Proton Suprima S now with up to RM8,000 discount

Proton Suprima S Discount

Click to enlarge.

Following the Iriz’s RM7,988 discount offer, the Proton Suprima S is now available with up to RM8,000 off its sticker price. That’s more or less a 10% drop, if you’re counting.

Both the Premium and Executive CFE variants, each priced at RM79,639 and RM76,398 respectively (OTR with insurance), can be had for RM8,000 less if you choose a 2014 model. Insist on a Suprima S Premium CFE that’s manufactured in 2015, and you still get a RM5,000 discount.

The base Suprima S Standard CFE variant, launched late last year for RM69,438, is given a RM5,500 discount, but only for a 2014 model.

Interested? Do read or watch our reviews of the Proton Suprima S, and for a more detailed look at the car’s specifications, check out CarBase.my.

Proton Suprima S Standard

Proton Suprima S Premium

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Low Budget on Feb 24, 2015 at 12:39 pm

Fire sales!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
    • savy velu (SV) on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:12 pm

Brand new scrap metals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 38
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:10 pm

VW giv discount 7 years loan mthly installment as low as RM999..why? no sales and scrappy product..Suprima better than Polo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 29
        • kadajawa on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:30 pm

The “German Proton”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
          • Kereta 1 Malaysia on Feb 24, 2015 at 3:50 pm

Inspira just recall and now selling old stock? The end is near for Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 20
          • What !? on Feb 24, 2015 at 5:32 pm

Even mitsubishi recalls their lancer…. do read the article bruh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 9
          • Same L0rrrr on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:12 am

Since when Proton is not selling old stock? You can even get 2012 cars last year.

Proton 5S lifestyle:
            1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Rosak
            4. Semakin Mahal
            5. Sales Carnival

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
          • Close Proton Down on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:43 am

Better to just close Proton down. It is solely because of Proton that for 30 years, 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars because of the Protectionism given to Proton.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot and have not gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Pro Proton pondans will say that even Proton pay duties and taxes but every Malaysian know that MITI has clearly instructed all other car brands to price their cars no less than RM20,000 higher gap than Proton to protect the dying Proton.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of Proton. And it will suck all our money dry. Every now and then, Proton will ask our money to support the company.

In 1985, Proton was conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat. That was the speech Mahathir gave on that launch day. If so, why do Proton cars get higher interest rates?

It looks like Proton is not to benefit the rakyat. Infact, besides making the rakyat suffer, Proton bleeds the rakyat. Every year, Proton gets hundreds of million of taxpayers money as form of research grants to keep the company afloat. Last year, Proton even asked the government to give them 2 billion ringgit. Government said no in a sandiwara show. But we know, they will get the money quietly. Now, they are openly asking even more for the Research and Development. How long must we Malaysians suffer? Isn’t 30 years of free money into Proton coffers enough?

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. That is just one company. Imagine all the different car brands from Cadillac, Ford, Buick, VW etc

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. In the 80s and 90s, we were heading to be the Detroit of Asia. Everybody wanted to CKD in Malaysia. We lost all that. Trillions.

Close down Proton. Open Malaysia back again to all the car manufacturers. They prefer Malaysians as opposed to Thais because Malaysians can speak well and are more intelligent. We will see billions, of not trillions flow into our economy vs to now, where Proton is just sucking our money.

Time to close Proton down. It is a waste of of taxpayers money supporting an organisation that loses money every year and sucks our tax payers money daily

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 28
          • Kingsman on Feb 25, 2015 at 11:57 pm

Time to close down this crony company

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:52 pm

Ok Buy from me discount extra RM 300 for suprima s.

Don’t miss the chance Iriz better then polo, Suprima better then polo sedan…

Proton all best Global car. DrM says Don’t buy means you have no taste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 15
          • Albert on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:06 am

Ah Beng,in 2 years u will be retrenched by Protong ,DRB then will have decided not to do national service anymore . You may have to sell Perodua or UMW cars or even Great wall cars.Have fun joining Same Lorr selling Toyota.

