Proton Iriz CNY discounts – offers of up to RM7,988 off

Proton_Iriz_CNY_discounts

Click to enlarge.

The Proton Iriz is available with significant discounts this February. Proton’s Myvi fighter can now be had with up to RM7,988 taken off its sticker price. That’s a considerable mount, seeing that the Iriz tops out at RM62,438 for the highest-spec 1.6 Premium CVT model.

The most affordable variant – the RM42,438 1.3 Standard MT – gets a RM4,988 discount if you’re willing to consider a 2014 model. Opt for one manufactured this year and you’re looking at RM988 off. Refer to the image above to see the offers available for each variant.

If you haven’t already, you can read or watch our Proton Iriz review. And for a more detailed look at the car’s specifications, check out CarBase.my.

Proton Iriz 1.3 Standard

Proton Iriz 1.3 Executive
Proton Iriz 1.6 Executive
Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Hohoho.. sales tak laku.. early buyer now butthurt by p1.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 183 Thumb down 34
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:45 pm

Come order from me I discount extra RM 500 for top spec !!!

U will regret for not buying Iriz. The best price car for this segment.

Our Proton car far more cheaper then other lousy CBU and CKD cars brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 53
      • Same L0rrrr on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:21 pm

I told you already!! Why so hurry to buy Iriz? Stock always available, somemore RM7988 discount now (more than 10% of its price). And this Ah Beng can further give RM500 discount.

It means Proton still make profit after RM8488 discount! You know how cheap is an Iriz cost… Who is ripping the customer off now?

Those who so syok sendiri and bought the Iriz in Dec/Jan, they are nothing more than so zai/ so lui!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 34
        • steven see on Feb 17, 2015 at 5:53 pm

when your son bought his black proton last year, he got no discount too, you call him soh cai also. Like father like son.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 15
          • wishman on Feb 17, 2015 at 6:08 pm

Lol!. memang betul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
          • Pure Lies Lies Lies on Feb 17, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Ha Ha ha. What a joke. This alone proves that Proton lies so much. If the car is selling well, they won’t give such large big discounts.

Even their 10,000 registered cars also pure lies.

Government has been known to give false figures and statistics, so, it won’t surpise me if Proton is lying about their figures too.

There is no way Proton has registered 10,000 cars. Your eyes will never lie to you. When you drive around, do you even see an Iriz?

I drive at least 150 KM per day in Klang Valley because I am in sales. I hardly see any Iriz around. Most days I don’t even see a single Iriz. On the days I see, I see maybe one for the whole day.

How Proton? If we do see any Iriz on the road, most likely, you will see it in KL. I drive from KL to PJ to Shah Alam everyday, I never see any Iriz.

Come on Proton. Be honest. Don’t lie. It is obvious that sales are bad. On the other hand I see many Axia on the road. So, what lies is Proton telling?

Please be honest with the public. If you are a failure of a company and produce failure cars, just admit it. Don’t hide and pretend.

This is like the Savvy. Before the launch big hoo haa. Proton said got French engine and this and that. Said it was so happening. Proton also said for years after that sales of Savvy and Juara was so good.

But is it really true?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 61
          • Same L0rrrr on Feb 17, 2015 at 7:27 pm

You can talkok bullshit whatever you like. Junks are not allowed at my house.

Why would I buy Proton as I have opinions on it? Time to use your brain.

Or you actually want the Saga so badly? I can lend you money for down payment. When RM16888 discount comes, you don’t even need to pay a sen.

Junk for jerk, so matching!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 32
          • sam proton on Feb 17, 2015 at 11:18 pm

Hahahahaha….sam loo bought his son the saga for the good RV. Work hard sam so you can afford buy him the vios In anothee 5 yrs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
          • Honestly speaking i hardly see an iriz on the road in ipoh area. Not only on road cannot see,shopping center parking lot also hardly see. I thought i see car like beetle,308,408,golf gti (new registered) even more often .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
          • Even the miserable attrage and mirage also more seen on the road than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • Harith on Feb 18, 2015 at 5:49 pm

Well, let us just agree and disagree. Proton should change their ways. For me, this “Iriz” may have its flaws but when we buy a car, it also depends whether you got a good one or not regardless of the same model. This apply for any car. Maybe proton overestimated in mass producing the car. That is why they had to give discount like this to cover up the cost and also make profit. For a “national” brand car, I think both proton and perodua is quite overpriced. Everyone has their own opinions so no hard feelings.

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 18, 2015 at 8:17 pm

No hard feeling for me but it must be very sad to Iriz owner who bought the car earlier without any discount. Wrong strategy from Proton this time.

• PROTON FTW on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:57 pm

This already fantastic car just got better!! Even without this promotion Iriz sales much better than its other competitors like Jazz, Polo, Rio, Mirage, Mazda 2, Picanto! 10000 units sold in 3 months compared to rubbish Jazz only 12000 units in 6 months.

Why spend more money on other junk cars when Iriz has better safety, quality, handling, premium interior and priced much cheaper!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 73
        • Proton salesman said that 2014 model got discount but no 3 yrs free service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
          • Dishonest Service Centres on Feb 17, 2015 at 6:52 pm

Proton Iriz will be the next Savvy. A joke of a car. Malaysians are not falling for all the VSC and higher spec in this car. Nobody trust Proton la.

Many times I send to GLenmarie to service my Proton, a 5 year old car, I go home check got oil change, I see dirty oil in my car despite they charging me for a new pack of oil.
            So dishonest behavious even from the main service centre in Glenmarie.

I go to forum, I see, so many people confirm the same thing. Kena charge for oil, Proton even leave the Petronas container in the car to show they changed oil, but go home, check oil gauge, see still got old dirty oil.

Now you know why sales are so bad Proton. Until you all become honest, people will buy a lower specced car like Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 39
        • Proton King of RV Depreciation on Feb 17, 2015 at 6:50 pm

Malaysian public already know. Proton is King of RV depreciation. Buy today Rm50k, sell tomorrow also, want to get RM30k also you are lucky.

Nearly every Malaysian has given Proton a chance. We gave Proton a try from day one but got a shock of our lives when selling our cars. Have to top up loan! Even after paying loan few years also, still must top up loan when you sell your car.

Perodua is different. Use few years also, when you sell the car, only lose a few thousand. Say buy RM50k. Few years later you sell your Perodua, can even get Rm42k.
          Proton is the King of RV Depreciation. Used car dealers also trade your Proton in for so so so low.

