My New Proton – enhancing the ownership experience; “Proton service sucks, I agree, but we’ll change,” CEO

Proton-COE-press-conference-5

My New Proton. That’s the national carmaker’s new promise for now and the future, as announced today. “Proton has gone through a lot, both success and painful stories. It’s not easy to admit our weaknesses and the mistakes we’ve done, but I really think this is the only way to revive our brand,” said Proton CEO Datuk Harith Abdullah.

The new strategy aims to enhance the whole ownership experience for Proton customers. The company CEO admitted that the brand is not in a good place right now. “I’ve heard people saying that Proton’s service sucks! And I have to agree. Some parts of our service sucks,” he quipped.

More than just a brand new car, customers want a good ownership experience too, he explained. “It’s not just about making high tech cars anymore. Our relationship with our customers is of utmost priority to us. We now need to earn and maintain people’s confidence in us – something we’ve failed to do for some time.

Proton quality improvement 1

“It’s now about fulfilling and exceeding expectations, through a customer-centric attitude and programmes in all aspects. Our job doesn’t end when the cars head out of our showrooms. It’s our responsibility to manage the cars; that’s the right way to sell a car. Ownership experience matters most,” Harith explained.

With Proton’s market share in Malaysia falling from about 60% in its early days to around 16% now, Proton has to reform, according to Harith. Over 30 years, Proton has sold more than four million vehicles worldwide, with 3.7 million in Malaysia, of which around three million are still running.

“These people need real attention from us,” Harith said.

Proton quality improvement 2

He went on to say that during festive periods, we will see cars stranded on the roadsides. “Many will be Proton vehicles. Some 20-year-old cars, maybe even a one-year-old Proton. That is our responsibility.

“In JD Power’s SSI (Sales Satisfaction Index) rating, we’ve always been rock bottom, despite many efforts. It’s the same with CSI (Customer Satisfaction Index). For years,” That’s a true reflection of why Proton needs to reform, he added. “Many are in love with our brand, but are tired of us not fulfilling our promises.

“But we will change. To remain relevant,” promised Harith.

Proton upgrades customer service 1

He also revealed that Proton has been working with JD Power since 2015 to improve the current situation, described by the brand as an inconsistent ownership experience and an arguably negative brand perception. “If we do not get this done, we will be doomed for the next few years,” he said.

Moving forward, Proton will introduce quite a few additions, including 121 “Premium Outlets,” a new centralised call centre (1800 888 398), pick-up and delivery service in prime areas, 80-minute Quick Service, Proton Mobile Assist, courtesy cars, ‘My Taxi” Service programme, among others. We will detail all these in separate stories.

So folks, what do you think of this? Today, Proton’s CEO has appeared extremely honest and apologetic, fully understanding the company’s various issues. Do share your thoughts below.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• feel sad about UMW on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:50 pm

proton sucks..toyota all new hilux better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 87
    • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:14 pm

All of us have given Proton chances. Infact many chances. My first car was an Iswara. Many times I sent my car to Proton Glenmarie to do full service, even though they sneakily leave an empty cartoon of Petronas oil in my car, when I go home, I check, got NO black oil in my engine and oil tak cukup. Many times complained, SC just say, “Ini Proton lah, what do you expect”

Then my second car, was a Wira. I bought it because I was patriotic and I said, I will support my country. Same thing happened so many times. SC say change this and that, I check, it has not been changed. Even power windows, when I sent outside, they said it was still the original motor and Proton has lied to me making me pay for fun. Again, many times oil was not changed. Despite me sending the car for normal service. Oh btw, service took me from 8am to 7pm in the night! Many times they tipu on the oil. I complained many times, everytime complain, they say, “Ini Proton lah, what do you expect”

My third car was a Waja, again I said, let me be patriotic and love my national car. In first 3 months, 2 absorbers kaput. Sent the car in, Proton made me pay for it saying that it was not under warranty. I was troubled. if 3 months kaput, and only City Driving, tak masuk lubang, the least Proton should do, is replace it. they did not. Anyway, I sent many times for service, many times oil was not changed despite they charging me for it. Also I complained a few times, but answer was the same….”Ini Proton lah, what do you expect”

Proton, above is 10% of the lies I went through. With all these lies, how to trust your car and your service?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 19
      • Deadpool on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:27 pm

I rather have Proton’s CEO suck Bijan’s d*ck than Proton to continue sucking the rakyat’s money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 21
        • A Porsche Family is a Happy Family on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:00 pm