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:10 am

You don’t buy Proton, Tun M said you no taste.

You buy Proton, whole world said you no taste.

Which one you wanna be?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
        • alldisc on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:56 pm

actually, both also crap. this is reason proton still having 2014 stocks unsold.

proton is under huge desperation to move its stocks.

it had to wait until june/july 2014 to clear many of 2013 stocks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
        • Same L0rrrr on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:58 pm

More than 10% discount still Proton is making profit! See the rip off on the customer.

Please be patient, you can get 1 Saga FOC for buying 1 Suprima S during this Raya promotion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 14
          • paulnut on Feb 24, 2015 at 4:06 pm

Your son must be regret buying saga too early last year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
          • Albert on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:02 am

Your excellency Same Lorr,wtf….this shambolic car producer has no brains,only knows how to REBATE,REBATE,REBATE.The premium suprima model is only 2k,after discount of rm 8k,more expensive than base model.Then,the base model will build up unsold stocks again,and then 3 months later towards Raya,they will even give 10k discount!
            I give Protong 2 years more on critical life support,after which the undertaker will be paid to bury Protong alive with RM berjuta,juta in debt.
            By 2017,we will be writing about only Perodua,Toyota and Honda.
            Protong ,will be given a flowery tombstone,with thousands of hardcore Proton fanboys crying uncontrollably.

• Albert on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:12 am

Same Lorr,one afterthought.I was admiring some camrys at used car outlets yesterday.
            How about,parking all the unsold SUPRIMAS at used car outlets and let the chinamen sell agressively,giving as much discounts Proton allowed,just to clear all the stocks?

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:14 am

If I have any junk (e.g. Proton), I can give you for free.

Junk always attract pests (e.g. paulnut).

Junk’s definition in dictionary: Give out free also no one wants

• Sam Proton on Feb 25, 2015 at 12:33 pm

Bash proton but buy proton sage for your son pula. What a joker your are.

• trollmaster3000 on Feb 24, 2015 at 9:07 pm

bolehland isn’t vw’s home market.. if they can’t sell here they can always move somewhere else.. for proton though.. hmm.. r.i.p. lah proton.. nobody will miss you.. except your own employees..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • kereta tak laku

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • Mari Mari on Feb 24, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Close down sales!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
    • Nissan on Feb 26, 2015 at 2:59 am

Still selling 2014 model , what a joke LOL !

• gip me pree oso dunwan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 64
    • policeman on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:01 pm

Why?

Give me free I’ll take.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 6
      • savy velu (SV) on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:19 pm

Then quickly sell it off next day, at least you get free cash.

If you keep it you only lose more money in fuel, servicing, repairs etc. Be smart ok!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 19
        • driver on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:57 pm

tell me which car doesnt need service/maintenance cost?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
          • Smart Buyer on Feb 24, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Sell off Suprima and get free Axia Advance, with still extra cash for next 10 years petrol + service/maintenance cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
          • frossonice on Feb 24, 2015 at 7:32 pm

Godcar.

The almighty Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
          • lolol on Feb 25, 2015 at 1:22 pm

Well, you Proton supporters said it yourself. Vios has less maintenance than Suprima

• mechan on Feb 25, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Vios has underpower 1.5l engine. SS’s turbo engine, of course more maintenance but not expensive

• Give me free still need to think twice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
    • farhanatan on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:21 pm

Take lorr, gimme.
      Then i sell cheap2 for downpayment axia.

My 3 wives love to be in an axia sooooo much. Very safe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 43
    • Give me free I will sell it and get cash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • Mat Rempit on Feb 24, 2015 at 5:35 pm

Give me for free and i’ll use it to rob a bank

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • BMW 325i Coupe on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:00 pm

A product’s resale value will drop as the demand curve goes south. It is concluded that Proton cars depreciates faster than it accelerates, haha. Face it Proton, people don’t want to buy your cars.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 20
    • savy velu (SV) on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:17 pm

DRB Group burning billions to rescue Proton. Very good investment indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
    • bmw depreciation worse still

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
      • BMW E36 Coupe on Feb 24, 2015 at 9:53 pm

I don’t think so if you look at the value lost per year in percentage. Plus there is a demand for BMWs whether it is brand new, used or grey import. As long as there is a demand, the price holds strong.