That is why sales are so bad. Malaysians, especially Proton and Perodua buyers are not that rich and we are very particular about RV. What is the use I pay my loan so many years and sell time, I still have to top up the loan??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 12
          • kadajawi (Member) on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:04 pm

Except if you crash. Then you go home in a wooden box. With the Iriz you drive home, because the stability control avoided the crash in the first place…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 31
          • Big Show on Feb 18, 2015 at 1:23 am

You think Iriz can help you to avoid a crash? Think again. The Punch CVT will ‘KO Punch’ you when there is crash as it’s too unreliable. Even without crash, it’s making all sorts of weird noises. While you alive, you will face the jerking CVT, while you crash, you will also go back to your ‘true home’ like other mortals. So stop assuming Iriz is a Godcar where it can avoid a crash. If i want a SAFE and RELIABLE car, i’ll get a Volvo than the low quality Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 15
          • Yeah get volvo later you vomit blood seeking spare parts , stranded at remote areas befriended with ghosts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
          • Same L0rrr on Feb 18, 2015 at 10:46 am

As usual, you see Proton fanboys here huuhaa talkok syok sendiri on the Iriz airbags and VSC but eventually they didn’t buy one themselves.

Talk is dirt cheap. Where is their action(buy the shit)?

Lastly, I wonder if the airbags and vsc can help you from crashing while you tailgating at north south highway.

You know the Proton driving methodology:
            1. Once they get into the car, they start imagining they are driving Lotus, Impreza, GTR.
            2.If they are at your front, they try their best to smoke you.
            3.If they are at your back, they will tailgate you so close that they can look at your dashboard too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
          • Vios Supra on Feb 27, 2015 at 7:21 pm

Vios driver methodology:
            1) Fastest Toyota car.
            2) Cannot drive behind one, always want in front one
            3) Pickup so powerful eeven can smoke >2.0
            4) INITIAL D handling but at Karak being haunted by a Gen2 standard.
            5) Engine so reliable can keep >6k rpm from Jb to Arau.

• conti on Feb 18, 2015 at 11:37 am

jwss, you own a Volvo or not? If not, don’t talk kok about waiting for spare parts. Volvo is more reliable than your problematic Punch CVT Iriz. Talking about spare parts, even Ah Beng workshops got many of their spare parts and they know how to fix a Volvo. Iriz? No one knows how to fix the Punch CVT, not even Proton themselves. Get Iriz and you can only jerk here, jerk there like when you’re in the toilet. You will vomid blood fixing it and no ghost will want this shit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • *****Proton Try to Con Again***** on Feb 18, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Jangan tertipu! Those who bought it last year got 3 years free service, those who buy now got discount but no free service. The discount is for you to service your car, end up no discount. Proton think they are smart with this marketing plan but the rakyat are smart oledi, not fall into this Proton trap. Take note

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Dr Mamak on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:13 pm

When the buying stops, the killing can too!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rrrr on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Wait patiently and hold your purchase, RM16,888 discount is coming on this Raya promotion!

Don’t believe? Mark my words!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 25
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Feb 17, 2015 at 5:03 pm

If really that happen sure Proton can close shop…

All the AP members will lose it share if discount that much !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
        • shafiin on Feb 17, 2015 at 6:11 pm

@sam coxk

You can now ask your son to change his proton to iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
          • Did Proton CEO Lie? on Feb 17, 2015 at 6:54 pm

He said got long line of orders. ALready 10,000 registered but still long line of orders. If got long line, how come want to clear 2014 stock?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
          • Super on Feb 18, 2015 at 9:43 am

1st day launching he already lied..

• 0wner on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:43 pm

For those keyboard warriors..when the price is high ,you guys complain its expensive for a proton car. At least Proton trying to break into the market by giving some discount.its true P1 salesman not putting effort to achieve the sales target.I do experience it. Now I’m using iriz 1.6 CVT exe for almost 2 months so far no issues at all. Far better than P2 MiyVie..I don’t see any owners posting their review about iriz. Besides that maybe p1 can focus on QC and PDI for iriz to elimare minor problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 21
      • I know u hurt bout the discount, really sorry about that. Here’s some vaseline.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 27
      • Tong Kosong on Feb 17, 2015 at 5:56 pm

from our finding, UGLY design is one of the FACTOR.
        Iris = Subprima = Preve- all outer stylish FAIL.

China car in 2005 face same issue, but in 2014 no more..
        see; almost every month 2 or 3 new car.
        http://www.carnewschina.com/

*(other Reliability, Value, After service & cost of ownership-maintenance)

Waja, Gen 2 outer stylish is acceptable- though have *(stated above) problem issue- their look save them.

Please the Designer stop dreaming, for the SAKE of Nation, leave your place. Dont fool us by your arrogant “kiddy sketch & Italian job goreng2 story”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 20
        • kadajawi (Member) on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:18 pm

Come on. We are talking about Malaysia. Every time I travel to Malaysia it feels like traveling back in time. All the new cars on the road look so outdated… Civic, Altis, Vios, Camry… all quite ugly. Then compare to the EU Civic, Auris (C segment Toyota), Yaris and Avensis, and they are much better looking. Much more modern looking, let alone all the other cars.

The Iriz looks fine, not great, but ok, the Preve looks very similar to the Skoda Rapid, which sells just fine in Europe. I have the feeling Proton should just stop bothering with the Malaysian market and focus on overseas sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
          • Tin Tin on Feb 18, 2015 at 12:21 am

Yes, Proton should just sell on overseas like Bangla where Proton can con them easily. They can impose the ‘protection’ there rather than here. Good for Proton and Rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
          • X celcom on Feb 18, 2015 at 1:46 am

corect Kada jawi, you are among “design commentor” who shiok sendili & feeling romantic to your Preve..

Nevermind your are not alone 3 out of 10,000 people like you. Your rare is very worth & significant

The fact:
            1. Indon people oso have hghr taste and able to judge preve before launcing7 said “good luck” (to jaga jati lu olang)..
            2. last year ostolia sold 102 preve, a significant from 50 in 2013.
            3. yes you can go oversea inside sea to find ppl like u who love preve/iris.

4. proton Vison 2014 to steal Myvi market sucessful at rate 0.01%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • Iriz tak lakuuu!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • Carrer (Member) on Feb 18, 2015 at 1:02 am

What to do, no money, no choice.

• Perangai yahudi. Kalau jual mahal ko komplen mahal. Bila jual murah ko kata tak laku. Mungkin bagi free pun ko kata kereta tak boleh start.

• Fahmi on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:09 pm

The Iriz needs some push as some people still “wait and see, afraid that it becomes another junk “Savvy”.. But seriously this car is far better than Savvy, such a nice offering for a nice car.. The 1.3 manual is harder to move out from showrooms though, one unit sitting in the showroom since launch (Seksyen 9, BB Bangi), for me, the delay of 1.3 CVT somehow affects the sales badly.. And people still waiting for the new gen 3 Saga..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 10
    • If given the choice at the same price between this Axia and Myvi, i would take this.
      However nobody wants a proton, especially with Proton’s sketchy reliability and (sorry to be sam low) extremely poor resale value, its not a logical buy for the average person looking to save money.
      They can push all they want, the people are tired, nobody is waiting for anything from Proton. The public have spoken and nobody bought one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 10
      • thepolygonal on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:26 pm

There is one way to save P1, rebadge the Evora and sell it at RM80k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • kadajawi (Member) on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:22 pm

Reliability problems?