Bijan himself don’t use Proton. His whole family use Porsche. Only for launches he uses an Iriz to excite the people into thinking “Wah, ex PM also can use Iriz…wah…sure I also must buy”

but his whole family, including his multibillionaire sons, all use Porsche.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 16
          • Norlie on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Im confiuse here.Bijan is not najib ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
          • Close Down Jamban Proton on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Proton sales are so bad. 100k figure is false. In actual fact, 90% of sales went to Spanco, Bomba, Tentera, TUDM TLDM, PDRM, JKR, every kementerian in Putrajaya etc etc. Spanco alone buys berpuluh ribu cars to lease back to the Government. With all this help, still Proton cannot survive.

Most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of dying Proton to live. Proton sucks billions of our LHDN money, money which could be used to build more schools and hospitals.

If we did not have Proton sucking money from LHDN, each state can have an addition 10 fully fledged government hospitals and 10 fully fledged government schools every 10 years being built. But all our LHDN money go to the failing Proton. Every year government gives hundreds of million to Proton as form of grants. Every other year, Proton ask RM billions in help. Recently, even under private hands also (DRB) Proton asked the government to give them free few RM billions from LHDN.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They got sick and tired of the AP system and how genuine brands cannot get enough APs to import their cars in (like Mercedes, BMW and Honda).
            They thought that if they set up their brands and plants in Malaysia, they knew they had to give 30% of their hard earned company free away as well as being told by MITI what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD. Imagine what will the amount be from other car companies if they had set up in Malaysia?

Because of Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions of Ringgit and hundreds of thousands of jobs. Now, Thailand is benefiting from this trillions lost.
            Car companies are flocking to invest hundreds of billions in Thailand despite Thailand being an unstable government, unstable economy and full of bomb blastings and terror.

Yet, global car companies still prefer Thailand.

Which is better? 300,000 jobs created by car companies setting up plants in Malaysia or to sustain the existing 30,000 Proton employees that have been living off us the past 30 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 28
          • Same L0rrrr on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:50 pm

Spent your hard earned money on the Proton and what you get is “We will change, we will change”.

In 2000 already said change till now, what was Proton doing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 15
        • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Talk all sorts of bullshit but the new Perdana does not even have VSC? In Europe, not having VSC is like having no seat belts!

Please don’t bullshit here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
      • paul fan on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:27 pm

wei sudah la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
        • Madani Sahari Brother on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:03 pm

Datuk, are you related to Madani Sahari from MAI? Cause all crap coming from your mouth too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • Crony Vendors is No 1 PROBLEM on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:27 pm

Datuk, Proton cannot change unless it changes all its crony vendors.

You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies.

And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts. That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control.

That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is sold to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from brothers for RM10.

So, CEO can say all he wants about quality being raised and how Proton is going to Bertubat, but until ALL Proton’s vendors are changed, how can the quality go up?

Mahathir won’t do this. All his buddies have got the contract to be vendors to Proton. Mahathir will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives, so why upset his relatives when he can continue his past misgivings?

Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefitting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 10
      • Very true. I think its not proton that gives us problem. Made us pay for nothing. But its the people in proton. Especially at the service centre. Test drive car more quality than the car they put up for us. I dont blame proton. I put the blame on ppl who never pantau kerja plus those in proton yg byk makan duit belakang Tun M. The CEOs, managers. Stop dealing with ‘kawan’ yang jual barang tak berkualiti. Just to get harga murah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rrr on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:15 pm

Hahaha.. That why Proton RV suck! Buy Toyota better! Good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
  • Sewel on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:56 pm

Good move.improve quality at all aspect.new gdi engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 12
    • John Beng on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:29 pm

My new Proton…sucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
    • Fool me once, fool me twice but Proton will not fool me the third time unless you’re a fool. I admit that Proton CEO is a good actor. After the press conference, i bet he will ask Dr. M: “My acting good?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 21
      • Syafiq on Feb 16, 2016 at 8:07 pm

I thought I’m the only one thinking like that. I’m totally agree with you. Back in 2012, they pulled the exact same trick. I still remember their tagline at the time “committed to be better”. That’s why i bought the preve. But I am very disappointed. I should stop considering proton after my hatred and money I wasted on the first gen waja and face-lift perdana more than 10 years ago.

