Greetings from the Matrade Exhibition & Convention Centre in Kuala Lumpur, where we’re reporting live from the launch of the Proton Suprima S, the national car maker’s latest model. By now, you’d undoubtedly have watched the unveiling ceremony for the car via our dedicated live video stream – now, it’s time for the launch report.
The Proton Suprima S – the name of which is derived from the English root word ‘supreme’ – arrives on the scene 16 months after the Preve sedan premiered, and the five-door C-segment hatchback makes its debut in only a single engine guise (in two variant forms, the Executive and Premium) at point of launch, this being the familiar CamPro 1.6 turbo.
UPDATE: We’ve driven the car – read our full review of the Proton Suprima S here.
The same mill equips the Premium version of the Preve, and makes it way on here without any revisions – the low-pressure turbocharged unit delivers identical 138 hp at 5,000 rpm and 205 Nm between 2,000 and 4,000 rpm output numbers.
No sign of the normally-aspirated IAFM+ engine for the hatch – by the looks of it, Proton is targeting the Suprima S as a sportier offering, in keeping with the nature of the bodystyle. To cement that point, the ‘S’ suffix stands for Sport.
It’s therefore surprising to find that there’s no sign of the Getrag five-speed manual transmission on the car at this juncture, the CamPro unit being paired to the same seven-speed Punch VT3 CVT gearbox as fitted on the turbocharged Preve.
In terms of performance figures, the Suprima S has a 190 km/h top speed and a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 9.9 seconds, while fuel consumption is rated at 9.1 litres per 100 km. In comparison, the equivalent turbocharged Preve has a quoted 200 km/h top speed and 0-100 km/h time of 9.6 seconds, as well as a 8.2 litres per 100 km combined cycle fuel consumption.
Much of this can be explained by the kerb weight of the Suprima S, which is 1,375 kg for the Executive and 1,395 kg for the Premium. Essentially, the hatch is slightly heavier than the 1.6 Premium CFE Preve, which tips the scales at 1,340 kg.
Other numbers for the hatch are overall dimensions that measure in at 4,436 mm long, 1,786 mm wide and 1,524 mm tall, with a 2,650 mm long wheelbase (front overhang 918 mm, rear 868 mm) and a ground clearance of 155 mm. Both the front and rear track are the same at 1,542 mm each.
Aside from the length, these figures for the Suprima S are exactly identical to that of the Preve sedan. The Preve is longer by 107 mm, measuring in at 4,543 mm, the lack of a tail in the Suprima S obviously trimming the length.
Design-wise, the Suprima S has a visually tauter front end compared to its Preve sibling, the Proton Wings-inspired face displaying a new black honeycomb grille and new inserts for the bumper; the fog lamp surround on the left continues to be an intake point, feeding air to the intercooler.
Both variants have projector headlamps, the Executive’s coming with a LED position lamp (similar to the Preve) while the Premium’s shod with brighter DRLs. Other elements include an angular design rear lamp cluster with a LED light guide strip and a roof spoiler that both extends the roofline and improves airflow and aerodynamics.
Elsewhere, a Turbo badge finds its way on to the left section of the rear bootlid, as does a ‘Handling by Lotus’ badge, first seen on the Satria GTI more than a decade ago.
Speaking of the boot, usable luggage space is 309 litres by ISO, or VDA measurement volume, and 427 litres in total, loaded to the rear parcel shelf. Conversely, the Preve has a 506 litre boot.
New wheels complete the look, with the Premium featuring 17-inch units (with 215/45 profile tyres) and the Executive, 16-inch ones wrapped with 205/55 rubbers. The design is the same for both – seven double-spoke alloys in a titanium finish on the inside and a brilliant diamond cut on the wheel face. At launch time, the tyres that were installed from the car were sourced from Achilles.
As for the interior, things don’t veer far from that as seen in the Preve – the familiar fascia layout has been retained, though trim material choices are different. New elements include cubic-print dashboard/door highlights in a shade called Tempest Grey (on the Preve, dark brown for the Turbo, and silver on the IAFM+) and high-gloss piano accents for the steering wheel and gear knob.
In terms of equipment, common items to both variants include an Android-based Proton Infotainment System consisting of a seven-inch LCD screen DVD player with GPS navigation and Bluetooth/USB/iPod connectivity, paired to four speakers in the Executive and six speakers in the Premium (two are A-pillar mounted tweeters).
The system offers Wi-Fi connectivity off a mobile phone or portable hotspot, allowing Internet on the go, though for safety reasons the DVD player and Wi-Fi-based browsing can only be accessed when the handbrake is engaged. The GPS software installed in the unit is sourced from TM’s Lokatoo, with the unit getting GPS reception from the bee sting antenna on the roof of the car.
We were told the player runs on a pre-ICS version of Android, which could either mean Honeycomb if the OS is a tablet version, or Gingerbread if it’s the phone version. The system is a modified ‘locked down’ version with no ability to add your own apps, though we expect geeks will possibly figure out how to root the device.
Also standard fit are driver’s seat manual height adjustment, remote tailgate release, steering wheel audio controls, front fog lamps, tinted windows and rear parking sensors. The Suprima S features a rear fog lamp centrally located on the diffuser, bringing the car up to ECE Regulation 48 compliance.
The Premium variant adds on front sensors as well as Anthracite-shade leather for the seats (fabric on the Executive), door trim and steering wheel. It also comes equipped with paddle shifters, auto AC, cruise control, auto headlamp and wiper activation, a reverse camera and push-start ignition. Elsewhere, the side mirrors are electronically foldable units.
We’re yet to experience the car’s ride and handling, which we will get to do so at an upcoming drive soon, but the advent of the Suprima S also marks a return to a ‘Handling by Lotus’ catchword. The Preve – and Inspira – had earlier seen a departure from that with a move towards a ‘Proton Ride & Handling’ approach, so it’d really be interesting to see what this suggests beyond the tagline revision.
Otherwise, the suspension consists of front MacPherson struts and a rear multilink with stabiliser bar. The power steering continues to be a hydraulic type.
Safety kit for the five-star ANCAP-rated Suprima S consists of ABS with EBD, brake assist, electronic stability control (ESC), traction control and two rear Isofix mounts. Both Suprima S variants are equipped with six airbags (front, side, curtain) – it’s the first Proton to be sold here to have such a number. The Premium model adds hill-hold assist and electronic gear shift lock to the list.
Five colours are available for the Proton Suprima S, these being Atlantic Blue, Fire Red, Genetic Silver, Tranquility Black and Solid White. Like the Preve, the Suprima S is due to make its way to export markets – the word on the grapevine is the hatch will debut in Thailand and Indonesia before the year is out.
Pricing-wise, the on-the-road selling price for the Proton Suprima S – which comes with a five-year warranty and five-year free road assist programme – is as follows:
- Proton Suprima S 1.6 Executive (metallic) RM76,688
- Proton Suprima S 1.6 Executive (solid) RM76,338
- Proton Suprima S 1.6 Premium (metallic) RM79,988
- Proton Suprima S 1.6 Premium (solid) RM79,638
We’ve driven the car – read our full review of the Proton Suprima S here.
Wow. So fast update. Good job Paultan..
Yuckssssss
Nobody will buy Proton if Government does not protect Proton. Even other car companies cannot drop their prices because MITI controls it. Honda even wants to sell their City for RM60 plus but not allowed too. Once MITI stops all this nonsense of price control, Proton is sure to go bust. 20 Years of help also cannot stand on its own feet. Every other year Government gives few hundred million grant to Proton. You know where that money comes? It comes from LHDN. Our income tax money. Our money is being used to sustain a company that should have gone bankrupt years ago.