Proton power window fail, power window doesn’t work.
        Toyota power window fail, car starts burning. Have to recall many cars.

Proton starts rattling after a year.
        Toyota brakes don’t work, car accelerates for no reason and can’t be stopped…

I think I rather have a Proton. Toyota may have fewer faults, but when they have one it tends to be quite deadly and dangerous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 25
        • Your comment is a joke, I’m not sure if you have been living under a rock, toyota and lexus have been top 3 in reliability surveys globally for the past 2 decades.
          (again not to be sam loo) They are literally the most reliable car maker in existence. To compare Proton to Toyota is like comparing a real G shock watch to the pasar malam G shock.
          They make up to 1.5 million cars in 1 day, 1 DAY. Proton makes what? Not even a thousand, i doubt they even make 500 a day.
          Of course they go wrong from time to time, the ratio of cars that toyota makes is FAR more than anyone else. And then when one or two of those cars fall apart people start jumping to conclusions.
          But you completely ignore the billions of toyotas that are working just fine?
          Also heres a fun fact, you want to talk about unintentional acceleration?
          I HAVE EXPERIENCED that 4 times in my first hand 2012 saga flx during start up, i’ll record and post it on youtube if i ever get the chance, but it happens completely randomly. In the morning when i start it, it revs up to about 4,000 rpm and stays there, the only way to stop it is to turn off the engine and then start again, but im not dumb enough to put it in gear and let it accelerate. Oh and btw the Proton did start rattling over a year, so i guess i bought a Proton-Toyota hybrid that rattles and also accelerates unintentionally?
          Finally, trying to talk down about other makes to justify Proton’s reliability issue is not only immature, it shows that you can’t handle criticisms, and based on my experience and my friend’s experience with owning brand new Protons, they all had problems.
          Never again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
          • ben an idiot on Feb 19, 2015 at 4:53 am

Don’t lie la. Toyota global sales is only 7.3 million in 2014. Only idiots like you think the godcar builds 1.5 million a day. Prrrft

• fauzan on Feb 23, 2015 at 8:59 am

P – Power Window
          R – Rosak
          O – Oh
          T – Tidak!
          O – Oh
          N – No!

• bigboy on Feb 17, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Fahmi, how do you put your profile picture? I wanna put Jib face as my profile pict so bad…haha

• I thought long queue?
    That is pathetic man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 8
    • Same L0rrrr on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:25 pm

Long queue to test drive and long queue to wait for new car are 2 different things!!!

I was in the long queue to test drive, then find out it is nothing much than the previous junks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
      • Albert on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:41 pm

Same Lorr,Game Changer…this is SHAMBOLIC(Tony Abbot’s)and RECALCITRANIC (from recalcitrant).
        Their sales people at Giant Bt Caves only attend to one particular race…This again is shambolic.They think apek like us ,got no money.
        Sales is so bad and yet these sales people are becoming racists.These shithole deadwood will be laid off one day,when the mamak call s it a day.
        Proton,in a short span of 2 more years,we wont be writing about you anymore,cos you will be defunct and bankrupt.Sayornara ,Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Semut on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:32 pm

my thought exactly. if really long queue, 2014 models should be sold out.

also, discounts this early says something bad about the sales. unfortunately.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • autodriver (Member) on Feb 18, 2015 at 8:11 pm

agree, too early to give discount to boost sales. I can image how the Iriz owner feel right now #PAIN.

• david on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Time to get new one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Proton = Kedai Kroni 1 Malaysia(KK1M) on Feb 18, 2015 at 1:45 am

The rakyat has gave enough capital to ‘invest’ in this ‘kedai’ but the perniagaan of this ‘kedai’ is still ‘rugi’. Can i know why is the money losing company still open after 20 years? Time to tutup kedai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • semlu on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:12 pm

bulan 2 sudah dekat mau hujung model 2014 tak habis jual lagi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Pinky on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:15 pm

Cheapest variant only starts from 38k.. Have to say it’s quite worth it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
    • 38k not cheap!! especially for Rakyat hard earned money!! 19k can consider!!! boycott cronies & excise tax!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 19
  • dodgeviper88 on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:17 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA! And they say so laku till cannot produce fast enough. I don’t even see Perodua giving even RM1k discount on their Axia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
    • Low Budget on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:59 pm

Axia is in danger of price increase

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • Perodua salesman now only promote new Myvi, Alza.. Axia got too many booking.. Axia sure get into Malaysia’s Book of Record.. great job P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • kadajawi (Member) on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:25 pm

Yeah. Great job Perodua for putting a Perodua logo on an Indonesian car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
  • david on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:23 pm

From RM62,438 to RM54,450 that is good deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
    • semlu on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:12 pm

not really. that was previous year manufactured car. straight away 20% less already. but wait, it’s a proton, it’s 50% less already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 17
  • so kesian to Proton.. Iriz is actually a very good car.. far better than Myvi.. but negative perception is still a problem to Proton.. i just hope that Iriz sales r better outside Malaysia.. i oledi hv a small car (saga FL, very tahan lasak car, 3yrs no problem at all), if not, i buy this Iriz..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 13
  • elson on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:32 pm

stupid car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 31
  • babygrand on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:34 pm

Rubbish car and the sales figures prove everything. Proton fans please i beg you pls buy this junk don’t just air talk only !!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 24
  • Your Name on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:47 pm

my opinion, the price cut for 2014 model is not a discount. The price SHOULD go down because of depreciation. ada orang beli atau x beli, memang harga 2014 car jatuh. it should be “Revised price for 2014 model” instead of saying discount

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 5
    • Required on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:55 pm

wahh…if you doing some business, sure you lingkup kaw3x! that is what we called marketing brother

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
      • Required Butt Hurt on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:37 pm

Honda did it before… Toyota did it before… Perodua did it before… But they still want to bash Iriz. I owned Iriz. Its a good car. Better option than Axia and Myvi. Better safety. Dont simply bash. Compare first…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 25
        • baca komen ko mcm ko yg butthurt.. hahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 25
          • Xbutthurt pn. Gua dh beli pn. Ko beli x? Pernah pkai Proton yg latest? Jgn kire model dulu. Yang latest. Dh ke? Kalu ko xbeli or byr kete aku cube bgi komen rancak skit. Kalu setakat gaji pn ats pagar… bawak Vios tin kosong turun tingkap tangan kt luar blagak Camry. Simpan brader…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
          • viosunderpower on Feb 17, 2015 at 11:16 pm

” turun tingkap tangan kt luar blagak Camry”

Ayat tak boleh belah, pastu kena tarpau dgn preve exora iriz sumer
            kakakakakakakakaakakkaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • conti on Feb 18, 2015 at 2:21 am

Of course they all butthurt as they can’t afford a conti, so they can only buy the conti wannabe Iriz. They only know how to compare with Vios but in reality the base A Class(a real conti) can smoke all Iriz variants. To Merc, Proton is tin kosong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • Daniel on Feb 17, 2015 at 7:30 pm

Relaxs la. Everybody is free to express their opinion. No need to drag Honda or Perodua into this.

