Proton Iriz R3 Malaysian Touring Car – first look at the new Malaysia Championship Series challenger

Proton Iriz R3 Malaysian Touring Car 12

The practice session for Round 4 of the Malaysia Championship Series (née Malaysia Super Series) is now on ahead of the race proper this weekend – and bang on time, Proton has managed to wheel out its newest challenger, the Proton Iriz R3 Malaysian Touring Car, for its first shakedown. We’ve gone to the Sepang International Circuit to give you a first look of the first racing version of the national B-segment hatch.

Even in this plain silver paint job without any livery, the Iriz R3 MTC looks the absolute business, hunkering over its 15-inch R3 wheels shod in semi-slick Hankook Ventus tyres (same 195/55R15 size as on the regular Iriz 1.6 models). Compared to top-spec production models, the race car’s body is relatively unadorned, save for the 1.6’s front and rear spoilers and a massive front splitter.

Pop open the bonnet and you’ll find a slightly different 1.6 litre engine from the one in the Preve and Suprima S touring cars – it uses the stouter Campro CFE engine as a base, but ditches the turbocharger for natural aspiration. As we’ve stated before, the mill is projected to push out around 190 hp, over 40 hp more than the IAFM mill in its brethren, sent through a five-speed race-spec manual transmission with dog engagement.

Proton Iriz R3 Malaysian Touring Car 18

Inside the stripped-out interior, there’s a six-point roll cage (in accordance to MTC regulations), a Sparco steering wheel, a Tonnka pedal box and Recaro Pole Position race bucket seats, while underneath, you’ll find Alcon racing brake callipers and Ohlins adjustable coilovers, fitted to production hardware.

This is actually R3’s first attempt at working on a car with a torsion beam rear suspension – the Gen.2, Satria Neo, Preve and Suprima S before it all featured a multi-link setup.

As expected with such a new, unfamiliar race car built on a tight schedule, the team was sorting out teething issues with regards to handling and reliability during the session, drafting in the production Iriz’ engineers to assist – one of the benefits of being a works team.

Proton Iriz R3 Malaysian Touring Car 31

However, driver and team principal Tengku Djan Ley said that in terms of speed, the Iriz was at least on par with other cars in its category, if not quite as quick as the Preve and Suprima S at the moment.

He added that the Iriz’ first proper race would actually be the Sepang 1,000 km endurance race (where the team will return as the defending champion) in November – the car will be run at Round 4 as well as Round 5 in October as a sort of real-world test ahead of the big event and the next season.

Only in 2016 will the Iriz compete in the MCS in earnest, with the team still concentrating on winning this year’s championship with the existing race cars.

Proton Iriz R3 Malaysian Touring Car 35

So what’s next for the team? Well, after years of dealing with naturally-aspirated engines, it’s actually looking to dabble in the realm of forced induction next – the team is working with the organisers to enter the Touring Production class one rung above MTC, running a 1.6 litre turbo mill instead of the 2.0 litre NA engines typically used by competitors in that class.

Djan said that the team’s move to turbocharged engines will spur the commercialisation of the technology used in racing. That said, actual details regarding upcoming road-going R3 cars remain as scarce as ever, with “near future” being the closest thing to an actual timeline. Djan reiterated, however, that these models will be mass-produced – “proper” R3 cars have hitherto been hand-built specials.

So this is it, the Proton Iriz R3 Malaysian Touring Car. What do you think about the national carmaker’s newest race car? Tell us in the comments section after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Vis Kalai on Aug 26, 2015 at 5:10 pm

With the latest Iriz R3, I have a very assuring feeling that they are capable of making a hot hatch of this car to be sold to the public… Iriz GTi maybe? :P. Please put it into production, I’ll be the first to buy it!! XD

Ps. 190hp from a 1.6L non turbo engine is pretty damn impressive! Keep up the good work Proton!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
    • If they can achieve production car reliability with those figures would warrant the word impressive…

deriving such figures from race prepped engines aint that hard as long term reliability (as in more than a few thousand km ) is not a concern… more have been produced from smeller na engines in race config

• environment on Aug 26, 2015 at 8:04 pm

Could not agree more than this. And one more thing is emissions.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 27, 2015 at 9:01 am

This is really impressive. Imagine Iriz R3 with the latest 1.3 Turbo engine combine with 6MT. Proton are really moving ahead this time. Kudos for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
          • Sam Loo (ori1) on Aug 27, 2015 at 9:15 am

Proton is for poor people. Only poor people should buy Proton. The middle class and upper class, please do not buy. Proton is so low class only the low class must buy Proton.