If city is 60k, saga 33k is much cheaper. Ford also got fund from govnmnt
Anyone else notice the rear bumper and fuel lid has a different colour compared to the body? If launch unit is that bad, don’t you think the production units will be worse?
I think this maybe similar hurdle that hyundai-kia have to face before went out to become big player globally…”the korean people”…
Proton have to face “the boleh people”..
konrad , ford Malaysia is by sime darby. sime darby is one of big company in Malaysia, and have a lot of own money, does not need money from gov.
ford of USA by USA gomen, not Sime
Everyone, please google picture of “subprima”. Funnily, u will find it actually well known adult diapers brand. Subprima S may mean the size of that diapers is S. Hehe..
@Khus
old story + not funny
pls move on
Konrod, please think straight. Even if Ford USA is funded by US government, Ford in USA competes on LEVEL PLAYING FIELD with other makers like bmw, mercedes, Toyota etc, without US govt giving Ford any drastically unfair taxation advantage to keep their head above the water. If you really think Proton is going to survive in Malaysia in the same environment as Ford in the US, i suggest you go and get your head checked immediately.
Let’s compare this car against a similar car which is Ford Focus Sport.
1.6L Turbo vs 2.0L NA
138hp vs 170hp
9.1L/100km vs 6.6L/100km
What say you?
If you want same level playing why it gets such fund despite it’s way older than proton?
@Inefficient
9.1l is combined cycle (urban + extra urban)
@Busydriver, Focus 6.6L/100km is also combined cycle. Urban is 9.4L/100KM, Extra Urban is just 5.1L/100km. You can check the figures at Ford Malaysia website.
@Inefficient
6.6l/100km is probably referred to US ground coz got tested there. Malaysia is way bad traffic jams. And it’s GDI not multi-port injection engine.
@LFA, combined cycle is normally referring to New European Driving Cycle (NEDC). Please google on this for more info. It has nothing to do with Malaysia has more traffic jam than USA.
@Inefficient
It’s GDI, nothing to shout about. Same with morons who compares petrol with diesel engines. Or BMW 520d with SS/Preve
Who cares. The price is the limitation here. Can you get the focus for 80k?
@scorr, CFE is Charged Fuel Efficient and it is touted to be as powerful as a 2.0L while having a “good” fuel consumption as well. Why can’t it be compared with the GDI engine in the Focus since it has the advantage of lower displacement and turbo charger?
Yes Focus is more expensive but for the extra RM, you will get a proper keyless entry and push start button, automatic braking and parking system, voice command as well as HID lighting.
Is it OK to have a lot worse fuel consumption just because it is cheaper?
One must be stupid to buy Proton. Resale value drops like a rock. Buy any Proton for RM80k and within a 2 years, you sell it, to get RM30,000 also you are luck. Buy Toyota or Honda for RM80k, 3 years later, you still can sell for RM65,000. I learnt my lesson with my first Proton, a Waja, Buy RM60,000, 2 years later I sold it for RM29,000
People who are fast to buy this car, please think carefully. When you sell this car, you might have to jual bontot to pay the balance of your loan. I am sure than in 2 years time, for you to get even RM30,000 for this car also, will be an uphill task.
I work for Honda Malaysia. When we launched the new 2012 Civic, we proposed a price of RM$90k to Malaysian government. Government wrote back and said, minimum is Rm$115k.
So what to do? Car company want to help rakyat but own government don’t want to help rakyat
@Inefficient
kid, when you are unjust to compare GDI engine with non-GDI.
lot fuel? if like that better you compare EV / hybrid / turbo GDI with petrol GDI. then you will see GDI burn lot of fuel too
@Inefficient
the features you mention are mostly available in SS. so the additional price is not worth
@Inefficient
Why you ask to compare? Are you F salesman? Provide discount like what Honda did, then at least your beloved Focus comes back again in my list. We compare with price and pay with money, not WORDS. Understand?
@Proton Worst Resale Value
are you sam loo dupe? stop your bullshitting. not enough to BS on korean car RV and proton. Sigh.
@scorr, since you are unhappy with me comparing the Suprima S with Ford Focus, let’s compare it against Cerato then. No GDI, just MPI.
Suprima S vs Cerato 1.6 & 2.0
1.6 Turbo vs 1.6 NA vs 2.0 NA
140ps vs 130ps vs 161ps
9.1 vs 6.8 vs 7.0 l/100km
@Inefficient
Still, the number cannot justify the price. Cerato 2.0 is near 118k. Nearly 40k can be used for fuel for how many years?
You make the comparison as if you can get the car cheap. It makes your comment cheap. If you think that buying expensive fuel saving car save fuel then go ahead no one stops you.
I will never buy Proton because Proton cars are sold for half price in Saudi and Arab countries. Exactly half price. Yes, people may argue that tax is cheaper there but Proton was conceived to give cheaper cars to the rakyat of Malaysia. If they cannot do this, in the first place, Proton should not be born. The Malaysian government should practice – charity begins at home. Give your rakyat first, then give the world second. In this case, Proton should be given special privileges of tax so that, we also can sell Proton to Malaysians at the price what the Arabs pay. It is unfair when Arabs pay half the price of all the Proton cars and we, our own Malaysian, pay double the price for a car that is originally Made in Malaysia. Otherwise, why even create Proton in 1985? It can be seen that, without protectionism to Proton ie MITI controlling price of Japanese brands, even Honda, Toyota and Nissan can sell their cars for RM50,000. So, why create Proton in the first place when you cannot give the rakyat of Malaysia cars costing less than RM50,000, which the Japanese can give?
Not bad…
Im getting this toy. For sure it handles better than any japan or korean car within 100k price bracket.
What? RV? Only poor people mumbles about RV…
I won’t get this car based on principles. Proton started offering safety features like ABS, Airbags only recently. Long before they did this, Japanese cars and German cars were giving us airbags for our safety. Germans were giving us airbags early 90s.
Proton was so stubborn, despite hundreds of thousands of deaths, refused to give us airbags. Just to save cost and make more profit for Khazanah. People begged for it but Proton did not bother.
After hundreds of thousands of road deaths later, and about 15 years after Japanese brands gave us airbags, then only Proton decided to give us airbags due to pressure ie Proton sales were so bad.
So, I refuse to buy from a company that contributed to so many road deaths just to make more profit and untung lebih. Even now, Proton safety features are one of the worst. No VSC/VSA for example.
Well said bro…
I think you completely miss the point. Not all people are rich – yes. If not because of PROTON, makcik and pakcik from kampung should have been driving cars with higher quality at RM50K+. Got it!
lol, talking like a rich people, ask everyone to buy what you want them to buy..
come on, we’re not a communist country, rite?
If proton car is sold cheaper at the first place, trust me, everyone will rush to buy it. and turnover for each proton car will be shorter. Just top so called executive people like you dont have ball to do it, scare to loss the margin of profit? oh well, we’re just a peasant, we work for the master, so they can drive a Porsche..
@skyjuice
then as gomen to reduce excise duty
First, the Reader Anti CO2 had point out your wrong mind set.
Second, Malaysian did support potong until they having the market share ~ 80% in the pass, then what the Malaysian get? Poor service and poor quality! So don’t blame Malaysian not support them, without our support, they gulung tikar long time ago!
lol, sounds like he thinks he is rich by paying 50-60k tax a year, come on, a lot of people are paying more than you too, stop being arrogant okay.
what is your tas of 50k or 60k got to do with comment on the car. You think u have high income ? Small boy, there are more people who are richer than u. Dont be so lan si.
