VIDEO: Tengku Djan drives the Iriz R3 around Sepang

Feast your eyes on the Proton Iriz R3 Malaysian Touring Car, and boy does it sound insane! The video above shows Proton Motorsports head Tengku Djan at the wheel of the new race car, lapping the Sepang International Circuit.

To recap, at the heart of the souped-up Iriz R3 MTC is a race-prepared, naturally-aspirated 1.6 litre engine (a de-turboed Campro CFE block) that churns about 190 hp, matched to a five-speed manual transmission. The stripped-out racer features Recaro Pole Position race bucket seats, Alcon racing brake calipers and Ohlins adjustable coilovers.

The test lap was done in a practice session in preparation for Round 4 of the Malaysia Championship Series. The Iriz R3 will also be partaking in the Sepang 1,000 km race in November to defend the team’s crown.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Aug 28, 2015 at 4:55 pm

sounds broken.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
    • Agent 47 on Aug 28, 2015 at 7:47 pm

Time to take down Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 24
      • taxta on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:14 pm

Time to grow up. Japs never say that to their companies, why? Oh becoz that’s their race?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Sam Loo (ori1) on Aug 29, 2015 at 11:46 am

Proton is for poor people. Only poor people should buy Proton. The middle class and upper class, please do not buy. Proton is so low class only the low class must buy Proton.

This R3 is another way for Proton to waste money. Cannot even build a proper city car for normal people, they want to race and build race car. The money used to make this R3 junk came from our pockets as Proton will ask Gomen for more money for R & D.

Low class junk. I appeal all those reading this to aim high in life. Look at me, I am just a Toyota salesman but I am already buying my 3rd Lexus. Work hard and you can get better things in life like a superb Toyota Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 43
    • karam singh on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:24 pm

Its a track car, dont expect any comfort.
      I bet u never seen in car video of track car.
      But for me this car sound good, far2 better handling compared to Myvi.
      190hp 1.6litre N.A , thats 118.8 per litre.
      2.0 FD2R 225hp, 112.5hp per litre
      2.0 F20C S2000 120hp per litre.

thats on par on the best NA engine made by Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
      • driveway on Aug 29, 2015 at 11:46 am

Haha, what’s the point of comparing the handling of a motorsports division car with Myvi? The truth is the handling of this car is not good either as you can see lots of understeer. Mini Cooper would have a better handling than this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • letsee on Aug 29, 2015 at 8:04 pm

This is new car. Many things yet to be done

• Ahmed101 on Sep 01, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Dear Driveway,
          Just dont say things that you don’t even know like other keyboard warriors.
          Its a front wheel drive car that why it understeer. I can bet this Iriz can tapau those mini Cooper cup easily.

• rally_fan (Member) on Sep 03, 2015 at 10:51 am

talk is cheap..

• Malaysian mentality on Aug 29, 2015 at 7:01 pm

BMW never compare it’s Mini with myvi.. See the problem?

• R3 vs Aunty? on Aug 30, 2015 at 7:05 am

Compare a race car with a sampan aunty car? What is the point? So, aunty should buy R3 send kidds to school or go pasar malam? I dont think Aunty dare to drive this kind of noisy car…

• Aunty Wins on Aug 30, 2015 at 9:33 am

Can’t you see the word never? Your blind hatred towards Myvi is the problem. Aunty will laugh at you for how bad this R3, so called race car, handles

• vidsmaker on Aug 30, 2015 at 12:48 pm

Your hatred towards iriz is the problem. This is too early to make justification. And the speed also unknown too

• S.roma on Aug 31, 2015 at 1:51 am

what he meant is if we compare stock iriz and myvi

iriz win all on most expect, except quality of material

ive driven both car, iriz is better in most category, but not quality

seem that some people too dumb to understand ur comment bro :)

• myvitinmilo on Aug 31, 2015 at 10:47 am

Quality material if myvi is junky

• Tony Roma on Aug 31, 2015 at 10:51 am

“Its a track car, dont expect any comfort.”

Looks like you’re too dumb to understand his comment :)

• Gold Avanza on Aug 30, 2015 at 4:13 pm

Iriz tak laku. Period.

Myvi instead should have a track version from its amazing sales proceeds. Familia murderers will be so excited especially Yana yang ada orang dalam.

• myvivwwannabe on Aug 30, 2015 at 6:10 pm

Only cheaper “new” myvi seen on road, it’s sold because it’s cheaper variant. The GTi wannabe variant tak laku coz it’s insult to its owner.