Low class junk. I appeal all those reading this to aim high in life. Look at me, I am just a Toyota salesman but I am already buying my 3rd Lexus. Work hard and you can get better things in life like a superb Toyota Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 66
          • SAM VHL Loo on Aug 28, 2015 at 9:51 am

Toyotaik is for ‘rich wannabe’ poor people. Only shithead tai lan ngong people should buy jamban UMW Toyotaik junk cars. The middle class and upper class, please do not buy unless you don’t value your money and even your life (low class out already unless they want to face bankruptcy due to buying very expensive and way underspecced Toyotaik junk cars, but it can happen due to terlebih gaya plus their UMW salesman will try any mean to get sales other than Pak Chew Cheng during free time in their jamban’s showroom). Toyotaik is so low class only the shithead tai lan ngong will buy Toyotaik (only in Malaysia).

Low class junk and selling near Mercedes selling price. I appeal all those reading this to aim high in life. Work hard and work smart and you can get better things in life like a superb properties, even a semi-d (esp. in Klang Valley) and throw away your jamban UMW Toyotaik junk cars (if there’s any) as nowadays their cars are heavily stripped off (esp. safety count and now it’s quality).

• German Workers Vs Proton Workers on Aug 27, 2015 at 9:20 am

See below and you will know why Proton is a failure. I wish Proton will learn from the Germans to build a good car like the W222 S Class.

German workers : “We must work hard. We must focus in our work. We take pride in our products and must deliver excellent quality. Only then, we can enjoy our remuneration for the hard work done. We must aim to be more hardworking than our other German car plants”

Proton Malaysia workers: “Rilak lah bang, buat apa nak keje ni. rilak lah, nanti boleh buat. Letih lah ni, mari meh tido sekejap kat bilik stor, boss takde ni. Eh tengok awek kilang cun tu, bess lah dapat kongkek dia. Syok. Jom lah, mari pegi kantin minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Tak payah keje kuat ni, kerajaan nanti tolong. Buat apa keje kuat ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 44
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 27, 2015 at 11:47 am

Proton Supporter Vs Kiasu Bashers

Proton Supporter:”This is really impressive. Imagine Iriz R3 with the latest 1.3 Turbo engine combine with 6MT. Proton are really moving ahead this time. Kudos for Proton.”

Kiasu Basher: They are Useless. Pointless. And Brainless. They know nothing bout technical and automotive. They only know talk bout false figure, poor sales, talk bout kongkek sana sini. What a typical drunk kiasu. Shame on you bashers. Booo!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rrrr on Aug 27, 2015 at 1:45 pm

For everyone of us it is more like

“Proton Syok Sendiri” vs “Facts & Figures”

Suprima S is sold less than Mini cooper, swallow the truth man!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
          • accordana on Aug 27, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Mini Cooper is B segmenter, why compare with C segmenter Suprima?

Go and check yourself

• Ah Beng vs Ah Beng on Aug 27, 2015 at 7:00 pm

Ah Beng, both statements are also said by you. You sendiri cakap sendiri syok?

• It’s mentioned attached with turbo bro makin 190 hp..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • “it uses the stouter Campro CFE engine as a base, but ditches the turbocharger for natural aspiration” – 3rd paragraph

190 hp N/A…. No turbo. but it is not suitable for production car as it is setup for race.

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 27, 2015 at 2:09 pm

This bloody car doesn’t even have a passenger seat, how to be a production car? Don’t be naive lar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
          • Dia tengah test, kereta yg dalam video dan gambar tuh untuk lumba, bukan untuk makan angin.

Itu pun nak kena ajar jugak ke..