• OMG…That why i say, P1 can only sell cheap car. Once u sell it MAHAL, now here u need give big discount for stock clearance… The pricing for this soup is overpriced. Ppl just top up a bit can get a H.city or foreign cars. The same faith happened to IRIZ. Pity P1.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 9
    • hefag on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Lol honda city is nothing to compared with this car. Only rear air cond can do. Engine power wise city only smells suprima smoke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 34
      • Proton Kereta BBQ on Feb 24, 2015 at 4:14 pm

When your car get burnt, smell all the smoke you want

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=357584711109583&set=o.155519071138253&type=1&pnref=story

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
        • Even Ferrari got burnt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
          • Your Proton got more than 300hp ah or can run as fast as Ferrari? Ferrari is high performance car, so operating at higher temperature you know? Proton snail speed also burnt means it’s an Burning Coffin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
          • Ferrari got higher temperature but much more advanced cooling, still got burnt!

• policeman on Feb 24, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Why is the Suprima producing smoke? CFE trademark is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • inspirah on Feb 24, 2015 at 9:01 pm

Because it’s more powerful unlike your uncle’s car inspira

• OMG…come on bro, racing kah? ppl just just a family sedan will do. Just depend on engine not enough lah…Just compare the design and brand, this soup was already lose man…LOL

• cityunderpower on Feb 24, 2015 at 9:04 pm

City is for city driving, if full load preve/suprima are wayyyy torquey

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
          • My A Class is way more torquey than any crap Preve/Suprima. Preve/Suprima are for kampung driving. Their drivers look like kampung people that only know how to smoke city owners but can only diam-diam beri laluan to us A Class owners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
          • cityunderpower on Feb 25, 2015 at 5:47 pm

A class? You mean that crampy easy to turn turtled car?
            Dun talk kok here unless it’s turbo

• Lane Tamer on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:06 pm

Let the beatings begin…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Lane Tamer on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Let the bashing begins…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Low Budget on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:24 pm

P1 deserved to be bashed kau kau in the past, today P1 problems is actually due to their arrogant attitude in the past, now they have become a beggar in a sense, but many Malaysians are not in charitable mood to support their product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
  • Proton should consider Buy 1 Suprima Free 1 IRIS

:D :D :D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 6
  • Matchy on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:12 pm

Later the gov will use this as “car price drop”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
  • kolejeon on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Hoping for suprima s manual transmission.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • lanci on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:16 pm

reason no one buying iris apart from fugly look n problem cvt it is so cramped inside….only the stupid or blind or both buy iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 25
    • no no i think that stupid and blind applies to facelifted myvi buyers..at least axia is cheap so that justifies the car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • RM8K alot meh? The last round they gave RM16K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • smokey on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:40 pm

haha…now need to throw further discount on the cheapest Standard Suprima shows that sales is really bad

• Honestly the only thing I don’t like about the Suprima is just the Engine and transmission. If they could develop a 1.6 turbochared engine that has north of 150bhp and over 200Nm like the turbo Prince engine AND return no more than 8l/100km, I think it would be a winner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • Both gearbox and engine combination makes me wonder whether this car can last for 10years of minimum usage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Bro,you are asking for Prince engine in this case.

• the prince engine is a bit outdated now. Even so, Proton’s CFE is no where near that efficient. There are better engines out there with more modern tech like direct injection & start stop (ie. 1.5/1.6 EcoBoost)

• ecoboosthell on Feb 24, 2015 at 9:26 pm

Heard Ecoboost is fuel guzzler in city driving

• That is might be true for old duratec Fords but not the EcoBoost.

• Enthu on Feb 24, 2015 at 5:21 pm

It’s just a single scroll turbo, instead of a two stage one.
      It doesn’t have DI.
      It doesn’t even have that ancient tech VVT.
      Not to mention their lousy Campro wouldn’t pass foreign emission control, so they could only sell this junk here.

