2016 Toyota Prius – official pix leaked before launch!

2016-toyota-prius-2

My, oh my, Toyota just can’t keep the leaks plugged, can it? Just hours prior to its planned unveiling in Las Vegas later today, the 2016 Toyota Prius has been completely revealed via official press photos published on Chinese website CarNewsChina.

We’ve already seen pretty much what the car will look like – thanks to photos of undisguised cars floating on the Internet a couple of weeks ago – but here is our first proper look at the fourth-generation hybrid. Clearly inspired by the Mirai fuel cell vehicle, the styling is certainly the most outlandish and dynamic to ever grace a Prius, even though much of the proportions remain the same as before.

At the front, there are arrow shaped headlights mounted high above the low-set nose. Moving rearwards, a “floating roof” design, steeply-rising beltline, blown surfacing above the wheel arches and distinctive plunging full-length tail lights ensure that you will notice the new Prius on the road, something that can’t really be said of its predecessors. And my, do those wheels look familiar

For the first time, we also get a look at the interior of the car. As with previous Prii, the instrument cluster sits on top and in the centre of the dashboard and incorporates a display showing the operation of the Hybrid Synergy Drive system, but it’s now a full-colour display.

Below this sits a more upright centre console, finished in gloss black; its “wings” are spread out the full width of the dashboard. Unlike the third-gen model, the little gear selector “cube” sits vertically, and the surrounding panel as well as the top of the transmission tunnel is finished in gloss white – we wonder how durable this new surface treatment is in day-to-day use. There’s also a new three-spoke steering wheel.

It is confirmed that the next Prius will be built on the modular Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA) designed to reduce cost and resources consumed, whilst improving performance, fuel efficiency and styling. There will also be improvements to the electric motor, battery and existing 1.8 litre engine, so all-in-all the system will reportedly produce around 150 PS, a handy 14 PS increase from the current model.

Not long now until the proper, official unveiling of the 2016 Toyota Prius – stay tuned for the full launch report.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Tesla on Sep 09, 2015 at 11:33 am

Oh God..

• Gargantia on Sep 09, 2015 at 12:46 pm

When reach Malaysia expect UMW price RM200k for this “people’s car hydrid all around in the world”… Except Bolehland taxes system “rich people’s car only” !!! Thanks BN.

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 09, 2015 at 11:46 am

Please la Toyota.. Is this the ugliest design that u can produced? Can u make something uglier than this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • Same L0rrrr on Sep 09, 2015 at 11:57 am

When some old folks (not the age but the mindset) can’t accept the futuristic look, they come speak non-sense.

Pretty or not, it is subjective. But some factors are universally true:
    1. Comfort
    2. Fuel Saving
    3. Cheap Maintenance
    4. Reliable
    5. Powerful
    6. Good RV

You won’t go wrong with sushi car, especially Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 34
    • vecko on Sep 09, 2015 at 1:23 pm

LOL all factors above are useless when its price is 200k

• sayur on Sep 09, 2015 at 3:14 pm

who want to but this ugly car..

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 09, 2015 at 4:31 pm

RM200k thanks to Proton!

i8 put a BMW logo, you think cantik while this one you think ugly without the conti logo? No wonder I saw so many Saga with VW, BMW, Mercedes logos on the road.

• vecko on Sep 09, 2015 at 10:35 pm

Even in other developing countries cars are still expensive without p1.

So if you want to make it nice, why not you put BMW logo on your Prius too?

Lolololololololololol

• hailthepurist on Sep 09, 2015 at 1:45 pm

you put too much wasabi dude..

• Piiiraahhh….mabuk. Kereta mcm hampeh

• omegle on Sep 09, 2015 at 12:01 pm

a mirai-esque looking hybrid car, but wth so ugly..

• thepolygonal on Sep 09, 2015 at 12:12 pm

They should have just port the entire engine into an Altis. Should sell better.

• TheDuh on Sep 09, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Which failure in life did Toyota hire as car designers?

• Sam Loo. Originally he wanted “Hi-RV” stamped on the door panels but his CEO says no.

• Kancil Turbo Kepishh Kepishh on Sep 09, 2015 at 12:26 pm

WTH!!! It looks like ikan keli on wheels!

• sabahan on Sep 09, 2015 at 12:29 pm

what the hell is this…..

• vincent on Sep 09, 2015 at 1:01 pm

The steering wheel is hideous!

• Bomoh on Sep 09, 2015 at 1:43 pm

Why they always like to make hybrid car so ugly….

• inderaloka on Sep 09, 2015 at 1:55 pm

Toyota dah habis idea.

• spongewai on Sep 09, 2015 at 1:57 pm

Toyota CEO said their company are the best and No.1 automaker in the world

sorry Toyota, we are truly disappointment bout your design

• I’m so glad i got the current generation Prius

• horreysheet on Sep 09, 2015 at 2:36 pm

so ugly shit. best hybrid car in the word with the ugliest design