• Tapau on Aug 27, 2015 at 10:11 am

Make big loss also still wanna waste money go racing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • alldisc on Aug 27, 2015 at 11:21 am

when an engine is tuned to give high output at high rpm, often it has no driveability for normal use.

in the case of track racing, engine is kept boiled at high rpm most of the time.

in city use where there are a lot of start stop situations, this car will be terrible to drive.

trust me – R3 will never promote 190bhp for proton road cars. even if the car have CVT. even DSG. even 9 speed automatics. the car has weak low end power.

u think why kia and hyundai 1.6 engines are only 120 & 130bhp? dont they know better? the answer is yes all car manufacturers know how to do it. but they will not sacrifice drievability of its cars for some horsepower that many ppl will not get to use.

heck, u dont even use all of proton persona’s 110hp in KL. the most i believe is something in 70-80bhp. also only in 1st and 2nd gear. for few seconds.

• Nuclear car coming…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • Same L0rrrr on Aug 26, 2015 at 5:36 pm

Before this, I had already seen so many modded Proton crawling on the road with noisy exhaust pipe. The sound is roaring out loud “I wanna drive a sport car but I have no money!” I wonder do the owners have hearing problem?

A modded Proton, still a Proton. Don’t waste your time and money syok sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 102
      • Nowadays I see more Ah Beng 1st and 2nd gen Virus on the road. Why ah?
        Somemore 3rd gen Virus even rarer than Suprima S. Why ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Aug 26, 2015 at 6:04 pm

Proton bring Rakyat good car to drive and yet Rakyat still talk so much… listen to ministers Proton safe as Volvo.
          Proton got ABS on ever car(don’t talk about saga)… UMW don’t have any esp !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 26, 2015 at 6:16 pm

Bashers now keep talk and talk macam tin kosong. Useless. Pointless n Brainless. They hate so much when Proton achieving any success in touring, nuclear field and new models.

Dear Neutral Reader,
          Please take the salient points when you read these comment in Paultan. Ignore those bashers who are the virus in our nation.

Regards,
          Ah Beng :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 7
        • Ahmad on Aug 26, 2015 at 11:56 pm

The reason is because the Suprimau you saw is in the showroom while the Vios you saw is on the road. Of course you see more Suprimau @SS in the showroom lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • antivirus on Aug 27, 2015 at 5:28 am

Virus catfish is lesser on road, City is much more to be seen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • insurance on Aug 27, 2015 at 3:15 pm

City is much more to be seen than H-Ighrisk

• taknaktoyota on Aug 27, 2015 at 4:27 pm

Vios on road? LOL. Vios dugung can lor, nowadays people are so smart not to buy Vios catfish, it only old junk with new skin.

• VTECH on Aug 27, 2015 at 6:33 pm

Of course lah, Proton how dare to race with Honda? Only Type R wannabe junk

• By your logic, so a Lexus is still a Toyota. You don’t syok sendiri too by just changing badge on a Toyota. People doesn’t know what a Lexus is, all they know it’s a delicious biscuit

• Albert on Aug 26, 2015 at 5:57 pm

Same loor,wasting our precious time again, bladdy f..up LAZY Protong again.
        As usual….predictably the sportivos,competitions,price cuts,2014 models disposal gargantuan rebates.
        After merdeka,they got 4 more months to monkey around…..another year of at least Rm 600 juta losses come March 31 2016.The previous 2 years they lost 1.5 Billion.Plus 6oo juta,they would have lost more than 2.1 Billion…..perhaps they are waiting for the new Saudi Santa Claus to donate…to plug the huge shithole.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
        • meshup on Aug 26, 2015 at 9:40 pm

At least they are improving unlike p2 moving coffins (ok the saga plus is stock clearance coz it gonna EOL)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Same L0rrrr on Aug 27, 2015 at 1:29 pm

Proton Suprima S sell good? i just can’t stop laughing!!!

In these 7 months, Suprima S are sold even less than MINI. Yet the AH Beng Sohai talkok here and there.

If not Proton and its protection, we already enjoying Lexus BMW Mercedes at Toyota Honda price.

Even Proton fanboys don’t buy the Iriz. And these Proton fanboys with loud exhaust pipe, crawling on the road (no money to buy fuel) and no money to upgrade their car.

Proton improving? You better wish for donation. Easier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
          • Vios dun have have VSC until doomsday

*facepalm*

• Vios will have VSC after Proton destroy the world

• Modding a car to go fast is more fun than buying a fast car

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 27, 2015 at 1:33 pm

There is HUGE difference between modding a car to go Fast and go LOUD. Everyday I overtake noisy modded Wira Waja Iswara Persona Preve with ease.