• Same L0rrr on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:17 pm

Proton.. it in the problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
  • George Abdul on Feb 16, 2016 at 2:59 pm

“If we do not get this done, we will be doomed for the next few years,” CEO said. Yes Proton are long doom but still survive due to protection and Tun DrM “self praised statement”. Stop the crony monopoly system or Proton will fall again !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 10
  • ayamxxx on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:00 pm

last time during preve launch also said the same things, improving in all area, car, quality, after service, even got interview video of poton management “totally” committed to please potential buyers.

end up same shit different car only.

better we spend a bit more for trusted and tested other car brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 9
  • ok ok …you will change. Change first then we talk again ok? In the meanwhile go change… pergi.

Every time say you will change. “Dare to change”, “Dare to dare”. ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • I think the main problem is not the service centres but assuring Proton cars Don’t end up in service centres. Face it, the brand name is already ruined.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • joelton on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:07 pm

ppl need not only new good design car, but also worry free low maintenance car, this 2 points will able meet the requirement. but look like proton still similar to continental car, easily breakdown and high maintenance cost and drink petrol like water

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • kazanixm on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Thumbs up due to acknowledgement your own weaknesses.

However, there still some thing that you guys need to improve more and i think a lot of people here will agree on…

PARTS QUALITY!
    ASSEMBLE QUALITY!

Please pass on these messages to the production plant people in Tanjung Malim & Shah Alam so they will know what issue they should tackle next after the service issue

Btw, Keep on improving, as you said , people actually love proton (bashers are mostly obvious loving it but it`s more like a love-hate kind of love and they really hate to admit it ;) )

P/S: When all of those thing have been accomplished, might want to focus on the price after that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Harry on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:11 pm

It’s a good start. Takes a man to admit this. En. Harith say what you meaned and we Malaysian will definitely change our minds as long Proton do their part.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • 4G63T DSM on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:22 pm

And how many years has this been going on before they admit that? And then how many more years before we see tangible changes/improvement?

You want to know why it sucks?

You have been hiring the wrong people.

After so much dribble….have you changed the PEOPLE?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Harry Is NAIVE on Apr 01, 2016 at 2:47 pm

Naive little girl.

• RazifGti on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:14 pm

Shame the folks at Volkswagen Malaysia did not come out to do something similiar. Stiff suffering with poor publicity and bad image even till today.

Atleast an honest attempt by Proton to better relate to their customers.

Kudos Dato’ Harith

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
  • Lionel Lee on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:16 pm

Promise by word is a thing, let see the end results when they start all the thing he mention above. But no doubt is the right decision they make. Hope they really can do what they promise.

• Jobless on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:18 pm

Alamakkk..every year KEEP REPEATING the same promises….notice even the slides contain BROKEN ENGLISH “over years” instead should be “over the years” ..pigi balik sekolah lagi jgn byk ckp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
  • It will not be changed, 30 years from zero back to zero, is the lesson to proton who did not learn from mistake, Chance is give those who prepaid and hungry for success, not for those easily feel tired and lazy group.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • oliver wong on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:25 pm

Mr harith is very sincere…. true….
    But, please get rid of proton internal enemies: staffs who makan gaji buta, little napoleon, stubborn seniors who doesn’t realise who is paying their salaries-loyal proton customers.
    Especially those at Proton COE&R3!
    These enemies are out to kill proton,no sense of pride & couldn’t care less attitude….
    Just look at Proton COE staff parking, so many non proton cars. They don’t even believe in their own company their working!
    If good service is for VIP only, please think again that they are not your main customers. How many protons do they own?
    The main customers are the everyday people who despite all the new models that are being launched by other car manufacturers, still choose to remain loyal with proton.
    These are the people paying proton staffs salaries!
    So,please give them what they truly deserve!

Note: I have all the rights to say what I have to say because I still own 5 protons,from the very first model to the most expensive satria neo ever. I’ve been to many proton after sales service centre as I travelled extensively with my protons.

Mr Harith, if you’re reading this…. please take note

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
    • kirko on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:46 pm

Agree with you, actually the bad staffs comes from the bad supervisors/ managers.

People never quit because of the company, they quit because of the current supervisors/managers.

Yes really. CEO needs to monitors the supervisors in every Proton service branches, sack them if possible. Therefore, you will get a happy staff. Happy staff means excellent services.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Ollie on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:42 pm

The only people I know who will dare say in public that they bought the ‘most expensive’ model in its range are those who buy Msian cars. Anyone else would be embarrassed to reveal that fact.

• olio benzina on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:27 pm

Change now. Start now. When you offer recall, don’t have weasel words like customer must have adhered to service schedule and such. Just do them all like a boss.

