ASEAN NCAP responds to Proton’s tether-gate

saga-flx+

The ASEAN NCAP has issued a response statement following the admission by national carmaker Proton that it “mistakenly omitted” the top tethers from the current Saga models, and regrets the miscommunication with ASEAN NCAP on the matter.

In the statement, ASEAN NCAP acknowledges the upfront approach by Proton to openly admitting to the omission of the top tether. It also added that the automobile safety-rating program would follow through on Proton’s recovery plan of offering free installation of the top tether to current Saga owners.

Lastly, ASEAN NCAP will increase their engagement level with Proton to ensure that any miscommunication instances like this do not occur in the future. A final, updated decision relating to this matter will be provided during the ASEAN NCAP Child Safety Day on November 11, 2015 at Autoliv Hirotako Sdn. Bhd. in Balakong.

Top tether

Perodua was the first company to respond, assuring its customers that all their vehicles adhered to the safety requirements and conform to the safety ratings awarded by ASEAN NCAP.

As a recap, on October 15, ASEAN NCAP issued a show cause letter to a Malaysian carmaker for removing the top tether fitment in a previously tested vehicle. This was revealed when consumers’ complaints were relayed to ASEAN NCAP.

Proton’s response came shortly after, where it stated that its cars met the regulatory safety standards but on the statement issued by ASEAN NCAP on October 13, it stated it could neither confirm nor deny the matter. Several days later, Proton issued a statement where it admitted to being the carmaker mentioned in the tether-gate issue.

top tether attachment

It explained that, “the top tether was not a regulatory requirement for OEMs to fit in their cars at the point when the car was tested. Although we had complied with safety regulations and other required conditions in the country, we had overlooked in updating ASEAN NCAP on the omission of the top tether from the current Saga models.”

The Saga was initially given a one-star rating in 2012, and was later crash tested again in 2013, this time fitted with an enhanced safety package. The improved Proton Saga received a three-star rating, which has stayed in place until now.

The carmaker also pointed out that the lack of the top tether does not affect the safety of Adult Occupancy Protection (AOP), as it is meant for the installation of child seats that can still be fitted in the car through normal rear seat belt installation.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Oct 22, 2015 at 10:15 am

Please support we love Rakyat, lie once no more in future… Please continue buy from Proton. We’re not VW worst then Proton bigger cheater !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 55
    • SSaturn on Oct 22, 2015 at 11:41 am

I am sure you will be well hated :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Thank you UMNO on Oct 22, 2015 at 12:07 pm

So shy. Typical Proton, 30 years cheating the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 12:19 pm

They admit the problem and miscommunication. So what is your problem haters? Solving the root cause and overcome it are better than continue installing defective Takata airbag and selling non-safe ESC car to rakyat. Keep calm and continue support Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 50
          • SSaturn on Oct 22, 2015 at 3:19 pm

I am still pretty sure you will be well hated :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 5:19 pm

SSaturn aka Satan or whatever..I don’t mind. The one who hated me is the one get paid and blindly bashing our national car maker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
          • RubberisedDeek on Oct 22, 2015 at 7:26 pm

Ah Beng – First, everrybody knows you are not Chinese. Second, everybody knows you work for Proton.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 22, 2015 at 9:02 pm

Knew it is Proton! VW may installed cheat device, Proton doesn’t even bother to install device.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Proton Full of Lies on Oct 22, 2015 at 12:02 pm

Nobody trust Proton. Not only this lie but there are many lies hidden. Proton is the cause of why all our cars are expensive too. Malaysians are fed up of supporting a company that has been leeching on LHDN for years. Every year billions go into Proton just to keep the company alive despite fooling the rakyat that it belongs to DRB Group. Even this sale was a sham to fool the rakyat that Proton had been bought and is in private hnds. Infct DRB uses Proton as a Trojan Horse to suck more money from the Government for the group.

Close down Proton please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 18
      • By your logic, then Toyota & VW (and all their subsidiaries) should kolos shop too. So what car can you drive then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • matsalleh on Oct 22, 2015 at 12:40 pm

i dont understand what you are trying to say and now i have a headache because of it.

