SPIED: Proton Suprima S 6MT, for the UK market?

Proton Suprima S 6MT 02

The Proton Suprima S with a six-speed manual gearbox has been spotted again in the open, this time wearing trade plates. We thank reader Fakrul for the shots.

Crucially, a sticker on the dashboard reveals that this one’s meant for the UK market, and for whatever reason, the ‘Turbo’ tailgate badge has been replaced with ‘CFE’.

The last time such a Suprima was spotted, we had a much clearer view of the manual gear lever, which is encased in a neat leather gaiter.

The gear knob has a satin-finished base on which sits a collar that presumably must be lifted to engage reverse. The R-1-2-3-4-5-6 gearchange pattern is debossed on the top of the gear knob in the Preve/Suprima S font (speedo and rev counter numbers).

The six-speed manual gearbox (which was officially announced for Australia some time ago) is connected to the Suprima S’ turbocharged 1.6 litre Campro CFE engine, which develops 138 hp and 205 Nm of torque. Like Proton’s five-speed manuals, this six-speed gearbox could very well be supplied by Getrag.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• 1.6 litre Campro CFE engine is EURO6 already?

EURO6 is mandatory in the EU for new passenger vehicles since september 2014?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • OMG…another alien land on earth…Ppl see proton…puihhh…they will be better support their euro made cars…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 96
      • Mary Minah on May 26, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Third world mentality really showed in you!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 10
        • millturbo on May 26, 2015 at 5:36 pm

So the torque is limited to 205Nm or been released to 240Nm because the gearbox can stand it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • Beng P1boy on May 26, 2015 at 8:46 pm

Uk people have no taste.

Proton still King of road and will continue Top UK sales car of the Year like last time !!!

Buy Proton or else just walk on highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
          • Ah Beng (Member) on May 27, 2015 at 8:42 am

This kiasu will never believe how good Campro CFE with 6MT. This is a car world class car that its platform predecessor, Preve gain 5 star NCAP and comes with turbocharge engine Euro 6 compliance..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
          • Beng P1boy on May 27, 2015 at 10:06 am

Ah Beng
            Stupidity of the year for him and others no taste supporter.

Proton 6 manual are the only Future to fuel efficiency. Stupid auto 5/6 speed have no challenge compare to Future 6 manual like Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
          • Low Budget on May 27, 2015 at 11:06 am

Proton can celebrate if they can sell 100 units per year in the U.K.
            I mean United Kingkom and not Ulu Kelantan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • OMG…How u think the sales for this car in UK? P1 sales in Malaysia drop a lot…Honda sales almost can beat P1 (Jan-Apr)…it will be history if end of this year the total sales Honda beat P1.

• When top gear ppl test drive this, “OMG…holy shit…Fxxx”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 54
      • rally_fan (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 4:57 pm

no more top gear…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
      • carazy on May 26, 2015 at 5:09 pm

Are you caveman? TG was dead kid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • Not Simply Hate on May 26, 2015 at 5:42 pm

Dude, not all TG presenters despised Proton. You with you shallow mindset.

Watch this..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=To3oV62mEWs&w=200

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
        • lol do you think the British would want to admit that the French made a decent car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
          • readmore on May 26, 2015 at 10:23 pm

Faulty generalization at its best

• Obviously (Member) on May 27, 2015 at 9:46 am

They have to when the Peugeot 308 won the Europe Car of the Year.

