VIDEO: Tun M thanks Proton owners, promises better

Ucapan terima kasih buat pemilik Proton khas dari Pengerusi PROTON, YAB Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamed.

Posted by Proton Holdings Berhad on Friday, 10 July 2015

Proton turns 30 this year, and for many Malaysians, the national car has played a part in our lives. Original Saga or sporty Satria, there’s a Proton lodged in our memories – some are sweet, some less so.

Most of us in this office have either owned or sat in a family Proton over the years – Paul, Harve and new recruit Graham have owned two each; Jonathan Lee’s parents had two in the porch; Anthony “Sport” Lim modded a Satria GTi and yours truly still has a running Saga Megavalve. What’s yours?

Proton would not have sold four million cars in three decades if not for us, and company chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad thanks all Proton owners in the video above.

“I would like to thank you for your loyalty to our national car, Proton. We are now 30 years old, and in this period we have achieved significant progress. We have produced four million cars, and we hope to continue producing cars that are more advanced, better and of equal standard with foreign cars,” the ex-PM said in Bahasa Malaysia.

tun-proton-banner

“I hope Proton owners will continue to lend support to Proton by using Proton cars in times to come,” he added.

Should you want to heed the call, Proton’s current range consists of the Saga, Iriz, Preve, Suprima S, Exora and the ageing Persona and Satria Neo duo. But three new models are coming next year, including a new flagship Perdana based on the Honda Accord.

Last month, Proton and Suzuki signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) and Licence Agremeent (LA) that, amongst other things, gives the national carmaker access to Suzuki’s models, platforms, powertrain and automotive technology, with the Japanese company providing technical assistance for the products and scope selected.

The LA grants Proton the rights to CKD manufacture and sell a Suzuki model under its own brand, and numerous mentions of “small, compact cars” and smaller engine segment vehicles” fuels speculation that Proton wants to develop its first A-segment city car to challenge Perodua’s hot-selling Axia.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Beng P1boy on Jul 13, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Hahaha P2 macai must start to scare since DrM finally make his move.

Proton still the top sales and marketing in malaysia… Proton will Global soon.

Proton give kampung people drive cheap car if not all still riding bicycle !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 93
    • Thank you for supporting Proton. If not, we will not be the biggest crony company in Malaysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 39
      • Close Down Jamban Proton on Jul 13, 2015 at 4:59 pm

It is solely because of Proton and Tun M that 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars. 30 years, Proton rogol all of us.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot globally and have NOT gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale achieved by car companies. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

Our cars compared to global cars are completely stripped down. Even basic car in the US got about 20 safety features that the same car in Malaysia does not have. Purposely taken out to cut cost even further and untung more profit.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his friends and relatives and forcing the dying Proton to live with billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).

They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.

Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand. This is another rape like when Mitsubishi raped us for 20 years with low quality engines and parts. If Proton was not in Malaysia in the first place, you will have a few hundred thousand ringgit extra in your pocket!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 43
        • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 8:35 am

Hey man you say as you like why you hate proton so much. If you so good make your own car. Backstabbing like you are no good. Be better Malaysia or be somewhere else like Thailand. Because whatever is Malaysia is wrong. Go to Thailand where prostitution is legal and gun everywhere. What are you waiting for go for the better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 116
          • Fantastic English on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:11 am

wow, what fantastic English. No wonder why our country is going down the drain. Bro, improve your English please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
          • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:23 am

I am Chinese not English sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 87
          • Fly HIgh on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:10 pm

Spot on. For those whose said Proton make 30 million people suffer, you guys still in a dream. Wake up, without Proton, car industry, especially the skill worker in engineering sector will be none. People who are middle and low class can’t have their own car. Perodua never existed. Look at our country neighbors minus Singapore, without national car, many of us will still be using rickshaw, animal or riding in the back of a pickup truck. Proton has done many wonderful things without us realizing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 50
          • RavenAii (Member) on Jul 14, 2015 at 3:40 pm

Without Proton we could own a Fiesta that probably cost us RM40k or even a Camry with VSC and 7-airbags(no offence) at the price of RM70k-RM80k. We’re paying almost 200% of vehicle tax ever since Proton was established. I’m not saying Proton is a bad brand but at least they play the game fair and square. Have to pay more than RM1k for the Navara every month(note that pickup truck taxes are not the same with passenger vehicles taxes) and I could never think how the more expensive vehicle would cost you monthly. Even the Iriz have to pay almost RM600 every month. Can you imagine how much the car price if Proton was not protected?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • P1 Macai on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:23 pm

That’s the best P1 can do? Send a macai that can’t even write proper English to ‘defend’ Proton? If you like Proton so much, did you buy the latest Iriz to show your support ah? Tun M will thank you for that

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:50 pm

It seem my English is well understood as more respond coming in. So Malaysia Understand Chinese English.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 53
          • Same L0rrrr on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:07 pm

I rather pay RM50k for my Hilux rather than your RM60k Iriz.

Now you see the typical Proton fanboys theory: You don’t like Proton, you get out of Malaysia.

Since when Malaysia owned by your papa?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
          • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:14 pm

It seem like people emphasis on English but when all Chinese school required to use English as medium of teaching. You all go again know I am the product of schooling less usage of English. Please go back to English as it better for us like what Tun M did.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:32 pm

Fantastic English you don’t have class to teach today. How many book you write. Can you be fare on writing because it seem you not practicing fairness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
          • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 3:11 pm

Shiet… My teacher found out about me. I came here to troll coz i’m butthurt when people talk bad about Proton. I’m Malay btw. I want to make it look like Chinese. Sorry ya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
          • rogaz on Jul 16, 2015 at 11:52 am

Hey Paul Tan you use my name ha to make comment that illegal and unethical.I am Chinese what can you do.

• rogaz on Jul 16, 2015 at 11:54 am

Not all Chinese hate Proton or Tun M. Hayya Ini macam orang pun ada ka?

• rogaz on Jul 16, 2015 at 12:01 pm

It nothing wrong to be Chinese. it it Chinese so bad can write here. This is free country, I am free ma.

