Volkswagen UK admits EU test results altered by “defeat devices” – 1.2 million diesel vehicles affected

Volkswagen Polo Facelift 14

More on the ongoing Volkswagen ‘Dieselgate’ scandalAutocar UK understands that Volkswagen UK chief, Paul Willis, has recently admitted that the “defeat devices” employed in numerous affected diesel cars did, in fact, alter the end result of several emission tests in Europe. The German carmaker has previously stated that only certain vehicles were equipped with said devices.

Also, Volkswagen didn’t confirm whether or not the “defeat devices” were operational during the NEDC (New European Driving Cycle) emission tests. However, when queried if said cheat software was employed during type approval for the UK, Willis stated, “It seems from what I understand – and I’m not an engineer – that the system of gas regulation in the engine influenced the NOx output in cars that we sell in the UK.”

“These cars are type approved across all of Europe, of course, and they’re type approved in Germany, with separate people overlooking it,” he added. “That’s why we need to fix the cars, that’s why we need to get the customers in, and that’s why we need to put the cars right.”

diesel-pix-wm

At the moment, a total of 1,189,906 diesel vehicles (spread across different VW Group brands) in the UK are believed to have been affected. Of the total, around 400,000 cars equipped with Volkswagen’s 1.6 litre EA189 diesel engine would require more than just a software recalibration. The suggested fitment of new fuel injectors would “take a longer period of time” to fix, according to Willis.

On the other hand, the remaining 700,000 plus units comprised of 2.0 litre diesels and another 30,000 plus cars with 1.2 litre diesel engines can be rectified via software patches alone. Details into how the repairs will be conducted remain relatively unknown but Willis has assured UK customers that there will be no difference in fuel economy. “Our engineers are working to the brief that there cannot be any change in miles per gallon.”

Willis has also confirmed that the VW Group will hold talks with Her Majesty’s Revenue & Customs (HMRC) should the need to compensate the treasury on revenue lost because of the “defeat devices” arise. “The British taxpayer should not be out of pocket and if necessary, we will have a meeting with HMRC,” Willis said.

VW jetta TDI US-spec

Additionally, the NEDC cycle itself has come under criticism from several quarters, including Willis and the chief executive of the Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders, Mike Hawes. “The test cycle dates back to the early 1980s and the industry recognises it isn’t fit for purpose,” said Hawes.

“When you put a vehicle on the test cycle, for instance, all of the electronic devices that you would turn on in the real world – air-conditioning, heating, sat-nav, Bluetooth – all of that has to be switched off, by law, because when the regulation was created that sort of technology wasn’t available,” he added. Hawes himself is convinced that a more contemporary and realistic test cycle will be introduced in 2017.

“We need completely independent tests that look at all sorts of detail, like Euro NCAP, which uses real-world testing. We need to look at that,” added Willis. On a global scale, newly-appointed Volkswagen CEO, Matthias Mueller, has stated that all affected vehicles will be rectified by the end of 2016.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• The test has to be conducted in real world a

• VGM Pls Close Shop on Oct 15, 2015 at 10:13 am

Pls close shop VGM. MAA sales figures show declining sales. Soon it will be kosong

• Andrew Leong on Oct 15, 2015 at 2:48 pm

Sales goes up and down la! Sales figure declining not only in VW, it also goes to many other car manufacture.
        With the our currently economic not much ppl afford a 100k car already! that why declining

• Danny K on Oct 15, 2015 at 3:17 pm

VGM cannot close shop la! if VGM close shop? who service my car? If VGM close shop where to do my warranty claim?
        People who don’t own VW, of course wish VGM close shop.. but owner like us, which VW stay forever!

• 2014 Passat Owner on Oct 13, 2015 at 7:29 pm

I own a Passat. Bought in March 2014. Until today, my car has broken down 5 times. All DSG related. Each time, VW SC hold my car for 3 weeks and replace the DSG to a new box.

This year, already broken down twice.

I feel cheated.

• Button on Oct 14, 2015 at 2:10 pm

So from March – December 2014 they changed your gearbox 3 times and this year they changed it two times? And you havent instituted legal action?

• Only real idiots buy VW in Malaysia. Europe is poor man’s car. In Mlaaysia VW market their cars as if Rolls Royce. Bodoh betul

• You been spreading your car breakdown news here and there.. I guess I see you more than 20 times already. .Sometimes if you ask me.. you not boring.. i myself also boring!!!

• The Scrutineer on Oct 13, 2015 at 9:03 pm

If Malaysian users can’t get you on the DSG issue – the world will get you on the diesel issue.

Oh my VW how the tides have changed no in your favour. Karma is in deed a boomerang!

• dulu orang VW aksi, sekarang macam pariah

• adidaj on Oct 15, 2015 at 3:25 pm

What problem with DSG? Well, I am driving VW Jetta for the past 2 year yet to see any problem with my car! somehow I would think the DSG issued had totally solved!