Hey, Koreans car like Hyundai and Kia sell at almost same price as import… Not the same situation here…
@Veder
I see countless of old saga still running everyday. Give stats you refer of the poor quality? Give the source please.
@Anti CO2
explain quality please. dun tell me tin milo as it got 5 stars ncap. saga sv already got 3 stars and sure will get higher in near future
Well said man. I salute you.
I had a 1 year old Proton Preve, this morning the gear box just KONG while I drove at speed 80km/h in LDP. Realy regreted to support cap POTONG…
Imran is probably a crony supplier of Proton parts who is hurting with the truth.
You’re the one who bullshitting now noob.
kalau proton lebih murah some makcik pakcik in kampung lebih gembira..now makcik pakcik in kampung just bought used proton car..
Enough is enough.
Too much time have been given.
Too many casualties on the road thanks to proton.
If want to prove itself, compete fairly.
All customers have precious life either poor or rich. Please let them have what the pay for.Not overprice and underspec car thanks to PROTON!
in china, kimchi, sushi also got such protection. why so much fuss?
tin cola can get 5 star ancap safety rating? are you nut?
so, after 25 years you expecting us to keep accepting the failure of proton? and waste our stupid tax money on a failure company? this is what u think? no wonder Malaysia have lost our rank to our rival competitor like singapore, taiwan and korea. because the mind of people like you
If u angry about high & unfair car price in malaysia, the one you should get angry to is @ the G. not proton…
please watch here and u can see which is tin milo, proton or toyota?
http://preoduavivabaru.blogspot.com/2010/12/durability-of-exora.html
stupid..
I own a persona and to be frank, so far no problem eventhough the car near to 5 yrs. until i driven my wife toyota car then only i realise that toyota car handling, absorber really very different and comfortable.
I believe that ppl buy for toyota is because of their realibility and for long term drive since the loan usually 7 to 9 yrs.
For suprima, I got no comment but i believe definitely better than my persona haha.
As a normal citizen like us, of course we wish to own a affortable national car, rm80k is not a small amount, ya im not rich.
@david
proton is improving, why you say its a failure? because you cannot afford one?
What?? wait 30 to 50 years more..we already in this industry for the past 25 years and you ask Malaysian to wait another half century…you will be using tongkat ali at that time. If I were you better think if the same amount can buy a Honda City.. I dare you
honda city dun hv 6 airbags, it has only 2 lol
You are right bro about Australia. Right now Kevin Rudd is campaigning to provide hundred millions of AUD to subsidised and helped Holden if he is re-elected! Hundreds of Millions AUD! The Oz people doesnt seem to protest coz it their only car brand!
krng, why compare with China? Why not compare with US, Australia, Dubai? To strive as a nation and to better the life of Malaysians, we must selectively learn the good things from other countries, and not selectively use bad examples of other countries as justification/excuse to continue our practice. Get it?
@CAR
Australia government also give 500mil fund. UAE is too rich thus proton is cheaper without/very small tax. China started auto industry long before proton but still have sort of protection.
Imran, which part of Proton do you supply Proton? Is it the car mats? You buy RM5 each from Brothers but sell to Proton for RM100 per mat.
It’s you that hopeless still fooled by Proton.
Stop defending thrash nuisance to rakyat life lah
mahal nak mampos said makcik pakcik in kampung..
OMG…the rear not nice, the price also not nice, Preve still better lah…
buy cheaper car. many are available. why bother if it’s not affordable?
How much did Proton pay you to write this piece of crud? LoL.
Vios the lowest spec in thai cost bout rm58k(2 airbag if not mistaken)…the most spec cost bout rm72k(2 airbag of coz)..thai preve the cheapest bout rm65k( 2 airbag).,.the highest rm79k(6 airbag)..which 1 is overprice vs spec?
City the lowest spec in thai cost oso bout rm58k(2 airbag abs with ebd)…the most spec cost bout rm75k(2 airbag of coz + abs with ebd+ vsa)..thai preve the cheapest bout rm65k( 2 airbag similar spec to vios/city. Abs with ebd).,.the highest rm79k(6 airbag+abs with ebd+tc+esp)..which 1 is overprice vs spec?
Mind ur that both vios/city is 100% built in thai..preve/ss 100%(most of it..I think) made in boleh…those thai made is close to rm60k for base model…not rm30k or even rm40k
If to include thai almera..the cheapest is bout rm45k(1 airbag, no abs+ebd, no power window, no speaker, no radio!!)..the highest spec bout rm62k(2 airbag have those I mention earlier)..
Want to include thai almera?
I am not into proton but the whole car price issue cant be solved overnight no matter who got to rule.it takes time.of course thai has cheaper car but would u mind paying 4.50 for ron 95?.went to thailand i appreciate the fuel price here.i would rather have slightly expensive car than expensive fuel.becoz u use fuel regularly unless you go hybrid.u buy car once but you fuel your car more.dont get me wrong.this in my honest opinion.plez dont politiciz it.if car price is lowered i believe fuel wont enjoy subsidy.thats how things work.if u want cheap car cheap fuel then might have to live in saudi arabia or any rich arab country.there they can satisfy your needs.by the way this suprima is cute .may consider it for my second wife hehe.
I don know y u guy like to bash the name..
It not just underwear brand but oso
– a boiler name
– a pizza restaurant name
– a musician name
– music multi network audio codec
– a girl name
– a company producing baby product
And u all got just underwear? U guy need to upgrade info searching skill
why u compare 40k almera car with this shit suprimau 75k car…
70k++ car di comparekan dgn 40k++ car
no otak ka?
mesti la totally win for 70k++ car…
but sadly … proton suprimau not totally win even against 40k car
hahaha
maserati.. better u use tata nano form ur father country
Gomen should buy more protons, not sell their inspiras, I look like a fool saying inspiras are good
proton is doing business and rebadging (inspira) is business too. inspira gets benefit from proton RNH
This car is a disgrace. For RM80k, its way too much. Proton was built or born to give Malaysians cheaper cars.
Its 28 years of pampering. Just for 10 thousand workers of Proton and its suppliers, 30 million people have to suffer. And we all know, every single supplier of Proton is a crony or a relative of a Cabinet member. No such thing as tenders.
The whole Proton and ALL its suppliers are nothing but lazy cronies getting a free ride from 30 million Malaysians. Tak ada malu ke? 28 Years and still getting government help and protection.
Every car brand in Malaysia are forced to sell RM20k to RM30k more than any Proton model. Remember in the 80s to 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan Sunny 130Y for RM20,000 before they started protecting Proton.
Global inflation has not gone up that much that cars are sold in Malaysia four fold. Infact, car prices have dropped globally the past 28 years due to competition and mass production and economies of scale. So, even with inflation taken in, your Nissan Sunny will be no more than RM40,000 in today’s world.
we have give enuf time for pampering proton.. and they still cant competitive in the market.. y we still nid waste time and national resources on it? tis is not consider patriot, tis is call stupid.. plz dun compare proton with kia and hyundai.. they are support by govt also but there are producing value and competitive product to the market while proton is not.. keep support proton at the end hurt customers the most.. and we ald give 25 years for them. however, the most successful product from proton is saga and wira..
At current rates of inflation, prices double every 12-13 years. So $20000 in 1980 becomes $40000 in 1993… and $80000 in 2008.
Inflation is EXPONENTIAL in nature. Never forget that.