• rogaz father on Jul 14, 2015 at 2:57 pm

You’re a disgrace to your race. You action only shows how immature your race are. You can pretend to be Chinese all you want but the fact is we all know you’re a Malay and only makes Tun M sad

• OMG…You are Welcome Tun Dr M, but sorry, i never buy a single PROTON car. I love Perodua. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 43
      • Same L0rrrr on Jul 13, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Yes. Malaysian never need a unreliable cars for the sake of national pride satisfaction.

Malaysian need a reliable and cheap car. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
        • karam singh on Jul 13, 2015 at 9:15 pm

U always forget most important things,
          Safety….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
          • Same L0rrrr on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:51 pm

For maximum safety, DON’T TRAVEL!

For Malaysian drivers, most important thing is CHEAP. Why they like reliable cars so much, because reliability make the ownership CHEAP!

In fact, most of Proton sales comes from the unsafe Saga and Persona! Why, because they are CHEAP!

Wake up!

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 8:45 am

Good because you love car for the low income but Produa safety low. As long as it not Malaysian car you sacrifice your life for the Japanese. But Japanese don’t bother about you . They only love your money. Produa Accident Terbelah dua. Selamat Hari Raya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 31
        • Fantastic English on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:12 am

Oh My! What English is this? I cannot understand what this chap is talking about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:29 am

I am Chinese not English Sorry. Look at Greece they went Bankrupt with their good English or UK who sold most of it business because they English so good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 54
          • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:34 am

I am Chinese not English please understand me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 52
          • Rogaz Teacher on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Why say you’re Chinese multiple times??? You couldn’t even understand simple English. Your English sounds like those Malay people. You’re more like Malay pretending to be Chinese. Go back to school to learn English before spamming this forum

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:58 pm

I am from China actually so sorry.

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 2:07 pm

I miss my lunch because of playing with you my friends. We all friend here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 2:50 pm

Why you not so friendly ? Is it because you not Chinese like me. It normal for Chinese to be friendly because business ma, it want us to look friendly.

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 3:23 pm

Our children don’t know English so what? We are Earth Prince of this Bumi mah. G will help us all

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:00 pm

I don’t have budget to pay for teacher so just tech your children.

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:35 pm

Fantastic English and Rogaz Teacher go tech English somewhere because this place is only for people who hate Proton and Tun M. You should be somewhere better to maintain your high quality life.

• rogaz friend on Jul 14, 2015 at 3:45 pm

Oh my… Why you say your own teacher? Didn’t your mom teach you? We are all friends ma :)

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 2:01 pm

It too long delay of displaying my text.

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:27 pm

I admit I am a BN Cybertrooper. My whole life is lazy and waiting for contracts. Goyang kaki and talk rubbish

• rogaz on Jul 16, 2015 at 11:58 am

Don’t use may My name from inside. You said BN lazy ah . My friend in China more lazy.

• Kroni Kroni Dr M on Jul 13, 2015 at 5:05 pm

You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies. Now Suzuki will be the same.

And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts. That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is sold to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from brothers for RM10.

So, Mahathir can say all he wants about quality being raised and his sarcasm but until ALL Proton’s vendors are changed, how can the quality go up?

Mahathir won’t do this. All his buddies have got the contract to be vendors to Proton. Mahathir will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives, so why upset his relatives when he can continue his past misgivings?

Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefitting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts.

This new Suzuki scandal will be the same as Mitsubishi scandal. Until vendors change, tie up with Suzuki will be low in quality as previous Protons

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 11
      • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:20 am

I said already Crony is good to make sure we are not cheated by stranger.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 31
        • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:23 pm

We work with those we know. So that our Crony that speak our language.

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Our crony already know how to speak Bahasa Melayu and that is enough as that is our national language

• Sorchai (Member) on Jul 13, 2015 at 10:10 pm

In the past I never commented on this site on Proton’s topic. Too busy and not bothered with Proton topic. Today, I find time to write because of this article.

22 years ago, my father needed a new car.

He was just a simple man who needed a simple car with the best reliability that he could afford for his beloved family. That was his dream.

I was just a young boy then, and going to buy a new or second hand car with his dad is a very exciting and happy thing. That is most little boys dream.

At that time, Dato’ Seri Dr Mahathir, you promised all of us Malaysians a dream. A dream that we will be an automotive economic power. A dream that we could all have an affordable and reliable car. A dream that everyone would be happy.

My father went to the then Proton dealer in Section 13 Petaling Jaya behind what is today Plaza 33. He wanted to buy a Proton. The sales person was arrogant and treated my father like garbage. He even said, if my father had no money to buy Proton, then don’t waste his time as he has many other customers to attend to (the shop was empty that time). My father needed the car urgently and had to pay extra RM 300 for “expediting fee”. He paid. The car arrived and months after months, there were problems and Proton could not ever repair it.

That was 22 years ago when I was a young boy. But that memory of Proton snatching everyone’s dream, my dream, Mahathir’s dream and promise, will forever be etched in my mind. I swore to myself then, I will never ever buy a Proton, even if a Proton sales person would be on his knees begging for it for his life. Recently, I went with my colleague to a Proton showroom in Shah Alam as he wanted to see the Proton Preve. To my unbelievable surprise, the same sales person who sold the Proton to my dad 22 years ago is still working for Proton as a sales advisor. I confirmed this by asking some history about his past working experience and also how is sales nowadays compared to the past. He was shocked when I told him my story 22 years ago and could only keep his ashamed face down. I told my story loudly that even his colleagues and other customers heard me. They came nearer to finish hearing my story. My colleagues and other potential customers left aghast with my story and I hope they will never return to buy a Proton.

Until today, I have never owned a Proton and after this article was posted I wanted to say this. You do not need to say thank you. You need to say sorry. Sorry for all the dreams you have decimated.

I wait for the day that Proton will close down. 100,000 will lose their jobs. But it will make Malaysia stronger. Our economy will be stronger. Other car companies will be stronger. We will survive and not go away in the dark.

Proton is a cancer that must be cut away. A disease that must be cured. A parasite that must be eradicated. You had your chance. You had your glory. You had the moment when you could be arrogant. Today, Proton has heard it sdeath knell. Like many before you, its time for you to go away in the dark.

