New window tint rules to be enforced from now on – offenders to be fined up to RM2,000 or six months jail

Old (left) and new tint regulations. VLT expressed in percentages; the lower the number, the darker the tint.

The new window tint rules – first set to come into effect in November 2014, then delayed to May 2015 – has finally been enforced in Malaysia. The updated regulations, filed under Motor Vehicles (Prohibition of Certain Types of Glass) (Amendment) Rules 2016 now overwrite the previous 1991 rules.

Enforced since February 6, The Sun reports that motorists that don’t adhere to the new specifications will face significantly higher fines and penalties than before. First time offenders will be fined up to RM2,000 or six months jail, compared to just RM500 or two-week jail term previously.

The penalties rise up to RM4,000 or 12 months jail time (or both) for repeat offenders, again far stricter than the RM1,000 fine or a one-month jail sentence stipulated by the old regulations.

To recap, the new rules specify minimum permissible visible light transmission (VLT) levels of 70% for the front windscreen, 50% for the front side windows and 30% for all other windows (rear side windows and rear screen), as opposed to 70% VLT for the windscreen and 50% VLT for all other windows previously.

Finally, then. What do you think of the new regulations, folks?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• With such high fines and how shady(no pun intended) enforcement is over here, I see some massive shitstorm coming.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
    • lilytan on Feb 19, 2016 at 8:19 am

They should regulate the sale of tint as well. Only legal tint should be sold to the public. Most people think that their tint is legal but actually it is not.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 6
      • Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:45 am

In Malaysia, heavy fines don’t work. Even you put Rm10k fine also, people are not scared. Because people know, 90% of JPJ and PDRM officers take money ie duit kopi to settle the case on the spot.

In Malaysia, the situation is so bad, that even the polis themselves will ask straight on your face what they want and the quantum they want.

So, until PDRM and JPJ clean up their dirty officers, whom make up about 90% of them, all this high fines don’t work.

Also, PDRM need to have balls to enforce (besides the duit kopi problem). They see big car and single number plates, they quickly say “Lalu lalu”.

Some PDRM officers are worse, they not only say “lalu lalu”, they salute the car with the tinted glass. And mind you, inside the tinted glass is always an Ah Long, gangster or Drug Lord and not all the time some Tan Sri or Datuk.

I advice PDRM, please grow some balls and clean up your filthy officers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 8
        • Heavy fines works in favour of the police actually.
          Imagine if RM300 fine, you can settle with half price. If RM2000? They are sooooooo going to flag down each and everyone of us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
          • hahaha on Feb 19, 2016 at 1:52 pm

People who keep changing the policy they introduced should be behind bars… make up you mind and stop changing!

• kingslayer on Feb 19, 2016 at 12:55 pm

This is people attitude problem. You defy the law, you should understand and accept why being punished and make amend.

People screaming at corruption on top of their lungs, and when things happen to them, “can settle tepi tak encik?”.

None-given, none-taken. You should ask for apology and/or just accept the ticket.

So, big-middle-finger to those who wants “settle tepi” as these scum-bags actually promoting corruptions.

Changes start with us. Yes, we may scream different tune about where the money goes, how it is spend, but we have done our duty, STOP PROMOTING CORRUPTION.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 12
        • Mann Bell on Nov 26, 2016 at 11:35 am

5 police officers dont like your post

• I help u,u help me. We are happy family

• Haha lol. Been telling the officers during raid the same thing.
        Their reply “what shud we charge the seller? They are not guilty, selling is fine no problem ”
        Then they add ” hv u seen any singapore car breaking rule? Tinted dark dark? Plate fancy fancy?”

I told them this “i havent seen any singapore officers wearing smelly round neck t shirt and jeans during raid , unlike you. So u wanna compare msia and singapo ah?”

Kena marah gao gao then hahaha!
        Shitty law lah ..

• Give some kopi candy settled also. Stricter than before also useless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • FireAce on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:23 am

Your choice of words “Kopi Candy” is already outdated. The trending word now is “Donation”. Some more if get caught, return the “Donation” and AG will drop the charges. Prefect World, I must say.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 5
      • George Abdul on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:47 am

Agree, Malaysia had turn corru…. to “donation”. Only in bolehland by BN ministry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • MeToo on Feb 19, 2016 at 10:22 am

DOnt forget its tax free too! Awesome…

Speaking of which, I’m gathering all my company employees to start a Political Party, then the company will credit into our personal account the monthly “donation”…. TAX FREE ofcourse..

