My Proton Makeover – Amirul reunited with his Satria 1.3

Car number five in the My Proton Makeover programme has been reunited with its owner – Amirul Azim recently received his 2001 Satria 1.3, all spruced up from the refurbishment, from the good folk at Proton.

Petaling Jaya-born Amirul, who works for an IT management company, described his relationship with the Satria as one that has matured over the years. From his bachelor days, subsequently into marriage and now as a father of two, Amirul’s Satria has seen many miles doing daily commutes to Cyberjaya and regular family visits back to Kuantan.

In expressing his admiration for the brand and the work done by the R3 team when he sent his car in, Amirul mentioned a particular fondness for the Satria Neo R3, so the R3 lads decided to give his car a Fire Red exterior shade, along with a Satria GTI body kit and a limited-edition R3 race splitter, explained R3’s head of engineering Tengku Djan Ley.

Elaborating further, Djan said that Amirul stated his joy for fast driving, as well as his long-distance commuting – as such, in overhauling the car’s engine, tweaks were made to adjust to Amirul’s driving habits to enhance overall performance of his beloved Satria.

A coil-over system was installed to improve the car’s handling, and the rear brakes have been upgraded from drums to discs, giving the Satria better stopping power.

“With regards to the aesthetics, we gave the car’s interior a matching red theme, similar to that of the Satria Neo R3,” Djan added. “Topping it off, we opted to give Amirul a set of 15-inch wheels, so that the acceleration of his 1.3 litre car will not be compromised. This is definitely an impressive package presented by the R3 team, not just with regards to performance and drivability, but also in its styling,” he concluded.

Amirul was certainly a very happy bunny, thanking the R3 team profusely during the handover ceremony. “This unforgettable gift from Proton will forever be etched in my heart. The generosity, time and effort that have been shown to my car and I is immeasurable,” he enthused.

The 2001 Satria joins Fadly Hisham Roplay’s 1992 Saga, Sashideran Radha Krishnan’s 1994 Wira, Norzamzarini Mohd Bajuri’s 1996 Iswara Aeroback and Hafiz Mohd Hashim’s 2001 Satria GTI as the five makeover specials done so far. The final car due out is a 1991 Saga belonging to homemaker Lee Koon Gaik.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Name (required) on May 17, 2012 at 12:28 pm

nice Satria ..

• Nissan on May 17, 2012 at 12:30 pm

this one looks much better than the previous satria GTi

• I think most people here are expecting engine upgrade. But then again, congrats.

• GTR 2.0 on May 17, 2012 at 2:19 pm

Should upgrade it to 1.6 CFE, at least. That way, Proton can show how truly they appreciate their loyal customers.

• Daniel on May 17, 2012 at 12:36 pm

I wonder how much the refurbishment cost is? Proton did’t reveal the cost? It would be better if they did cz someone who has the same car but didn’t get the VIP treatment by Proton might happen what to send their car to Proton for the same job.

• I was thinking the same thing, if the cost is affordable I would send my 15 yrs old aeroback to refurbish there. Rather than send it to ah beng.

• MoFaz on May 17, 2012 at 1:53 pm

R3 is not doing refurbishment as the business. this is just a special program by Proton.

• damnnnn~

• theanswer on May 17, 2012 at 5:05 pm

lol..they know that. what they mean is..r3 ‘should’ do the refurbish thingy if the cost is affordable. they knew the car very well..go the parts..why not.

• Nice exterior, but the interior finishing looks cheap.

• noname on May 17, 2012 at 2:50 pm

of course la, they still maintain the satria 1.3 interior with no power window

• Makeover? The dashboad is so dirty.

• artworks on May 17, 2012 at 12:58 pm

dashboard was alcantara fabric wrapped lah , moi.

• sheriuh on May 18, 2012 at 8:45 am

Alcantara ka, pukantara ka, still looks dirty. Get off your high horses, snobs.

• koochai on May 17, 2012 at 1:05 pm

that is alcantara

• icecube on May 17, 2012 at 1:07 pm

Dirty?? it’s a velour dash cover for god sake! u should wash ur eyes..

• downsys on May 17, 2012 at 1:10 pm

Amoi, the dashboard is not dirty lah. It looks sort of like Suede material. That’s why you can see the finger prints there. Not sure what kind of material they use but it definitely isn’t dust covering the dash.

• that is not dirty fren,……..Chamois leather maybe…

• If not dirty, then bad choice of material used. Vacumn dashboard anyone?

• Ordinary Joe on May 17, 2012 at 5:16 pm

hahahahah.. dirty..*palmface*
      FYI, this is the same stuff (its called alcantara btw) used in rally cars as it doesnt glare in the sun like plastic dashboard. This high-end stuff.

• armandd on May 17, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Yup, same as Lamborghini’s dash. The material is called alcantara.

• good job r3 but ateast lap lah dasboard dia tuh.

• artworks on May 17, 2012 at 12:59 pm

is not dirty lah bro….

• icecube on May 17, 2012 at 1:13 pm

lap ke kiri ke kanan bro? dash cover jenis camtu kena lap one direction je.ke ada cara lain yg lagi baik?

• ohhH! no more bad talk to p1

• icecube on May 18, 2012 at 9:19 am

it’s not a matter of bad talk! it’s just a matter of knowing what you’re talking about!
        different rite?