Goodbye.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 34
      • harris murad on Jul 14, 2015 at 9:46 am

thank you for the heart warming story dear mr..
        err sorchai.

hating the arrogant salesperson is ok, but i dont see any reason why u must hate the entire company; where thousands are working to support their families.

i am not a proton staff, but i have always been a big fan. and i know many people there who work really hard not only to serve, but for the love of the brand and its vision.

till next time, goodbye, sorchai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • Best Comment Ever on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:36 am

Best ever written article on Proton. You are right, it is a cancer. All the thumbs down you got are from Proton staff who are lazy and getting a free ride in life. 30,000 people make 30 million people suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Gary Chong on Jul 21, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Sorchai, yr narration of yr experience truly struck a chord with other Malaysians whom hav been paying sky high prices for cars. Proton is a failure dat Dr M refuses to acknowledge. I dun know why he’s obsessed wif it, unwilling to shut Proton down and focus on Perodua instead, which has brighter prospects. Dr M doesnt even make Proton his main car (except during official Proton functions), bcause as we all know, he loves his Porsche so much. Bcause of Proton, car buyers either hav to pay through their noses, or forfeit d car dat they dream of, bcause it’s too expensive. If Honda’s slogan is “The Power of Dreams”, then Proton’s is “Killing Car Owner’s Dreams”, bcause not everyone can afford the car they really want, thx 2 Proton.

• Azfar on Jul 13, 2015 at 2:44 pm

My late dad had a Saga Aeroback, then a Wira 1.5 GLI sedan in the family. I had a Satria Neo (A), went car-less, and am now driving a Satria Neo (M). In Singapore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 11
    • If you still on proton after so many years,it only means you never progress in you career or you still haven up grade your living standard.
      no offense but that is the sad truth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 47
      • Yippy on Jul 13, 2015 at 6:37 pm

Super Like this one, hahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
        • Thanks.
          coz i owned proton before (not so long ago)as that time only can afford a proton.
          lousy kosong vios seem not reachable that time.
          I work hard and swear not going to back to proton,unless their car and brand is on par with other make.
          now not to say very rich,but at least have freedom to choose any c or d segment and can proudly say ‘NO’ to proton.
          for those still stuck with proton,work hard and you deserve the better. Then never look back as proton is irrelevant once you have progress in life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
      • Bryan Tee on Jul 13, 2015 at 6:45 pm

I’m not amaze by your statement of still driving proton mean no upgrade of your living standard. If today you are driving Toyota and after 5 years still haven’t change to BMW mean your living standard not upgrading? what a small mind you have to compare living standard with Cars brand. Shame on you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 8
        • What i say is driving a proton.
          Upgrading car is one of many ways that can proved to other how successful your career.
          You can drive your vios for the rest of your life.
          or you can changed to merz after 2 years of working.
          the later obviously indicate you have done better.
          are you a colledge student or someone still struggle with proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
          • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 8:51 am

Not All Malaysian rich, if you lucky don’t be so arrogant because all you have been created for you as you can’t choose your mother it just happen to be she your mother. You can’t choose your race because you have to be what you be. The percentage of poor and rich remain at certain percentage so there some number be poor and small number be rich. What can you do ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 33
          • Fantastic English on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:14 am

Rogaz, nobody can understand your English. What the heck are you talking about?

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:33 am

I sad to you I am Chinese not English. If you don’t why react.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 31
          • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:35 pm

I came here to troll but was busted by my teacher. o.O

• And if i were you,i would be very shameful if never own a BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
          • How about those driving a 20 year BMW 5 series? Are these people rich? After BMW what next, a rocket?

• badman on Jul 13, 2015 at 6:57 pm

Imo,people cant judge others progress by just looking at what they drive.its liability afterall.what if they are en-route to collect assets (properties) before cars.theyre not some ministers brat who get what they like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • Ononimos on Jul 13, 2015 at 10:24 pm

Nah.. For them, car defines their achievement. If that one fella drive a proton car for ages and own lots and lots of properties and golds, that fella still below life status of a vios driver that rent a small room in Klang.

• Tun Gaji RM1 million on Jul 13, 2015 at 5:15 pm

For a company that is bleeding, why pay Tun more than RM1 million per month (excluding bonus) and excluding the huge office, excluding the driver, excluding the big team of support staff just for him etc

Why waste so much money on Tun? If he loves Proton, he should do it for free ie the love of Proton itself. No need remuneration

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
      • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 8:53 am

What economic rules are you using. Which school make you thinking like these. Please understand rules and talk don’t just write.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 16
        • Fantastic English on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:16 am

Oh My! This is Queen’s English. Many of us cannot understand what this some boy Rogaz rambling about. Belajar English bang.

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:47 am

I am Chinese not all Chinese good in English otherwise I am in America already. You have to give space to people like me to learn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
          • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:59 am

How many time I have to tell you I am Chinese not English. There are Million of Chinese who are not good in English but we live properly.

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Hai ya you again, you don’t understand English ? How many time I have to write over and over again I am not English.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
          • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Do you understand English ? I am writing English the Chinese way what can you do ?

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:23 pm

Why no updating at this part and some other part be fare to everybody.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
          • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 3:16 pm

I’m sorry but i’m an idiot. Malay don’t know English cannot meh?

• Kenapa Tun Pakai Porsche?? on Jul 13, 2015 at 5:17 pm

If Proton car is his passion, he should support Proton and tell his whole family to buy Proton. He himself drives most of the time his Porsche Cayenne. Only to events he will drive an Iriz to show people he is supportive of his Proton product. 99% of the time he uses Porsche Cayenne.

All his children use Porsche. Practically his whole family uses Porsche. Nobody even smells Proton. Even his maids and drivers own cars also NOT Proton.

Tun, if you support Proton, you should make sure everyone including your wife use Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
      • Sebab on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:30 am

Car defines his achievement. Tun wants good handling car but Proton cannot provide. Lotus handling is fake as Tun also not bother, he rather enjoy his Porsche

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 8:41 am

I answer you already Proton Avanza Vious and Produa for the low income. Please understand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 23
  • shawal on Jul 13, 2015 at 2:49 pm

Proton needs to move on with the times ….quickly….

