Make way for our hottest ride ever, powered by an innovative turbo-charged engine and made to surpass all expectations. Drive it to believe it!Visit the nearest Proton showroom to test drive one today.
Posted by Proton Holdings Berhad on Wednesday, July 15, 2015
The Proton Suprima S is now the star of the show, with a new product video on the Proton Facebook page. The video is a bold showcase for a vehicle that promises a driving experience that will surpass all expectations. Watch it above and tell us what you think of it below.
With its 1.6 litre turbocharged engine, the Suprima S has a range of features such as auto-fold side mirrors, an infotainment system, five-star ANCAP safety rating, leather upholstery, six airbags, push start button, auto headlamps with daytime running lights, rear LED light guides, reverse camera, hill-hold assist, ABS, EBD, ESC, paddle shifters, and ultimately a good handling package by Lotus too.
It’s a special time for Proton as it turns 30 this year, and the national car has always been an integral part in our lives. They have produced four million cars over the last decades and the future certainly looks bright for a brand that will always be close to our hearts.
things to improve on suprima
1. engine- make it more hp :c
2. steering design- update to latest design steering like on Iriz
3. gearbox- change it to normal automatic gearbox not CVT
Thats it :) I love this car.
1.tune it around 25kgm torque,hp doesn’t important.
2.shed the car weight around 100 kg..this car is over weight
3.dump that punch cvt,change aisin gearbox with 6 speed.
4.interior redesign
The tortoise is showstopper all right. The car? Nah, just an overweight machine with problematic transmission that can’t move as smooth as the tortoise
Tell us more about the problematic transmission..
Suprima or not, It is solely because of Proton and Tun M that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. 30 years, Proton rogol all of us.
You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.
In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.
Our cars compared to global cars are completely stripped down. Even basic car in the US got about 20 safety features that the same car in Malaysia does not have. Purposely taken out to cut cost even further and untung more profit.
So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.
If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.
Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).
They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.
Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?
Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.
Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.
Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand. This is another rape like when Mitsubishi raped us for 20 years with low quality engines and parts. If Proton was not in Malaysia in the first place, you will have a few hundred thousand ringgit extra in your pocket!
Proton, just improve the design (Exterior and Interior) to makes it less Kampung style and more Urban. You have to woo people in loving your car 1st before talking about performance, FC, sales, global…etc. We all loves a nice sexy looking car. Just like I rather choose a nice looking sexy girl (body mantop) that doesn’t cook, wash, or makes coffe than a Fat ugly Makcik/Auntie that perform all given task well (Including on bed, which thinking of it makes me vomit).
Wow so sexy comments. Ah hah!!
just Shut down proton and make subaru cheaper la, do we need another 30 year to wait them improve?
As a Malaysian, I want to see Proton success, but without all the cronyism, corruption, protectionism, stupidity and waste of public fund. I just found a paper in my drawer that I had written on in 1997 that I wanted a green color Proton Wira when I grown up, just like my father’s.
You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies. Now Suzuki will be the same.
And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts. That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is sold to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from brothers for RM10.
So, Mahathir can say all he wants about quality being raised and his sarcasm but until ALL Proton’s vendors are changed, how can the quality go up?
Mahathir won’t do this. All his buddies have got the contract to be vendors to Proton. Mahathir will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives, so why upset his relatives when he can continue his past misgivings?
Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.
Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefitting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts.
This new Suzuki scandal will be the same as Mitsubishi scandal. Until vendors change, tie up with Suzuki will be low in
Agreed with the gearbox. A conventional 6-speeder auto with paddles will be good. And, add a tuned-up variant that is paired to a 6-speed manual please. Volvo us using Polestar officially now… what is happening to R3?
Rubbish, reused, recycle
I especially agree with u on the steering wheel design. Here it looks like men’s underwear. (Oh that’s mayb that’s how the suprima name comes?)
I always thought it came from a brand of pampers. “SuprimaS Super Value Pack! Extra Absorbent!”
Would be GodCar if Proton power it with LOTUS ELISE’s engine – Toyota supercharged 1.8 litre VVT-i four-cylinder engine with 217 hp at 6,800 rpm and 250 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm.
http://paultan.org/2015/04/29/lotus-elise-220-cup-malaysia/
Lotus Elise with light body able to achive 0-100km/h in 4.6seconds.
Good chassis let down by the lackluster powertrain and build quality.
Driven one, not very impressed. Drop the CVT and put in a proper 5 or 6 speed manual and run a larger turbocharger. It needs at least another 50-100 NM of torque for the weight it is carrying. Its a heavy car.
Good ad… it’s actually a good car… just one little thing… poor tortoise.
Don’t have to fool people as like this junk ONLY got 1 weakness.
so good? until I think I see Bentley otr more than seeing this car…why?
Disclaimer: No tortoise has been harm during the making of this commercial
Give us a real automatic!
But the interior is hideous!