• Sick&tired on Feb 18, 2016 at 9:10 pm

Only 6 months prison!? Should be sentenced for life!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 45
  • Yay! Time to darken my windows from 50% to 30%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • DPCraft on Feb 18, 2016 at 9:16 pm

The old rule, makes more sense, hot weather like this 30% tint can burn your skin…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 64
    • You do realize that is 30% VLT right? And skin burns are caused by UV rays, by the way. Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
      • donkeyMusL on Feb 19, 2016 at 2:45 pm

skin burn is caused by fire not uv… 30% VLT darker so easier to caught fire caused by higher heat retention…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • redidiot on Feb 19, 2016 at 1:55 am

Read the article dulu lah before nak tujuk pandai. 30% VLT is DARKER than 50%…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 2
      • +redidiot, You failed to spell “read”, stop calling people idiot when you are another idiot yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • Haywood on Feb 19, 2016 at 11:03 am

Haha such lawak. In Brunei here, any kind of film that adheres to your automotive clear glass is illegal and we have yet to record any skin burn cases here. Don’t be stupid.

• NajibPoketMauDuit on Feb 18, 2016 at 9:20 pm

LOL, So obviously intended to cash in on Motorists. Wow actually how bloody desperate are they la the government until every single avenue for income is being deployed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
    • Keep on complaining. Even government allow darker tint also still you want to complaint.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Azhar on Feb 18, 2016 at 9:26 pm

Hmm…should have done this last year. Don’t know why people dislike this new rule that I think is good. Singapore use this system and you should support.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
  • Six months jail time? That sounds fair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • stupid gomen on Feb 18, 2016 at 9:52 pm

Nak lagi gelap kena jadi menteri..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • Mystery Donor on Feb 18, 2016 at 9:55 pm

These ppl seem more keen on penalising owners with dark tints than going after corrupted govn officials.

Malaysia has such hot climate, dark tints should be made compulsory instead, to avoid skin problems.

6 months jail term for having dark tints? Its a bloody joke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 16
    • Dude, this regulation allow you for a darker car tint then before. Do you know what the 30% mean?

• It does not make good sense to have 70% VLT for the front windscreen with the hot and sunny weather in Malaysia.

Even at 50% VLT, it still does not cut out the strong glare from bright objects such as glass buildings, electronic boards, etc and this applies for night time driving too, which 50 VLT still allows enough light to filter in.

I think it’s more of the convenience for the police to peer into the occupants rather than for the safety of the driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • fendy on Feb 18, 2016 at 10:07 pm

Applicable to all or only certain ppl?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • Yeah right….enforced….the word doesn’t exist in the vocabulary of the local traffic authorities

• Markgoh on Feb 18, 2016 at 10:13 pm

How ridiculous, just the windows tinted issue can give minimum 6 month holiday…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Seems like the govt is making new laws for everything which includes jail terms, soon we’ll have a totalitarian rule where you can be jailed for 20 years for crossing a white line on the road, thanks jib.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Tintman on Feb 18, 2016 at 10:33 pm

First, saman those who approved importing these tint films. Then saman those who sell it. We are only innocent taxpayer consumers..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 7
    • redidiot on Feb 19, 2016 at 1:57 am

We consumers also ada responsibilty to make sure we comply. Ignorance is not an excuse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 28
      • Zidane on Feb 19, 2016 at 5:29 am

I think your statement is fair, but still get dislike… Malaysian is weird

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • The need to build a VERY VERY LARGE jail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Dangou on Feb 18, 2016 at 10:37 pm

I think the government must have overlook this matter. If this rules apply for new vehicles, then it should be fine. For existing vehicles that tinting had been done years ago are FORCED to strip and replace them. This would cost thousand of dollars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • donkeyMusL on Feb 19, 2016 at 2:49 pm

why existing vehicles tints need to remove if it’s followed the old rules? r u retard?

• xoxox on Feb 19, 2016 at 3:38 pm

If u comply with old rules, why need strip? Unless it doesn’t comply with old rules or Unless u want to have darker rear windows.. else wont have any issues

• Klaus on Feb 18, 2016 at 10:38 pm

Finally? This is all just air talk, no action, no follow through. All we going to hear about it for the first 3 months, then subsequent later all quiet down.

• It would be great that there’s a common rule that exists not only for the Rakyat. But, includes all else. This is a hot country. And, tints helps…. And, I’ve seen also cars which uses screens instead of tints while driving… How about that????

• JB_KIA on Feb 18, 2016 at 11:02 pm

Most will fail, including factory fitted….

