my CX-3 dream and get this baby. Love the Mazda alarm. Awesome stuff.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 07, 2015 at 8:16 pm

150k would be awesome. Come on, man, remove the Captur from your name. We know you’ve got the Zoom Zoom in you already.

• Captur / CX-3 on Aug 08, 2015 at 1:02 am

I like Captur a lot la. Got 2 toned colour. Make me look younger. I still not affected by Zoom zoom virus yet.

• protech on Aug 07, 2015 at 5:33 pm

I do hope this car and honda s660 can come to malaysia in manual option, at a reasonable price…

• Jimmy on Aug 07, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Tiny little simple car at Mazda6 2.5L price simply because of niche status.

Turbo – nil.
    Motorised softtop ?
    All aluminium – nil.
    3.5L V6 – nil.

Airbags berapa ? Sama bilangan dengan Evora kah ? Dua biji ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • sepul on Aug 07, 2015 at 7:39 pm

While RM150k is a nice price, it still is too expensive for what the car actually is.

A niche car does not have to be expensive just so to cover the profit margin of such niche offering. Aussie pricing reflected in ringgit shows how terrible our taxation system are. They can get the car priced closely to the Japanese pricing, which is excellent.

I believe excise duties must be abolished for all cars, be it CBU or CKD, even to Proton and Perodua for that matter. Import tax is fine so long they are only a small margin of the actual price. GST already reflected in every transaction, so there is no need for excise duties to remain in place.

We can only hope, but I think at least the price of MX-5 should be less than 130k. 150k maybe for the 2.0 automatic.

• swifty on Aug 08, 2015 at 10:43 am

I like the alarm feature.