• typicalmalaysian on May 26, 2015 at 6:08 pm

xde top gear pun xpa.. hanya perlu ada 10 orang seperti anda sudah cukup nk kritik kereta tu bagus ke tak.. hanya baca di paultan.org dah komen macam2. tahniah. anda lagi HEBAT dari top gear =)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
      • typicalmalaysian on May 26, 2015 at 6:13 pm

xde top gear pun xpe.. hanya perlu ada 10 orang seperti anda sudah cukup untuk kritik kereta tu bagus ke tak. hanya baca ulasan di paultan.org pun anda sudah tahu kereta tu bagus ke tak. tahniah anda lagi hebat dari top gear tu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • typicalmalaysian on May 26, 2015 at 6:20 pm

xde top gear pun xpe.. hanya perlu ada 10 orang seperti anda sudah cukup untuk kritik kereta tu bagus ke tak. hanya baca ulasan di paultan.org pun anda sudah tahu kereta tu bagus ke tak. tahniah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Stupid comment of the year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • Better than P2 & Toyota Vios bcos Top Gear ppl refuse to test

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
    • prabowi on May 26, 2015 at 4:50 pm

This suprima can be presumed dead before arrival unless it can meet the tough euro standards (emissions, safety, build quality). If proton did manage to meet those standards, then expect backlash from us malaysians for offering a substandard one at home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 18
    • Not sure but since UK is looking at exiting EU, they might no longer need to comply with EU regulations. Perhaps only for vehicles from UK to mainland EU.

• Proton should make a SAGA FLX 1.6 6MT :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • alldisc on May 26, 2015 at 4:08 pm

anti climax lah proton. suprima has became cold model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • eims perfume on May 26, 2015 at 5:59 pm

this MT will make it hot anyway..

Pls make it available for mass production soon enough, along with Preve turbo MT, most importantly Exora Turbo MT. iriz turbo MT?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • On the road more than Altis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • GT3 (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 11:10 pm

Proton, please proceed this project fast, 6MT (still) has high demands in European market. Don’t forget Australia too, as Proton has already promised to bring Suprima 6MT in 2015 (based on 2014-date reviews that I read earlier).
      Then only you can introduce this variant to our local market.

• yrv turbo on May 26, 2015 at 4:08 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 122
    • Preve on May 26, 2015 at 4:21 pm

Soo you are a very proud myvi owner who race on road is it? oh….you are the one of the famous 5 pajero killer??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 7
    • Annoynimouse on May 26, 2015 at 6:13 pm

You’re funny Mr Myvi turbo…

• say no to myvi on May 26, 2015 at 6:19 pm

yrv = yana rv?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Myvi corner mesti buang, jadi tak akan menang

• JohnLegend on May 27, 2015 at 4:39 am

Wait..what? sorry…i dont really know which car named as myvi in malaysia? is it a car? because its sound so gay…HAHAHA..or else you are girl..no wonder senang kena tipu dgn kereta yg takde apa2 melainkan fancy bumper and emblem… :P

• ahmad on May 27, 2015 at 9:05 am

dey…orang cerita pasal suprima la dey…

• rosdi on May 26, 2015 at 4:11 pm

September 2014 or 2015 depending on the vehicle type… good point.. so this is not the usual Campro Engine?

• Goosfraba on May 26, 2015 at 4:14 pm

MAKE IT AVAILABLE IN MALAYSIA LA! DELAY SO LONG FOR A MANUAL! I WANT I WANT I WANT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
  • satrianeoforlife on May 26, 2015 at 4:16 pm

seriously?? this is a joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
  • tenmdb on May 26, 2015 at 4:18 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 147
    • theanswer on May 26, 2015 at 5:03 pm

typical malaysian. i’ve to agree that they spend millions..but rebadge? only for old models and niche market such as inpira n accordana. the rest, neo, gen2, persona, preve,suprima in house r&d.
      rebadge salah..r&d own vehicle salah..apa laagi malaysian mahu?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 9
      • tenmdb on May 26, 2015 at 6:32 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 143
      • P2 rebadge tak salah, P2 hanya r&d front & rear bumper jual mahal2 tak salah…itulah Malaysian yg mau

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • applegreen on May 26, 2015 at 4:21 pm

cabin quality far behind its competitor. Proton must change material before exporting car to uk and make malaysian proud

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • seancorr (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 5:45 pm

I got to add a pun here….Minister said Proton on par with Volvo and BMW wei so quality in our Lulus Proton cars are super duper good – hah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
      • Sean, your are one of the better commentators on this side with a huge love for Bmw as far as i can remember, even if it’s a pun, its quite daft of you to be comparing a mass market car company with very low volume to global luxury car makers that have greater volume and pedigree…

Proton has progressed in many ways but surely not up to the point that our daft ministers think they have..