• privacy glass allow? on Feb 18, 2016 at 11:04 pm

What is the VLT for those recond car with privacy window? Especially those mpv from Japan?

• Passerby on Feb 18, 2016 at 11:11 pm

this clearly show how desperately Najib want to increase revenue into his pocket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Feb 18, 2016 at 11:17 pm

Datuk datuk , tan sri tan sri, vip vip, duduk relak aje, tak kena pun.. However canggih the regulation, it is of course useless if being enforced by useless enforcers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • I like.
    don’t say only do it…

• I like. don’t say only do it…

• chong62 on Feb 18, 2016 at 11:31 pm

Why does this regulation will only be enforced on regular citizens? Why not tahan all those ‘VIPs’ with totally blacked out windows? How is this fair? And bloody hell what is the point in doing this anyway? Tint is to make car less hot, meaning uses less fuel for ac. Also to protect people inside from uv rays. Screw this idiotic regulation. Totally absurd and unfair

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • redidiot on Feb 19, 2016 at 2:01 am

Brader, dark tints do not guarantee uv prtection. There are tints like Vkool that are near transparent but block out 90++% uv rays la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Duit Derma on Feb 19, 2016 at 10:11 am

If first world countries like UK Australia and US allow dark tints, i dont know what is the fuss about over here in donationland??
        What is so criminal about having dark tints?? It is more criminal to cheat the citizens with crap stories than having dark tints

• Your father giving money to fix vkool ah

• Kenny Tan on Feb 22, 2016 at 2:00 pm

Thats why most of them are wrongly informed, now all tints are 80 to 90% UV protected and cut glare by some percentage even it allow 70% lights transmission.

Please get the facts before responding.

• alldisc on Feb 19, 2016 at 10:48 am

VIPs has a risk of assasination. having dark tint windows means sharp shooters will find it hard to focus on target.

while for ordinary cars having dark windows let me list several disadvantages
      1. police cannot see who is inside the car. it can be fugitives. or thugs planning a robbery wearing masks
      2. if there is a kidnapping, or rape victim inside. it can be your daughter or sister. or your wife. but sadly she is inside a car with dark windows. there is a good chance she survives when other roadusers notice she is struggling inside the car

cannot stand the sunshine? wears sunglasses lah.

cannot stand the heat? eh, you know how to use the airconditioneror not? turn the thermostat maximum, ok?

or install v-kool. space age technology tinted. no need to be dark but still cool. just like space shuttle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • alancheong on Feb 19, 2016 at 1:05 pm

(Y)
        someone with brains, finally
        good on ya, mate

• Fadzli Fauzi on Feb 19, 2016 at 1:55 pm

Oh my god, finally an educated answer!

• Yusri Abd Wahab on Jul 03, 2016 at 4:19 pm

Penjahat ikut tak regulation ni?..Kalau dia ikut dia mmg pnjhat yg baik sebab dia lbih takut jpj dari polis.

• Yusri Abd Wahab on Jul 03, 2016 at 4:26 pm

Maybe gangster will follow this tint regulation.hahaha.and crime drop to 99% after all the gangster follow jpj tinted rules..

• The problem is..this new regulations apply to the humble rakyat only. JPJ & police officer’s personal car did not applied to this rules…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • joule on Feb 19, 2016 at 8:41 am

Thats why a lot of people want to become a police officer. The rules did not apply to them.

• Medic on Feb 18, 2016 at 11:47 pm

What do we think? Nothing to be thought of here…because no one cares what we think. Just follow the rules

• Kim Soo on Feb 18, 2016 at 11:48 pm

Anyone can enlightened readers what are the tint rules for other countries like Japan, U.K, our ASEAN neighbours?

• Dark Tint Lover on Feb 18, 2016 at 11:57 pm

Why is Malaysia the only country which does not allow dark tints? It is freaking ridiculous. Look at Thailand and Japan. VLT can be as low as 5%. Stupid ruling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • WT Fuchhh on Feb 19, 2016 at 12:24 am

Why fine the poor rakyat? Pls fine those dewan rakyat people whom cannot see through the tint that is blocking their view on the ugly BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • MikeWong on Feb 19, 2016 at 12:44 am

Bloody corrupted government will always come out with ridiculous and useless law. You’ve got some many other issues to tackle rather than just tinting that doesn’t even harm any parties, then you imply all these foolish fine and rules. Whats more all those people with ‘Dato’ tag around their neck will not get fined nor jailed, and yet their cars have the most awesome tint where you can only see your own face when you look into their car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • it is not the gov, its the opposition. Anwar a convicted criminal, they are asking to treat him like a VIP.