• alcantara material….thats not dirty

• Anthony, last link is invalid: “the final car due out” referred to “hhttp://”

• SuperHyde on May 17, 2012 at 1:05 pm

I guess the dashboard is velvet a.k.a baldu.So it look like dirty…But why use velvet instead of rubber pvc

• Simon on May 17, 2012 at 1:23 pm

The license plate JPJ approved or not?

• hway de Cruz on May 17, 2012 at 1:25 pm

nice effort, owner shud hv another 5 to 8 years of happy motoring. color choice red paintwork is nice too, makes the car ready n raving to go. seats looks great, nice blending color. centre console, i think they over do it abit… too loud, rather a darker color could blend in better. work done on the boot looks great too, a refreshing look.

• The exact number plate that i used last time and got the fine by police..

• Cheah Tat Cheong on May 17, 2012 at 1:51 pm

Proton should also makeover their best lemons – the worthless Proton Tiara, the uglier than ugly Juara, or maybe the ultra short-lived Waja with the 1.8 Renault engine.

• Twin sis AX on May 17, 2012 at 11:03 pm

It would be too great a challenge for Tiara makeover so Proton dun dare go near it’s step child…

• i think the number plate is just for the photo session.

• fazila on May 17, 2012 at 1:52 pm

where can buy satria neo R3 seat etc..want to reburbish my car like this also..

• confused on May 17, 2012 at 2:23 pm

Look at the left front turn flasher. Nice Ah Beng’s assembly there..

• nasir on May 17, 2012 at 2:25 pm

Should have upgraded the safety aspects of this car with airbags instead cos
    U know he loves to drive fast and is also a father of two!!!

• alfard on May 17, 2012 at 3:59 pm

they have upgraded the car body so it is now tougher then proton sawi so no need airbags.

• theanswer on May 17, 2012 at 5:09 pm

yadadadada…after this what? abs and traction contol. be grateful u should (like yoda ;p)

• matlimmutu on May 17, 2012 at 2:56 pm

nicely done!!

• '76 Hemi Barracuda on May 17, 2012 at 3:00 pm

mak ai!!..why still got “Pulas Window” instead of powered window??
    ayyoo..change la..so stingy…

• droll on May 17, 2012 at 4:11 pm

wow, this looks really good (comparing to what the original was, the r3 boys have done a good job)!

my only concern is the front lip – looks quite low. becareful not to scratch it!

• With the skirting so low, he won’t be able to enter into any basement car park.

• LOL..this is not even a GTI..satria 1.3?..sau pei la

• harris murad on May 17, 2012 at 9:46 pm

i would say superb job done!
    but..
    no power window upgrade kah?

adoiii….

• halo ….how to upgrade power window ? no point lar …. until power window still suck … haha

anyway free make over sure good lar ….

• nice rims and tyre..
    anyone can guess what the rim size and tyre profile is that?

• kjryth on May 18, 2012 at 3:19 am

mmg best kereta ni

• alldisc on May 18, 2012 at 8:52 am

still manual winding door windows.. ah! maybe they want to maintain the lightweight mode for better acceleration!

• shawal the airhead.. on May 18, 2012 at 12:21 pm

Why I never see Satria GTi body kit made into Wira or Putra version…I bet it look nicer..

• Mnemonic on May 18, 2012 at 2:01 pm

I wonder how much would it cost in total to have all these modification.

• Aihhh…..wait a minute what happend to the gear nob >>>>??? missing

• tok-kok on May 18, 2012 at 9:39 pm

looks like the R3 boys upgraded the Satria 1.3’s fuel system from Carby to EFi .. nice work!

• There are so many poor Protongkat owners that suffer endless repairs until they cannot afford new car anymore.

How about them? How Protongkat would take care of them? Even original spare parts cost arm and legs to buy, yet some still rosak after install.

This kind of trick show should stop. It’s an insult to the rest of poor and betrayed Protongkat owners.

It’s show that Protongkat cannot get its car right and proper at first place.

• SuperHyde on May 20, 2012 at 4:59 pm

About the place…Some can use some cant use..Same like tinted..Some can use black but some kena saman..No body perfect..If u rich, you can do anything..But if you like normal people…kena la saman plate, skirting, bla2…exhaust….this is malaysia..accept it..like me..no point argue..they still got money and we still pay the fined…lolz

• johnson on May 21, 2012 at 1:17 pm

The day proton close shop that will be the day MALAYSIA achieved freedom in automobile industry.This mahathir has been ripping off the rakyat for years and yet many malaysians failed to realize that invention of proton has deprived them of buying better quality cars.The latest addition to mahathir’s proton family PREVE is the worse design besides gen 2 and savvy and juara.come to think of if all proton cars are useless and poorly designed.Making up old junks does not do any good.Anyway many typical malaysians still love proton cars and modify them with additional skirting and so many light and fancy colours.Poor jokers.STOP MAKING MAHATHIR AND HIS CRONIES RICH….stop buying proton,….

• macam pimp my ride….but sadly its a proton…
    no point of pimping my ride after all all useless junk parts used…simply terrible to copy cat the american but the proton inventor always talk bad about america…top of the most corrupted moron

• fizza on Jun 02, 2014 at 6:00 pm

serius. gempak satria awk :) :3

• kecik on Sep 11, 2015 at 4:51 pm

haii … boleh tk terangkan mcm mne My Proton Makeover ni???