• tokmoh. on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:33 pm

I-i-it’s not like I bought Iriz because I like Proton o-o-or something like that.

I-i-it’s just that it has HPF body stronger than Volvo’s boron steel and ESC, b-baka.

Anyway your Punch CVT sucks ball, I have to be its slave to drive the car as well as it could. Hurry up bringing in 6-speed Getrag manual and Jatco’s latest CVT ASAP.

http://paultan.org/2015/11/06/tokyo-2015-jatco-introduces-cvt7-wr-transmission/

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:34 pm

Don’t fall into their trap. Just take a look at their marketing slogans and promises and you’ll immediately aware that this is just a gimmick to fool Malaysian in trusting this pathetic, crony infested, lousy brand. Proton is not a car maker aimed to create value, but to milk average Malaysians like you and me a chance to own a decent car at a decent price.

When Waja was launched in 2000, remember the euphoric hype about “BMW of Asia”? Waja was proven to be a quality junk.

When Gen 2 was launched in 2004, remember the “cam-tak-pro”, torque dip engine? Gen 2 quality is even worse than Waja. How many Gen 2 owners had broken door handles because your 7 year-old kid pull it with gentle force?

Remember 2005? When Savvy was launched, it’s quality is even worse than Gen-2. Luckily, another Malaysian favourite small hatchback was launched a year later and deliver a fatal blow to the Savvy, which discontinued in dismay in 2011.

Then came Syed Zainal Abidin (SZA), which in my opinion, the ablest man who had take helm and steer Proton in the right direction. Sadly, his tenure was too short, and just when things started to bear fruit, he was forced out (or officially being resigned) by some blood sucking, hungry crony vendors who wants things to be remained like the good old days (making lousy, cheap, nasty quality parts, and sell it to Proton for 10 fold profits). While the imminent DRB take over also saw some DRB new kids eager to dip their hands in Proton as another opportunity to songlap money. So SZA was doomed to go, what’s next for Proton?

Just before SZA official parting, they rush the Preve out to the market. By engineering and design standard, Preve is a very fine car, and dare I say the best effort by Proton back then. Sadly, the rushing job and shoddy QC made the Preve, by execution term, a BIG FAILURE. 4 years down the road, you could examine yourself tons of quality issues beleaguering Preve (and Suprima) owners in the Lowyat owners forum.

The launching of Persona, Exora, Preve, Suprima and Iriz are all the same. All hype and promises and yet deliver so little. I truly want Proton to be successful, and I had personally used my hard earned cash, taking up loans to support Proton by owing 2 in my life, so don’t call me blind basher. But looking at how Proton is being screwed up internally by politics and cronies, there’s virtually no hope to deliver quality in their cars. So just take this press conference as a pinch of salt.

When you’re fooled once, you’re forgiven.
    When you’re fooled twice, you gotta be more savvy and careful next time.
    When you’re fooled CONTINUOUSLY for 30 years BY THE SAME PERSON USING THE SAME GIMMICK, then you yourself are to be blamed because you’re a FOOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 15
  • superman on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:37 pm

it took almost 4 years for Gods at DRB to find out they suck and their service suck??? now it will take them another 4 years to study why they suck. then another 4 years to find out how to fix the suck and another 4 years to fix the suck. but again in 4 years time they will find they still suck and it goes on and on,…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Lifetime warranty on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:37 pm

You want to win back our trust and sales?

Give us Lifetime Warranty for your cars.

Yes whole car under warranty forever for ease of our mind. And reimburse back our annual leaves (or RM100 per day) for sending our car for repeated repairs.

Do not compare other car companies for giving only 5 years warranty because only Lifetime Warranty can salvage back your reputation and our trust. Others may follow your policy if it works.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • First real honest down to earth remarks from a Proton CEO …. there is a linger of hope if he really meant what he says …. lets see

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • preve owner on Feb 16, 2016 at 3:38 pm

Remove all the ‘wakil service’ outlets and replace with proton’s own outlets. The ‘wakil service’ suck worse than the normal outlets. They dont have spare parts ready, they cheat when doing maintenance for example not changing cvt oil when they already charge for it and they never entertain warranty claim.

When it comes to normal proton outlets, some of them sucks while some give really good service. Proton need to ensure same level of service throughout. Finally, get rid of the disgruntled idiots at your call centers and replace with people with positive attitude and can speak fluent english.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Its too late already 4 me~ i already change to nissan~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • LatukBandar on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:01 pm

Apple has shown that it takes 1 good product to change the world. Of course, we are not asking Proton to make a world changing car, just a really good car that doesn’t gives problem, nobody asked for massage car or self-drive car, just a reliable car.