The next exora should take some cues from ‘renault espace’

a slightly jacked up crossover with higher ground clearance , a pwoerful 2.0 turbo motor with 4 wheel drive would be a nice touch , a worthy competitor to the innovas and grand livinas alike, even stream and wish if the quality is up to par….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Anak anak Semua Billionaire! on Jul 13, 2015 at 5:25 pm

All Dr M sons are billionaire. Dr M also billionaire. How politician can make so much of money???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • Gargantia on Jul 13, 2015 at 8:45 pm

Thanks to Petronas and SapuraKencana they become billionaier !!!

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 12:26 pm

I Chinese Billionaire, you not interested ? Why only Malay, Chinese Malaysian too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • Mari Mari Songlap Songlap! on Jul 13, 2015 at 5:31 pm

How much Tun Songlap himself?

One man can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM80 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

If you do the maths, the Songlap runs into hundreds of billions (not millions). So how much Tun Songlap himself and for his billionaire sons?

If there was no Songlap, cars would be cheap. You can buy a Camry for about RM60k to RM80k. In US, Camry 2.4 is US22k. In Australia, Camry 2.4 is AUD29k. But Malaysia, Camry 2.4 is RM180k and ALL safety equipment like VSC is stripped out. About 20 other safety features stripped out but our Malaysian price is 3x higher than global prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • XOver on Jul 13, 2015 at 6:58 pm

Crossovers is all the rage bro.

• LatukBandar on Jul 13, 2015 at 2:51 pm

Do you know Steve Jobs uses a Dell Windows PC? Do you know that PM Lee Kuan Yew doesn’t fly Singapore Airline? Do you know that Obama uses Mercedes Benz as his official car?

All false. I am not against Proton, but if a salesman tries to sell me a product but refuses to use it for himself or by his own family, that is a bad product regardless of how good it is.

I think Preve is a good car, so is Iriz, but Tun M should lead the pack and drive proton and sell his european marque. All of his family members should do the same, he is not a commoner like you and me. He was the leader of Malaysia and he should lead by example.

Again, Preve is a good car. What we need is a good leader to lead by example, not a boss to boss around.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
    • mizapilah on Jul 13, 2015 at 3:34 pm

Proton cars will appeal to buyers if it follow the current customers’ requirements, like smooth ride, quiet engine and trouble-free auto gearbox, by RnD and creativity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • George Abdul on Jul 13, 2015 at 4:43 pm

True, but most of 30 years R&D billions budgets only come with developing lousy Campro and “Punch” cvt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
        • IrizX on Jul 13, 2015 at 8:26 pm

You’ve got it all wrong.

1) CAMPRO is derived from some old Lotus engine tech when they bought Lotus.
          2) PUNCH CVT is from a Belgian GB maker who sells mostly to China manufacturers.

The R&D only is only designing the shell…and most of them are so fugly, your mom won’t want to see you in one.

• George Abdul on Jul 14, 2015 at 9:35 am

So billions R&D for 30 years only developing on exterior design?

Oh man, that cost more then making brand new Airplane… Indeed 30 years of false management with wasted money !!!

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:17 am

Please do better if you can and condemn the other car like Nissan Almera that so ugly. Be fare man not just express your hateness

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
      • Mari Mari Songlap Songlap! on Jul 13, 2015 at 5:33 pm

I live near Tun’s house in Country Heights. He drives a Porsche Cayenne all the time. Only when he needs to fool the Proton fans at launch events, he will use his Iriz. Otherwise, the Iriz is used by the servants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
      • Maslan on Jul 13, 2015 at 6:27 pm

Proton cars will appeal to buyers if NAP is removed

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 9:01 am

Proton Is good with gear BOX produse by Powertrain, very reliable. But it get damage because of the Mechanic who never learn how to repair car at school but just follow friend. For the Low income they want a car that not require any maintenance that again the low of nature. BMW Volkswagen has more problem with gear box but I have money I can repair with Cost of 7,0000 or more at anytime so why worry. KLIA make 50,000 km per year and the gear BOX still good after 4 years. What the hell are you talking about. First Model City have more problem in Gear BOX you don’t know.

• Fantastic English on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:18 am

“Maintenance that again the low of nature”….bang apa benda ini?

What English are you speaking? Pandai cakap banyak tapi orang tak faham.

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:36 am

I am Chinese Ma not English so what.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
          • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:38 am

I am Chinese not English Ma so what can I do. This is free space to write.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
          • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 3:21 pm

I’m a Malay trying to be Chinese coz I can’t write proper English. Sorry ya

• BOYRACER on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:59 pm

Dear Rogaz,I’m here not to criticize your english. I understand what are you trying to say eventhough it took me a while to fully comprehend it.I know you are a Chinese by reading your numerous comments staying you are one.My advice is and please don’t get me wrong though,kindly do not mention you are a chinese everytime.It does not sounds good.My suggestion is do not take offence by what the others said to you.Think positive and instead of being defensive why don’t you take the time and effort to improve your english.Slowly but surely you can do that.
          Just my two cents.
          And btw I’m not english either.
          cheers mate

• Opaixx on Jul 13, 2015 at 4:47 pm

Dia mmg drive preve. Nombor plate blakang 2020. Depan W apa tak igt.

• But Tun Use Porsche la!!! on Jul 13, 2015 at 5:24 pm

How to have leader to show by example when leader himself use Porsche???

If Proton car is his passion, he should support Proton and tell his whole family to buy Proton. He himself drives most of the time his Porsche Cayenne. Only to events he will drive an Iriz to show people he is supportive of his Proton product. 99% of the time he uses Porsche Cayenne.

All his children use Porsche. Practically his whole family uses Porsche. Nobody even smells Proton. Even his maids and drivers own cars also NOT Proton.

Tun, if you support Proton, you should make sure everyone including your wife use Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • IrizX on Jul 13, 2015 at 8:27 pm

His maids use Perodua!! LOL.

• Sebab on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:33 am

Tun has good taste in cars unlike Proton supporters

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:06 am

La I said to you Proton for Low income not the rich please understand. The rich car for the rich. Like house the rich stay in rich people house not PPRT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Not everything by example. Look at Chinese president. He ask to make economy boom but he himself can’t do it just asking the expert in economy, why not do it on his own just to show good example.