My first car was a Neo and it has remained and still is problem and rattle free all this 9 years although its been relegated to a weekend/project car and has stood up to the myriad of upgrades I have thrown at it..nothing makes me smile more although the nvh is showing its age..

On another note…the local Bmw interior fit and finish does suck quite a bit in the current gen..parts came out in my hands after 3-4 years(yes yes i have owned one and hated it)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
        • tenmdb on May 26, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 122
      • Belilah sebuah, jgn banding kualiti dulu. Skrg sudah tak sama

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • facelift before launch it in uk la…the car looks outdated to other rivals…..proton never want to learn at all….always late to the game…and blame the market for failure…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Hor Shen Hau on May 26, 2015 at 7:34 pm

It will receive a facelift.The facelift will receive R3 treatment.It will receive new interior,exterior and of course,more horsepower.Same goes to the Iriz R3 and Preve R3.BTW,nice article PaulTan.org!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Rempit R3 on May 26, 2015 at 10:45 pm

R3 konon. Standard version already comes with jerky Punch CVT. Want R3 to race on highway kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
        • Well buddy.. We are here talking about 6MT (Six Speed Manual Transmission)..

• Hor Shen Hau on May 27, 2015 at 8:17 pm

Bro,I’m just telling the truth about what Proton R3 section do now.But when you come here,you talk about “jerky” Punch CVT and want to race.Hahaha.

• Passerby on May 26, 2015 at 11:24 pm

this is normal… blame game is our budaya…
      anything goes wrong for sure blame chinese, LGE, yahudi, israel…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • some people sill believe that if proton dies tomorrow car prices suddenly be affordable, guess what..never

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • rally_fan (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 4:59 pm

its true.. proton has not been the market leader for quite a number of years already.. to continue to say the govt protects it isn’t true. looks more like perodua is the one enjoying all the benefits today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • Manual on May 26, 2015 at 4:44 pm

I’m waiting so long for this. Pls launch in Malaysia market!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • nabill (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 5:15 pm

I have a feeling that the cfe with manual can produce alot more… Specially more torque since the cv3 in da suprima could handle only around 220nm of torque… Its eady to up the power to 160hp n 250nm….yummy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • the problem is that they dunno how make biz, they just know hw to make cars.. we cannot deny that chinese malaysian r better in doing biz.. c lah kuok group, ytl, ioi, genting, rimbunan hijau, lion group..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
  • Proton should make a SAGA FLX EXECUTIVE 1.6 6MT :D

• kanazai2001 on May 27, 2015 at 11:08 am

or Savvy 1.6 + 6MT…
      if so definitely buy 1…

common pRoton… ur 6MT comes TOO LATE!!!

• Those who say wan manual, but when P1 launches here terus bola kecut book auto. Excuse given will be work in city lah, traffic jam lah, too many gears lah, bini/gupfren oso need to drive lah, its only a Proton lah, 6 speed gear for racing ah? will kill people lah, too ah beng lah.

BTW I use Gen2 CPS MANUAL, so I know all about traffic jam up steep winding slope with only headlamps for lighting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • ulkamikup on May 26, 2015 at 5:31 pm

where are u Yrv turbo? Gone in 60 seconds? Hahahahahah.

Proton policy must change in order to survive. No more support local vendors if they cant deliver a good and quality products. It is time to find parts abroad. Way cheaper and reliable. Most of the vendors now facing a financial problem.