• kopiokaokao on Feb 19, 2016 at 12:49 am

There is one set of rule for the rich and one set for the poor….just look at the number plate issue earlier….up till now we can still see many special fonts on the road…especially on expensive car…..JPJ mana ada kerja?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • The Dark Side on Feb 19, 2016 at 12:52 am

Assuming the side windows do not meet the requirements, I’m wondering if one can wind them down during roadblocks. Is there any law that says we must drive with the windows up? Some enlightenment would be appreciated.

• Megane on Feb 19, 2016 at 6:24 am

If JPJ catches you during the rain then it’s a different story right haha

• FireAce on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:27 am

How frequently you see a road block during raining time? If rain, they close shop and sip teh tarik at mamak lor…

• Kevinn Sin on Jul 15, 2017 at 2:38 pm

First of all JPJ will ask you to wind up the window, and the judgement is your normal usage during driving with the window up.

• Michael on Feb 19, 2016 at 12:58 am

Is this valid for all the expensive cars ? Or only cars that we marhaen drive will be penalise ?

• May God bless you on Feb 19, 2016 at 1:08 am

They make those but only apply to some and sometimes only. Anyway, they are just bunch of bastard and no class people. May God bless you..

• Ah bengs says they wan 5% vlt at front and paint black on sides & rear glass, otherwise they will vote for Party Hard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Jacky on Feb 19, 2016 at 1:17 am

But JPJ still requires us all to remove all tints when selling our cars for inspection in JPJ. They purposely scratch your tint so that you will have no choice but to remove it. So does it mean that JPJ will no longer ask us to remove the tint?

Talk one thing but do another. I still have no confidence in them …..

• Nonsense!

• all menteri and vvip remove their car tint, we remove also. steady?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • ThanksMca on Feb 19, 2016 at 5:18 am

Thanks a lot our beloved MCA transport minister
    Yang Berhormat Dato’ Sri Liow Tiong Lai

• gaviny on Feb 19, 2016 at 7:18 am

Nice can darken my windows more now 30 percent vlt makes a big difference from 50 vlt , alot darker a lot more cooling
    finally something in favor of motorists

• kensoon on Feb 19, 2016 at 7:49 am

JPJ Buat roadblock at Parlimen dulu…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • With this new amended law being enforced, does the accident rate will reduce? I remember a guy quoted ‘high fines to be introduced to cope/reduce accident rate’

• Old Town White Coffee on Feb 19, 2016 at 8:54 am

Tons of satria, wira and also accordana how the ? Lol

• Nah … it will never be enforced.
    Gertak sikit from VVIP, they will withdraw this quietly.

• Start first with all local authorities and the 1001 govt departments. their vehicles have the most heavily tinted vehicles that you will see on the roads. and this applies to both PR and BN.

• applegreen on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:13 am

Kalau rasa tak cukup gelap pakai je spek mata hitam

• majid karim on Feb 19, 2016 at 9:35 am

patutnya saman mcmni utk yang salah gune lorong kecemasan.

• huh? again?

on and off…on and off…sigh~

• ben yap on Feb 19, 2016 at 10:22 am

higher fines and longer jail term = more bribes can be extorted from motorist.

• Toyota Wish Recond on Feb 19, 2016 at 10:35 am

Anyone know how to check the VLT level for recond car without go through PuSpAK0M?

• shahul on Feb 19, 2016 at 11:02 am

I am having vitiligo skin problem and I cannot be exposed under sun for travelling.. So will i get jailed as well if I travel in my car tinted?

• Michael on Feb 19, 2016 at 11:49 am

The % of tint must be different everywhere. Colorado I have 5% on the back and rear windows, 30% with a 15% on top on the front windows and 30% on the front

• Levin on Feb 19, 2016 at 11:50 am

So does this mean that most import cars that came with privacy glass on the back windows will be considered legal?

• Yeah they will be legal i have a 2000 Ford crown vic LX and the glass comes tinted from the factory its okay hust provide the document that its tinted glass from factory

• Kimmy on Feb 19, 2016 at 12:08 pm

Oiiii KL panas sampai migrain la duduk dlm jam…. Lagi banyak org pecah tingkap kereta la stupid mentri…….

• lan botak on Feb 19, 2016 at 12:09 pm

If nobody is selling drugs, can u buy drugs?
    If nobody is selling illegal tint films, can u buy tint films?

So, whose the culprit?