If proton is serious, they should make a car that is really reliable, 1 very good car will do.

Too bad, everything from the rubber to plastic are sourced from the most expensive supplier with sub-par quality. Until they change their ‘crony’ management, no amount of new logo or PR campaging will change the mindset of the people, just like how China is struggling with the ‘made in china’ quality. either you do it or you dont! walk the talk.

• We had given way too many chances to Proton. The service sucks( normal comment from their mechanic “biasa lah” do you believed it?),low quality parts and parts are expensive. Their SC mechanics don’t have pride in their job. I had given up after using 2 Iswaras and a wira. No more proton rather get a 2nd hand Japanese car.

• You missed telling us how bad the quality of your vendors are, Harith. Until and unless that is addressed, for a distrusting former PROTON owner to come back to you it would take a miracle.

• Grave Digger on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:29 pm

Thanks to your pricing $100k pricing. Our grave slot r waiting for U with “R.I.P in 2017” tombstone

• Work in European car parts supplier on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:31 pm

Stop subcontracting parts to cronies, there are a lot of manufacturers in Msia currently supplying to international brands

• Sent my car in last week to service. Lucky I discovered that on last service I paid for fully synthetic but they actually gave me semi synthetic. Lucky they deducted the diffrences in value. Not even an apology given up but it was a swift cover up. Im sure many dont even realise if you dont have knowledge in the product. Please check before leaving. Not forgetting I had to wait for 7 hours for normal service for this one particular service center in sec25 shah alam. Lost in faith in the brand.

• Khaliq on Feb 16, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Change first. Talk later

• Syukur lah.

• U will never hear toyota jepunis MD admit his cars are moving coffin. They rather u focus on drifting ur FWD car and put stickers, bling rims, GT wing, & woofer with feng tau music

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • PROTON=TONS OF PROBLEM :D on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:09 pm

“proton service sucks i agree but we’ll change” lanjiao.

• Toyota Owner Maa... on Feb 16, 2016 at 5:10 pm

Yup. Damn too late. Owned 2 Iswara (engine good but anything else is low quality), 1 Savvy (gearbox kong, AMT, if replace new, better buy new car, do overhaul, got slapped with RM5,500 bill!). Bad experience all round, be it the car or service centres. Now changed to Toyota (Hilux and Avanza), and will remain so, good cars and good service centres. So Proton, wish you good luck because you need it…badly…

• Andrekua on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:10 pm

Now only admit?? We will change? Will is referring to when? LOL…

Man, Im so fed up with Proton that I rather let go of the warranty when they refused to admit they didnt spray clearcloat for my wira accident claims. Whole car same color except for left fender, bonnet and front bumper. Tell me memang macam tu… Proton ma.

• Adui..now u only realised..too late bro..u will change..when? After 10 year i guess u have another ‘realise’ and talk another ‘ change’.

• Fazlinah on Feb 16, 2016 at 6:43 pm

Dear CEO it’s too late to apologize. You have treated us innocent and loyal Malaysians as your guinea pig and these words have been said and repeated by your formal and formal CEO and CTO countless times. Promises to change but nothing has been done. You can fool us one time but not the 2nd, 3rd or 4th 5th time. That’s the reason why your market share dived from 60% to current 13%. You deserved such a punishment and result for your lousy products and negligence. We have lost faith in you. No matter how you’re going to improve we will never ever buy your product again after owning one. Your doomsday is near and no matter how much you want to change its not relevant and important to Malaysians anymore. We just had enough of your presence poisoning Malaysian soil and please please we wish that you can shut down permanently and expeditiously. We will celebrate for your downfall and extermination of your lousy disgusting brand

• Chum Mun Chor on Feb 16, 2016 at 7:39 pm

Great!!! but based on my experience no matter how much lip service. it wont improve so long the service centre staff acted like we owe them a living… n that the government will always protect PROTON. IT WILL NEVER IMPROVE.

• omes out with 2.0 version on Feb 16, 2016 at 9:59 pm

Exora should has c

• Weallbuyotherbrandsoncewecanaffordit on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:14 pm

Too little too late

• Aero (Member) on Feb 16, 2016 at 10:36 pm

Today is an important day in Proton’s history.