• Sammy on Jul 13, 2015 at 2:56 pm

I think most malaysian household at some point did own a proton too.
    Tun, how long more Proton will need? Is 30 years not enough? It is suppose to be one of the key drivers for 2020. But the company has problem just to keep afloat, don’t even talk about innovation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • kington on Jul 13, 2015 at 3:40 pm

I’m a a Malaysian, and i’d love to see Proton be a world player.

But I’m sorry, the sacrifices we had to make over the years, no decades is enough. My first car, a 1995 Wira 1.3 GL was my first and surely last Proton.

Tun, you’ve given us reasonably priced cars in Proton and Perodua but many of us are just sick of Proton. My mom’s 2000 P2 Kembara GX Manual gave us no problems at all compared to my Wira. Since then, bulk of my cousins are now driving Kelisas and MyVis which are lesser specced than PReve and Sagas but how long more are we to pay top dollar money just for a C Segment Civic/Corolla/Sylphy/3?

You’ve caught us left, right and centre. Almost every brand out there is government linked – almost every car out there contributes money to the govt and yet Proton continues to give us substandard products. 2 colleagues went for a Suprima and Preve and there were already complaints during delivery of the cars itself.

I’m sorry Tun. PErhaps the best chance Proton ever had was to allow VW to come in but we all know darn well how this would mean the end of Proton’s “PARTNERS/VENDORS” as well as eventual loss of ownership of Proton to the Germans.

But look where we are right now. Young executives struggling to rent a house, let alone buying a Myvi or Persona. Managers driving their C segment cars costing them well above RM100K.

How long more are we to suffer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
      • So many haters that really cant forgive the past and move on. Blaming proton for the unfair G controlling automotive price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
        • kington on Jul 13, 2015 at 6:03 pm

Look, if Proton was willing to abandon their business strategy which was flawed and be fair, we’d be happy to support Proton. Many car producing countries support their local manufacturers too, but not how our government has done. Look at Hyundai in Korea – prices don’t defer that much from Japs.

• If someone rapes your family, can you forgive?

• 30 Years We suffer on Jul 13, 2015 at 5:22 pm

Hello. I live 6 months in UK and 6 months in Malaysia the past 30 years.

Let me tell you, car prices have not gone up so much. Malaysians really kena tipu maximum. How can an Altis cost RM139k? when it was about RM30k in the early 90s?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • kington on Jul 13, 2015 at 5:44 pm

Precisely, a C segment car priced at almost D segment dy….. won’t be long when B segment City and Vios are viewed as luxury cars.

• dugongx on Jul 13, 2015 at 10:44 pm

That is bcoz UMW is the greediest company on earth. Remember TAX FREE Prius was still selling for 150k. I repeat. It was TAX FREE!! In the US it was only USD24k which includes tax and profit margin. UMW gets it for less than USD20k ( RM65k at exchange rate that time) and rip of suckers here for 150k.

So I believe even if proton closes tomoro car prices will still be high. So stop dreaming and work hard instead of complaining.

• kington on Jul 14, 2015 at 8:39 am

That’s because companies like UMW and DRB HICOM are all GLC linked. This was Tun’s “system”.

• UMNO failed Malaysia on Jul 13, 2015 at 5:37 pm

The law student speech on facebook made so many people cry. Younger generation cannot even survive, let alone buy a car or a house.

It is because of Mahathir and his big projects like Proton that has made Malaysia one of the worst GDP per Capita countires in the world. Our Ringgit and remuneration is kacang puteh because of Mahathir.

Nobody in the Y generation can even afford a house in Malaysia. That itself is Mahathir’s biggest failure. All the crony projects like Proton, just to enrichen the UMNO members but 90% of the Malays in Malaysia suffer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
        • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:59 pm

Please do something you seem so intelligent. Oh please tell me you a new Prime Minister for Zimbabwe. Good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • policeman on Jul 13, 2015 at 10:30 pm

You can always opt to end your suffering in exchange for eternal peace. Real easy.

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 9:06 am

It up to you, why it has to do with Proton. I think you have to be more rational.Life is is a test that make you suffer. With or without Proton In Malaysia you still will suffer and everybody in the world is suffering on it own way including the Amarican so what ? Just live your life good or bad it meant for you man.

• Fantastic English on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:20 am

What is Amarican? Wow, what kind of English is this?

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:40 am

How many time I have to say I am Chinese not English. Is it Chinese not allow here ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
          • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:43 am

Why you keep asking the same, you know I am Chinese not all Chinese good in English Haiya ini orang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
          • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:52 am

I said I am Chinese not English what can I do. Can you do something ?

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 4:41 pm

I’m a poor Malay of course poor English lah.
            Itu pun tak paham?

• Mari Mari Songlap Songlap! on Jul 13, 2015 at 5:33 pm

Already sucked an estimated RM100 billion from our LHDN money.

• tokmoh. on Jul 13, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Waa Danny, I thought u wrote off ur Saga after that windscreen smash story u wrote in 3M tint post.

I still have my dad’s hands-me-down Saga 1.5i (trivia : I found out i for istimewa, not injection lel) auto, I do feel quite attached to it. Jasanya tidak terbalas.

But now got head gasket blown, dunno still wanna keep or upgrade to Iriz. Got 2014 stock going for RM34k, hmm not sure if racun bunga c*bai…

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jul 14, 2015 at 9:19 am

Got the windscreen replaced. No longer my daily car but still serving faithfully.

• tokmoh. on Jul 13, 2015 at 3:04 pm

Ok la, I admit I a bit touched by his thanking us Proton owners.

I-it’s not like I appreciate being thanked. B-baka.

• Holofanboi on Jul 13, 2015 at 6:19 pm

LOL! Dont tsundere Proton pls.

Congrats to Proton in anycase, it might be the first tiny step but hey, miracles can happen under a consistent performance.

• AVH (Member) on Jul 13, 2015 at 9:25 pm

What are the slim chance that anyone here understand what Tsundere is.