Long way to go Proton, long way to go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Yeah bro.. long way to go proton.. and the distance is getting further and further behind the leading pack..

Proton, what are you gonna do?

• cobra on Feb 24, 2015 at 1:44 pm

Can someone enlighten me why is this car not selling well? Is it because of the price? Or the car is bad? Hope to get some constructive replies.

• tedung on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:27 pm

The rear buttock is fugly design. Stupid mistake by stupid designer syok sendiri. Now become tidak laku. Blame car buyers for not buying Proton. What a joke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • Tong Kosong on Feb 24, 2015 at 4:08 pm

Agreed. THE FIRST- Designers dream like SHIT esp Front & rear..No beautiful dream.
        Interior & Side though not nice, is not bad/ acceptable- or should I say “proton Tuah is OK, Preve/Suprima mcm taik”.

Please sack them- failed to think & produce marketable product. Arrogant people Always Fail to listen. MORE than THAT – YOU are BURDEN for Malaysian Society.

SECOND- Trust in Quality based on record- burn your 70K for besi burok? & Fuel consumption (saga acceptable).

THIRD- poor After Sales Service, (many cases,e.g engine leak, engine burn- stupid CSE have no constructive action & play with promises) never appreciate who sacrifice their life income for PROTONG to support national Product.
        I believe CSE ppl doesnt fit to work & play facebok all the time.

*this is my strong honest opinion based on family’s friends, internet review experience. up to Proton, you will collapse & die for keeping those highly paid parasite DOGs in your organisation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • Henry on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:52 pm

It is the brand. Once sullied it is very difficult to revive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Because the Proton challenging the people by asking how much they know about car. No one with the right mind likes to be challenged or insulted especially from a business entity. So if you as a business entity trying to be tough on the people, the people give you a lesson.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • karma on Feb 24, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Remember the radio advertisement Suprima, using Chinese fella to mock car buyers about better features? Such an insult to our intelligence. Pathetic marketing by Proton. Padan muka sales tidak laku now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
    • alldisc on Feb 24, 2015 at 3:37 pm

those ppl who made some research before buying will find that

1. radiator fan wire harness melted, can cause overheating.
      2. ICE often hang
      3. engine sometimes cannot start
      4. cannot simply push start the engine, or hazard light comes by itself while driving and that is just humiliating
      5. CVT noise not insulated well (for that so-called C segment premium feel)
      6. brake noise (like helicopter)
      7. poor fuel consumption, especially city drive.

but suprima does deliver good compromise in handling and acceleration. a good jump from the days of waja and persona.

if only proton not reluctant to launch it with the 6MT+CFE combo i believe many more ppl will buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • service after sales suck..spare part very xpensive,price also xpensive this is national car what???? quality ikut nasib hahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Dear Cobra..i like ur question. Kinda interesting to discuss why they cannot sell well…these are my opinion only la..Ugly design? Suprima yes a bit weird but Iriz with good design also selling slow.. but i personally think it is a combination of poor factors from Proton itself : build quality+ so so fuel consumption+service issue = bad impression = not worthy at that price. They have to solve this 3 major aspect to improve their sales quantity. All aspect at once..Iriz can bring back all that..unfortunately cvt gearbox issue still haunting Proton..just my opinion lar…

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 24, 2015 at 9:28 pm

the major problem of not selling well isn’t because the product, hut the “brand”. Without a good brand name, it takes lots of effort to push a product. The cheapest model was 69k but they have to battle with foreign car like Vios 74k, Almera 67k, City 75k etc.

Some may argue Suprima S spec is much better and spacious than these rivals, at least 30% better but these rivals are wearing the badge which is 300% or more higher than Proton.

Ahmad driving a Suprima S premium (80K) and City E (84k), when others see both which one they prefer. Be honest of course they prefer City because the brand represent everything. That is the reality.