• azhar on Feb 17, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Honda did it but not with newly launch cars..they rarely gave discounts for newly launch model

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 18, 2015 at 8:44 pm

Iriz is a good car but it was selling at wrong price by Proton. And now Proton trying to fix this issue with giving discount rather than revise the price. Good car in wrong price.

• Your Name on Feb 17, 2015 at 5:40 pm

my statement was from customer point of view la woi. who want to do this business. buat kereta untung RM500 saja hahaha (Saga SV). anyway, there should be a regulation by Bank Negara or other bodies on this. cheating potential customer.

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 18, 2015 at 8:34 pm

if you revise price for 2014 model, nobody will buy 2015 Iriz where people will wait until 2016 to buy a “revised price of 2015 Iriz”. Somemore people will expect more discount than 2014 Iriz when they bought the 2015 model in year 2016. This is common sense.

It is no harm to give discount for last year model but this should not apply to Iriz because Iriz was launched less than 6 months which is VERY FRESH. Even the new model 2015 also having discount, which mean they set the wrong selling price on Iriz.

• huehuehue on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:49 pm

Proton salesman problem ni, all lazy didn’t promote Iriz good enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • Proton itself didn’t go all out to promote Iriz.. see now no more iklan on Iriz.. Proton also didn’t highlight the advantages on Iriz, why Iriz is better than other cars, etc. Proton clearly lacking in their marketing dept..

• sam loo TRD on Feb 17, 2015 at 3:56 pm

my vios also no discount like this… because sales still strong. IRIZ salesman crying and draw circle at the corner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 25
    • Toyota QC Makan Gaji Buta on Feb 17, 2015 at 10:03 pm

Ya… Strong. Quality should be great that I just fixed my roof insulation… broken engine mounting… sudden open boot and car cannot start bcoz of TRD special ECU promoted by Same Lorr. Your UMW Toyota products will be the next Proton. QC tido mkn gaji buta. Same as Perodua.

• sam lor TRD on Feb 18, 2015 at 9:51 am

after change engine mouting..still got grok grok sound when travel on uneven road..sound coming frm right side.. almost all the vios got this problem..even the test drive..workshop say they will take the new car to test..if got..no choice.. grok grok sound is active sound that stick with you till sold the car

• jacksonljs on Feb 19, 2015 at 10:38 pm

1) Roof insulation – same as VeeVaa (raining time, can’t even listen radio or music, even ‘bombastic’ techno music, it is barely audible)

2) Broken engine mounting – Even 3-cylinder engine Kelisa/Kenari and Myvi 1.0 with original ‘chapalang’ engine mounting can last for 3 years. But new Vios, i hear the car not even 6 months engine mounting already got issues

3) Sudden open boot – if old Wajunk’s glovebox can open itself (especially on uneven road), the sudden open boot one is really laughable.

Another 2 additional ‘special’ points is:
        4) Scratching sound to undercarriage when passing over not really high humps – Even worse than Wira with low ground clearance

Last but not least, resale value – Damn really good RV until your pant drop (might be worse than Waja, brand new Waja RM60k, 1 year later RM39k).
        Brand new RM77.3k (now RM78.8k), 1 year later, get RM50k you should consider lucky already (in Klang Valley area) because even RM20k used Wira/Waja/Myvi (after repair costs taken into consideration) quality is far more better than RM78.8k (no discount, their ‘attractive downpayment rebate’ promotion is more towards gimmick, else their ‘friendly’ sales advisor will ask you poordah)
        brand new scrap metal on wheel.

• Proton fanboys must be so happy to see this!!!
    oh wait, they bought it earlier HAHAHAHAHA Butthurt ade!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
    • i ask proton, whoever bought it last year got 3 yrs free service (parts n labour).. buy now got discount but no free service..

• cobra on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:03 pm

If a newly launched car must give discount, then considered gone case already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
  • albag on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:11 pm

kesian potong.. so desperate till like this.. perodua diam diam je… LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • rickyll (Member) on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:16 pm

Kesian betul. A newly launched model have to reduce the price to boost sales’ figure. This is the result of either over confident of the product or blindly following tun mamak’s “good thing never sell cheaply” mentality. If Proton started off with 38K to 54K for Iriz variants they might have a fighting chance to make it into a game changer for Proton. It’s a pity there is no discount for the 1.6 manual otherwise I may give it a try.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • casta on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:19 pm

at least they try to do something…if do nothing pon kena hantam…buat something pon kena hantam..yg komen banyak2 ni dh test drive k blum? takat nk cita pengalaman dolu2 baik xyah…Be Constructive, Ignore Distructive..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
  • Pondan on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:25 pm

Hahaha

• proton fans all say proton cars so good. but sales figure says the opposite. so these people just simply praise the car without helping proton by buying it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • ciaksai on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:44 pm

No such thing as proton fans :). Those who praise proton is because proton did a decent job on the iriz. Lets face it,we need more competition for perodua or else they keep facelifting to the ends of the earth. Competition is always good for the consumer especially when our taxes wouldn’t be going away anytime soon. Not to mention our Ringgit value is rockbottom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
      • Super on Feb 17, 2015 at 5:49 pm

They only start doing decent cars when become no 2. Those days masa no 1, customer must follow them.

• Daniel on Feb 17, 2015 at 7:20 pm

How about competition for Proton itself? If Proton is so good, why impose high duty on other manufacturers’ car?

• kadajawi (Member) on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:30 pm

Because otherwise the government is bankrupt tomorrow. No more income. No money to pay government employees, doctors, police, …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
          • The Truth on Feb 18, 2015 at 12:45 am

Don’t BS lah. If this is true, why other countries like US, UK and China have way less duty than Malaysia and still have money to pay for doctors and police? Yes, they have duty but not so much like in Malaysia. The high duty’s sole reason is to protect the stupid Proton. Do you know Malaysia has one of the world’s highest car selling price besides Singapore(which is because of land). All this thanks to Proton

• HIGHDUTY? on Feb 18, 2015 at 7:34 am

Where got higher duty for other cars?
          Only imported cars have higher duty (Import Duty 30%)… others (CKD)are the same according to their engine capacity.
          Dont simply give invalid information lah bro… be more responsible with your fingers lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
          • Daniel on Feb 18, 2015 at 12:58 pm

CBU cars are not only subjected to 30% import tax. But there are also excise duty around 100% and sales tax of 10 %.

CKD are not subjected to 30% of import tax, but still subjected to sales and excise duty.