Proton is more of a Himedare

• tokmoh. on Jul 14, 2015 at 9:44 am

:3

Frankly the only fault in Iriz to me is the powertrain. Aethetics, interior, ergonomics, handling, safety, etc, it’s all well packaged.

Ok, maybe the price is a tad steep, but after discount, it feels really good value for money.

The manual feels not too bad, just that there are better powertrains Proton could possibly adopt. Not sure if botak Perodua boss cocking, but if Proton gets latest Toyota powertrain, that would’ve been awesome.

Oh, now I think about it, I think the manual knob shape was weird. It would’ve been fine if it is a ball shape like in BLM, Satria Neo, Gen2.

@AVH : Guess it’s the 3 of us at least :3

Proton ou hime-sama need power up!

• We believe in Proton using Peroduas supplied Toyota Engine.
    might not able to conquer malaysia, but business can maitain.

more importantly, toyota powered proton can make hit @ other country.

• dodgeviper88 on Jul 13, 2015 at 3:15 pm

you’re welcome, although it’s not like we have other equal choices when others are twice more expensive

• Wan Der on Jul 13, 2015 at 3:20 pm

Tun, only thank you notes? How about special discount on original parts for our aged Proton car? We support your motives, you support our needs. Sounds fair enough isn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • alldisc on Jul 13, 2015 at 3:21 pm

4 million cars sold but not making healthy profits? i wonder where all the money has gone?

proton need to sell more cars. look at south east asia countries. make budget versions of saga (like SV) that is simple to maintain and reliable and market them there.

oh yes, and open up our car market fully prior to the above. let preve compete directly with corolla altis and civic – dont blame uneven floor in neighbouring countries when we do the same.

dare?

and yes, i did owned 3 protons before. Saga megavalve in Istimewa spec, Wira 1.6XLi and Persona entry level. i do support national car project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • rakyat usually buy Proton for their 1st car.. their 2nd car? most probably not Proton.. true or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Tak Laku on Jul 13, 2015 at 3:45 pm

Proton tak laku liew. Now Tun M himself needs to be the salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • mr_em on Jul 13, 2015 at 3:48 pm

And do you drive a Proton all your life Tun M?

• BigBalls on Jul 13, 2015 at 3:54 pm

“Thank you for enriching us cronies, Proton birthday bash wouldn’t happen without your contributions from marked up cars, free money from AP and multiple visits to the Service Centre to replace your power window which we will charge you happily as well” – mamakthir

-BigBalls-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • wiwiwiw on Jul 13, 2015 at 4:29 pm

“multiple visits to the Service Centre”
      So true…
      1) I remember replacing the power window door frame for my Waja that costed me close to RM800!
      2) When a motorcycle broke my side mirror, Proton asked me to replace both side of the side mirror because they come in pairs, I am not kidding on this one!
      3) At the service centre recently, the service manager want to con me to ask to change suspension absorbers and such when it was working well.
      4) My Waja now have no resale value at all and we decided to keep it collecting dust as a emergency car and use my Kelisa as a daily car and a used E36 325i Cabrio as a weekend car.
      5) No thank you Proton! I don’t want to go back to such nightmare experiences.
      6) BTW I am still stuck with a 2001 Waja 1.6X, good car just hopeless build quality and after sales service.
      7) Malaysians are smart dy!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • wiwiwiw on Jul 13, 2015 at 3:56 pm

Yes I owned a couple of Protons before and no, I don’t want to own another one. Poor build quality products and aftersales service attitude nightmare. I am far happier with Proton’s direct competitor now. At the end of the day in Malaysia, it is all about aftersales! aftersales! aftersales!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • hopefully my next car is proton next model…

• kemosabe on Jul 13, 2015 at 4:38 pm

Proton continued poor performance is largely due to people have no confidence in the government (even though its private own now). The damage it has done to the country’s car industry and lives too is a hard nut to crack. It also damaged its own brand image too.

Look at the Koreans relatively younger car industry. It has the people behind it, hence its success. Same goes for the Japanese makes. Without the people support, the product would have little chance of pure success.

• Convince Me on Jul 13, 2015 at 5:29 pm

My previous three cars, all from Proton. Not the current one since I have ‘buang’ a few years ago! Why?. The last was a Waja Premier; had to repair the glove compartment 5 times, until the warranty expired; had two of the power window units replaced, after warranty. The list goes on…. Am actually looking out for a replacement now; but a Proton? Not unless, it gives me an up to date engine technology, reliability, good fuel consumption and Reasonable pricing being a locally manufactured product. I am sure this is what ALL MALAYSIAN WANTS.

• Inkambing… oh shiet! too late!

• olio benzina on Jul 13, 2015 at 5:47 pm

My current Exora Bold CFE is my first Proton.
    For the past 3 years totalling 70000km car has been supremely reliable. Only fault was a delaminating firewall insulator which was replaced no questions asked.
    Service advisors at Proton Plentong have always been warm, patient and accommodating. Servicing costs have been reasonable except for the spark plug surprise (CFE engine requires Denso Iridium).
    Car was hit from behind on NSH one rainy day. Vehicle behind looked bad but Exora only suffered slightly bent underbumper bar. Had to look from below to notice damage as rear look ok from the outside.
    I will definitely be buying another Proton.

Before the Exora all my previous cars were European. (Ford, BMW, Renault, Alfa)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
    • Duty free on Jul 13, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Kalau kat Labuan, you tetap akan beli Ford Renault Alfa jugak lah. Kereta Proton tak main lagi dah. Jangan nak jadi hipokrit.

• olio benzina on Jul 13, 2015 at 8:39 pm

You got problem processing logic or kurang upaya membaca?
        I had European cars even when I was not living in Labuan.

• Al haffi on Jul 13, 2015 at 8:08 pm

u got qualified become Malaysia minister.

• olio benzina on Jul 13, 2015 at 8:51 pm

Rather than be a traitorous scum and diss a good product. You may have problem with the system and the cronies but I’ve met the young engineers and designers at Proton. They are regular people, orang kita just like you and me hasilkan product rekaan sendiri.

Name me one car producing country that don’t have protectionist policy. Go find out why even land of the free USA do not allow Toyota Hilux to be sold there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
        • Menyusahkan Rakyat on Jul 14, 2015 at 6:47 am

Jual kereta asyik rosak repair rosak itu lagi lah mengkhianat rakyat.