• The Truth on Feb 25, 2015 at 12:38 am

Not only the brand, the service also matters. As far as i know, UMW has more customers satisfaction than Proton. Also, Proton and it’s supporters have attitude problems. They still like to syiok sendiri, evidence by the comments above about ‘smoking’ other cars. This is the truth whether you like it or not

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ULz7He3TH5Q

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Proof that proton can sell its cars cheaper but decided to sell it at higher price. Rm8k is like 10% of its original price. They seem to never believe sell cheap in higher volume is better than sell less but higher profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • driver on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:00 pm

yeap, cant beat T brand which sell cheap stuff at high price tag ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 17
      • But T/H brand never use the rakyat’s money to build their cars unlike P1, which use the rakyat’s money to build junks and sell back to the rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
        • viosed on Feb 24, 2015 at 9:07 pm

Moving coffin Toyota is the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • inferno on Feb 25, 2015 at 3:36 am

Can’t beat the burning coffin, Proton. Haha

• viosed on Feb 25, 2015 at 5:51 pm

Too bad it’s not mass cases, unlike those huge massive recalls all over the world

Haha!

• inferno on Feb 27, 2015 at 1:27 am

Yep, Proton never do mass recall even the car got burnt. That’s why customer complain.
            Haha!

• Dun tell me only bolehland do bailing out companies. It’s too naive to say you dun know

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
          • Yes, other countries do bail out companies but only once in a while. After bail out, the companies got improvement. We Malaysia on the other hand have the rakyat bail out Proton for 20 years! For 20 years also never improve in sales. What kind of company lose sales but never close shop? Don’t tell me you don’t know if you stay in Malaysia

• Those companies are times bigger than p1, reaches lot more sales volume, no wonder.

• BLT_Club on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:08 pm

Ini semua sandiwara only. The main goal is not to sell cars but to sell Proton back to the rakyat.
    1) announce Proton restructuring due to lack of profits
    2) create sense of panic by saying lots of jobs would be lost, reinforced by images of Proton and vendors staff, preferably of a certain persuasion
    3) get a minister to lobby for the nationalization of Proton, add rhetoric on national industry, job losses and the now mandatory “tak suka boleh belah dari Malaysia”
    4) have movement to Save Proton led by a certain youth wing
    5) negotiate a high sale price justified by IB/ consultants study on the future potential of Proton (which is bull crap but still believed by G)
    6) Proton sold with inflated price back to Gov
    7) announcement of “new era for Proton, the BMW Of Asia”
    8) Raise GST do fund purchase price
    9) Rakyat suffers
    10) Proton countinues for another 50 years
    And that’s the bottom line, ain’t no way Proton will ever close. Better chance for Bolehland to have an Indian PM than Proton closing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 9
  • facelift version is coming soon..?

• Dude, this discount strategy is very common now. Why want to bash proton when other manufacturers also did go along with this kind of strategy. Be fair.. Critic on real weakness, so that our proton can improved further.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 21
    • Adik manis on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:38 pm

Improve with relocate new factory to Bangladesh cut cost. Kasi gaji Ah Beng as foreman RM850 is enough lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • takNakP1 on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:46 pm

“Critic on real weakness, so that our proton can improved further”

you are just so naive…
      they will continue to live in denial, arrogant and blame the ppl for not supporting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • Dude, did they ask the public what are their weaknesses? No. So far what we have heard from them is how much do you know about car? and blame the general public for their low sales figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Can Proton supporters take criticism? Look at this comment:

“Lol honda city is nothing to compared with this car. Only rear air cond can do. Engine power wise city only smells suprima smoke.”

Own car no good still want to smoke others. Proton supporters only know how to syiok sendiri. Their ego is too big and they don’t want to listen to others. How to critic so that Proton can improve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
      • junkyjaps on Feb 24, 2015 at 9:19 pm

Lol the torquey CFE engine won’t have to be pushed as much as underpower Japs car to accelerate and smoke them, even makes 2.0l civic much older than it does

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
        • You still don't get it on Feb 24, 2015 at 11:50 pm