Overall, other manufacturers cars are still being taxed around 110% to 140% and more.

• freakin bashers on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:40 pm

All this malaysian freakin bashers just know how to bash people/proton… Bagi diskaun pon kena kutuk…salah sorang yg kutuk ni pon mesti ada yg beli iriz..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 24
    • zaimie on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:58 pm

Setuju…. kenapa le nk kutuk. X salah pun Proton nak bagi diskaun. Yang penting… hormat pengguna Proton gak. Masing2 ada citarasa masing2…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 20
      • Daniel on Feb 17, 2015 at 7:15 pm

Tak salah Proton nak jual kereta. Tapi jangan sampai naikkan harga kereta pengeluar2 yang lain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • Almighty Proton(AP) on Feb 18, 2015 at 2:07 am

Kenapa nak kutuk??? Kenapa Proton nak protection? Proton tak boleh dipersoalkan? Consumers not satisfied with Proton of course kutuk lah. Only supporters are in denial

• freakin bashers on Feb 18, 2015 at 10:08 am

Thats bcoz of govt… Not proton… I am not really proton supporter.. But just hoping malaysians can comment rationally… Japanese, koreans, and others also make mistakes in their design, recalls everywhere.. But personally i think proton are improving technically… Its just hard todeal with previous mistakes that still fresh in proton’s consumers mind… Power window.. Haha thats a history for proton… Dont talk about it now…

• Daniel on Feb 18, 2015 at 2:12 pm

Japanese manufacturers made mistakes. But they did not consume the tax money from gov to continue surviving. If the Jap and Koreans want to recall their car, screw them as that is their corporation money, not from their gov coffer.

• This internet bro, dun take it so seriously..

• All the hate is proton ask for it one. If not for the perlindungan, the rakyat could care shit about proton

• Low Budget on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:47 pm

They support proton in this forum but in reality ‘diam diam’ go and book Axia thus increase the waiting period of P2 cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
  • Low Budget on Feb 17, 2015 at 4:49 pm

This might be the year Proton falling down hard. Needs lots of life support from gomen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Muahaha.. a lot of buyers sure banging their head now for buying too early…

• this discount without that 3 yrs free service (parts n labour).. the earlier iriz no discount but hv that 3 yrs free service.. proton salesman told me..

• tiger on Feb 17, 2015 at 5:19 pm

Nominated for “Laughing Stock of the Year 2015” and its STILL ONLY FEB

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • BMW E36 Coupe on Feb 17, 2015 at 5:20 pm

I see many static old unregistered stocks on where I live at a Proton dealer in Subang Jaya. Plenty of Preves, Suprimas, and a handful of rare final edition Satria Neos.

The moral of the story is if you want to but Proton, you should wait until they offer discounts. I bet the RM82,000 Proton Exora facelift Super Premium depreciates faster than it accelerates.

Haha hope that by this time next year I bet they’re still clearing their old two-year old 2014 Iriz stocks with 40-50% discount.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • seriously… bad marketing.
    Marketing manager should be sacked for this..

• ben yap on Feb 17, 2015 at 5:30 pm

RM62K for the top spec for an proton iriz is way too expensive. add another RM14K, i can get a city and it’s a honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • hahah on Feb 17, 2015 at 6:10 pm

tak lakulah tu!!!

• so desperate to clear unsold stock? this look like final breath. IRIZ did nit meet the sales results same as Suprima S. admit it anything Proton produce which is linked to DRB is doomed to fail. imagine if IRIZ was under DSSZ and launched by him. then you could see the difference. arrogant, illiterate and useless DRB super managers just quit and let proton live.

• sudonano (Member) on Feb 17, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Generally its more of a “realignment” of a 2014 stock price. Just like any car, you walk into BMW, they are willing to throw 50k at you if you buy a 2014 BMW 5er. That’s a good 12.5%.

Is it because they are not selling? Not true, by far BMW’s sedans fly like hot cakes in Malaysia. Same with Mercedes. And Audi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Halo.. u r comparing bmw with plotong? Come on..
      bmw dont hav a choice bcos of inflated price tag by G to protect plotong.. Foreign manufacturers has no choice but need to be creative in their marketing n pricing to stay alive..
      plotong being having the advantage on pricing over its fellow foreign rivals, but still resorted to do this kind of promotion. this really do tell alot about their “unpopularity”, and majority r avoiding it..

• Balik- balik bmw. You cant even compare with Trabant.

• Muhammad Yazid on Feb 17, 2015 at 6:57 pm

Haters gonna hate.I,already use Iriz Premium for 2 weeks,no problem.It’s 100 times better than my previous 2014 Jazz.So,Proton Haters,you already see the discount that Proton give right?Use this promotion to buy Iriz.Kritik banyak,tapi sebenarnya tak pakai pun.Like dumbass

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 27
    • Daniel on Feb 17, 2015 at 8:05 pm

You are the real dumbass

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • Daniel on Feb 17, 2015 at 8:09 pm

You only experience using Proton for 2 weeks. These bashers have been experiencing Proton for the last 20 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
      • koerg on Feb 17, 2015 at 11:32 pm

Lol so you compare your 1985 saga with turbo engined car?
        Even civic dun have that torquey engine!

Iriz? It’s in Polo pug 208 conti league lor, Jazz is lightyears behind!

• lolol on Feb 18, 2015 at 2:33 am

Iriz Punch CVT is not even in the kapchai’s league lol, let alone the conti league. The engine may be in the same league as lembu drinking water

• 100 times? Really? Hahaha… no wonder proton is free falling.

• Tak payah tipu lah. Enjin Honda city 2005 aku lagi senyap daripada iriz…

• hondacvtjunk on Feb 17, 2015 at 11:25 pm

Honda City tak power macam preve turbo, gearbox pun tak lasak senang kong

• Tikus on Feb 19, 2015 at 11:20 pm

Just use for 2 weeks bising bestnya , use for 50k km n see how is yr iriz
      Is then comment.

• gedohom on Feb 17, 2015 at 7:03 pm

hahahahha,apa sudah jadi,itu hari masa lancar ini kereta salesman manyak sombong.wa dtg pakai singlet pagoda tak layan pun. ini hari banyak diskaun kasi wooo.

• omg berbaaauu on Feb 18, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Singlet bleh tahan… Bau yg tak bleh thn kot… Thinkin out of da box… Haha

• Muhaimin on Feb 17, 2015 at 12:00 pm

What’s the difference between the 2014 model and 2015 model, apart from year of manufacture? did they resolve the CVT issue in the 2015 model?

• iskandar on Feb 17, 2015 at 8:08 pm

pity to p1. reputation make them pay.
    p2 otherwise take the advantage very well
    but axia really nothing to shout other than fuel saving. overall poor quality especially the interior and extremely underpower

• BMW E46 Cabrio on Feb 17, 2015 at 8:32 pm

#Betul2OFFz

• Where are all the my sister, father, brother’s cousin sister, mother-in-law & office got 2 units and also all my colleagues planning to buy iriz?
    All imaginary ?