Yup, the cheapest looking interior design for a new model :p
miles better than the original promo video.
way to go proton!
Why always used Mat Salleh to drive? Look down on own ethnic?
Tell me who’s a Malaysian who would volunteer to do a promo ad,driving a Proton?
Is this ad telling us that Suprima is like a tortoise?
Is this car any better than a myvi in term of reliability and after sales service? performance is not a priority here.
Why do you think so many people buy Perodua instead of Proton? The few Suprimas I’ve seen have had burnt out/ aquarium lights and that’s just the exterior. And Proton service… HAHAHAHAHA. Do yourself a favor and keep away from the anger and frustration that is Proton ownership.
Then you’re looking at the wrong model.
Showstopper?
Yes, the tortoise
Facelift with new steering design like Iriz, change the gearbox, redesign interior and add in smart entry. It can be a winner!
They have produced four million cars over the last decades and the ” future certainly looks bright for a brand that will always be close to our hearts ”
Bright? lol , more like getting darker, sales are dropping and nobody wants to buy your cars Proton.
Is this some kind of advertisement? Since when auto fold mirror is an innovative feature? Its been in market for atleast a decade
camrys and corollas have this from mid 90s. that was 20 years ago!!
That engine note is so fake.
The real engine noise is appallable
Good job on the video ! Would like to see more improvement on the car. If possible :
1) Reduce the weight of the car for better mpg + performance
2) Avoid using tacky plastics for the interior. Slightly better quality material is sufficient
3) Give a proper automatic gearbox please !
Guess its not as easy as said,
Remove this add that etc etc,
This is not a cut and paste production line,
The campro engine has to go first,
No use floging a dead horse,
As it has maxed out its entire lifespan,
Proton needs a total makeover starting from the top,
Proton will forever be jinxed. Since so many ppl wish it dead….
I see more NEW Mercedes Benz C-Class compared to Suprima S on the road.
Go figure.
I dont like the rear / back design..
as much as i adore suprima S, with its android HU it is still lacking when it comes features. all it has now are things i can say modern (up-to-date) some 10 years back. seriously, pls look up ford focus/vauxhall astra/vw golf of the previous generations.
1. car is overweight for 137hp. the huge 17′ wheels make city driving FC terrrible. even proton admits this.
take note that Jaguar XF weighs in at 1.6 tonne. and the even bigger 7 series size is also 1600kg+ with extensive use of clever technologies & lightweight materials.
2. need euro5/6 emission compliance. it is a shame suprima cant enter europe just bcoz of this. for the engineers – FC & emission is directly related.
3. all the features are just wow factors for local fans – not enough to woo buyers in open market. things like DRL, auto fold side mirrors, remote boot open, paddle shift
ppl in europe will look for turbodiesel engine with 6 speed manual. Kia Optima has 1.7 CRDi engine and 6MT.
4. the world is now familiar with Blind Spot indicator, Lane Keeping Assist, adaptive cruise control, autonomous braking system etc. proton neeeds this now and not 5 years later.
i will stop here – even though i can still go on Security features, Reliability, Warranty, and JD power customer satisfaction.
The features depicted are bonuses but also emphasise engine reliability, product quality, and service excellence because the average Malaysian family keeps their car for more than 5 years.
If I own lifestyle home like that I will not be driving bangsat brand car!
Nicely made video, but that doesn’t save Proton sales on a continue decline. Don’t ever believe any Proton advertisement or marketing bullshit, all these flashiness and fanfare showcase will diminished once you got a real taste of Proton’s “AWE”some quality.
Go to any Proton showroom and have a good look and touch of their cars. You will definitely find uneven gaps, loose door panels, poor finishing and utterly cheap, nasty and plasticky parts all over.
Proton should stop making advertisement in luring people to buy its car. For every new Proton sold to a first time buyer, chances are, they will NEVER BUY PROTON AGAIN in their life after they experienced how awful Proton is. Soon, Proton will runs out of first time buyer to con them in buying their cars, and sales figure will be much much more uglier that what it is now (it’s already ugly enough with 17% TIV last year, albeit with all the protectionism in place).
Proton could only blame its own demise on the political curse and baggage since it’s inception. They will never, ever, till Hari Khiamat able to get rid of their bloodsucking, rent-seeking crony vendors which overcharged Proton by a hefty margins and chunk out lousy parts year after year.
We have competent engineers and young, aspired workforce who wanted to make Proton the best. These anak watan wanted to contribute to our country automotive industry. Sadly, no matter how hard they work, their final product will never reflect their dedication and effort, it will always be spoiled by the lousy QC and lousy parts supply by the crony vendors, and translate to endless misery to the owner. IMO, Proton’s technical staff and engineers are putting up a brave fight against all the more advance, more resourceful and richer giants like Toyota, Honda, VW, Ford ect… on the global front. Sadly, that is all they can do, with the out-dated Campro which cannot even meet any of the European emission standard, and cars becoming so much more sophisticated that it used to be, Proton is engulfing itself in a battle it can’t possibly win. And this scenario do translate in Proton’s awful sales chart, losing ground in every continent around the world. And now, at an alarming rate, losing market in its own country.