I believe I’ve said enough about Proton’s aftersales and reliability, so I don’t see the point of repeating the same thing over and over again. Now that Proton knows exactly how dire the situation is among their aftersales, I hope much is being done to improve it. There’s no point highlighting the problem year after year after year, if you don’t fix the problem, you’re still not any better off.

I’m still very glad to hear all of this, and to read such promising news, but I’ve learned not to trust Proton’s ‘big promises’. I would much rather ‘wait and see’, if Proton can translate their words into real results. Talking the talk is easy, walking the walk is much less so.

Also, I really, REALLY like those charts (I will update the Wikipedia articles with this info). Proton must capitalise on their heritage. Today, you can still see many Saga Magma and Megavalve cars in the U.K., Wiras in Germany, Satria Neo rally cars in Japan… then there’s the sublime Satria GTi, the greatest Proton of all time… why can’t Proton mention any of this ? Malaysians are forgetting Proton’s rich past… heritage and nostalgia sells… why do you think Toyota and Honda is selling so well today ?

Proton should go to the U.K., Germany, Australia etc. and interview Proton owners there, show Malaysians what Proton (was once) capable of. Make a historical documentary about Proton, much like the ’25 years’ one currently on YouTube, but longer. The old Proton models matter too, not just the current ones.

P.S My thanks to the powerpoint slide editor for using my photo of the Suprima S test drive car on Page 13. :]

• Can anyone tell Proton, improvement need true action & not lip service

• Khazali KIDAM on Feb 17, 2016 at 3:40 pm

Salam hormat untuk keluarga Proton saya Khazali Kidam pernah menjadi keluarga Proton di bahagian kini sudah bersara.Saya akui The bigest killer of Proton Sale kerana perkhidmatan lepas jualan amat mengecewakan….tidak seperti dulu Perton Service berada di catar top5 dalam induatri sevice lepas jualan.70% kegaggalan ada lah sikap kakitangan yang lañgsung tdak mempunyai rasa sayang/bertanggung jawab terhadap syarikat tidak ada sense of belonging…banyak lagi yang tak dapat di huraikn …..saya amat.kecewa sbb saya andai diberi peluang saya percaya Peroton Service akan kembali ketaha top3 dalam masa 2tahun….

• Proton Shouldn’t even have existed since the beginning of time! This so called Malaysian Dumbass Company must Shut Down permanently. They have been cheating us pitiful Malaysians for many years now with horrible junk cars. Old, ugly junk toyota and nissan cars are still better than Proton cars.

• thefcuk on Feb 18, 2016 at 2:07 am

Correction Proton,Its in the Shitbox…..

• BMW Wannabe on Apr 04, 2016 at 12:47 am

Yet another big talk again by Proton. “Give Proton chance, give proton chance…” “Committed to be better…” “Drive it to believe it…” Yes, I drive it and I believe it now. I believe it is my first and last Proton car. Global car…with this quality? Seriously? Less than half year already need to fix gear issue, and they don’t even have any qualified technician to begin with. Not at least at the borneo island. Ended up making the gear issue in my car worst yet keep denying their responsibility on this. Very nice. And then the ecu go haywire out of blue causing the car cannot be start. And now the air-con totally lose it’s cold after leaking the poisonous Freon gas after the ecu reset by their men, causing me inhaled a lot of the freon gas which has a kinda weird ‘fresh’ smell to it. 5-star safety huh? Try to inhale all the Freon gas up and let’s see how safe it is before you’re being sent to hospital. And the list goes on and on with many other big and small issues which are not possible to list out in this limited space. So for those blind plotong fanboi who like to bash people for not trying Proton before commenting, they can shut the F*** up and enjoy using problematic plotong for the rest of their life. How do they expect to gain trust and confidence if they do not have qualified technician laying in every part of the world? How do they expect to gain brand image if they present consumer with toy quality plastic and sub-par quality component in a car? Try to imitate BMW here and there “sheer driving pleasure”? It’s more like “sheer driving nightmare” for Proton after plaguing by endless issues… And the loud klok klok noise of power window even from brand new… No more faith in Proton. With the greed and cronyism going on, I don’t see Proton changing for real anytime soon. Let’s face the truth…Proton is for milking money from us to feed those “some” people, and that fact will never change.

• Potong Salah on Apr 07, 2016 at 4:43 pm

When Proton was at its height (during the protected market period when Malaysians had no choice) the salespeople were so lan si, and can even rudely say ” kalau nak beli, tak nak sudah. ” How the tables have turned and as they dig their graves deeper. You got what you deserve proton.