• Reasons why this won’t sell well:
    – Pretty much everything else in the class has better efficiency and lower emissions. (esp. diesel hatchbacks like the focus & megane)
    – not tested with the latest EuroNCAP
    – Interior not as well built as other competitors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • sudonano (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 5:54 pm

I’m curious to see if the engine is indeed a CFE. Plus the CFE’s fuel consumption isn’t very low…. and as far as hatchbacks go, to make it big in the UK, you need the diesel.

Could we be looking at a diesel mule, probably with the Honda 1.6 iDTEC?

• Jilbaber (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 6:45 pm

Please makes facelift variant of this car la Proton…give bigger side mirror and redesign meter cluster…side mirror to tiny compare to Myvi meh…

• podaa on May 28, 2015 at 2:40 pm

myvi side mirror is too bulky. no one like it. It block your view some more

• Absolute Rider on May 26, 2015 at 7:25 pm

Last year 2014/3/4, read the news about it and it was spotted in Perak. After a year, still haven’t finish.

Others already facelifted their models and launched their latest models and replacement (generation).

Proton, Preve should be facelifted with total make over for interior. Later, Suprima S too.

Thank you very much.

• Albert on May 26, 2015 at 8:37 pm

Protong has adopted a new tactic.It is called TIMEWASTING.
    It can’t even sell 5000 units last April,so it has to try its luck in UK market again.
    Beware,Jeremy Clarkson is hosting a new show,after his sacking from TopGear.This maniac has hoisted our poor Kelisa to a hundred feet and destroyed it.Maybe he will try to hoist the Suprima and crash it again.
    When sales dwindle to less than 60,000 units this year,DRB will go the direction of MAS also.Mass retrenchment of 40-50 percent is on the cards.
    IMDB,MAS,Protong have one thing in common….Mismanagement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
    • fanofthisite on May 31, 2015 at 12:04 am

you are right a ‘maniac’ and gimmicks. i seldom listen to Clarkson unless its about high performance cars.

• Aero (Member) on May 26, 2015 at 8:39 pm

Aww man, I thought Proton stopped pursuing their Prevé / Suprima S 6-speed manual already ! I want to thank Mr.Fakrul for all these well-captured photos, most Malaysians either don’t care or don’t want to take the risk. As far as I’m concerned, if a testing vehicle / mule / prototype is spotted on public roads, there is no law that says it’s illegal to photograph said vehicle. It is only illegal if the vehicle is in private property (R&D lab, factory floor etc.). Proton cannot do anything (by law) to anyone who photographs their prototypes on public roads, which is why there exists camo-tape and masking.

From what I can guess from that sticker, this Suprima S’ manual gearbox is being endurance and quality tested for a 160,000 km period (or equivalent 8-year lifespan with 20,000 km per year). However, that S4PH-UK9361 code is very ambiguous. The S4PH code says it’s a CamPro engine under the hood, but not which one. The most obvious one is the current CamPro Turbo / CFE, but it’s not green and efficient enough for the U.K. market. The emissions are not under the crucial 100g/km benchmark, and for a 1.6 soft-turbo engine, that’s just not good enough. The CamPro Turbo / CFE is not direct-injected, so it’s not surprising then. If I’m not mistaken, the new Iriz’s engines have the same S4PH engine code too, but if that CFE badge on the tailgate is supposed to mean anything, then it could very well be the Turbo / CFE under the hood and not a foreign or new engine. No clue what the ‘UK9361’ means though. I have tried decoding the VIN (the longest code on the sticker) but there’s no real results. ‘PL1’ is definitely Proton. ‘000117’ is the unique code for this Suprima S. As for appearance, that gear-shift knob looks different (and I dare say more attractive) than the one seen in the previous prototype from March 2014, but other than that we can’t tell if the gearbox or anything else is new. The prototype is based on the Premium spec of the Suprima S. By now, Proton has stopped making the Super Premium as it’s no longer listed on their website.