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Oct 22, 2015 at 1:07 pm

Lousy people just support and buy Proton will do… no more headache if you own many Proton cars !!!

• Adidas on Oct 22, 2015 at 10:32 am

Proton got the show cause letter but then came out stating they could not confirm nor deny they were the carmaker (*snort*) in question?

• daily on Oct 22, 2015 at 11:04 am

Several days later, Proton issued a statement where it admitted to being the carmaker mentioned in the tether-gate issue.

• Glitter on Oct 22, 2015 at 11:38 am

maybe they didnt respond earlier because they have not receive any official letter from ANCAP yet? and after they have, then only the responded,.. fair la,..

• I think chronologically it was:
      1) NCAP came out with the press statement but havent send letter
      2) P2 says not them
      3) P1 says cannot confirm or deny
      4) P1 then got letter
      5) P1 admitted their mistake
      6) NCAP responds to P1 actions

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • camtakpro on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:16 pm

Noob Proton just pretend they don’t know what they had removed.

What next? Blame the workers don’t know how to count the airbags.

• i really worry about proton features and quality i have in a Proton.

Such a cheap easy thing u already cheating.. what else?
    Allah knows.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • HowaboutInspira on Oct 22, 2015 at 11:10 am

Only Saga? How about Inspira? Missing top tether too.

• Observer on Oct 22, 2015 at 1:56 pm

Umm… it wasn’t there in the first place? Duh…
      This only become an issue because the variant tested by ASEAN NCAP has top tether but the latest variant (Saga Plus) does not have it…. TBH this is not violating any law nor does PROTON lie to customers… because in their brochure it doesn’t say that SAGA Plus has top tether… if it stated that SAGA Plus has it and the car customer receive doesn’t have it, then it is cheating… like VW saying their car meet emission regulation but in reality it is not…

• Tangkap basah on Oct 22, 2015 at 11:18 am

Issue solved so move on lah guys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Not so. If P1 did use 3stars AseanNCAP for advert their saga, then affected saga customers should bring lawsuit to P1 for misleading advertising. What is wrong is wrong, and should be punished.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Observer on Oct 22, 2015 at 1:59 pm

Without top thether SAGA is still 3 Star AseanNCAP rating…maybe lower points in COP / CRA

• Thank you UMNO on Oct 22, 2015 at 12:05 pm

Why Mahathir so quiet?? Never comment about tethergate?

• No Need on Oct 22, 2015 at 6:28 pm

Why comment? When most people puja because he joined bersih.. HAHA!

he knows hes getting the dough even retired.

• The issue is not whether the top tether is a regulatory requirement for OEMs or if how many of us use the top tether. The issue is about cheating to obtain a higher rating. Cheating … period. Even if you advertise 2 teh tarik hooks but only install 1 hook, it is also cheating. And cheating have no place in business.

• Than VW is a bigger cheater…So close shop lah…

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 22, 2015 at 1:47 pm

Yes they are. So the CEO steps down. They may be liable for billions of Fines from regulatory bodies.

Proton? Life goes on. Not a squeak from Tun Mamak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • VW don’t sent their goons telling people to be glad that they have admit their mistake and they don’t question how many people actually care about the emission.

• Low Budget on Oct 22, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Kan VW dan CEO nya dah kena taruk kau-kau !!
        CEO Proton? Still happy-happy.

• amende lahanat on Oct 22, 2015 at 11:33 pm

Ceo die mmng step down, tp dah berbiliion die kebas baru step down. Kantoi 2014. Die buat rilek, bile US nk saman baru CEO step down. Ko ni, bace dlu la kronologi die. Jgn jadi bodoh yg bajet power.

• Apapun dia step down kan? Ada proton buat cam tu?
            Instead of stepping down, Proton dengan angkuhnya tanya berapa orang yang gunakan top tether tu. Inilah perbezaannya.

• Mat Piah on Oct 22, 2015 at 7:21 pm

Dont talk about VW la, the issue here is about Proton. VW is a giant, even with dieselgate, they will still survive. Dont know how long Proton will survive? This is just one issue. Proton has so many other issues not resolved yet.