They won’t dare to speed one, because the engine is so fuel consuming with no extra power. Their wallet gonna hurt end of the day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Have u heard bullshit car from Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • IrizX on Aug 26, 2015 at 7:27 pm

I heard a bullshit car called Sxxx Plus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
      • Avanzaza, Mis-Fortuner, Hailat, SoHaiAce, Virus, Corolla Fxxktis, Camry “I will replace u with S-keras as soon as I get the chance”.

Oso its lil bro axia “moving keranda”, myvi “moving coffin”, Alza “moving coffin extra”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
        • jambancamry on Aug 26, 2015 at 9:43 pm

You made my night, hahahahahahahaha!!!!!

• johndumbass on Aug 26, 2015 at 10:57 pm

Mari tepuk tangan bagi john untuk nama-nama kreative ni. John is so desperate to memburukan T and P2 that he skip his day job just to think of all these childish names. This is the kind of people from the result of our education system, bravo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
          • jambancamry on Aug 27, 2015 at 5:31 am

You saw up there somebody mentioned about nuclear car? Now who started it first? Dumbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • jambansaga on Aug 27, 2015 at 12:41 pm

jambancamry, you saw johndumbass mention nuclear car? You illiterate or dumbo?

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 27, 2015 at 1:40 pm

Proton like to bullshit this and that, not the first time. Proton Hybrid is the best example.

Nuclear car? Go back fix the petrol hunger engine and lousy gearbox lar.

This is just another usual typical Proton story: Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. Nothing get done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • DonkeyKong on Aug 26, 2015 at 7:10 pm

With so many uneducated illiterate morons like these, Malaysia deserves to have our ringgit drop like shit.. because a majority of Malaysians are stupid people and Malaysia is only fit to export maids in 20 years time, nothing more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • dirtyoldmen on Aug 26, 2015 at 8:34 pm

If what you say is true, then I look forward to exporting your mother, wife, daughter, nieces, etc.
        May your wishes come true!

• arcade-racer on Aug 26, 2015 at 5:28 pm

thank you very much for the effort… juicy details…semua pun ‘barang cantik’
    proton R3’s first torsion beam racer in… ten years?

• taboogen on Aug 26, 2015 at 5:31 pm

it seems that they ditch the eps system and go to more conventional ways.

• thebosssedangbercakap on Aug 26, 2015 at 5:33 pm

looks good. but can the chassis be able to withstand the 190hp engine?

handling by plutus.

• economist on Aug 26, 2015 at 5:35 pm

Waste of money. With the economy downturn, Proton is still wasting the rakyat’s money in doing these stupid races

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 77
    • P1 is private kompeni, no ur money inside. U try to swagger in like da bos thinking u r shareholder, the jaga kasi tendang u kluar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 41
      • Too many ppl still live in hutan, forgive them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 24
      • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Aug 26, 2015 at 6:07 pm

End of word we love Proton love Rakyat… so don’t misleading Rakyat lousy kaki dumno John…

• Rafizi on Aug 26, 2015 at 7:23 pm

If P1 is private company, why Dr. M still asking money from G for R&D? Don’t know if you’re BN cybertrooper trying to mislead people here. May be Najib tendang u keluar dari UMNO for not giving ‘donation’?

http://paultan.org/2014/07/18/proton-wants-govt-pay-rd-costs/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 19
        • I din know RBA IQ level have drop so low, but I’ll go down to your level just this once. Anybody can ask Gov for funding, doesn’t have to be R&D. I can ask it, you can ask it, dear leader can casket.
          But whether Gov will gip or not is another story lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 18
          • Yeah, you’re like saying everyone can give money to Najib but it doesn’t have to be corruption, can be ‘donation’. Whether he wants to accept or not is another story lah

• logic on Aug 27, 2015 at 3:57 pm

Don’t be naive, you think R&D don’t cost money? If Proton got money, they wouldn’t have ask for more from the G. I think your IQ level is the same as a chimpanzee

• evangelist on Aug 26, 2015 at 9:51 pm

LOL normal practices, companies also get grants, tax reductions and even bailouts from governments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
        • Ikhmal on Aug 28, 2015 at 10:30 am

You can always ask grants lah for r&d brooo… Proton is the only Malaysia company create car, Gov must give lah grant…

• DonkeyKong on Aug 26, 2015 at 7:12 pm

Another useless illiterate uneducated comment from lowly-paid bottom-feeder, no wonder Malaysia is still a 3rd-world country, thanks to low-quality rakyat like these

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
      • Dear Donkey,
        With intellectual/scholars like u! around this blog will make a “BIG DIFFERENCE”!!!! M’sia boleh!!! Donkey boleh!!!