Wake up lah. People want reliable cars, not cars to smoke others lah wei. So stop syiok sendiri by claiming your engine is better. If you want to talk about engines, any Japs engine can last longer and any BMW engine can smoke your stupid CFE engine. The only thing special about the CFE engine is that it drinks more fuel than a Lembu drinks water

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • junkyjaps on Feb 25, 2015 at 5:35 pm

Saga BLM is ady moving on roads for years not to mention older campro cars. At least no safety related recalls like H and T. Any BMW engine? Old one smaller cc no turbo can ar? Lol

• Daniel Mohd on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:19 pm

Gave further discount proton says about 10 to 15 thousand under some conditiond .Disk 15k loan for 6 yrs and 10k llan 6yrs and above. Sure lakukereta lu macam goreng pisang mayak panas looo.

• There is discounts for all cars, just not P1. Volvo S80 is discounted at almost 20k+ and so is Honda Odyssey and Nissan and Mitsubishi and other car models. Its a normal practice to discount and cleat the old stocks. not just Proton !

But proton on the other hand definitely feels the pinch with its lousy design and after sales !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • proton lover on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:41 pm

This is what I am waiting for.
    Thanks proton. Hello iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • takNakP1 on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:43 pm

in less than a week is already March and there is still 2014 stock for promotion. Good job!!!.

for 3k difference, i believe many will still go for 2015 stock. the additional installment is less than RM50.

looking forward for RM10000 for 2014 stock next month.

• If they can’t sell it in 2014, what makes you think people will go for 2015 stock?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • JB_KIA on Feb 24, 2015 at 2:43 pm

itu timing tarak bagus laa…putus abis oh…

• decent exterior, needs better interior plastics and should of been cheaper.

• Lcmbryan on Feb 24, 2015 at 3:16 pm

Wrong marketing again. If you can sell so cheap now why didnt do it at the first place. So it will be see everywhere then people only notice your new car. Not now when other car sell so cheap only you bring down your price. Failure of marketing.

• jerung on Feb 24, 2015 at 3:28 pm

Damage has been done. Its hard to regain trust that has been lost. I’ve owned three protons before – Wira, Gen2 and Savvy.
    The new Proton cars today can be world-class, awesome or whatever, but I’ll never give it another try. Three times kena screw by Proton is enough to last me a lifetime. All the best Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • Smart Buyer on Feb 24, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Learn from experience.

Pengalaman mengajar manusia.

Menyesal tiada gunanya.

• Low Budget on Feb 24, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Just curious in what way P1 screws you.

• Obvious on Feb 24, 2015 at 4:25 pm

Mahu tanya lagi? If you want to know, it’s like Saiful screws Anwar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • autodriver (Member) on Feb 27, 2015 at 12:43 am

I had nightmare with P1 too when I was driving Gen2. The story began on 2005 when I collecting it as new car. Below are the problems when 1st time sitting at my Gen2,

1. 2 front seat backpocket torn
        2. SA advise change of new absorbers (forgot front or rear) at first service at FOC
        3. 3 out of 4 aircond vents broken. Left my car overnight at SC to take out dashboard to fix it.
        4. steering clock spring problem (Proton did recall on 2010 but I had changed total of 3 sets of clock spring). Problem was turning the steering wheel will come with some noise.
        5. Alarm problem. Visit more than 3 times to get it fix, the trunk sensor detector setting at wrong position.
        6. Driver door handle hard to open and sometimes “stuck”. So I need to open front passenger door and climb over to driver seat. That was damn funny.

Imagine these all happened when I collecting my car mileage less than 10km in odo meter. During the years I drove got power window problem, rattling sound here and there, gearbox problem, radiator problem, air-cond problem (fan speed turning to max only equal to 2nd stage of wira), trunk hydraulic problem (push to top it will “drop” to half automatically) etc.

These are all the problem I went thru. No guts to try it anymore.

• annoyed on Feb 24, 2015 at 3:49 pm

Then again if we buy the proton why is the interest rate is higher than imported cars? The parts are pricy and the after sales sucks. What do you know about car??!! Better ask themself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • over price national car..spare part xpensive..part quality after several month n year bunyi sana sini patah sana sini..adoii..if 1fter 5-6 years its ok but heeuhhh..

