Toyota regains top spot in global vehicle sales, as the Volkswagen Group struggles with dieselgate scandal

2016_Toyota_Yaris_Quebec-36

Toyota Motor Corporation today announced that its year-to-date (January to September 2015) worldwide sales results have amounted to 7,498,000 units, effectively overtaking the Volkswagen Group, which managed to deliver 7,430,800 units in the same time span.

However, both automotive groups experienced a decline in deliveries of 1.5% compared to the year before. The Japanese group’s September worldwide production, inclusive of its subsidiaries (Daihatsu and Hino) managed to hit 921,589 units, a growth of 0.5% compared to a year ago.

Volkswagen is currently in the midst of recovering from the dieselgate scandal, where “defeat devices” were discovered to be fitted on vehicles that are powered by the EA189 2.0 litre EU5-compliant diesel engine in order to dupe emissions tests. The Group’s relinquishment of its lead in global sales during the first six months of 2015 is seen as a consequence of the scandal.

According to Bloomberg, a slowdown in demand in Volkswagen’s largest market, China, also attributed to this predicament, with a 7.4% decline during the first nine months of 2015.

Speaking to the business publication, Koji Endo, an auto analyst at Advanced Research Japan said, “Toyota will be the No. 1 for this year.” He added, “VW may be facing sales difficulties due to the scandal towards next year in Europe and the US, and I don’t see the Chinese market coming back anytime soon.”

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• When GM was top many moons ago, it got hit by various recallsgate. Then toyota was top, it got hit by UnintendedAcceleratingPedalGate. Then when Honda about to overtake, got hit by TakataGate. Now when VW is top, got hit by DieselGate. So with Toyota top again, wonder which next Gate to hit it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
    • Samelordupe on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:57 pm

Samelorrrgate

Haha!

• Albert on Oct 26, 2015 at 7:07 pm

John,the next gate Bolehland should be worried about is ‘Greecegate”.
      You and I shouldn’t be worried about Toyota.They make US 15 Billion a year in profits.
      The next gate is” RM5 to a dollar”Gate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • I dun see it coming yet. Do you actually know what is Greecegate is like. Its when you lost your job and home sitting on the kerb, staring at immigrant Syrians staring back at you wondering if this was the same proud Greece that stood up to the hundred thousands of Persians.
        In the end, it wasnt the Persians or the Nazi or the Commies that killed Greece. It was the economic nitwits in Brussels that thought like you.

• Albert on Oct 27, 2015 at 8:41 am

I think you are one of the everlasting perlindungan dudes who always ask for handouts/special treatment for being a special ….Thats why you are not concerned about the rest of your comrades who have trouble putting food on the table,especially those who have big families to feed.
          Look at those families who live in tents in Kelantan now,after the last floods.Is your beloved botak helping them with a proper house? Imagine all the mega projects going on,and his own ,living in tents like Genghis Khan?What utter shambolic treatment .Even the Banglas working here live in better comfort.

• plsreadmore on Oct 27, 2015 at 1:21 pm

House after flood? Got la. You dun read kah?

Who is botak btw, your father?

• alldisc on Oct 26, 2015 at 7:07 pm

Honda overtake what? World no.1 sales?
      U must be kidding me

• carlies on Oct 26, 2015 at 9:33 pm

Exactly! Honda global sales really far far behind, can’t smell it in the global top ranking.

• rider on Oct 26, 2015 at 6:21 pm

sam loooo manyak happi!!!

• malaysia mundur on Oct 26, 2015 at 8:06 pm

Kuasa membeli di Malaysia sukar utk dipertingkatkan jika kos sara hidup makin lama makin tinggi dan ramai yang bangkrup bilamana bisnes yg diusahakan tak kekal lama.

Adakah budget 2016 boleh selesaikan isu ini?

• Potong saga on Oct 26, 2015 at 10:04 pm

Dunno how relevent your comment on this article. You should ask somewhere else. Please talk about car

• W204 C63 AMG on Oct 27, 2015 at 2:57 pm

Title is misleading. VW’s dieselgate really exploded on the Sept 18. VW’s falling sales for that period of time is due to slowing of the Chinese economy.