• albag on Aug 26, 2015 at 5:49 pm

farting sounds best in this Iriz!

• purist on Aug 26, 2015 at 6:00 pm

The one and only manufacturer team that only compete with their country’s privateer teams. Jaguh kampung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
  • Beckscum7 on Aug 26, 2015 at 6:15 pm

This is a simple test. Try driving this marvel high tech car into 5 starts hotel lobby and see if they guard chase you off. Then wait for a while and observer what happened to Merc/BMW. There is you answer. A piece of shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 33
    • are u high?…like seriously…? Guards chase off any car that is blocking the lobby unless it’s a designated VIP/VVIP who informed in advance.. .. got chased off in your car didn’t you?

• Beckscum7 on Aug 27, 2015 at 10:05 am

So many negatives. Guess we are really far off from Wawasan 2020 to be a developed country by then judging by so many poor folks that can only afford a Proton, oh not just any Proton. A Proton Iriz Touring Car, lol.
        Pretty sure owning a Proton equate to low IQ and high BRIM handouts. I was talking about driving into lobby and wait for a while. Even a hearse blocking will be chased off.
        Proton Iriz in designated VVIP carpark. Seriously, are you high?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • So to your eyes a Landwind clone is better than a LandCruiser. I pray for your choices and your eyes.

• Nasi Lemak 3.0 on Aug 26, 2015 at 6:44 pm

its luks like more to Milotin R3 to me. Please close down. Dont suc.k ppl money anymore!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 44
    • Ikhmal on Aug 28, 2015 at 10:24 am

You only look pic know its milotin? They dont suck your money…

• Iriz GTi, make it and make it Great ! on Aug 26, 2015 at 6:50 pm

The original Satria GTi back in 1998 was the best Proton that I’ve ever driven, both in quality and performance.

Although I’ve been totally aghast and disappointed owning the crap of the “BMW of Asia” era, so much so I’ve join the bandwagon vowing “never a Proton anymore”. Proton if you make car like Satria GTi again, I am more than happy to ditch my stand and own a Proton again.

6MT, high revving Campro with 138-145 bhp, and no frills, back to basic driving experience. Make that and it will become a worthy successor to the much loved Satria GTi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • They might alredi have. Please google Satria Neo Lotus Racing Edition.

• Henry on Aug 26, 2015 at 6:58 pm

Just how exactly is this going to help Proton sell cars?

• Singaporean on Aug 26, 2015 at 9:54 pm

Dont worry! Eventhough they dont make sales by this, they will get donations from somewhere n they will claim they use their own money. Definitely, its not rakyat coz u bolehland rakyat plain stupid! Pitu u ppl!

• Branding dude.. need to think for the long run.

• Blackgenius007 on Aug 26, 2015 at 9:31 pm

Belakang tak halal lah….

• Iriz is a stunning car! A compact car that has ‘Rrrrr’

• xem6861 on Aug 27, 2015 at 12:46 am

If they enlarge the wheelbase to fit in 215/60/17 , with 190HP. This car is monster !

• Allroadquattro on Aug 27, 2015 at 3:15 pm

wait a minute, the transmission comes with dog engagement?
    does it means it’s using dogleg transmission where the reverse gear is in the place of first gear?
    something like this:

R 2 4
    |-|-|
    1 3 5

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Aug 28, 2015 at 10:29 am

No, that is different from dog engagement, which uses a dog clutch instead of a synchromesh to mate gears. It allows for clutchless upshifts, but downshifts need to be rev-matched for better reliability.

• greenpeace on Aug 27, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Boleh Bungkus Jazz.
    rip souless Jazz.