• Hardly see one on the road. Revenue from this suprima enough to cover back development cost or not?

• danedz on Feb 24, 2015 at 5:26 pm

no need discount too much.just make the interest same level with continental cars is much welcome.

• car-fans on Feb 24, 2015 at 5:55 pm

Not everyone wanna to ‘bang’ Proton – but really … National Car but not National Price for Msian … Ada Murah mer – Kereta Proton? Tak De pun!

Want us to support Proton – Proton also need to support Msian mar.

RM70K for National car – Msian also not all idiot beli buta… better get other Jap Car with such price.

If Suprima below RM50K boleh lar kata harga untuk Malaysian.

Quality isu pun hot hot kat internet lagi nak jual mahal mahal.

So skg Super Offer Sales – Lagi consumer takut .. RV jadi rojak.

Proton oh Proton – Pls do your survey what Msian want : 1) Give us really good price for Msian
    or
    2) close Proton – so that we can get good and reliable cheaper importer car

TQVM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • junkjaps on Feb 24, 2015 at 9:10 pm

1.5l underpower Japs car VS 1.6Turbo more than 2.0l power

Are you serious?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • See.. u still don’t get it.
        We buy car for use for many years, not to enjoy 1-2 weeks on 1.6l with 2.0l power then spend most of the time at service centre or rather burned on the way uphill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • ae101 on Feb 24, 2015 at 6:05 pm

Better proton just do rebadge instead of wasting bil ringgit into r&d for the new few yrs. Sell it cheap to recover back the losses.

• BMW 325i Coupe on Feb 24, 2015 at 6:31 pm

No need, just pull the plug and let it die on its death bed.

• lazyworker on Feb 24, 2015 at 9:13 pm

Lol work hard lor
        If you have those bimmer why you cared to post here?

• BMW E36 Coupe on Feb 24, 2015 at 9:59 pm

Because I care about Malaysia and its car industry. You need to wake up to realize the mess Proton national car has created and we have to bare the consequences of its failure as well as the government policies. I worked hard and I chose not to buy a brand new car because they’re overpriced. Therefore I picked up a beautiful used E36 325i Coupe that costs less than RM30k that has a higher quality, better made and engineered, more fun to drive than any overpriced new Protons or Peroduas. It is about choice. You can always play safe and get yourself a Proton and cry each month because losing hundreds or a thousand of ringgit on the resale value.

• Go to Thai cars are not that cheap either, no p1 btw

• karipap basah on Feb 24, 2015 at 6:57 pm

give discount and think can boost sales??

Consumers, please think careful before buying this car….Once you wanna sell this Suprima later, the resale value is so low it will make you cry…

Take it from me, as I have frens in the used car business….

• Tiger on Feb 24, 2015 at 7:07 pm

The worst thing is the team who developed and marketed tis failure model pobably still earning fat pay cehcks and hefty bonus

• Up to you what you guys want to say.But just one things I want to say.I am happy with my Iriz and Suprima S and Proton is better right now.And they are better than Honda,Volkswagen,Toyota and Honda based on my experience with those from that 4 brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • BMW E36 Coupe on Feb 24, 2015 at 10:05 pm

Haha sure or not? You pakai tembak only and repeated Honda twice as among the four brands you owned before. You must either be a Proton salesman or crony. Good la you buy their cars, they need some supporters too.

• Lcmbryan on Feb 24, 2015 at 10:34 pm

I agree with you cause I own a new Honda. To be honest I feel the build quality of Honda is dropping. There is no different other then the engine and transmission sound is loud in proton car. And of cause the FC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • lanci on Feb 24, 2015 at 8:18 pm

only the mentally retarded people want to pay 70k for a proton…dude for tat much money u can get a toyota honda nissan kia and peace of mind….come to your sense please….

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 24, 2015 at 9:08 pm

If proton keep continue this kind of discount promotion on their product, they are in danger. When discount become numb, people would not buy the product at normal price anymore. People will wait for the “discount period” to arrive only then they will decide. Without discount people straightly walkaway from Proton.