I saw this identical comment somewhere~(more than 1)
Wow~u all sync very well to type a very similar comment~or..just copy paste?upzzss!
#my bad~hoho
Proton is No.1 Bully only know how to squeeze own rakyat but afraid of open competition.
Proton looks cheaper because other competitors forced to price higher by MITI. Only fools think Proton worth it while other cars made expensive!
No wonder Proton global export only 20,000 units. Hated by own rakyat, even hated by whole world! HA HA HA
RM80K? Bagus beli Toyota!
Even Honda cannot beat proton price in Thai where tax is much cheaper lol. Why buy a Toyota when the company is too greedy to milk money from its kosong spec car?
Where did you get all these nonsense fairy tales ha? Picked from the sky? Please prove that Honda plans to sell City for RM60K and Proton received LHDN grant money. And others that never read will always agree. If Malaysian companies are so keen without government protection, then why did so many local organisations are afraid to kick-off TPP?
If one not going to buy proton.
So tell me, where the extra money u paid for foreign car goes? Into ur pocket?
Yup, proton maybe funded by LHDN, but buying cars like civic mentioned propose at 90k u r paying extra 25k, where this 25k goes? Not into my or urs pocket but directly into them as well.
So we dont buy proton because we dont like they waste our money, but we like to buy foreign car because we like to pay extra for their pocket?
I think Proton knows that it has to buck up, I just hope that they can do it in time before the Government really stops caring… even right now the Government don’t really support Proton… the Hodna Accord for Gomen car is an example….
At the end of the day, I would liek to see a truly global Malaysian brand in the auto industry… if got two even better
Seriously, when I go saw the actual Suprima, it did look nice and not milo tin, interior is good compare to photo taken, seeing is beliving
Sorry la don’t mean to bash:
Firstly… Take so bloody long to launch a hatchback version of an existing car (and like making it such a big deal)
2ndly, this car is almost pointless whereby apart from the Hatchback difference, performance and economy figures are no greater than existing Preve:
“the Suprima S has a 190 km/h top speed and a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 9.9 seconds, while fuel consumption is rated at 9.1 litres per 100 km. In comparison, the equivalent turbocharged Preve has a quoted 200 km/h top speed and 0-100 km/h time of 9.6 seconds, as well as a 8.2 litres per 100 km combined cycle fuel consumption”
I can therefore still conclude that Proton is moving forward, BUT at a very slow pace. Summore that Dr M is still in control of ALMOST EVERY F%&@#G THING in this company (and country) we really need to break away from this bloody Stigma in order to PROGRESS FURTHER.
My 2 cents … just expressing my concerns :)
If the price is right they can make it in Oz. They love hatchback for city car esp the female Oz. If the price is right!
yuckssssss??? the looks are not exactly good, but have you looked at the features it offers?? name me one car that has all the equipment that the suprima has and is below 80k. what else do you want proton to do?? you are just too shallow to accept that proton made a really good value for money car. although i would have loved to see a good exhaust at the back.
If there’s no excise duty, you’ll have a lot of choices for under 80k and well equipped
lol proton also can be cheaper, under 50k.
Proton Sup…test nice in the beginning and once finish finally yuckss…
Toyota vios…you drive it in the beginning and once gets fast it FLIES…ouch!
ko kenape, paer masalah , ko cube reka sendiri aku nak tengok!!!!
I’ve never seen so many likes for a post on Paultan before.
they just found out how to do auto like their rubbish comments, muahahahaha
Well done Paultan.org! Thanks for the live coverage.
Anyway, that was a bad presentation by Proton, really really bad!
The khamil guy did no more than reading scripts – I felt no passion on the product, no honesty in appreciating his employees. Even mahathir’s speech was more convincing (still shacky nonetheless).
The explaning guy (even forgot his name, but a son of Othman) wasn’t better at all. Why don’t you use Bahasa Melayu if your English was not fluent? No connection felt with potential buyers, more like “syiok sendiri” kinda presentation. He may know his stuff, but the method to convey the message was damn bad! His words sound like looking down to people, as opposed to guiding them in understanding the product.
I miss DSZ presentation for Preve, really. He brought people to his side, by acknowledging proton’s nightmare of power windows, and then state measure to counter that. That’s the way to do it. I could see passion, honesty, humbleness from his presentation, and that what brings people closer. He involved leaders from each department during the presentation. And then he finished his presentation by further engaging potential buyers with local dialect – if I wasn’t mistaken he used dialect from Kelantan, Negeri Sembilan, Northern region.
To Proton: good luck with this product.
To DSZ: it was indeed a loss to Proton that you left, thank you.
There’s a major power struggle within Proton rite now after a fallout between your khamil guy & lukman. That’s why your khamil guy is sulking badly, even at d launch.
He thot he has eliminated lukman 4 good b4 raya, only 4 lukman 2 return just after raya & in time 4 d launch! A clear display of power of d one & only pair of hidden hands of malaya, who intervened at d death!
That son of othman (aka hisham) is a lackey of khamil. Former lackey to halim saad at renong/uem and even followed him to seloga b4 another fallout.
None of them are interested in making cars. They are only interested in looking after themselves. Do NOT be fooled by their empty promises like a turnaround plan by Mar 2013. Its already Aug 2013 now!!!
It’s just another corporate malaya soap opera taking place at d expense of consumers, tax payers & rakyat. Divide & rule… it works.
Interesting. Mind sharing more about this power struggle? When you mention “None of them…” (para 4), is Lukman inclusive?
With this kind of political intervening, no wonder Proton is far from excellence. Sigh!
please hire some very very good designer please like European guy in KIA or SEAT in Spain, decades of business and fully funded by government but never been a market leader, hated by their own peoples, something is wrong here
fully funded by govn? are you high>?
It’s just the top management who have the final say of the car design. I’m sure you’ll quite surprise when you see the designer’s design concept.
Ni mesti tak belajar Sejarah Tingkatan 5 ni. Pernah dengar Dasar Penswastaan?
But Preve was designed by Italdesign, which is European. This same design firm did fantastic work on Ferrari and other makes.
Yet, all we hear are complains that these cars don’t look “good” enough.
Everyone knows its from Italdesign but still the look is outdated! Awe impression of the car externally and internally is important to “Average” buyer, rather than what’s the spec! Proton haven’t got it there yet. In fact its design philosophies yet to be known.
i love suprima R concept by theo, it makes SS more beautiful
Nope, it looks fresh to me. timeless design is the philosophy. please read / hear // see before bashing blindly.
a little bit dissapointed there is no manual transmission.. but still excited to read the review of the test drive
Luqman (COO) said that there’s possibility for manual tranny.
i think got MT… but might be on tuning stage…
There’s 6MT. Believe me. But not for our current domestic market. Demand/request for 6MT and maybe Proton’s management will decide to sell it for Malaysian’s market too.
As for “If there’s already 6MT, why not just put it as 1 of the variants??”
I dont know. Proton’s Management is kinda weird. lulz
4 idiots from an idiotic company launching 1 idiotic product:
1- Preve is know for its failure. How can a bunch of idiots chopped the tail, present it to a bunch of idiots sitting on the top management and got them to approve, and launch it to mass Malaysian market hoping that it will turn from failure to success??? What a bunch of supply chain of idiots !!!
2- The guy 2nd from left supposed to resigned from the company with last position as DCEO, just to come back to P1 and also be present at the product launching?? Is this is joke by idiots or what???
WHY NO COVER FROM PAUL TAN ABOUT THIS COMEBACK IDIOT???