• Henry Dundang on Feb 19, 2016 at 2:45 pm

I would like to know all about latest model

• George Gill on Feb 19, 2016 at 2:46 pm

Is there anywhere where we can get out tinted glass tested? VLT test , to make sure the tint is within the limits?

• xoxox on Feb 19, 2016 at 3:52 pm

it should not regulate only on the VLT. There is some Malaysian using building tint (a.k.a privacy tint – high reflective tint that cause serious glare to other driver in day time). They should focus on this as priority.

• Julian on Feb 19, 2016 at 4:27 pm

For my opinion , all these laws regarding tinted windows are dumb . What about those expensive imports with factory made dark tinted windows ? What are they gonna do about that ? Fine them as well ? If thats the case , everybody should use stop using window tinted , that includes all those governments vip cars , just to be fair .

• Netster on Feb 19, 2016 at 5:11 pm

I see lot of negetive comments, we should lighten up. It’s good for our future & health to think positively all the time.

1. If you are caught for having broke the law, you don’t give money. Admit to your fault and pay up. Ask the enforcer to give you the ticket.

The reason why we think that majority of the enforcers are corrupt is because we are allowing it to happen in our mind. The truth is the majority of the enforcers working on the field are just like you and me. They want to be the best, to get promoted and recognize.

If you believe in law of attraction, the way how we thought about our country — it certainly will come true as you want it to be. You want them to be corrupt? Your wish is your command.

2. There’s a certain % corruption every where you go. You may not be able to eliminate them at all. Even Japan a nation build on trust and honor as a corruption issue. http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2016-01-28/japan-s-abenomics-minister-amari-to-resign-over-graft-scandal

It’s really not about eliminating the corruption, are we all prepared to teach our children honor and respect? Do that, our next generation will rules this country with highest standard of accountability and honesty.

We are turning into a nation of complain. Maybe we all should takes sometime to stop talking and start doing.

Do our part to pick the right leader for this country. Stop complaining.

• Mynameis A on Feb 19, 2016 at 6:36 pm

Wahh..jdm glass spec??..no need to change..that’s great..
    but when go to puspakom u need to clear all the glass..puitt

• Owner on Feb 19, 2016 at 8:21 pm

Couple of question.

1. Is this already official from JPJ? As i havent seen this news in JPJ website.

2. For all those recon car which i own a VF, comes with the original black window for behind pax and rear window, without tinted, will the VLT passed the 30% regulation? Anyone tried with the JPJ machine?

Need answers. Cheers.

• Typical Road User on Feb 19, 2016 at 8:52 pm

2 things:

1. The numbers should reflect careful study, with proper references, arguments and justifications by the authority. This will reflect their professionalism in carrying out their duty and command some respect. Malaysia is a tropical country, and it’s hot all year round, and getting hotter. There are children and elderly who cannot take too much sun and heat. Of course, there are also matters of personal and public security to be considered. Focus group discussions and public input should be sought.

If these are not carried out, then the public should demand for it.

2. Issue on corruption. If the authorities allow for a decent amount of tint to alleviate the problems above, the general public shouldn’t face an issue, as many are tinting to guard against heat. If the authorities limit the tint to a minimal and it doesn’t solve problems, then you can expect many to flaunt the law. Of course when this happens, paying authorities off in smaller doses becomes an option. This is an innate human nature. As for those with 80+% tint, obviously you’re asking for it. Pay the fine, goto jail or bribe the officer, that’s your call. These are all options available to the Malaysian road user at this point.

My main point here is, that the Malaysian authorities should allow for a well-reasoned and justified form of recourse for road users in light of health and safety. Is this being properly addressed in the first place?

• Kenny on Feb 19, 2016 at 10:47 pm

Most cars are now fitted with glass which is darkened slightly. When fitted with tinting which comply with JPJ on clear glass the VLT will fail.

So even 70% VLT tint on front windscreen will fail JPJ and Puspakom test. To pass you may need 90% VLT tint which have poor heat blocking ability so almost nobody use it.

Frankly, 90$% of cars with tinting on the road now will fail the VLT test.

• Does anyone even know how they plan to enforce this? Do they have the right meters to do so? As far as I know most law enforcement agencies around the world use meters from this company: www.laser-labs.com, but the Malaysian agencies (police, jpj, puspakom) were all using different and inaccurate meters, no doubt supplied by some political crone companies. If there is no proper regulation around the tools used to enforce these laws, how are they able to set such hefty fines and even jail time???