• proton supporter hypocrite on Feb 17, 2015 at 8:54 pm

Proton supporter hanya cakap mulut tapi tak mau beli sebab memang sudah tahu proton tak bagus. Kalau mereka beli mesti sales ok. So proton supporter, dont be hypocrite, trade in your perodua japs kimchi for iriz now!

• Albert on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:19 pm

Business at Proton is so bad that even the service centres are having nightmares.
    Someone sent his car to proton’s service centre.Up to 10m,only 2 new cars arrived,for service.The dealer service centre advisors are more than the customers!
    If you are operating as Proton’s authorized centres,you might have to close in 6 months cos you cant cover costs and lose money every month.
    The GAME CHANGER has changed its own history,instead…that is DOWNHILL TRAJECTORY .So as usual,top management comes out with the same tool….HUGE DISCOUNTS,REBATES.
    This year Honda and Toyota(individually) will outpace Proton in sales.
    Insaf lah,until u improve,discard the Punch CVT(made in China),2015 will only register 80,000 units in sales,Proton.2 more dismal years…you will be defunct and INSOLVENT.Then there will be no forum discussing Protong anymore.

• Alexchevy on Feb 17, 2015 at 9:21 pm

WWaaaahhh…!!!! ( Laku sangat kot…?)

• I have a cute dog. She have been not eating so many days already. She was hungry but still refuse to eat the biscuit I put on the plate…, so pity… Why??? Yea, coz I buy the cheapest food for her. Maybe the food too yucky and terrible. So on the next day, I go to pet shop buy the most expensive dog biscuit for my dog. Home and I immediately put the food on the plate… my dog just walk to the plate there and smell the biscuit but still refused to eat again… Why??? she just struggling there a while then want to go away again. I scared my dog will die if not eating… So I push her head to the food and force she to eat… No Matter how I push she also not eating… Suddenly she turn her head back and bite me! I give her the best and the most expensive biscuit also don’t want to eat and bite me!!! Damm it! I so angry and throw away my dog out of my house!

• babygrand on Feb 17, 2015 at 10:32 pm

Proton fans talk is cheap just buy and show us that proton junk is over taking tayota. Honda and perodua. Thanks i challenge u. Pls buy this shitty car

• proton is superman on Feb 17, 2015 at 10:33 pm

i felt admire with proton marketing team…the only way they know is discount, discount and discount…

Stupid marketing

make proton second hand value falling deeply…better close the company immediately,

• Apart from discount, they also insult and asked how much Malaysian public know about car.

• whynovsc on Feb 17, 2015 at 11:35 pm

I’m much insulted with myvi without VSC for generations!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • Super on Feb 18, 2015 at 9:31 am

I also insulted Saga without VSC for 3 decades..

• noute on Feb 18, 2015 at 6:49 pm

Go out from cave. Later iriz sedan will be saga sedan with VSC.

• Still harping in vsc? Your greatest strong point? People are not looking at your vsc. All people want is reliability which is a luxury for proton.

• Proton is hilarious on Feb 18, 2015 at 8:40 am

What can they do?

Marketing 4 P’s:
      1) Place – Proton has vast network of Sales & Service
      2) Price – Er…cheap much already, not??
      3) People – OK this is the utmost failed component
      4) Promotion – the only thing they can do

I mean, I’m not defending them whatsoever..but it works the same for all automotive companies. Why not question Nissan; Almera facelift already throwing at LEAST 4.5k..

Unless you have other way around besides discount? Enlighten us

• Best marketing ever for P1 – Cut ties with government and it’s crowny. Sales will shoot up. What ppl hate bout P1 ain’t P1… Sensible ppl gets it.

• ValueForMoney on Feb 17, 2015 at 11:24 pm

Apabila tak boleh jual lebih murah mula lah bashing proton sebab bagi diskaun.
    Kalau tak boleh or tak nak bagi diskaun jual lebih murah, mengaku ajelah tak boleh compete harga.
    Kami pengguna mahukan kereta mampu milik yang value for money. Kami bayar untuk features. Bukannya sanggup berhutang demi jenama idaman.

• old dog on Feb 17, 2015 at 11:40 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAAHAHHA, oh my oh my, where are the Protong fan boys buying power la!

• just curious on Feb 18, 2015 at 12:19 am

So what is the difference between 2015 model and 2014 model? Really…just curious.

• Rhynnon on Feb 18, 2015 at 1:29 am

I don’t why but everytime there is a Proton article, there will always be people bashing it to kingdom come. I get it, Proton quality was bad previously (I have experienced it with a Wira and more recently the Persona) and yes, to a certain extent they are supported by the Government. But tell me which country didn’t support their own car business / industry? Companies such as Lada, KIA, Hyundai, General Motors were initially set up by their respective countries, and don’t tell me the number of times GM was bailed out. Saab is another that comes to mind, as well as British Leyland! Heck, Fiat and Volkswagen were set up by their respective governments and they practically conned their own people, especially Volkswagen! Initially set up by Hitler and tasked to build the car for the people, they stole the initial designs for the car from Poland, demanded money from the German people and then started World War II and funded it through money that was suppose to be for the Volkswagen Beetle!

The point I am trying to make is that all of these companies were set up initially with government protection in mind and have slowly moved to a point where they can now support themselves. Yes, Proton screwed it up but frankly speaking, so have all those other companies I mentioned at one point in time. The only way they can improve is for people to judge them honestly for the work they’ve done, and this goes to all the other car companies as well. For its size and price bracket, the Iriz is a really good car with a really European style interior. It compares favorably with the Toyota Yaris which I drove in the UK and handles really well for a car of its size. Yes, the gear changes can be better but all it asks is that you press the pedal a bit more. Compare that to the new Myvi which has the same boring interior, inferior quality, tired styling and less safety features, those who are buying it right now are being conned.

Just as you all have a right to be angry at Proton for its mistakes in the past, you should also be angry at the quality and features you are paying for to Perodua, and indeed every other car company that seems to charge a premium for features (I’m looking at you Peugeot). The number one concern for Malaysians at this time is safety, and here we have Proton who are listening to their customers but because of double standards (and because it’s the popular thing to do) we bash Proton.

Sometimes, reading the comments on this forum makes me ashamed to be a Malaysian, and the attitudes and mindset of people here shows that there is still a long way to go for us to really become a developed nation.

For now, I am happy to judge car manufacturers based on their current models, and for this, I believe Proton is doing just fine with the Iriz. I hope they can turn all the negative comments as their drive to turnaround themselves and prove their doubters wrong.

For the record, I drive a Persona SE (with squeaky back seats, wind noise and a high rev engine when it goes uphill) but truth be told I find it a very good car for its size, and very good in the corners. I also have a Mercedes 190E (which breaks down a lot, but that’s my fault – I went and increase the power without thinking of the cooling) but overall I find it just as good as cars being sold today.