Kalau lambang kepala rimau tu tukar dengan lambang pegeout or audi mesti orang stop kutuk kan..haha…thanks for the kutuk..we will improve our quality and technology..thanks Malaysian..
bmw also got chopped tail what. same front in 1-100 series, rear only different
preve is a failure? LOL. how?
Maybe you’re the failure here..
Trust me, i saw the actual car on the showroom just now, really not so bad as people bash…dashboard look good compare you look in photo…leather seat is also solid. The body doesn’t look milo tin at all.
Put the tiny turbo and add few airbags, and then start at 77k-89k… Vios is overpriced just bcoz of the tax but this? Jazz CKD and Vios r better coz they r Toyota and Honda! Anyway this car is fugly especially that ugly butt!
even proton is high taxed. if ford can sell cheaper why not toyota? please compare the specs, jazz doesn’t have 6 airbags, turbo engine etc. do you think those things are free? and the price is 79k not 89k. you cheated people. lame.
Don’t siao lah ‘ Proton is high taxed ‘ higher than other import car? what about the Inspira and lancer price in Langkawi yea? Jazz does not hav 6 airbags just bcoz Jazz without tax is cheaper than this ugly junk ok?
If “junk” is without tax, it’s might still cheaper than jazz. Can you read the posts above about preve and city?
lancer got exemption from excise duty and import duty, not inspira. thus it’s more expensive.
this is suprima s, does this mean later there will be acheaper suprima with iafm campro…?
Actually not bad, rear and interior looks OK. Price too high though – should be 65k
Agreed! But its about time CEO to unveil their cars not politician or in this manner ex politician! Not to disrespect but let focus on our younger entrepreneurs, engineers, doctors, academician, economists, etc the limelight and role model!
Welcome 2 corporate malaya! While I would agree with you under normal circumstances, proton is & will always be an exception 2 d rule 4 far too many people have vested interests in it.
Unfortunately, d ex politician is one that’s holding proton together. If it is left 2 d current so-called “professional management”, it may be a crime scene by now – a Rumble in d Bronx. You may need 2 persuade Dr Gil Grissom out of retirement 2 sort d mess out then.
In d meantime, let us all sit back & watch as d saga continues.
Correction. Not 20 years. From 1985. So its 28 years of papering. Just for 10 thousand workers of Proton and its suppliers, 30 million people have to suffer. And we all know, every single supplier of Proton is a crony or a relative to a Cabinet member. The whole Proton and ALL its suppliers are nothing but lazy cronies getting a free ride from 30 million Malaysians. Tak ada malu ke? 28 Years and still getting government help and protection. Every car brand in Malaysia are forced to sell RM20k to RM30k more than any Proton model. Remember in the 80s to 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan Sunny 130Y for RM20,000 before they started protecting Proton. Global inflation has not gone up that much that cars are sold in Malaysia four fold. Infact, car prices have dropped globally the past 28 years due to competition and mass production and economies of scale. So, even with inflation taken in, your Nissan Sunny will be no more than RM40,000 in today’s world. But Selphy or Sentra is sold for over RM100,000
Better ask gomen, not proton. I think someone already said above, other companies also get help from their government while their companis are established much earlier than proton.
improve engine….lar. All model run this 1.6 power plant. Common PROTON, my heavy 1.8 Honda car with non CVT consume less petrol with same distance….Upgrade your engine…I sell my Gen 2 already…kuat minum.
hmmmmm
hmmmmm
6 airbags
good.
And less likely to become ninja turtle during rainy days, comparatively.
This is good. Spec is generous for below RM80k car..but a bit ugly looking though in term design especially interior
bet you can’t even afford one and this is the only place u can brag abt it
Golf GTI is useless junk. I’m waiting for GT-R Black Edition, smokes those GTI badges.
inb4 : veyron
9.1L/100KM fuel consumption for combined cycle, the fuel consumption is rather high for a turbocharged car in my opinion. Proton should be more competitive! They should know fuel consumption is something very realistic and important in the Malaysian market. Many other car makers is able to give much lower fuel consumption regardless a bigger, more rigid and more comfortable vehicle.
agree with you. was quite surprised when reading about the fuel consumption there
For turbo charge car it is about normal, for example, Fuel consumption test for Mitsubishi LANCER EVOLUTION
This car was tested both in a city and on a highway.
Fuel consumption in L / 100km
City: 12.7 liters per 100 km
Highway: 9.0 liters per 100 km
and the combined cycle (urban + extra urban) consumption? ……
Congratulatuons to proton.. but the pricing is a bit pricy…almost similar to honda city and the price expensive than honda jazz.
Just my personal opinion
Common bro…pls accept the reality, I know you are die hard fans of proton but pls dont cheat yourself. Pls compare the interior with any other cars, if you still say that suprima interior is attractive then i got nothing to say. An organisation only can improve if listening to ppl comments but not denying.
you compare with what? rolls royce ghost? dun tell me you compare it with ironman chest theme dashboard in almera, LOL
interior is one of it, but what about other features:
6 airbags? reverse camera? traction control? handling is worse!
besides interior, the other big difference is: history & logo perception. please accept the reality.
OMG…The rear is damn ugly. Preve Sedan look nicer. Price increased with additional safety features…normal lah…Overall, Expansive and yet ugly. Preve Sedan better.
when look at the M in first image ,make me turn away, when look at the price make me speechless, when look at the car name : X.X
when look at your comment makes me click on dislike button :X
Yes better go for badges, even the safety features are sucky big time. Those safety features are not important because money is much much more important than soul. Trust me.
I agree because when you die, you can pay money to get live again
I don’t want to die just because it is lack of airbags
this sedan or hatchback also LPPL!
No Manual transmission and nothing special for this car, look at the dashboard, just look like more suitable for iswara model, front design, worst, sorry for all proton fans, no big deal for proton, but disappointed.
tell that to BMW, similar design
BMW? BMW uses top quality Bushes Aluminium for sports model, Carbon black for M models and two types of pure wood for their luxury and executive models. this dash is just painted the facia is a cheap sticker maybe supplied by brothers!!! pls think before you think Bro. Proton interior design is way good for early 90s not now…. also why they still use the Indon made tyres??? why no TPMS?
you get new BMW for 80k? in your dream
Wahhh….bontot belakang cun ape, not bad. Looks better than the new Vios. Spec wise (engine) similar to Preve, except FC could be better.
congrat proton ! 6 airbag & 5 star ANCAP are good bet .. kudos
looks very cheap, just look at the start/stop button
cheap?? have you seen the equipment list. its a huge leap for proton to make something that is this good. i’m not so sure about the pricing on this car but by the looks and the equipment, i’d give it a thumbs up.
ic..what about vios?..higher quality?
yes its start/stop button cannot break, even if you smash it with hammer
Wow the push start/stop button for vios must be made of very thick steel LOL
If Proton is continuing in what they have been doing for their future cars then they are going into the right path. This really sets a new benchmark for future Proton cars, did i just read 6 airbags?!?!
and FUGLY, stupid name too, who ever buy this is brainless, at this price rather buy d new vios with eyes shut
vios got VSA?
it doesnt matter vios has VSA or not, its engine reliable, low full consumption,better built quality, has good after sales & service. Did Proton has any of this ???
Proton got safety that can save lives. Which is more important?
Nowadays.. Safety features is most important.. If u wanna buy gor ur wife.. Life is everything.. Dont let ur belove die in tin milo vios n no safety features
Is the Dugong have 6 airbags and safety features?
