2016 Toyota Prius revealed before its world premiere!

2016-Prius-18

If there ever were a car that polarised car enthusiasts right from the onset, it would be the Toyota Prius. Ever since it was unveiled back in 1997, the Prius was always a trailblazer of sorts. Many decried its styling, but in terms of its functionality, practicality and sheer efficiency, nothing came close to it.

But fast forward to 2015, and it’s a brave new world. We’ve got full-electric vehicles from the likes of Tesla that are redefining what it is to experience exhilarating performance, without a petrol engine on the side. Every other automaker is basically trying to formulate a plan to take on this new paradigm in motoring. But cars like the Prius straddle both worlds, harnessing the most of its electric energy whilst optimising the efficiency of its internal combustion engine as well.

This brings us to these pictures of the next-generation 2016 Toyota Prius, revealed in all of its glory ahead of its planned unveiling at the Frankfurt Motor Show.

2016-Prius-2

Its styling looks like a Mirai-inspired job, and more importantly, the Prius will be the first vehicle to be built on the Toyota New Global Architecture (TNGA) modular platform, for both the regular and plug-in versions. It’ll probably have an upgraded version of its 1.8 litre petrol engine, so expect at least 150 hp all in all.

Judging from these pictures that show the vehicle in a cargo hold, it actually looks pretty nice. The front façade does have a quirky look, but it’s sufficiently futuristic. This new design DNA is either going to make you love it or hate it at first sight. The rear is especially unique, with its revised taillights that give it a slightly more fluid feel.

So, the 2016 Toyota Prius. Do you hate it or love it?

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Prius spyshots

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• SmallFart on Sep 01, 2015 at 10:27 am

R&D Dept. trying too hard to impress the future?
    Sam KimChi, come defend..kam kam…

• snorty on Sep 01, 2015 at 1:30 pm

This is snorty car, front nose like pig
      Dose it sound like pig too?

• Hitesh on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:20 pm

This car is subjective, some like it some not. I seen this in other blog. Why is paul article do copy and paste

• Same L0rrrr on Sep 01, 2015 at 3:00 pm

Outlook nice or not, it is very subjective. Just like you think your wife/gf is gorgeous but ur friend might think your head got problem.

Other than outlook, the objective measurement such as comfort, reliable, power, cheap maintenance, good RV is undeniable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
          • Don’t talk cr*p! 2nd hand car dealer says my 2013 Altis worth 60+K only. About 50% value gone! nah!

• paulnut on Sep 01, 2015 at 6:05 pm

since you support saga so much, you shall get the saga hybrid for good RV

• samelordupe on Sep 01, 2015 at 1:38 pm

BMW Audi Merc where got such designs? This design can only be seen on super cars!

• OMG…The design is futuristic, very nice and special shape of front and rear lamps…Overall Excellent…

• Not a fan of Toyota/Lexus current design language. It doesn’t flow smoothly. Too edgy & lacks refinement. Feels like Toyota is trying to be different just for the sake of it. Still very much a work in progress / development stage like design language for me.

• mathwufky on Sep 01, 2015 at 10:44 am

One must be extra careful when trying to replace the headlights or tail lights once they’re damaged or faulty. Looks dangerously sharp as hell!

• What happened to design nowadays…. Everything is edgy and stretched…

• Leafable on Sep 01, 2015 at 11:07 am

Oh my eye! They destroy the car even further in term of design. It’s fxcking ugly. My all time favourite hybrid car have just went pop. Thank you Toyota.

• Oh my, the rear lights is weird.

• The only time I’ll ever be grateful that hybrid cars are too expensive. It’s like a child’s drawing come to life.

• spongewai on Sep 01, 2015 at 11:20 am

UGLY FACE

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Sep 01, 2015 at 11:27 am

Awful design and curving. After all only an ordinary EV car, why design such a curving exterior. Like arrow, not green concept car.thump down

• azhar on Sep 01, 2015 at 11:35 am

one thing for sure…its uglier than before

• kind of over-designed…weird

• That is one hell of ugly rear design. front is somewhat good maybe?

• Veneno on Sep 01, 2015 at 12:25 pm

I need to check my eyes after looking at this fugly..

• sabahan on Sep 01, 2015 at 1:18 pm

my gosh…. what kind of headlamp is that?

• zamer on Sep 01, 2015 at 1:37 pm

a slight touch at the rear end would make u to replace the whole rear light..

looks dangerous to wallet as i see..
    imagine your kids with bicycle handle hit it ..damn..

• ok lah.. at least look like a normal car (excepet the tailight). previos design look like a tenis shoe

• Pontan-HairStylist on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:11 pm

my kind of car design! i gonna love it when i see it in flesh & naked and would rub it with my fingers all over this prius. well done!

• Ongtk on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:37 pm

If price right when launched, I will definitely replace my existing Prius with this new incarnation. It looks good and is futuristic.

• albag on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:43 pm

nice car… I like it… nowadays cars are so futuristic… exactly like the ones we saw on books 30 years ago

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 01, 2015 at 2:45 pm

It looks…..futuristic for sure but I think the designers went a little over the top with the rear end design. They could have taken some lessons from the BMW i3 and 98 which looked like proper EVs or even Tesla for the matter.

Too bad this Prius will sell for the same price as a BMW or an Audi over here.

• DPCraft on Sep 01, 2015 at 4:01 pm

The front could’ve look nice if it’s not so overdone, the rear should look sharper if remove the curvy lights…

• typical us, Malaysians, prejudge everything..

• worldwidewait on Sep 01, 2015 at 4:46 pm

Like!
    Unless the bolehland lawmakers bring back the EEV exemption for CBU cars, I wouldn’t be able to afford it here.

• Hahaha…this is truly really enough said Toyota going move to coffin.

• Bruise on Sep 01, 2015 at 10:04 pm

WTF premiere rubbish huh?

• Bristol on Sep 01, 2015 at 10:05 pm

kanasai, worst than P1 exterior design

• Carter on Sep 01, 2015 at 10:06 pm

i still prefer Mercedes Benz, work hard to get one! I can do it

• Shadowsniper on Sep 02, 2015 at 8:19 am

Nice…. for sure it will be on wrong price tag