Launched earlier today, the new Proton Iriz is certainly the talk of the town. Across the whole of Malaysia too, most likely. Want to know Proton’s latest B-segment hatchback in more detail? Find out all you need to know and more in less than eight minutes with our exclusive walk-around video of the Iriz.
UPDATE: Our full comprehensive review of the Proton Iriz (1.3 and 1.6 engines, manual and CVT) is now up.
Watch as paultan.org freshman Gregory Sze walks you through the Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium CVT, highlighting its standout design details and features both inside and out. The exterior differences between this top-spec RM62,438 (solid colour, on-the-road with insurance) model to more affordable variants are covered as well.
There’s no doubting that the Iriz is an eye-catching car (pun very much intended), but does it have the equipment and interior practicality to match its looks? What about safety then – how does it compare against its closest competitor, the Perodua Myvi? Watch the short video above to have all those questions answered.
For more on the Proton Iriz – complete with a detailed spec-by-spec equipment breakdown – refer to our comprehensive launch report. Also, you can use CarBase.my’s comparison tool to see how the Iriz fares next to the Honda Jazz, Suzuki Swift and Kia Rio. Enjoy.
AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.
AI-generated Summary ✨
The comments reveal a mix of excitement and skepticism about the Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium walk-around. Many praise its stylish exterior, safety features, and interior improvements, considering it Proton's best effort in years. Some commenters express disappointment with interior space, especially rear legroom, and quality concerns like cheap-feeling interior parts and outdated rim designs. There is debate about the car’s fuel efficiency, safety standards, and the significance of the new CVT, with some hopeful for better reliability. A number of comments compare Iriz favorably to Perodua models, especially the Axia and Myvi, highlighting Iriz's safety features and design. Several skeptics also question sales figures, booking numbers, and Proton’s future export potential. Overall, sentiments range from optimistic to cautious, with abundant discussion on the car’s features, quality, and market positioning.