Vios got 100 ‘invisible’ airbags plus extra two whenever you pick up girls with the Toyota badged car. Suprima only 6 airbags and no chance to get 2 more since no self-respecting, pretty girl wanna been seen dead in tin-milo Suprima.
I can’t stop laughing reading your comment. LOL
Yes it’s fugly. Catfish vios is 100x better, almost looks like a lambo
it will be nice if got Chinese name on it right?
wut? putting chinese name will only make it similar to cheapo china car.
Only brainless ppl use 80k to buy this useless junk.I am driving Jetta and with this price I rather buy Almera or upcoming Vios.
Good decision. You can add the VSC and more airbags later. Just go to Ah Beng shop, it’s veli veli cheap.
almera…are u kidding….the space almost same with proton saga…engine 1.5,interior,better preve n suprima…safety,i think u know with one better..
I’m driving Audi S6 and I would like to buy this car with this price for my daily car.
Come on…driving an S6 and still looking at a proton for a daily car??
your wife would probably said “abg tak malu kt jiran kita ke?”
I am driving BMW X6 and will buy this as my 3rd car..
I’m driving a Veyron and will buy this as my maid’s car.
If u and others so in love with veos Dugong just go and buy it straightaway. Komen2 macam haram. Cakap saja pandai padahal test drive belum lagi.
And some even relates this to politics-way off topics. Just talking crap will take u no where lah bro. Kalau serious, make urself popular, be active in politics, be a calon in next PRU and say if u win, please help the rakyat by introducing cars that will satisfy everyone. Its much better rather than complain non stop.
But normal lah malaysian. Complain like hell, but in the end nothing happen. Cakap saja pandai. In the end all u can afford is dugong jugak kan
And no manual transmission offered? Perhaps for European market maybe?
BTW I think Proton is doing just fine, it doesn’t need to be looks too premium for its class segment.
It’s just the turbo badge that’s kind of too big, come on, lots of other hatchback cars have soft-turbo / low-pressure turbo as well.
Let’s just hope that Proton have improved their quality and reliability aspects.
please list it down (in Malaysia). you cannot even get it more than 30 (coz you say lots)
In this context, what I mean is most of hatchback cars have low-pressure Turbos. If out of 10 hatchbacks, more than 5 of them have Turbo, shouldn’t it be a lot enough?
most Jap hatches dun have soft turbo here. conti less than 5.
Yes the button is oddly shaped like a star, not round. When you push it, nothing happens, it’s not working. It says “Pull” instead of “Push” LOL.
Nutty comment / sacrcasm at its best
Sorry, but this is a piece of junk. Dated interior + proton branding is already a failure.
Cant understand who would pay 80k for a piece of junk.
Plslah proton, just close shop pls!
Yes!!
Define junk or you bashed without brain!
All you do is complained about malaysia car being very bad, we are all malaysian. It would be such a great support if you guys do the same thing too rather than critise it and even ask them to close shop. Idiot
I agree with you Nice Guy, everyone here is complaining, complaining and complaining. Why not all of you write a proposal paper on what you want to Proton? ;)
Close shop, can?
the tax will still remain
Maserati(Official)
Agree!
how to become competitive??? pricey
then which car is cheap in malaysia?
look at fuel compsumption….zzz 9.1/liter damn high, higher than BMW 520d…
prolly the city FC
you can that beemer with 80k?
9.1 for 100 km….is dam terrible….maybe actual consumption is even higher
520D ?! U compare this with Diesel ?! LOL
Y compared dis 80k proton with bmw 520d? In term of fuel inficiency?r u dumb,numb,or kinda bitch? Come on u silly, . If u got money,go buy ur bmw lah weyh. .dis is 4 who can afford a car dat below 80k. .u want vios?take it junker. . As long as u got money. .dun condem our ntional car. .nt proud?nt supportive?then. . Dun b a malaysian lah. .uncivilized. . U guys should c how korean being patrioticsm with their local brand. .my god. .u guys sucks. . Vw gti?u go buy lah 250k. . .dun talk like empty can here man. .big in size,empty inside. .feeling sad wit narrow minded msian. . Never gets satisfy. .
Been a decade b4 this full of sense comment posted,for u, i click like button hohohohoho
Korean support KIA or Hyyundai, Ssangyong because they are patriotism, then u should go parliament and ask those ministers or VVIP get out of Malaysia, LOL.
Eh u stupid fellow…bmw520d is heavier n more powerful car, suprima is lighter so SHOULD more fuel efficient, understd? …and y we shud proud wif proton since it is nt doing well? …Korean support hyundai kia, but pls see hw hyundai kia doing compare to potong…what wrong thn we critic,thn only gt improvement n not support blindly like u dis idiot…n pls la msia nt ur bapak punya who the hell r u to ask ppl move out?
@abu
pls compare apple to apple. please go back to school ya.
Gov also don’t support you, they change to Accord liao.
@BN
proton doesn’t have D segment car for now, perdana aside it’s too old
My 08 altis 1.8 averaged 7.9l/100km
9.1 liter per 100 km is combine….preve sedan have 6.6 liter per 100 km if is extra urban driving….but if is urban drving,even myvi 1.3 cost at least 10 liter per 100km..
Are you saying the pricier BMW should consume more fuel than proton??
and no manual option..shame..
Nice!!!
MAHAL LAAAA T_T
Interesting.
i would have loved it if the installed good exhausts that can be seen. maybe one in each side like the old satria GTI
Semuanya bagus tapi HARGA yg agak tinggi dan mengecewakan!!
You get what you pay for…
what you getting is what you got to pay…nothing is free you subsidies-brat
well, you don’t get any subsidy? i am mindfucked right now.
You don’t get what you pay for in Bolehland
then find your beloved country and get out from here, malaysia doesn’t need you
This country is your bapa punya meh? Ask people to leave, you go first lah, bodoh proton supporter.
you can always find other country if you don’t like bolehland, feel free to go, noone stops you
the dashboard, omg, so retro feeling, like something out from 1970’s era
IKR, it doesn’t live to my (our) expectation. Kind of not much different from previously launched Satria Neo. 7 inch infotainment with Android is unique though .
Agreed on the dashboard….damn ugly.
you felt it with hands there?
They should put bentley dashboard design instead. Baru cantiq.
everything should come with price. for me the dashboard is ok, not too funky like koreans or too traditionalist like jap. it look more to conti
Ya…expensive than honda jazz but interior so outdated
They should make it like a maybach interior.
you, by far, are the best 9gagger in here LOL!
retro is the new look man. can’t you see the trend?
new toyota corolla / altis has waaayyyy retro dashboard than conti design dashboard preve/suprima
search for all-new altis dashboard, it looks more retro than this
Congratulations…not the most eye catching car. But it sure has a lot of features. I hope the quality also improves tho…
The back is still kinda ugly..why in the spyshots they look better?
Because during spyshot covered by cloth hahah
I don’t get it, why is it more expensive when it’s performance is worse and boot space is smaller than Preve? Just for looks?
dont be an idiot, even polo hatchback much more expensive than the sedan.
polo hb is 1.2 turbo with 7speed dsg gearbox while polo sedan is using dated 1.6NA engine paired with normal 6speed gearbox. meanwhile the engine and gearbox configuration is the same for preve and suprima.
pls get your fact clear before scolding people!
suprima have leather seat, 6 airbags, larger sportrim,hill assist system. dont tell people idiot when u are brainless. pls read the article before bashing blindly.
preve use CFE turbo..suprima use CamPro Turbo..get your fact first..
LOL. CFE Turbo and CamPro Turbo??
and the difference is what? Care to share? Or is it just the name?