• Proton 15% TIV in 2015 on Oct 22, 2015 at 12:38 pm

Proton is never a car marker aimed to crate value, it is just a myriads of crony interest disguised under the name of “national pride and industrialisation” to cheat, exploit and milk the Malaysian people.

Please go to the showroom of Nissan, Mazda, Honda or any continental brand, open the displayed car door and have a seat in the driving cabin. Please use your sense to touch the dashboard, seats and even the gear knob. Use your hand to push and pull the door panels, that’s how a door panel should be screwed together. You’ll get to feel what quality is all about.

Now go to the showroom of Proton. Just pick a Preve or the Suprima, please pay attention to the door panel when you’re closing it. The whole door panel is bended while you’re doing so! Now touch the fabric seat of the Preve, the sewing texture and quality is downright horrendous, one of the worst you can find in the market. The gear knob, loosen and cluncky. The power window panel, so loosen that you could pull the whole thing upwards with one finger. The glovebox, so misaligned that you wouldn’t know you’ve close it properly. The finishing, those awful gaps everywhere… That alone, tells you a lot whether a car maker is serious in making good quality product for the consumer or just a blood sucking leech taking things for granted and treat their customers like fools.

Proton could shout whatever gimmicks that they want, it doesn’t make a difference if they still stick to their old modus operandi of placing crony interest before the consumer. It doesn’t take a genius to figure that out, just by sitting in their car alone will tell you enough of whether Proton is sincere in making great cars or producing junk.

So for the tether, I’ll take it no surprise as Proton core value of doing business has been manifested through their junk cabin. All in th name of crony benefits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
    • Proton same level with VW already in cheating customer…

• nabill (Member) on Oct 22, 2015 at 1:39 pm

i agree with your first paragraph…although at the begining it probably had good n honest aspirations , and some dogs came along later in its life and the rest is well known

• Top tether is only to obtain higher raitn in cop rates….which never mean for an adult…i can see those proton’s haters who dont even like what proton do…proton has done great a few years recently…undoubtly it is…and about money, proton lately has never ask or seek for goverment money anymore…they can stand by their own actually…go to alami proton carnival and see what proton do…do p2 can do wht p1 do??
    They have done great actually…if it just top tether only u alls arguing, then why not arguing about vw that seriusly lie about ommision of their car???which seriusly can make world turn into disaster…think about it….even import car makers can do the cheating…

• walauweh on Oct 22, 2015 at 2:04 pm

the 3 stars rating given from aseancap is for adult occupant protection(aop),not child occupant protection(cop) which given on percentage due to saga was tested.

mostly what manufacturer advertise is aop,even iriz being advertised as 5 stars,thats for aop,because for cop,iriz only get 4 stars.

well,in the future,aseancap will use single rating. its hard to make lawsuit to proton cuz what they advertised is 3stars aop,n in the spec list in official brochures,not mentioning any top teether,so,basically,nothing wrong interm of law.

however,this is more on morale conduct whereby proton shouldnt omitted any safety tools in their car,supposed to be exactly as the same as the car being send to aseancap to test. and proton should inform aseancap if there is any changes,for better or worse to aseancap,if they want to retested the car n reevaluate it because they are using aseancap rating in their marketing. if not using the aseancap rating,then its ok.

aseancap,euroncap or ancap,arent rules or rulling body or standard,like in europe,standard is set according to unece,while in malaysia,road n transport department.

but the existance of ncap body is important because it will make each car maker competiting with each other to obtain highest score,n make it easier to consumer to choose a product.

a sin,is a sin,so,it is an utterly stupid mistakes by proton,n they shud learn from their mistakes. n credit shud be given where its due.

• ahmad on Oct 22, 2015 at 8:49 pm

If proton advertised that their cars has a spare tyre but in actual they dont include one when you bought the car. Will you make a complaint? A Spare tyre dont affect the safety of the car.
    Moral here is that you will expect to get what is stated. Anything short is cheating.