I will definitely buy a Suprima if it is made by Honda or Mazda, never mind the stupid Punch CVT and inefficient Campro, because I know the quality is there. But what if it’s made in Tanjung Malim?
No, I found it hard to justify use my hard-earned money to enrich those bloodsucking, rent-seeking leeches. Sorry Proton, it’s not you per se, Malaysian abandon you in droves because of your inherited curse, which is always align to your political master, you’re just the collateral damage.
For Proton fanboys, talk is cheap, go buy 10 Suprima and park it at your porch to show your patriotism.
Although lengthy, but very good article. Sad is, Proton never listen. Feel bad for those hard working young people inside Proton. Let’s have a change in the next election, so that we will have our Proton Baru or Proton Bersih.
That background music is good to hear..what song is that?anyone knows? Haha
Ask Siri.
Interior change to latest version 308, Golf or Focus, the engine remain 1.6L with 200HP & 250TQ, FC not more than 7L/100km, change more efficient gearbox, tail light CCFL longer, front light LED brighter…good enough for a hot hatch and finally the price must cheaper than other brand C-hatch.
Dreaming lah you
i give advise lah, stupid
If Proton can’t make it, is prove that Malaysian too stupid dunno how to produce a car.
No use producing a power packed video
when the final drive sucks.
This is like a last hurrah for the
Suprima S.
If the numbers don’t improve then
its time to ship it out and scrap
this burden.
Time to review and downsize on the amount of cars in the 1.6 fleet.
It’s like you are about to climax then suddenly stop. Potong stim!
What Proton actually needs is an all new engine. One that is fuel efficient. and also a new and improved 6 speed automatic.
I own a Suprima and a Golf GTI Mk7, love the handling, as nice as GTI, but the rest of the car sadly; engine, gearbox, interior, and overall quality fail miserably!
If only Proton could listen and improve.
the only thing that turns me off is the interior design. Proton has great design for Iriz on the interior. If they wanna sell this car, they will have to redesign the interior to make it look more modern.
totally agree with VoC, long to see a sexy proton but none until today but at least the iriz looks modern and unique. To me i will definitely buy a gorgeous looking thing rather than to be in this tortoise silhoutte..
Milotin jadi door stopper aje boleh… Jangan la daytime pun berangan-angan.. Aikz!
The interior really terrible. Inconsistent gaps here and there. Update meter cluster with black back lit. As I said before, please redesign the interior. Update front design including headlamps & rear combination lamp.
By mid 2016!!! Thank you very much.
i think proton should not include the laughable push start button that need to insert key into the ad
The dashboard is a huge NO, exterior – so so …
Suprima……the failure of the failure…
Lol at push start button, not too convincing as you have to insert the key.
Like many others said, the CVT is a big let down.
An informative advertisement on Proton Suprima.
I believe Proton has got most of the things correct on its current models (Preve, Suprima, Iriz), but still they lack some fine tuning and refinement i must say.
Problems:
1) Infotainment is decent, but interior design and quality of Suprima is simply hideous. It didn’t even look good in this advertisement video.
2) Punch CVT. Whiny, noisy, reluctant to respond to driver’s input. For those who say Punch CVT is alright, please go test drive Honda’s and Toyota’s CVT first.
3) Engine. Curent Campro turbo is simply inefficient and fuel guzzling. Plus the torque and horsepower it produces is not that impressive.
4) Chassis and vehicle weight is too heavy. It requires redesign.
However, all is not lost, Proton can immediately address most of these problems.
1) Swap the engine into Iriz-VVTi engine and tune it with turbocharger (can take from other manufacturer design). This will swiftly solve two of the issues: Fuel efficiency and power output.
2) Redesign its interior and improves the material quality. Iriz is decent, but still lacking, Proton needs to achieve at least Honda city 2014 kind of quality to compete.
3) Just throw away the Punch CVT. Here you can have two variants:
First would be a conventional automatic with rock solid reliability, plus paddle shifts. This enables drivers to enjoy driving in his own style, yet practical at the same time.
Second variant would be a more “purist” type, having 6 speed manual transmission, Sporty or comfort based suspension should be offered.
Finally comes to the chassis design, as mentioned by many users and reviews, current chassis and body is too heavy. Since Proton owns Lotus, then it should reap not only its good handling, but also its chassis engineering aspect.
I believe by redesigning its whole chassis, Suprima can achieve much lighter vehicle weight, thus greatly improving its maneuverability, braking, and fuel consumption.
Only if Proton is operated by people who really cares about cars, not by some top management morons who just mismanage the company by introducing baffling business ideas, and turning the good prototype designs into ugly production ones.
Cheers.