Personally, I think if Proton is really serious about relaunching in the U.K., they should do it properly and not half-assed style like in Australia. What I mean is; HAVE MORE, QUALITY DEALERS ! What’s the point of having new, improved and 5-star safety models if you have like 10 or 20 shoddy dealers and service centres ? That is what happened to Proton Cars Australia (PCA), they have 3 very high-potential models (Prevé, Suprima S and Exora Turbo), yet their dealers are few and far between and those few that exist are mostly incompetent. Worst of all, PCA OVERPRICED the Prevé from day one and they did not drop the price until a reputable website called CarAdvice gave the Australian Prevé non-Turbo 2 out of 5 stars (the Suprima got 3, most of the competitors got 3.5 or 4). How embarrassing ! Yet, despite the mess, PCA has managed to sell more Prevés than Proton Thailand and Proton Edar Indonesia, that shows that the Prevé still has some potential in Australia, but is being held back by shoddy marketing ! Don’t lah like that, you guys need to try much harder because 99% of your overseas buyers won’t care about how Proton has improved SO MUCH with the Prevé compared to the Persona and the Wira before it. These people just want to buy the car because it’s cheap, safe and good value for money, they are not buying it BECAUSE it’s a Proton. Sorry, that is the hard truth. However, there is a sizeable number of Malaysians who will buy the new Protons BECAUSE they’re Protons, myself included, because we want to show our support for Malaysia’s only true national car. However, please don’t take our support for granted and flog your cars to us just because you know we’ll buy them as it’s ‘our national responsibility and duty to do so’. Even your most die-hard fans will turn their backs on you if you cannot owe up to your claims and continue to disappoint us year after year after year.

So please, if you want to launch the new cars in the U.K. just because you can then claim that they’re sold in the U.K. (i.e. for namesake), then DON’T BOTHER. If Proton wants to relaunch in the U.K., do it properly with hopes that one day, Proton could just return to their 10,000-something units per-year sales figure there. Proton can do it, they’ve done it before. In 1992, Proton was the 17th best-selling car manufacturer (about 15,000 units sold) in the U.K. with JUST ONE CAR, the Saga. That was Proton’s highest ever position in the U.K. market. Proton sold more cars than Hyundai in the U.K. for several consecutive years, along with SEAT, Kia and Skoda as well. Even ‘sifu’ Mitsubishi couldn’t sell as many cars as Proton did in the U.K., imagine that ! Before you ask what kind of drugs I’m smoking, here’s the evidence (http://raycee1234.blogspot.com/2014/12/uk-car-sales-by-brand-1990-94.html).

I’ll repeat again; do everything to the best of your abilities, complacency is the silent killer. The British have a saying for their great-but-now-dead cars manufacturers; Ambitious, but rubbish. Learn from others’ mistakes because you cannot afford to make the same mistakes over and over again, China is already flooding the world with their new and improved cars, Proton is already out of time, they must catch up or drown in the sea of Chinese cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 3
    • kazanixm on May 27, 2015 at 12:17 am

Spot on Aero!

• Das Proton on May 27, 2015 at 8:54 am

Why Suprima/Preve will fail in UK:
      1) No sunroof, no heated seats, no electric powered seats, no digital dual zone automatic aircons with display.
      2) Ugly rear design. Front is okay. But overall already outdated trend.
      3) No diesel engine.
      4) No 10 years warranty, crucial for company to rebuild entire reputation again.
      5) Not tested and banged by TopGear or prominent UK car magazines (yet).

Solution:
      Merge or let VW group as part owners for Proton. VW will solve the design problem and better range of petrol and diesel engines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • dsgfail on May 27, 2015 at 11:22 am

Who wants problematic DSG?
        That’s far worse than no useless accessories like sunroof, electric power seats etc.

• campro on May 27, 2015 at 12:17 pm

You know VW also has manual right?

• u must be living in the cave for long time..
          DSG issue has been solved long ago, not problematic anymore!