• tinmilo on Aug 28, 2015 at 5:08 pm

For someone that was brought up with a golden spoon, I expected better driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 16
  • Baldwin on Aug 28, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Stop wasting funds, resources etc on all these R3 dept.
    Let’s face it, its been years and sucking the government dry to fund this industry. Have Proton/R3 gotten anywhere yet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 46
    • Beckscum7 on Aug 28, 2015 at 6:04 pm

They gotten a fat boy to drive a top of the line Iriz. Isnt that something to be proud about?
      Honestly, you will get plenty of thumbs down for your comments as lots of people here is driving a Proton downpayment using BRIM money. For them R3 division is equivalent to AMG / M Sport division, please kindly don’t burst their bubble.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 27
    • DonkeyKong on Aug 28, 2015 at 10:37 pm

If Proton was run by some Chinaman, it will somehow be a good company. But unfortunately it’s not run by Chinese, so all haters want it to shut down.

Why don’t we ask Lee Chong Wei to stop wasting public funds and sponsors’ money because he could never get a gold medal? Instead, the Chinese worship him like a deity although he’s a non-performer.. hypocrites..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 48
      • KingKong on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:39 pm

Well, if Lee Chong Wei is wasting public funds, are you or one of your Malay ethic friends going to get a gold for Malaysia? Boleh ah? If not, you just talkok. So please STFU, keyboard hypocrite

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
      • Benny on Aug 29, 2015 at 9:33 am

At least he still got 2 Silver medal in the Olympics. Our athletes should be respected regardless of race just as Razif Sidek/Jalani Sidek got Bronze in 1992, Cheah Soon Kit/Yap Kim Hock (Silver), Rashid Sidek(Bronze) 1996, Pandelela Rinong (bronze) 2012. During the Olympics should any of our athletes reach the finals regardless of race the whole country will be glued to the TV and gives full support.
        So what has a Donkey done for this country other than making donkey comments??
        The hypocrite is YOU!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Racist on Aug 29, 2015 at 10:21 am

What a bloody racist. Perodua run by who? Did you see Perodua getting the same treatment? Can you please point out which of the car companies in Malaysia is fully run and owner by Chinaman?
        Also who is the AP owner and what is the cost to get an AP? Typical rent seeking behaviour.
        Just FYI, not all Chinese think LCW is a hero, you should ask Rosmah who is her god-son.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • Racist2 on Aug 29, 2015 at 12:26 pm

LCW started his badminton game Zero-Zero sanctioned by IBF. Proton with tongkat will want to start the game 15-Zero.
        Talking about hypocrite, Farah Ann Hadi won the Gold Medal in gymnastic but her own people were more focussed on her attire.

• mindg on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:18 pm

Yes, 5 stars NCAP safety quality it’s something rather than nothing.

in b4, qoros and volvo…..

• Rubbish, reused, recycle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • In b4 haters will hate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 20
    • I ate on Aug 29, 2015 at 8:31 pm

Too late. Learn to be efficient next time.

• Nope. I think this was the 4th starter comment. Just that the replies threaded to the comments above me were crazy long. So ur point is moot.

• I ate on Aug 30, 2015 at 5:04 am

Nope. The original comments are what you would consider hateful. So there.

• koerg on Aug 30, 2015 at 8:38 am

Late? Who are you to say late or not?

• samelordupes on Aug 30, 2015 at 9:38 am

Not original. Many same lorrrr dupes here

• How long a Proton can Last?
      5 years?

if i have the money to take 5 years loan and change car every 5 years, i wouldnt mind.

• koerg on Aug 30, 2015 at 8:39 am

I dun mind if you get a car or not

• Well my Gen2 CPS is 7 years and going. Mileage is quite decent at over 99,000.

• taknakToyota on Aug 30, 2015 at 6:14 pm

Toyota engine makin lama makin makan minyak like lembu minum air, campro engine makin lama makin jimat. Guess which engine is more beneficial for long usage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Bryan on Aug 28, 2015 at 5:25 pm

“naturally-aspirated 1.6 litre Campro CFE engine”
    I’m confused. I thought CFE was turbo?