BTW, there is no CFE Turbo. Its just CFE.
More safety equipment, larger wheels
bcoz its HATCHBACK
Comprare jazz and city.
polo sedan and polo hatchback
mazda 2 sedan and hatchback
and so on…
yeah, ford focus.
what a price.. so CHEAP!
wow, so fast paultan
Finally an option with leather seats and 6 airbags, having mixed feelings regarding the price.
I like it been said as “the first Malaysian cars IN MALAYSIA to have six airbags”. If you know what I mean.
Regardless, despite of the lame naming and too-big Turbo badge, I think Proton is doing good with this.
Everybody here talks about 6 airbags. Hmm wonder if it works.
6 is still better than 2, no?
5 star ancap?
Ancap 5 star rating prove that the airbags of 6 works and function well
How about 2 airbags of vios?? Proven?? What rating?
1st.. Nice to.. But the price walauwe.. Btter go to inspira?
rasa berbaloi beli..kalau tak banyak model lain or jenama lain asalkan bukan ALMERA,nak muntah tgk ALMERA…WEKKKKKKKKKKK….
It actually looks pretty good, mild design overall.
Interior wise, no comment on it, but the central dash looks empty to me.
If too many buttons to see and choose, you will get distracted when driving. It’s been simplified while maintaining the functions so the access to it is faster and easier.
Emmmm….the price seem to be on the high side for a local made. Should be below 70k or equivalent to Preve. Where’s the e*ection promise?
election promise is for BEFORE election. AFTER election its different story.
47% voted for current G, so suck it up people and enjoy buying overpriced under-spec piece of crab
9.1L per km? Wow thats high even i know its turbocharged.
is combine driving bro…normaly u see other car rate at 6 liter per 100km, 7 liter per 100km…all is extra urban drving,even preve did 6.6 liter per 100km if extra urban drving..
First!!!
WTF r u using dial-up connection?
I see another failure for Proton….
Why?The price as expected is higher than the sedan as with all proton cars.The hatchback’s are always costlier than the sedan’s.
And is the Preve’s sales anything to shout about?
Proton’s new models recipe for success should be as below :
1.Looks – need improvement but we can live with it
2.Good handling – no complaints here
3.Doors that close with Japaneese thud and not European clank – improvement seen on Preve and Exora
4.Normally aspirated Japaneese type quiet engine with valve/cam profiling – the Campro’s are too noisy and sound European
5.Radiator fans that do not wake up the neighborhood like how a Japanese models do – current Proton models sound like a Merc or Volks
6.Price – max at RM 62k
7.And that stupid engine braking technology – its annoying
Jap cars no turbo, no power, LOL
the price is reasonable. I don’t think we can any car that features 5 star safety equipment, 1.6l turbo engine within that price range in Malaysia. Look wise, it’s subjective.
Tsk2… Pricey lah Proton… I thought the price either below or same range with Preve.. But, more expensive than Preve Premium…
You can dislike my comment but this is what I am going to say….
After years of ‘manufacturing’ car, this is the best they can come out? What’s all the hype on this piece of junk? Those Korean bashers should really appreciate how far have Koreans progress compare to our jaguh! And no need any words of encouragement here turning a blind eye saying how good Proton effort is. Is part of my tax money that sustains this junk company and after years of failure, any logic businessman will wind this up to stop bleeding profit.
So this piece of junk certainly doesn’t impress me or get my piece of respect!
proton is under DRB now, btw you pay rm2k tax ah?
but…Proton is the only ASEAN car maker to pass Australian ANCAP with full 5-star rating…
ASEAN carmaker? There’s only one. Assembler? Plenty.
Oh and the exterior design is beautiful though :-)
Should I go for this or wait for new vios?
I’d say go for Vios if you want badge. Go for proton if you want safety.
Go for Vios for less headache, that’s it.
….and lesser safety, that’s it.
Headache can buy pain killer
Life??? U can not buy
If wise, go for vios. If bodoh, go for this.
yes go for vios, it can FLY, muahahahaha
Wow…. the rear view actually looks good. .. but from side view the rear looks weird. … the dashboard not a plain silver… looks nice though. …
Price reduce a bit can sell like hot cake haha
Btw… already got ppl got his car sent for washing in pj….
Good try.. technology wise is improving. But design wise especially for the interior and dashboard is very lame..curved dashboard and boxy radio plus buttons really doesn’t match..bright dashboard too with black buttons looks awkward…next time please make it look luxury..looking luxury doesn’t means pricing up.. its just the design and color..conclusion.. seriously i cant believe such dashboard still exist nowadays..
Looks sportier to me, some carbon pattern finishing and black piano colour. It’s the gray-scale tone concept. If want luxury better with darker colour dash. Boxy radio is normal, where do you get triangle one?
Wow.. Menarik,need to view in real.. Imagine with r3 bodykit..pearghh should be mantop,waiting waiting waiting
No manual???
Alaaa….
Rear doesn’t look good, messy & not solid. Pricey weh!!!
Only Ferrari Italia looks good, clean and solid
I don’t have WOW! impressive on a first look..UGLY..UGLY..UGLY..stupid proton designer..waste my time look at it.
If you say it’s ugly then I say new vios and almera are much much uglier.
inb4: ugliest
In terms of power, with ‘turbo’ badge:
Pug prince 1.6 thp : 163bhp 240Nm
Proton campro 1.6 turbo : 138bhp 205 Nm
U loose proton, its a long way to go…!
It’s not engine, it’s the CVT gear which cannot stand more than 210nm. Much better if there is manual drive-train.
Not really. A4 1.8 runs on cvt and tq is more than that, what about 2013 subaru forester with cvt8, its 2.0lit boxer engine produces almost double than that in suprima s
They use a different CVT as Proton?
That’s different CVT
yup… they using punch power train system and max can up 220Nm on torque(limit)…
the biggest difference between those two:
prince use direct injection
proton use multi-port injection
learn how DI operates. you will know why DI delivers more torque and good FC.
eh direct injection tu apa? sorry. i’m newbie. pegi mampus kalu tak reti paham pasal kereta. ok?
There are differences between Proton’s CFE and Peugeot’s Prince engines. Proton’s CFE is an engine with typical multi-point fuel injection fitted with a light-pressure turbo. On the other hand, Peugeot’s Prince engine uses gasoline direct injection with higher-pressure turbo. Because Prince engine uses direct injection, it can withstand higher compression ratio and higher boost in standard operating condition, whereas Proton has to make the stroke a bit shorter to produce lower compression ratio and use lighter boost pressure, if not then the engine will barai more easily.
Got turbo but still want to hide the pipe tail
WHY it is heavier than Preve? It is slower than Preve so what does the ‘S’ is for? SLOW?
S – sport. heavier with addtnl features ad bigger rims.
Price still a bit steep. Should be a bit lower.
No prob. You can wait a year later.
Finally, a Proton which treats Malaysians better in terms of safety.
For a C-segment car I don’t think the car’s price can go any lower, considering the features. Alas – moronic Malaysians will still forgo this for the B-segment, less specced & less safe Toyota Vios, all in the name of “resale value”
Can’t see any additional features that caused the increase of price compare to prevé.