• tenmdb on May 27, 2015 at 12:10 pm

What principle calls on anyone to support a failure just because its from your country? If Proton did a good job, we will support. But to make junk inbred monstrosities, rebadge cars, whats is the point? Perodua is the same. This same mentality has caused MAS employees to lose their jobs. Be happy when your denial and unfounded ‘nationalism’ causes another million job losses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • Aero (Member) on May 27, 2015 at 6:12 pm

I’ve had this debate countless of times with countless of others, and my answer is very simple; we need to see the FULL PICTURE.

So you think that Proton is still a hopeless company which can only rebadge Japanese cars and profit off the NAP’s preferential treatment towards national cars. Is it ? If you told me this in the 1990s, I wouldn’t attempt to argue… because it would’ve been true. But don’t expect to pull the same card today and expect EDUCATED Malaysians to side with you… because you’ve clearly not kept up with the times. Proton has made several in-house designed models over the last 15 years, a few Proton engines, been awarded the highest safety ratings, shown that they’re very serious on exports, progressively improved their quality control track record and whatnot …. and yet there are still people like you who LOVE to revel in Proton’s past failures. How is that fair ? A lot of car companies used to be incompetent (Skoda, Hyundai, Kia, Daewoo etc.), but they’ve moved on since, and people have come to forgive and forget. So why do so many Malaysians still love to hate Proton even when they’ve proven several times now that they’re not the same Proton we hated in the late-90s to mid-2000s? For what they’re worth, it would be a crime to fault the newer Protons like the Iriz, Prevé and Suprima S. First of all they’re not rebadged Mitsubishis or Hondas, they’re fully-Malaysian designed cars, they’re excellent value for money, handle well, 5-star safety rated, look good, relatively fuel-efficient (Iriz, at least), well-specced, FAR more reliable than the shoddy Gen-2, Waja and Savvy AMT before it…. the only thing it DOESN’T have is a Euro or Japanese badge. And that is ALL that’s required to turn off a huge majority of Malaysians. So what ? We should take pride in knowing that we’re one of the few countries in the world to have the capacity to design cars from the ground up. Yet, a significant majority of Malaysians can’t be bothered, they don’t care, they just want a Honda, or a Toyota, or a Nissan. They are a self-centred, insensitive bunch who can’t seem to sacrifice for the greater good of the country. Yet, whenever something bad happens, they LOVE to complain as if they are ENTITLED to, as if they’ve EARNED the right to complain. So you’ve spent your whole life only thinking about your own selfish gains without sparing a thought about contributing back to the country which raised you…. and you want to complain some more ? Seriously, Malaysians are some of the most ungrateful people on this planet. Whenever something bad happens, complain. Whenever something good happens, complain. Whenever nothing happens, complain. All we know is COMPLAIN, COMPLAIN, COMPLAIN, like babies. No matter how good Proton becomes, some Malaysians will STILL complain. Think about those thousands of employees at Proton, they’re not complaining that Malaysians have stopped supporting them, they’re trying to work hard and make ends meet, to show that they’ve realized their past mistakes and hope to redeem themselves year after year with better and better models. Yet, so few Malaysians want to give them that one last chance they so desperately need. I have long realized and seen what Proton is capable of, and I’m convinced that with the right management and support from the people, they could go a long way. I don’t mind sacrificing in the short term if it represents a gain in the long term for the nation and rakyat in general. Of course, there must also be a swift change in the governance of Malaysia, and God willing, 2018 will be the year of change and development. I hope.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • Some will say that ur last sentence shows u r a hypocrite. If both P1 and BN are rotten cabbage, why u still giv chance to P1 and then ask to change BN? Why not giv them a chance too? They r oso improving slowly but surely from Mahathirs era.

• Aero (Member) on May 29, 2015 at 1:15 pm

Good question. Well, Proton is merely an asset… and BN controls it in one way or another. The problem didn’t start with Proton, it was always our beloved BN.