• Betol Tak? on Jul 13, 2015 at 5:53 pm

Proton sudah setaraf dengan kereta global BMW, Volvo

Bolehlah MITI hapuskan cukai duti kereta.

Kereta global mana boleh takut open competition.

• You can thank me by buying me a better car. My Saga is horrible. You can afford a Mazda3, right? Whole family so rich.

• Thankyou on Jul 13, 2015 at 7:14 pm

Please close down Proton n Perodua. I dont want to see ppl ride in Tin Kosong anymore. Thank you :)

• Henry on Jul 13, 2015 at 7:20 pm

For 30 years the country have been pouring taxpayers’ money into this bottomless hole. They will still outing for the next 30 years.

Making different models with different brand manufacturers is a bad idea. There are no common parts. The inventory will kill Proton.

• Chong Yew on Jul 13, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Thank you, Tun — father of Thailand’s automotive industry.

• BOYRACER on Jul 13, 2015 at 8:21 pm

I didn’t know you owned a Saga Megavalve.Or maybe I’ve forgotten.Anyway I used to own one too.Generally that car is so easy to maintain and parts are cheap.I bought it as a wreck.Well almost.Did it up by using as many original parts possible.Used or new.A couple of time it let me down due to faulty distributor.Replaced it twice with cheapo parts.Can only last 2 years.Original is very pricey.Sold the car off couple of years ago.
    Now in our household there are 1 Persona & 2 viva.
    What i can tell is Proton cars these days is better compare to previous years.Most people say Perodua cars are better.Yes it is true but only to a certain extend.I won’t bore you guys with the details.I used to own a number of cars through the years.So I know what I’m talking about.

• Mek Dee on Jul 13, 2015 at 8:23 pm

Where is Proton today if there was no protection from the Govt??

Where is Proton today if there were no money pumped in from the Govy for R & D??

Gone case long long ago….

Please Proton…..if you are still stuck in 2nd gear after 30 years, Just call it a quit already….You are holding back other companies progress and cheating the rakyat they rights to own better cars than proton.

By the way, Tun. I cant see the logic that you are the Proton chairman yet you drive a Porsche…Proton not good enough for you??

• policeman on Jul 13, 2015 at 10:20 pm

Thank you sir! Because of you, I still have the chance to drive a manual transmission Lancer, in this world of sissified transmission.

I’m looking to upgrade next year. Hopefully Perdana would have a 2.4 manual. Please don’t regard manual transmission as something for the poor. I’m somewhat disappointed that Inspira is not available in 2.0M. But a 1.8 isn’t that far off.

Thank you for my once in a lifetime opportunity to be able to enjoy a MIVEC with a stick shift. I’m eager to taste a VTEC with a stick. VTEC + LOTUS + MANual transmission = Recipe for success.

Sincerely,
    A big fan of yours.

• Wow.. So many proton hater and anti mahathir commented.
    Anyway.. Proton is in right track. iriz is really a good car. Just test drive and compare. U’ll be suprise. Hopefully proton will introduce good looking suv in the future.

• If they anti-mahathir they must be pro-najib.
      Click like for Mahathir.
      Click dislike for Najib.

• Well, i have a Waja 2006/2007 Manual H Line clocked 240k. To this day the car nvr gave me any major issues. I service the car on the dot. Still good both on the engine and gear box. The interior remains good too, except for the normal wear and tear. My power window failed only once in all these years and only on the driver side. The only major failure was the fuel pump. it failed thrice in all this years.

No I dont love Proton. But to me “My Waja” was an excellent work horse. Long distance no issues. the ride was ok, no to say perfect. Its still in its Original condition with no modifications made.

No regrets, but not another one ! I might had been lucky with this though !

• Proton Dhaka on Jul 14, 2015 at 6:54 am

Rakyat kata pergi, Bangladesh kata mari.

• proton = MAS on Jul 14, 2015 at 7:37 am

Cut the heads off at proton, just like MAS.
    Just like MAS, our “local talent” has driven proton to the ground, numero uno to go: Tun.

• Mr. R on Jul 14, 2015 at 8:23 am

Guys..lets face it..ALL the bashers saying bad things about Proton..is the owners of Proton before the launch of Preve. I admit, the quality during that time is quite terrible. But now, Proton has improved. I personally bought Persona SV. The comfort, handling, safety and pick up its all there. and from the price of what??RM45K..even tin kosong vios after deduct tax will cost more than that. Come on guys..dont talk blindly and talk c*ock if you dont even own a Proton or if you have bad experience of Proton. Proton now has changed..their build quality also has improved. Haters gonna hate..even if Proton use Honda engine with Lotus handling and put 20airbags in the car, there still people gonna bash Proton. So think about it.

• Syamsul on Jul 14, 2015 at 8:29 am

Assalamualaikum. Proton perlu buat inovasi, iaitu enjin elektrik 100%, yg mna enjin ini bole diconvert utk semua jenama keluaran proton,,…berkaitan charging kuasa bateri,mudahkan proses charging seperti telefon dan proton perlu kerjasama dgn syarikat petronas….wujudkan charging secara wireless(tanpa wire) di setiap station petronas, sbgmana ngv hnya ada d petronas….maka rakyat pasti gembira dgn teknologi termaju dn dh tentu kos minyak yg melambung kini dpt saingan drpd teknologi elektrik…mohon pihak proton fikirkan idea ini. wallahualam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Absolute Rider on Jul 14, 2015 at 8:40 am

Many people might hate this, but

Dear YAB Tun M,

Please launch facelift Suprima S in 2016 with redesigned interior PLUS reinforce some body structure then you have a good car.

Anyway, good luck with 2nd generation perdana, persona and third generation saga.

Hot hatch Satria in 2020 (celebrating Vision 2020) or not later 2022. From now to the date, Proton has time to do R&D etc. and Turbo GDI should be mature by then as the production of the engine is starting 2018.

Good luck.