Looks like this suprima s is still equip with the cacat push start instead of smart entry.
read more pls
4 airbags -> 6 airbags
non-HHA -> HHA
16″ rims -> 17″ rims
no reverse camera, FR sensor -> yes reverse camera, FR sensor
no leather seat -> yes leather seat
no android os -> yes android os
no DRL -> yes DRL
no RR fog light -> yes RR fog light
504l boot space -> 427l boot space
Proton recode for failure…
European engine growl
Radiator fan that wakes up the neighbourhood
Stupid engine braking technology
Price more expensive than Vios J
But Vios J only has two airbags and is smaller to boot. (Pun intended.) No ESC, no TC.
you get VSA and 6 airbags with Vios J
where got 6. vios got 10 airbags lah
vios also can fly..everyone can fly
good luck to Proton, with such high prices
I rather buy Vios J Spec tin kosong than driving this car.
Cannot agree more because Vios J Spec can fly!!
Good.. so that you can die faster. Less stupid gene is better.
this car look so unporpotioned it should be launched 5 years ago how to be global proton?
Are you blind? Wait till you see feista sedan, mazda2 sedan and such, it’s the real unproportionate cars
fc 9.1 huh? baik drive jaguar..habis duit isi minyak je laaa
tu la baik beli bmw, murah giler 250k jer. spare part pun murah, 10-30k jer.
different category aside, can anyone tell me why should I get this car instead of lower price options of Inspira, CKD Jazz, or even its brother, the Preve sedan?
Will you get 6 airbags in those cars?
sorry, but being proton..you don’t even know if this preve airbags work as intended.
Source please?
Best safety at it’s price range. Inspira is lacking in safety department, as well as Jazz.
Has 6 airbags and ESC. Inspira has 2 airbags, no ESC. CKD Jazz has two airbags, not sure about ESC. Preve Sedan only has four airbags, but has ESC. Value-wise, Preve Sedan is better.
honda jazz ckd got VSA which is equal to ESC…
high maintenance, expensive spare parts.
Launching at High Selling Price is probably in preparation for the impending 2014 Budget announcement for car price reduction?
I cannot but feel that this is the case as most new car launch is rather high (apart from Honda’s stock clearance campaign)…what say you?
Interier so plastic some more so pricey… Definitely go for Japanese car btw good luck for the buyer of this car
i also want to buy a Japanese plastic..where can i get that?
Go find car with besi interior or tanah liat interior. All cars come with plastic. Go and sit inside suprima first before past any judgement on the materials.
Furthermore, are we more concern on plastic interior rather than how safe the car is? This is now the safest car under 80k in malaysia.
Yes better get the so-called faux stitched dashboard, it is already mimicking luxury cars while the engine only dinosaur aged 1.5l. Lame.
This is a joke right? How can they charge close to RM80k for this car? With the already outdated design and cheapo interior materials used, it should be priced in the region of RM60k to be competitive as with the current prices, consumers have other better choices to go for. Moreover, isn’t this a car for the Rakyat? I personally think that Proton have played their cards wrongly and will suffer bad sales in the process. To be bold, who in their right mind would spend such money on this car? Proton should start making wiser decisions when coming out with their product range and most importantly, be extremely careful with their pricing for the local market. Cheers!
Without tax, a B-segment Vios/City still costs RM 50K. You seriously can’t be suggesting that a C-segment Proton (which BTW is also taxed) should be sold for RM 60K. It’s simply ludicrous!
no, it’s not.proton should be cheaper.
why cheaper? metal is taken from milo tin?
It will never sell cheap because it is enjoying top sales in Malaysia, because it will never bankrupt, just laughing at the rakyat for divided and angry debates to support it but with a heavy heart. Market manipulation, sentiment manipulation, a soulless purchase, no pride. Flood the gomen purchases with Proton, not sell the Inspira for Honda and leave the lousy brand to the laymen. zero love by gomen lah.
Saga SV is much cheaper despite high excise duty paid by proton.
80k for cars that have features on 120k cars. If you find this expensive, buy saga SV. That’s a cheap Proton.
If you can find similar C hatch with this features at 80k, by all means BUY that freaking car.
COO,
Pity us in dis land coz those who pays suprima should be getting cars priced at 120K. Why drive Suprima where you could be driving a Jetta or others?
Now when P1 wanna put 6 airbags to Exora? Exora deserves more than Suprima rright?
sir, can you do me a favor pls..can you explain which direction is a design to be called outdated and which design is the future? you seems like a great promising designer to me..
He doesnt need to be a designer to be a critic..easiest way to test which design is outdated, proton just need to exhibit this model in the european or japanese market….maybe all of us ady have the answer?? if someone thinks this model can compete in the international market, since Malaysians want quality products which are internationally recognized, it will be great…
6 airbags, android HU, front sensor, reverse cam, 17″ rims, etc…
The design is ok for me. Much better than ah beng alike design vios.
still pricey…expecting RM65k ….mmmmmm….
I don’t think so with that price we can see a lot of people will drive this car on the road.
what the hell ! combined cycle of 9.1 l/100km of 9.1 is just horse shit bad, at 9.1 l/km that is mercedes v6 engine categorie!
bro…mercedes v6 dont do this fuel comsumption..maybe if extra urban driving…if urban driving,even myvi 1.3 use more then 10 liter/100km…
Proton Suprima is motherfucking OVERPRICE and it’s fucking UGLY!
suggest me better car please
Golf GTi?
you got it for 80k?
Anybody here know what’s the difference between “LED position lights” and brighter “Daytime-Running-Light”?
Why not just use a standardized DRL spec for both Executive and Premium variants?
hoping 1.6 turbo manual R3
Honestly speaking, with such GOOD specs and features, the price is considered acceptable already. But then, we might be thinking whether the quality, reliability, after sales service is worth the money that this car claimed. Otherwise, frankly speaking, a GOOD deal
they shud hav use satria gti as benchmark…on paper doesnt look attractive at all….
This is not same class
I’m not a proton basher, but can someone explain a hatchback that is slower and heavier than the sedan yet it cost more money?
learn to read can you…
You mean the two more airbags add 50 kg?
Why it is more expensive than the sedan brother, Preve? Based on what I know, I’ll share this: When a car structure is shortened than a sedan, the rear hatch/bonnet needs to be stronger in order to cater to the torsion force distribution in the car. It relates to the balancing of moments in the structure itself, to ensure equilibrium of forces in the car structure in overall. (That is theory speaking). In layman’s terms, it’s basically making the car stable after losing it’s helpful tail that holds the suspension and luggage loads (which was present in a sedan, but not in a hatchback). That is basic of what I shall share, hope it answers the question of why hatchbacks are heavier/need more material/a bit expensive.
Nice coverage/ livestream…congrats PT n hope many more to come…why always save front n back for future facelift?…hehe if u don’t like this car then don’t buy others competitorcars in same segment LOL… & lastly hope don’t become like BMW, full of electronics n gadget leads to many2 problems/ faulty…
I think you are all being unfairly negative about this car. I’m from Australia and was directly involved in the design of the Rear Lamps with Hella Australia. At Hella we are all impressed by the styling and think the car will be well accepted. Proton put a lot of effort into this model
most of those negative comment are from other brand car salesman, they just doing their job to belittle proton.
Agree
i’m waiting for my exora bold.. would love to get that amount of safety features for my kids and family like isofix, 6 airbags, etc.. Proton really can provide these, so a bit dissapointed.. but no choice..
maybe the 3rd row seat in exora and those extra things in Suprima cost the same.. huhuhu..
Exora owners are family-typed drivers, they will drive more carefully with the safety of the kids in their mind, so 2 airbags is enough laa.. unlike Suprima, they don’t care if there are kids at the back, they will drive like it’s an Impreza..
80k have a lot of choices. Rather get the new Vios.
Yes agree, I love the badge, not the safety features