Rather than complain about cars being expensive and all, maybe you should look into yourself and see what it is you are doing wrong. And don’t give me the bullshit about cars being cheap in UK, you try to find insurance that will support you when you’re male, mid 20’s, and want to add dependents! There’s a reason why cars are cheap in UK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 14
    • I think majority of car purchaser know iriz is better spec than other competative car like myvi. But why still they dont want to buy iriz. Answer is simple because it is from proton.
      I bet if you change the proton badge to any other badge,be it greatwall,it most probably sell better.
      Coz if you only given 1 chance to choose (40-50k is a lot for some people),most wont dare or want to get proton. There rather buy other brand.
      Answer is the image of the brand.
      And now they doing something that further damage the image,which already at the bottom.
      Suicidal.
      Who is going to buy 2015 iriz now? If you can get 10k dis in few months time during raya?

• Rhynnon on Feb 18, 2015 at 11:23 am

You’re right nkh, Brand is a very important element, and it is a challenge that Proton have to face to show that they are serious about improving their image. I do however think that offering discounts does not damage their brand, as they’re doing what most other car companies are doing. Volkswagen, BMW, Audi are some of the companies who offer discounts in the past (on this website no less).

I guess what gets me is the double standards most Malaysians show in terms of cars, where their sing the praises of inferior cars from Perodua and Toyota, while chanting abuses to those who are striving to make change happen.

My belief is that we should always be positive and judge not on their past, but their present standards. If they do not meet the current standards, then rightly we should criticise and demand the optimum standard. But we should also commend and encourage positive work that is being done.

• I think majority of car purchaser know iriz is better spec than other competative car like myvi. But why still they dont want to buy iriz. Answer is simple because it is from proton.
      I bet if you change the proton badge to any other badge,be it greatwall,it most probably sell better.
      Coz if you only gçiven 1 chance to choose (40-50k is a lot for some people),most wont dare or want to get proton. There rather buy other brand.
      Answer is the image of the brand.
      And now they doing something that further damage the image,which already at the bottom.
      Suicidal.
      Who is going to buy 2015 iriz now? If you can get 10k dis in few months time during raya?

• Who r the basher on Feb 18, 2015 at 7:14 am

its very obvious…all basher are salesman. hahaaa….

• Well said. But this is internet. As someone pointed out, don’t take it seriously. Life is tough out there so bashing proton is like a therapy for some. I lived 6 years in the States. Cars are waayyy cheaper there too but car maintenance/repair, healthcare, rent, tuition fees, school and everything else that involve labor are wayyyy expensive. Not sure about insurance.

• Rhynnon on Feb 18, 2015 at 11:26 am

I know its the internet, and you are never going to win an argument on the internet! I do know how you feel though about maintenance. Had a Volkswagen Polo for 2 years in UK, cost about 1500 pounds but was charge 2000 pounds for insurance, more than the value of the car itself! And the congestion charge tax was ridiculous that I gave up driving into London.

• Relax my friend. Most of these bashers are either of the below:
      1. Toyota or perodua salesman with nothing to do
      2. Anti-Mahathir squad because Proton = Mahathir
      3. Anti-Umno squad because Proton = Crony (Syed Mokhtar)
      4. Old uncle who used to own waja/wira/old saga that rosak power window a lot
      5. Losers who can’t afford expensive car and then blame Proton for the high tax

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
      • Rhynnon on Feb 18, 2015 at 11:33 am

I know, but I just wanted to let it out because it has been bugging me for some time. I think as Car Lovers (something we all should strive for) we should celebrate companies who do right by us and demand more from those who do not give us value for money. Proton under-delivered and over promised, but they are doing something about it with the Iriz with regards to build quality, refinement and safety features, while we have companies like Toyota and Perodua which are stingy on features and don’t really offer much value.

As petrolheads, we should celebrate those who are doing the right thing, not condemn every step of the way.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 115
    • Your Proton SE should worth similar or a bit top-up price for Honda Jazz or Toyota Vios in Pulau Langkawi duty free island.

Also, I heard Tasik Kenyir Terengganu soon will become duty free zone also. If can buy cars there, maybe you’ll buy Jazz or Vios instead of Proton.

• Rhynnon on Feb 18, 2015 at 11:29 am

I understand what you are trying to say, and if the Honda Jazz and Toyota Vios was a better cup, then of course I would work towards buying it, no question. My beef is that people buy just because others say they should buy it, not because it is suitable for them.

But then again, you can also tie it to aspiration. Make no mistake, if a car is better, then I would buy it. I just don’t like unfair criticism, that’s all. Why can’t we all just be constructive?

• regularvisitor on Mar 29, 2015 at 12:38 pm

I finally found a comment that worth to read. Thank you for your opinion!

• wan junaidi on Feb 18, 2015 at 3:27 am

You are fighting a lost cause.
    No use you killed your brain cells trying to
    justify P1’s existence.
    They just screwed initial buyers and here you
    are backing up P1.
    Why settle for a substandard Persona when you have
    better choices and options available?
    Why support P1 when all they can do is improve
    on safety when the final drive sucks.
    Just face the facts and swallow whatever pride you have. Proton cannot and will never move forward if
    they still want to go on their own and not offer
    an equity stake to a reputable manufacturer.
    Merger will make them stronger , just face it without economies of scale P1 will struggle
    even selling to the Bangladeshis.

• Pak Rosli on Feb 18, 2015 at 10:23 am

Merger?

Apsal ko nak proton lagi? Baik tutup jer kan?

Proton? Hakkkpuiihhh!

• It seems majority of malaysian want proton close shop. This will explain the poor sales of different lines of proton product,year by year.new car also no one wants.unless they can come up something really special to turn the whole game around.
    Their failure is cannot compete with other car model,not to mention oversea carmaker let alone perodua.

• shootproton on Feb 18, 2015 at 9:31 am

all paultan reader, kindly rmb, the ppl who support proton is becsuse they are proton vendor, employer nor employee…proton create too many chances of job … thats y they become their supporter.

if proton close, they also bye bye ..thats y on the mouth said support proton, but in the heart proton suck.

• SamKL on Feb 18, 2015 at 9:42 am

Yes….better be the net importer rather then to manufacture/plant ourselves – just like rice, vegetables, fruits – why plants if imported is much cheaper…..

• Pak Rosli on Feb 18, 2015 at 10:20 am

Tu la pakcik dah cakap…tutup jer la proton ni.

Perniagaan dan budaya tongkat memang tak boleh bersama sama.

Tutup jer…kalau dah kira tak pandai bikin kete baik buka sistem tongkat kat benda lain…industri makanan ke perubatan buat la tongkat kat sana…dan jikalau tamak sangat, apa kata gi buat tongkat kat industri perumahan…rumah proton paling murah rumah rumah lain harga kena melambung…

proton! Hakkkkpuuiihh!

