Mazda CX-4 caught completely undisguised in China

mazda-cx4-china-this-4-660x366

There is just nowhere for the upcoming Mazda CX-4 to hide anymore, it seems – the new SUV has once again been spotted completely undisguised in China, ahead of its expected world premiere at Auto China 2016 in Beijing. These photos, obtained from Chinese portal CarNewsChina, give us the clearest look yet at the new low-slung “CX-5 coupé.”

It may not have looked like it in concept form as the Koeru, but here – fitted with more production-friendly trim and lighting, smaller wheels and larger wing mirrors – the CX-4 bears a striking resemblance to the Mazda 3 hatchback, such is the similarity in proportions between both cars.

The long bonnet, curvaceous surfacing and fast rear windscreen rake give the CX-4 a visual link to its hatch sibling. Differences include thicker chrome bars around the windscreen and above the rear number plate recess, along with blacked-out A-pillars for a wraparound windscreen look.

Inside, it’s much the same what we’ve seen before – the dashboard is reminiscent to that seen on the Mazda 3 and facelifted Mazda 6, featuring a free-standing MZD Connect display, a three-spoke steering wheel, a three-pod instrument cluster and a Commander Control knob for the infotainment system. There’s also an electronic parking brake, first introduced on the 6 and CX-5 facelifts.

Engine choices are set to mirror those seen on the CX-5, including 155 hp/200 Nm 2.0 litre and 184 hp/250 Nm 2.5 litre direct-injected SkyActiv-G petrol engines (which we get over here) and a 148 hp/350 Nm 2.2 litre SkyActiv-D turbodiesel mills. As usual, these are expected to be mated to six-speed SkyActiv-MT manual or SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmissions, with a choice of either two- or four-wheel drive.

GALLERY: Mazda Koeru Concept at Frankfurt 2015

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Malaysia Where? on Mar 10, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Always new cars being spotted in China or Thailand. In Malaysia got what? where is our famous International Auto Show?

Why no car brands launch in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • Ketupat Paling Panjang on Mar 10, 2016 at 1:14 pm

Malaysia is also famous. We have made the longest Ketupat in the World. even PM officiated the event. In Malaysia, we achieve simple things, besides being lazy and like to sleep.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rrrr on Mar 10, 2016 at 3:21 pm

You won’t go wrong with sushi cars. I said many times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • Same Longtun on Mar 10, 2016 at 4:29 pm

Who care what u said if u also own a saga

• Same L0rrrr on Mar 10, 2016 at 6:29 pm

I will give you any Proton for FREE if I have any. I also said this many times. I don’t have habit keeping junk at home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • 20 Year old Unser on Mar 11, 2016 at 1:48 am

Are you sure? What about your junk unser rotting outside your cheras flat?

• vomitt on Mar 10, 2016 at 5:15 pm

But I feel boring, how?

• Proton thinks thats ok for Perdana Honda looks

• boringdesign on Mar 10, 2016 at 1:34 pm

Mazda copied BMW Audi, from 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9…until 100er still same front and rear

I almost vomit my lunch to see repeatitive design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
      • yawwnn on Mar 10, 2016 at 1:47 pm

Agree, boring same design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
      • Merc, Honda, Toyota, Lexus and others are all doing the same la. It’s what they do now, all in one same design language. Want totally different design, get a proton.

• superdriver on Mar 10, 2016 at 1:49 pm

Bro we famous for world class education, no country can come near us, we are so good other car companies donate their junk models to us to make their brand infamous.

• asean on Mar 10, 2016 at 3:01 pm

Toyota Rush 7 seater more practical.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
      • Socceroo on Mar 10, 2016 at 6:41 pm

Get a Toyota Hiace 11 seater even more practical.

• Add A Comment on Mar 11, 2016 at 8:40 am

Get a Bus 46 seater even more more practical

-I Have Just Added A Comment-

• Tak popular.. on Mar 10, 2016 at 3:50 pm

Dont forget bro….we also famous now…malaysia now known as “clone car land”…there are many spotted in here…but without camouflaged…thanksss to our Gv…im very proud…

• Mohd Faiz on Mar 11, 2016 at 1:31 am

malaysia later launch new aeroplane with stealth technology learnt from MAS.

• Proton better. Always get spotted in disguised.
    Syukur lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Wow, would love to see C-HR vs Mazda CX-4

• carazy on Mar 10, 2016 at 2:57 pm

Just wandering how Bernas will sort out the price for this car, with the CX-3 are more expensive than CX-5, if CX-4 price over the expensive CX-3, then I recon better get CX-9 then.

• Atilla on Mar 10, 2016 at 3:51 pm

I also wonder the same thing. How much per kilo of Mazda will Bernas sell this?

• You comparing CBU CX-3 with CKD CX-5? Have you taken your medicine today?

• shawal on Mar 10, 2016 at 3:00 pm

Cx4 2.2 4wd…. It’ll be d business…..ckd dat theng

• Stupid Msian Cars on Mar 10, 2016 at 3:34 pm

Cars nowadays are so freaking boring looking with one single monotonous design for all the series.

• Stupid Msian Cars on Mar 10, 2016 at 4:08 pm

Cars nowadays are getting very boring with one monotonous design for the entire ranges.

• I regretted getting a CX-5….I WANT THIS CX-4!!!!!!!!!!

• looks like the size of subaru xv

• williaml on Mar 12, 2016 at 2:54 pm

It is similiar size to Subaru Outback