Clearing old stock is unavoidable for all automaker, but even the 2015 model premium is giving discount of 5k. I bet in Mar or not later than Apr Proton will definitely adjust the price of Premium model by lower down 5k.

In fact product from Proton in recent years are much better than a decade ago even better than many foreign cars (except QC and after sales service), but the management of Proton is truly disappointed. The reaction from competition was so slow and offering made wrong decision. And the WORST thing is the outsource contractor of components are always CRONY who mark up price and low QC supply.

If Proton not going to re-structure their strategy and their weak management, we may see the end of Proton soon.

• C.P.MOHAN on Feb 24, 2015 at 9:41 pm

Discounts does not necessarily mean poor sales it could also mean new models coming. Whatever the reasons the fact is our market is small and car prices artificially high thus it takes longer to clear stock hence the incentives like discounts especially since the next festival is in 2Q.

• You sure not because of poor sales? This junk was not in production for more than 6 months last year because you are struggling to clear old stocks.

• Arell on Feb 24, 2015 at 10:12 pm

Already no sales, where got money to develop new model bro?

• Arell on Feb 24, 2015 at 10:11 pm

Wait for 2016, there will still be 2014 model available at 20% discount and 30% in 2017…

• Ranger on Feb 24, 2015 at 11:47 pm

R.i.p protong….no one will miss you..

It’s so rare to see a new protong now in aka long avalley, I see accordana on the road more than iriz…

• Proton is premium brand..we rakyat cant afford the price

• CyberPatrol on Feb 25, 2015 at 2:43 am

Proton had it coming to himself stretch too thin with too many models and not surprised of this action after report of vehicle volume sales Jan2015 growth was 1% and may declined further due to wait-and-see after GST. Plus it not easy to get Banks to approved car loans when car prices at higher. Maybe another price reduction again after GST, just yet for two months or P2 / other automaker make surprise price reduction / discount announcement too. Act like a bird vulture, scavenging nature..if prices make that priority decision.

• Susukotak on Feb 25, 2015 at 6:08 am

Jangan guna discount. Tapi guna perkataan liquidation. Kan nampak elok skit.

• youbuynTRY on Feb 25, 2015 at 8:51 am

Frankly speaking.
    Proton expensive, less durability, less quality, less fuel efficiency.

It’s truth.Dont believe? u just buy and try.

• PSucks on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:26 am

The ceiling price I would pay for a proton is below 60K. Anything more than that amount, Dr.M can keep it as souvenir. You don’t price something with high price to make it valuable or desirable, you have to build it to the standard, and then the value comes. Looking forward for bigger discount from proton…

• proton marketing manyak teruk.. just like they dont hv a long term plan.. haiyaa..

• Johnny on Feb 25, 2015 at 10:12 pm

If they sell their top rated car at rm50k, i will consider buying also with condition if honda or toyota service centre will service my electron instead of the official neutron service centre. Been a past customers of several past models, had experienced aquarium car in its earlier model, molten third brake light in new model, crispy biscuit (easily crack) steering wheel in new car, the burning of a perdana engine during servicing….those are enough for me already. Also another condition of buying is that if they sell the copy honda accord model, i have higher hopes on that.

• 8K really little, 12-13K is the fair reduction. GOOD LUCK

• hadi75 on Feb 26, 2015 at 11:31 am

Proton should have taken the VW offer but then again if VW takeover, imagine what would happen to all vendors….

• triple h (Member) on May 03, 2015 at 10:54 pm

Wow sotong sup rima..mau tiru lancer sportback.bg mereka yng xmampu bli ori blilh yg clone atau inspirated hehehe.OFTEN COPIED NEVER EQUALLED

• triple h (Member) on May 03, 2015 at 11:48 pm

Wow! Is this sotong sup rima? What a pariah sports car..want to copy lancer sportback but looked funny hehe.4those who cannot afford to buythe ori one please get it

• triple h (Member) on May 04, 2015 at 4:52 pm

Jaguh kg kalu global market dah mampus lama dahh…