When you have weeds growing in your garden, do you just cut them or pluck them out ? If you pluck them out, the problem is solved, permanently. But if you cut them, after some time, it will just grow back.

Similarly, ‘cutting the weed’ by closing down Proton will really not solve anything, because BN will just ‘grow back’ and find other ways to screw with the rakyat.

Hypothetically speaking, if BN falls and PR rises to governance, it is likely that Proton would be privatised or maybe sold to a foreign company like GM or VW Group. All the remaining crony sub-groups and vendors within Proton will be fired, new blood will be hired and Proton will no doubt be a far stronger company.

On the other hand, if Proton is closed down, do Malaysians really think a Honda City will cost RM50k like a Saga ? Dream on lah. Almost all the car companies in Malaysia have SOME TIES to crony companies. Honda Malaysia is owned by DRB-HICOM, UMW Toyota is owned by UMW, Perodua is owned by UMW, MBMR and a few others, Kia is part of Naza, Hyundai is sold by Inokom, Mazda is a Berjaya Group company, Ford, Hyundai and BMW are part of Sime Darby, Nissan is part of the Tan Chong group… THEY’RE ALL CRONY COMPANIES. So should we shut them all down too ? What makes anyone think they want to reduce car prices when Proton is gone ? They will probably find other excuses to delay the price reduction because the government will NEVER let go of the excise tax that ALL car companies in Malaysia are subject to, including Proton and Perodua (albeit not as much as non-national brands).

Possibly only Volvo Cars Malaysia has some independence because they have their own wholly-owned car plant and are free to do what they want without too much government interference.

• Anti-Macai on May 28, 2015 at 9:22 am

“Yet, so few Malaysians want to give them that one last chance they so desperately need.”
          – 30 years of support by bullied rakyat not enough? Idiotic nonsense.

“I’ve had this debate countless of times with countless of others, and my answer is very simple; we need to see the FULL PICTURE.” “….to show that they’ve realized their past mistakes and hope to redeem themselves year after year with better and better models. ”
          – Einstein once said, Stupidity is keep repeating same mistakes again and again hoping to get different results.

• Your diatribe has some minor merit. I do, however, take issue with your comments re the U.K dealer network. There are some fine, competent and highly regarded businesses that have been part of Proton U.K’s network. They have quite simply been let down by Proton’s constant mismanagement of their products and the markets to which they aspire to. The problem in the U.K has NEVER been about the dealer network.

• applegreen on May 27, 2015 at 9:47 am

From previous photos on proton design development i saw some women working for it. That would be shame. In design industry, if u wanna go further and catch up you should guys leading the way. If women in the department they will simply wanna find another design and change more and more. Lots of wasting time.

If proton wanna achieve global car standard and produce many different types of cars like the german does, please let men do it. Dont worry design evolution goes by itself. I comment this because im a designer and i know from looking at current proton cars design

• Hor Shen Hau on May 27, 2015 at 8:22 pm

I am agree with all of your idea.But do we need to give Top Gear to test it first?Do we need?No need!You can try and rate that car yourself.

• CyberPatrol on May 29, 2015 at 1:51 am

It has been more than 30 years already Proton should well aware of your business strength and weakness. Lets not be naive about it and please make Malaysian a proud car owner of No1 in both category non-national and nation car seller. Once this achieved, you can now begin export car internationally. So now put your all financial investment for UK into R&D team to make better cars instead of UK sales/marketing activity.

• I hear proton pulling out of UK cos can’t compete !

• edmund on Jun 05, 2015 at 4:34 am

Wow….are there really wanna sell that car in UK. …now I been living in UK for like 8 year….trust me proton will be a joke…..why?? How much it will cost for that piece of proton?? And there is no second hand car value in UK…..If I pay 15000£ for this new crap I rather buy a 4 years old Mercedes….or just named it any brand of car u want…..even u can buy a few years old porch with that price …..good luck proton……