• Tongkat Ali on Feb 18, 2015 at 5:05 pm

Proton mahu rakyat jadi tongkat ia kah? Budaya tongkat bukan budaya kita. Budaya tongkat merosak bangsa dan negara. Jangan support Pro-Tongkat. Pro-Tongkat = Satu Proton, satu tongkat

• Oi pakcik, pegi la jepun korea china USA Europe, ada je protection macam mana bentuk pun.

You dun read history kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • autodriver (Member) on Feb 18, 2015 at 10:53 am

When Iriz first launch it attract my attention with its long list of gadgets. The surprise drag till the price revealed and there is the big let down.

Why it is big let down. Most of us may think the price is convincing enough and will boost sales of proton. But 1 factor proton has not seriously take into account, the “BRAND”. Brand is so important where most foreign companies spend million to billion of dollar to establish their brand through sponsorship, advertisement, product features, QC etc. And this take long time to plant into public’s mind and lots of money and effort involve.

Back to topic, full space Iriz selling 62k though its was cheaper than foreign rivals but we can clearly seen more Almera, Vios, City on the road. The sales of Iriz in fact lower than its national rival Perodua Axia which has basic spec but selling in lower price.

The positioning of Iriz suppose to sit in between of Axia and foreign B-segment series. But the fact turn out the other way where people either save some money to go for Axia or pay little higher for foreign car. There was a mistake by Proton, their product is not ready at 60k yet with such a lousy brand image.

Example, 10 years ago when people think of Kia always relate to expensive spare part, no resale value and high fuel consumption. But look at Kia today, it was successful in global and the sales in Msia has grown rapidly. Hyundai-Kia invested so much not only on its product and design, but also their brand. Sponsorship in world cup, tennis tournament and player, UEFA etc. But still Kia able to sell their product in cheaper price. That’s the strategy to penetrate into market and gain trust from public.

Even though today Proton QC has improved tremendously and 1st class of service, how many people will trust on Proton since it was such lousy in the past. If Proton does not has a good name, they have to sell their product in cheaper price despite they offering more gadgets than its rivals.

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 18, 2015 at 11:00 am

Since the price has set and result become worst if they adjust the selling price in short period of time. It is unfair to existing owner and will jeopardize the brand further.

With bad sales volume and factory keep running (to achieve low cost of production), Proton “force” to give discount to boost its sales of Iriz. The profit margin might by hurt or make lost but they will definitely seeking subsidy from G.

I personally think Proton too early to give discount on Iriz since it was the latest model among all. And now it started, they will give higher discount in future and now cause many buyers to have “wait and see” concept. Wrong strategy from Proton and 1st step was wrong.

• rickyll (Member) on Feb 18, 2015 at 11:16 am

When marketing a product, it’s important to deploy the correct strategies but it seemed that Proton has its weakest link in this department. Iriz could have been Proton’s triumph card but one ‘nyanyuk’ old man single-handedly ruined everything. True, don’t expect quality product to come cheaply but it’s a different story for the Proton badge. In order to regain public’s confidence, Proton has no choice but to sell cheaply. If Saga SV has a profit margin of only RM500, why not Iriz. The most important thing is to get people to buy your product, later on, through words of mouths, your product will become popular if it’s really good. By giving huge discount during festive season is a lousy move. Who is going to buy Iriz 1.6 CVT premium for RM62K after CNY. People will be waiting for the next round of Hari Raya discount and most of them would expect a bigger discount than those offered during CNY. It seems like a losing battle and let’s see how the old smart doctor could solve this “Proton Dilemma”

• same kot on Feb 18, 2015 at 5:27 pm

so if u guys said that driving a myvi feels like driving a vios think again..crap handling,seat lumbar back support only use cheap card bard, noisy engine can hear from the outside…that is why same lorrr try so hard to sell that stupid dugong..ah malaysian are all the same..ckp banyak

• Proton SV user on Feb 19, 2015 at 11:04 am

Saya beli Proton SV utk anak saya, kadang2 ada drive juga proton ni, dah test kebanyakan model proton.
    Qualiti Proton kira ok juga, terutama iriz, Exora, Preve, suprima.
    Tapi malangnya org-org di Proton ni bodoh dan tak mahu dengan apa yang pengguna mahukan, dan perlukan.
    Hai org-org proton kau tahu tak org beli kereta kau tak murah, bayar installment sampai 7 atau 9 tahun brrhutang. Kau bagi gear CVT yang bodoh tu, kau tahu tak gear CVT kau amat bodoh dang sangat merbahaya, sebab bila tekan minyak nak potong, injin sahaja yang mengaum, habis minyak, CVT terus slip, dan tak pergi. Sangat berbahaya waktu memotong.

Injin CAMPRO pun tak berapa bagus, hari-demi hari enjin makin kuat bunyi, dan tak smooth.

Langkah pertama, boleh tak kau orang tukar gear CVT bodoh tu kepada
    gear auto normal (Torque Converter) sekurang2nya 4 speed madam perodua.

Tak mahu CVT bodoh..
    tak mahu CVT bodoh…

• Proton SV user on Feb 19, 2015 at 11:07 am

Tukar lah gear CVT bodoh…
    tukar lah gear CVT bodoh…
    tukar lah gear CVT bodoh….

the best CVT gear on market, Subaru and Nissan, buy from them.. ok.., or learn from them ok..

• Been using 1.6 premium CVT for 2 mths now. Satisfied,except for CVT performance.Handling among the best,interior Ok. Should have bought manual but objection from wife and daughter. With more than 10% discount a very good buy. Too bad bought it too early but as the saying goes, you can’t win everything!

• iriz 1.6 cvt owner on Feb 19, 2015 at 10:55 pm

Curse you proton return my rm8k for my 1.6cvt last year! This year buy also get rm4k rebate! Curse you stupid proton pricing decision! How the hell trade in value will be later on???

• youbuynTRY on Feb 25, 2015 at 9:12 am

Ex proton user, will not buy proton again.

Fact is fact.
    Proton is a junk.

Dont believe? You buy and try then cry.

• Dari jual semua keretanya dengan diskaun tinggi, lagi baik proton jual kesemua aset, pejabat, bilik pameran dan kilangnya dengan diskaun tinggi.

• scirocco on Mar 13, 2015 at 5:59 pm

youbuynTRY , you talk like rubbish , you buy vw bro , you will know which car is better , if you just drive nissan sunny , memang ler no problem , hahahahaha

• triple h (Member) on May 04, 2015 at 10:50 am

Scirocco celop ka inspirated? All sotong plotong fans always gave stupid comments.their cars looked pariah sports cars shok sndiri.that car liked sawi tak laku.better buy miragelh branded car

• triple h (Member) on May 04, 2015 at 11:19 am

The most unbranded car in the world..only stupid guy get it