• Please do read the previous article on this car. It was mentioned that R3 used CFE engine block and IAFM header.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • Rover (Member) on Aug 29, 2015 at 12:06 am

Yeah, I was wondering about the same thing too. I remember Suprima S having the badge switched from Turbo to CFE few months ago…

• S.roma on Aug 31, 2015 at 1:53 am

ur wrong, from CFE to turbo cause of marketing

read some more bro

• jinggo on Aug 28, 2015 at 5:29 pm

naturally-aspirated CFE? I thought CFE=turbo…

• Alifzz on Aug 28, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Quite astonishing figure of 190hp for de-turbo engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • DonkeyKong on Aug 28, 2015 at 10:36 pm

Quad-throttle, standalone management system, etc. etc. does the trick..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • alldisc on Aug 29, 2015 at 12:29 pm

fortunately, as we can see in formula 1 cars since several decades back, even the 2.4 litre V6 is able to produce 750bhp (that is equal to 312bhp per litre) but put it in a BMW 7 series (weighing roughly 2 tonnes) and it will struggle because it has no power at low end revs – meaning no driveability.

tried diriving cars with racing cams?? they can only idle at about 1,500rpm or else engine cannot pull.

this is the reason for bringing back variable valve timing (cam phasing system) so that a car has driveability.

• And how is this going to increase the sales from 7K for 6 months to a higher figure?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
    • movingcoffin on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Much better than moving coffin p2, new model also no VSC

• movingcoffin on Aug 29, 2015 at 10:55 am

Yes, new model like Sxxx Plus don’t even have ABS, much less VSC

• mazola on Aug 29, 2015 at 8:20 pm

OMG where are you in a while?
          Saga is not new model.

• maslan on Aug 29, 2015 at 10:15 pm

Aren you sure? Saga Plus just launched woh

• degrsd on Aug 30, 2015 at 7:40 am

It is just an old model with different accs not entire new car. Get your fact right

• S.roma on Aug 31, 2015 at 1:54 am

new saga sv got ABS la idiot

• Tony Roma on Aug 31, 2015 at 10:55 am

People are talking about new model Saga Plus, not old model SV la idiot

• leonardo on Sep 02, 2015 at 8:31 am

Saga Plus got ABS bro! Do your homework.

• How to be better? Don’t be loyar buruk la. Even the model with lowest sales in P2 beat the crap out of your iriz.

• mnoory on Aug 28, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Wow! Same power output as the entry level BMW520i but lack cornering prowess of the latter. Need to correct this urgently otherwise you are going to see a lot of this car terjunam dalam longkang, gaung atau rumah orang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • I din know there were longkang, gaung or houses obstacles at Sepang. Must be the most challenging and extreme race track ever!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • prodriver on Aug 29, 2015 at 12:21 am

Want to know the real problem? FWD. Sending this much power to the front will only cause Torque Steer. Proton is stupid for not knowing this. Should have sacked whoever who thinks that it is cool to send 190hp to the front

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Alson P on Aug 29, 2015 at 12:19 pm

How about Honda Civic? They all FWD! And Civic Type R have much more power to the front…

• VTECH on Aug 29, 2015 at 10:21 pm

This is a Type R wannabe but sadly can’t handle like one…

• lotushandling on Aug 30, 2015 at 7:34 am

Compare Lotus handling with Type R? It is not even close. Nice try.

Btw, there a lot to do on this car.

• S.roma on Aug 31, 2015 at 1:56 am

the one that idiot is u, most of the track car is also FWD, u saying all those people stupid o urself?

• Tony Roma on Aug 31, 2015 at 11:01 am

Hey idiot, most of the track car is RWD. Those with FWD will have electronics to minimise Torque Steer unlike Iriz. Only you are stupid not to know this

• Nak saja dekat-dekat dengan BMW. But it still won’t help.

You can go to club to get close to the chicks there but you won’t be the same class as them if you are a loser. See the correlation?

• Eugene on Aug 28, 2015 at 6:15 pm

They probably spent more than 150k on the irisheet.

Also the parts are not from potong and it’s from other cars like suzuki swift sport supercharger kit installed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 26
    • rally_fan (Member) on Sep 03, 2015 at 10:53 am

so this iriz runs a suzuki swift sport supercharger kit? totally unbelievable comments here…

• Anonymous on Aug 28, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Simply a waste of time n resources. Automakers usually spend resources at races n speed trials n such as a testbed for their techonlogies to be put into the consumer models… P1 spend all this time and money into hanky panky ego boosting adventures then they put together n offer the consumer the cosmetics kit-up version.