• Kenny Tan on Feb 22, 2016 at 1:55 pm

I personally prefer JPJ to imposed VLT 07 of 70%-60-60-60-60-60 all other windows.

With current new 70-50-50-30-30-30 is still too dark.

• Why is a darker tinted window became such an terrible offence? Does it mean that darker tinted window = criminal? Heat is such a killer nowadays, petrol are not cheap in Malaysia. Heat in the car = air-con consumption higher = higher consumption of petrol. Cost of living in Malaysia is getting higher day by day and now JPJ is trying to make it even worse?

• Kumar on Apr 09, 2016 at 7:49 pm

Paul/All,

I tried to search for any news article or statement from JPJ in regards to the new tinted rules as above mentioned but i dont found any of it over the internet site or JPJ web site. If anyone has it kindly share..

• EngSL on Aug 01, 2016 at 1:33 pm

Hi Hafriz, i could not find the relevant JPJ rules that allows 30% VLT for rear windows & rear windscreen from JPJ portal.
    http://www.jpj.gov.my/pengubahsuaian-kenderaan-persendirian
    Pls share your source.

• Yea, i could not find the back window to be 30% VLT approved in JPJ website.

any source saying that its approved?

thanks

• Johnnie on Feb 05, 2017 at 11:39 pm

Guys, I’m from Thailand planning on visiting KL coming March but my car have a privacy glass attached by the Toyota Japan factory. Can I drive my car to enter Malaysia with a privacy glass??

• Chris Ling on Feb 18, 2017 at 9:03 pm

Does this rule still applies for 2017?

• jayven on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:09 pm

can anyone answer what’s wrong with dark tint?
    what logic? because of accident?
    to me myself as a driver, up to me what colour or how dark the tint I want, its not causing harm to other, its just comfort for eyes, I believe a lot of other driver prefer darker tint is also because of that, and also for safety, sun….

• Ekbong on Mar 03, 2017 at 10:00 am

We heard this so many times and yet there are so many cars on the road with illegal tints. Hot hot chicken shit only lah.

• Mr. Loba Loba on Mar 03, 2017 at 12:30 pm

6 months jail… just for tinting… while some real criminals still walking free, robbing in broad daylight. Malaysia boleh.

• Sengal on Mar 03, 2017 at 12:37 pm

Hahahahah…. joke of da year…
    Punishment better implement to who is overtake using emergency lane, drive vehicle like belong to his/her family, phone whilst driving..
    This??? Window tinted?? Really?
    What happened to our enforcement???
    Shame on gov..

• CK Lim on Mar 03, 2017 at 3:08 pm

I am confused about the official VLT required by JPJ.

In this JPJ website, http://www.jpj.gov.my/web/eng/installation-of-tinted-windows it is stated:

“Rule 5 (1) and Rule 5 (3) of the 2000 Amendment of the Motor Vehicle Rules (Prohibition on Specific Types of Glass) set the translucence level of the windshield at no less than 70% and the rear and side windows at no less than 50%.”

I will appreciate a clarification what is the official VLT as set by JPJ.

Thank you.

• When jpj endorce the new tinted percentage hv they taken into acct on the weather in Msia. Temp globally rising and we need good heat insulation. My wife used her estima to ferry the children to school and with lower tinted percentage will be a headache. Very sad that if caught to pay so much fine! Our country enforcement is getting bad to worse! There are so much crime and issues and this are just a distraction.

• High cost equipment. on Mar 04, 2017 at 11:26 am

What is this regulation implement for??!! I tinted my car to prevent valuable things from spying by theif. The theif easily can took ur money or valuable things in ur car. How many polis report solved for thief breaking window?? My police report until now not solved, police cannot trace the thief and i lost almost 15k, bcoz of my car has no tint. Polis later send me the letter to my home and ask me “do u suspect anybody?”. DO I KNOW??? Everybody are watching me. Thief is everywhere now and we don’t now who. The polis should take full responsibility and get the best corrective action to pull out the theif and prevent it happen again. Pls do not blame to driver’s. I tinted 80% left and right and until now i save my valuable things from bad happen again, hopefully..

• Azhar on Mar 21, 2017 at 9:46 am

Good. As long as we can reduce visibility so that thieves cannot see clearly that the driver is a lady.

• No idea why Malaysia need this kind of regulation on tinting restriction? Its a private car and it didn’t harm anyone… even Taiwan did not restrict car from tinting. Maybe Malaysian government need to get more income with this rules… If the reason is for road safety, why Taiwan have less accident rate compared to Malaysia?