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 9:13 am

This is for economy for those who don’t understand please go and learn. If you a business man let proton do business don’t say bad thing because everybody have their bad thing. This is not what Japanese, American or European do to their country. Please be a good citizen. Proton just want to do business like what Chinese. If you hate business there many other business out there go hate it not just to Proton. Every company have weakness and this world have weakness so find another world or as your mother nature to create another world that better than what we have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 9:19 am

Develop country proud of their country. Please Malaysian be proud of your country and the products or find other country you proud of feel free to leave because this is a free country. Try any country in the world if they accept you as part of them. Come back here when they through you away because Malaysian will always love you.

• guest on Jul 14, 2015 at 10:18 am

My first proton is the year 2000 Waja (first batch). Horrible ownership experience. Doesnt seem like it was build by an enthusiastic team

1. Dislodge fuel hose.
    2. All 4 power windows keep failing
    3. All 4 doors constantly having handle issues
    4. Almost any button on the dashboard/steering has fall off at least once. Surprisingly the SC guy asked me not to use the buttons too much. Seriously?
    5. Boot becomes fish tank when it rains.
    6. Rear lights also become fish tank when it rains.
    7. By 3rd year, side mirror paint start to peel off on its own.

I’d really like to thank DrM for putting all malaysians in a market where car prices are inflated just to make sure proton survives, and at the same time giving us lowest quality proton cars.

It’s really embarrassing to know that proton started 30 years ago as a rebadger company, and 30 years later it’s still in its “infancy” stage. Non-progressive in the last 30 years. 30 years of failure? Oldest baby in the world?

What’s more doubly embarrassing is the fact that the latest perdana is also a rebadged car. As a flagship model, its supposed to showcase an automotive company’s best technologies/capabilities. What is proton trying to portray with this latest perdana? That it’s very good at changing hood badges and rims?

Sometimes, its not about being unpatriotic when you criticise the national car maker. I can say I’m definitely patriotic, but I’m also definitely not a blind patriot. Proton is wasting public funds for so many years that I’m starting to think this company is like a parasite/cancer that just leeches money and churning out substandard products.

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 10:51 am

This is old story please stop. The same thing happen to Toyota, Honda, Nissan BMW or what so ever. Do better for the country or you buy Proton and make it better. What you said show who you are. You seem have a bad thing in you by showing you hateness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
      • guest on Jul 14, 2015 at 2:54 pm

Well, you just displayed exactly what I’d said before, blind patriotism. Props to you.

Old story? How about the exora? Is that recent enough proton product for you? The interior door handle is now loose after only 2 years. I dont believe in “improvement” claims by proton. I only believe it if I can feel or “see” the improvement. Luckily I can still see, but you dont seem to.

Hate? No hate here. Just feel cheated. I guess you’re ok with being cheated over 30 years? Props to you again for your limitless patience.

• Angry proton owner on Jul 14, 2015 at 10:48 am

4 million Protons sold, 4 mil curses not to own another Proton in lifetime

• rogaz on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:10 am

In this space it look people who hate Malaysia success more than who love Malaysia product to be the dominant. It look Proton been abused by Malaysian to destroy Proton. Are you all abuser to your own Chile.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • apamau on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:55 am

Sawadekap, tank you mahatir for helping my country, thailand to become the regional hub for asia.

thank you thank you mahatir, without you, we won’t be there, all thai people wish you long long life, may you live another 50 years, so thai people will benefit for another 50 years. happy birthday to mahatir, the father of thai car industry.

fr thailand automotive hub

• TheDean on Jul 14, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Wow. Did they use a smartphone to record this video? What horrid audio. You have Tun M, Proton’ 30th anniversary, and you come up with this kind of video production? Horrible, shameful and inexcusable.

• Sharkfish on Jul 14, 2015 at 5:09 pm

I find it quite amusing how people always compare the prices of today’s cars with the ones in the past claiming how cheap it was. I was told by my dad that in those days (30 + years ago) a BMW 3 series was just around rm40k. But somehow, my dad can only afford a second hand mitsu lancer. I also remember there was an newspaper article in the early 80’s about footballers’ cars in Malaysia. They were reported to own Alfas, Audis and BMWs. Prices quoted was betwwen rm30k to rm40k. The report went on to say that these were luxury cars? Why?

How many families in those days own a car? Such low price for cars in those days, yet car ownership is considered as a luxury. Why?

Fast forward to today, it is normal for each house to have more than 2 cars. Why? Despite the traffic jams and improvements in public transport, the number of cars keep on escalating. Why? I would imagine even with the completion of the MRT2, the trend would not change. Why?

Anyhow, my family has been ardent fans of Proton. From the first Proton Saga to the current Proton Persona (with Iswara, Satria, Savvy and Saga BLM). Exora mights be next as to accommodate my expanding family.

Thank you Proton.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 14, 2015 at 8:06 pm

I managed to own a new Corolla in the eighties and well into the nineties. In those days I was able to pay off my cars in 3 years and make good use of it for another 5 years without much trouble.

People may be able to buy cars that are more expensive these days but with far longer loans and interest. Even an office boy can get 9 years loan for a Kancil. Jadi apa nak takut? The govt can increase the price cars to protect GLCs and just extend the hire purchase loans up to 15. It is ok for Malaysians to suffer high debt as long as they live long enough to pay it back?

• rogaz friend on Jul 14, 2015 at 5:15 pm

Rogaz, come back to play lah. Why you leave? :(

• I drove a Saga for 13 years. I still have my Wira Aeroback which I bought in 2002. Now I’m driving a Persona. I’m happy.

• Gary Chong on Jul 21, 2015 at 1:18 pm

Yes, some customers were fortunate 2 buy a Proton car dat is free of problems. But on d whole, Proton has caused more damage than good. Proton caused all of us to spend more of our hard-earned cash on cars, whereas in other countries, people pay so much less on cars. Why cant we pay much less for cars? Bcause Gov. want 2 protect Proton as an “infant industry”. Almost 30 years and Proton still nids protection? Proton is a failure. How can it compete wif Hyundai or Kia? I’m not condemning u for buying Proton, bcause most of us at one point wud hav owned a Proton bcause it’s one of d cheapest options available. I’m juz like d others, annoyed dat Proton has caused foreign cars’ price to increase, juz 2 protect Proton.