Only one thing left to say… WTF…?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 28
    • Albert on Aug 28, 2015 at 7:47 pm

Anonymous,you are correct…correct…correct.
      Proton sold about 8725 cars a month for the last 7 months.As sales are dipping now,they will probably end 2015 with 100,000 units sales.
      With the f..up GSt,and monster political scenario and dipping rinngit….Proton will report another loss of rm 600juta come April 1,2016.
      That will bring it to RM2.1 Billion in losses 3 years in a row.
      Perhaps they are waiting for the new Saudi Santa to donate Rm Billions to plug the huge shithole.
      Naza Gurun plant have axed 300 people.It wont be long proton will wield the axe ,and chop at least 500 staff,starting with AH Beng,the tokok salesman.
      Time are bad..and getting horribly worst.
      Proton,its game over before you stop all these cheap promotions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 24
      • Never go full retard, Bertie. You just did.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 27
        • Albert on Aug 29, 2015 at 9:17 am

Konek john,dont tokok here.Just wait for april 1,2016.
          I guarantee your retarded brains will agree when Proton announce further losses,cos my insider info reveals the sad state of affairs at proton.
          DRB is doing compulsory national service cos MMc has so many mega infra projects.There will come a day,the soab says” enough is enough,just start chopping the dead wood first,if still no good,chop some more.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • Whateva floats ur boat, dude. And mind passing whatcha smoking?

• aprilfool on Aug 29, 2015 at 8:01 pm

1 April = April fool

Duh

• montley on Aug 29, 2015 at 10:27 pm

1 April = Malaysians got fooled by G to pay GST

• taxer on Aug 30, 2015 at 10:10 am

Go and make your own country. No tax free meal free car everything is free.

• alldisc on Aug 29, 2015 at 12:32 pm

not to mention the inabilities to sell cars in oversea market. not in america, not anymore in europe, not in china and it is hard even in neighbouring countries like thailand or singapore.

sales number was dismal.

• karipap basah on Aug 28, 2015 at 7:24 pm

Proton, you business almost kaput, bankrupt, sales dwindled…..so start improving your product, be realistic about the user’s comments…….but again, and again…..Proton and the gang do all sort of syoik sendiri, chest-thumping stunts that wont do any good for the consumers out there…

Even the management and the golden fat boy so carried away driving this lame iriz, so called R3 whatever…..

Adui, how low and dumb can these ppl go??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 20
  • Here goes our LHDN money…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
    • Anti Milotin on Aug 28, 2015 at 8:55 pm

Proton n Perodua shud close shop so malaysian can drive better car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
      • You mean like Toyota Ahbengla, Virus, Hailat, SoHaiAce, Corolla Fxxktis, Cunny, and Alphatihah aka “coffin mover”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • blackbox on Aug 28, 2015 at 8:06 pm

This car with a very serious under-steer… and unstable during hard breaking(T1 and T9)

• thebosssedangbercakap on Aug 28, 2015 at 9:31 pm

could not agree more. looks like he’s having trouble driving the car. heck even a 2005 honda jazz handles better. dont believe me? go youtube K20A face off.

• GT3 (Member) on Aug 29, 2015 at 10:00 am

This is not their final setup yet. More refinement and tuning to be done later, according to driver’s feedback. That’s how a race car works.

• S.roma on Aug 31, 2015 at 2:00 am

any car can understeer la, sigh…

he speeding cause want to overtake, that is the cause of the under steer

u still have a lot to improve in ur driving man

im a track driver, not expert, but at least i know some

• tricycle on Aug 28, 2015 at 8:12 pm

really nice engine/exhaust sound.. it looks fast too for a small car

• Karpus on Aug 28, 2015 at 8:16 pm

Too much curb…. Aweful driving……is this the right way to take corners in sepang?

• Chris Ong on Aug 28, 2015 at 8:36 pm

Agree with you.
      If it’s not the driver, then the car is difficult to handle.

• Lewis Hamilton on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:45 pm

It’s the car. Proton’s handling is rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • The car looks like it got quite a serious under steer. I think that’s why he is using the most out of the apex.

• GT3 (Member) on Aug 29, 2015 at 10:04 am

If u learn the principle, key to good race line is, to use all the track width.
      Some kerbs are better to go over, and some are better left alone. Most kerbs in SIC are flat, so it’s better to clip over it, unlike Nurburgring (Germany) or Brands Hatch (UK)that has pretty steep kerbs that are better not to go over.
      Tengku Djan is one of the fastest and experienced driver in SIC, he surely know what he’s doing.

• Racist2 on Aug 29, 2015 at 12:30 pm

You forgot to mentioned Tengku Djan is also the fattest driver in SIC.

• No, try driving like this and see if you can win in the simulator

• tengku ley on Aug 30, 2015 at 10:00 pm

Tengku Djan was only able to race a Proton because of the father connection.. Go lah find out who is this guy daddy..
        Experience in SIC? Anyone can be experience if they have nothing better to do then just driving around in circles.
        So his tricks doesn’t work outside SIC? Pariah lah
        Can’t even put a decent gearbox in the Iriz, go make a r3 version for what?

• rubbishtoyoya on Aug 31, 2015 at 4:34 pm

Yeah toyota cant even get the airbags right still want yo make ads about safety. Thats for what?

• rubbishproton on Aug 31, 2015 at 8:21 pm

Why don’t Exora come with fire extinguisher?

• nosushi on Aug 31, 2015 at 10:06 pm

Because noone dies and it’s isolated case, idiot

• protong on Sep 01, 2015 at 10:01 am

Isolated case your head lah, idiot

• choha on Aug 28, 2015 at 8:44 pm

so proton is encouraging speeding and racing? not enough road accidents here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 23
    • Of course they encourage you to speed and racing! Whats the point of pottering around like a Sunday driving grandpa at a FIA approved racetrack?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • So p2 Toyota are giving bad handling? Not enough road accidents due to losing control ?

• Anonymous on Aug 29, 2015 at 7:12 am

Do you know the difference between street race and track race?

• I saw a lot speeding Myvi, Viva, Axia n Vios. This morning 29th August 2015 just saw one Vios terbalik on highway. Yes! No need spend time go to workshop, straight away move to coffin as I always said.

• GT3 (Member) on Aug 29, 2015 at 10:06 am

If u define speeding and racing as crash or road accidents, then u’re learning it wrong.
      It’s like saying football, badminton, basketball encouraging muscle pain and cramps.

• Gaviny on Aug 28, 2015 at 9:09 pm

He’s fighting that steering like heck , even first corner already counter steering on the straight.! The hell is that nonsense, literally no weight on the back wheels

• Hor Shen Hau on Aug 28, 2015 at 11:46 pm

There is many oversteer and and understeer.But never mind,this is just the practice.There is many works will be done by our Proton R3 Motorsport Division boys.But let me tell you guys,this is the meaning that the Proton R3 car line especially Iris R3 production is getting near.:O

• nabill (Member) on Aug 29, 2015 at 1:54 am

r those hydraulic engine mountings???
    lets just say not one of djan,s finest driving!

but anyway its a shakedown drive i assume , they are stil getting to know the car , need more fine tuning ,

• RemoX on Aug 29, 2015 at 10:20 am

If non turbo engine can generate 190hp,
    Why can’t use it the new Perdana, sure the roadtax price will go down cause its just 1600cc…..

• Tutu car.. on Aug 29, 2015 at 11:47 am

apa gunanya ??? highway malaysia baru 110KM/H maksimum…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • kampung boy on Aug 29, 2015 at 6:09 pm

Satu lagi project bazir duit rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • walauweh on Aug 29, 2015 at 9:14 pm

Wow,so many negative comments,n i dont know that a lot of motorsports experts here commenting iriz is bad,will ‘terjun longkang’ n etc. the funny thing is proton r3 managed to get 1st,2nd n 3rd pole position for the race after finishing their qualifying round. the irony is that this ‘terjun longkang’ iriz is in the 1st position.

Dunno whether the ‘fattest’ driver(tg djan) is super good in driving this junk or the car is too fast.

well,thats only half of the part,the race aint start yet,but this ‘terjun longkang’ iriz car and ‘the fattest driver’ tg djan prove that the paultan ‘expert’ cum ‘engineer’ cum ‘pro driver’ are wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • ProTips on Aug 30, 2015 at 6:48 pm

Regardless of what shit you people want to talk about the car or driver, did any of you note the lap time?

If you can’t do better in same category
    STFU

• walauweh on Aug 31, 2015 at 1:01 am

bad news guys,iriz won the race,suprima s 2nd. it was a sad day to all pro racers in paultan cuz r3 proved that you r wrong. sorry guys,i thought previously we had university of lowyat grads(lowyat fast n furious forum,not related to lowyat plaza),n now,university of paultan grads(no offence paul,u r not at fault at all).

so,kipidap,dogibab,try for next season guys.

• Naahh! Next they will say got conspiracy theory, all the participants have been ordered not overtake the iriz, otherwise they dun allow to join next year.

After all, its impossibru proton can win, being jaguh kampung and all that, right?

• onemake on Sep 01, 2015 at 9:37 am

Proton won in a one-make race right?
      The only way Proton could win is against another Proton.
      The fact that the word Proton still exist is already a bad news for Malaysian, R3 just adding salt to the wound…

• rally_fan (Member) on Sep 03, 2015 at 10:58 am

damn.. you just gone and made a comment that shows how silly you are…too late.

its not a one make race. one of the other teams participating in the same category is the honda malaysia racing team. they had a jazz and city race car built to the same specifications.