VIDEO: You shouldn’t hold your child in the front seat

Please share for public information

Posted by Richardt Piek on Sunday, 14 December 2014

We tend to see pictures on social media of parents seated in the front passenger seats – with their kids on their lap. This shouldn’t happen at all. If you’re wondering why, this video will enlighten you and perhaps have you thinking more about the importance of child seats.

Demonstrated by the NSW Centre for Road Safety, the video takes a situation that we see all too often – a child and a parent seated in the front seat – but with the airbags deploying in full force. “The parent is wearing a seatbelt but the child is unrestrained,” the narrator explains at the start.

As seen in the video, the airbag inflates right in the child’s face, thrusting the baby violently towards the car’s roof. The possible injuries? A broken neck and possible skull fracture for the baby. The parent on the other hand, will suffer from a facial injury.

07 Child-Seat

If you’re still wondering why a child seat is extremely crucial (and why the seat belt should always be worn properly, at that), the second part will do well to elaborate the injuries that can be sustained during a 48 km/h crash. In this case, the seat belt is worn wrongly, under the child’s arm rather than over it.

“The seat belt slides down with both parts of the belt, then tightening into the child’s abdomen. The child’s body wraps itself around the belt,” the narrator explains. Bear in mind that while this may be a 48 km/h crash, the injuries suffered can be great too.

“Internal abdominal injuries, possible spinal and facial injuries will occur,” the narrator concludes. So guys, get your child properly strapped into a child seat, because it has saved a child’s life in many cases, told and untold. It’s no joke and being in a car, is serious business especially if you have a baby inside.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• This… a no-brainer but many do it anyway. I cringe everytime I see a toddler or baby held inches away from the hard dashboard. And usually the next thing I think about is giving the offending adult a ‘penampar-Jepun’. Same thing should be done to idiots who smoke near their children or worse – while holding a baby in their arms. Yet another symptom of the dropping education quality in our nation?

• Education din teach pipu to smoke.
      Education din teach pipu to put their children in harms way.
      Education din teach pipu to buy moving coffins.
      Yet pipu do all these.

Does education oso need to tell pipu how to aim correctly in toilet? Is this oso semua salah Gov?

• power rangers on Mar 28, 2016 at 10:16 pm

this website’s effort to promote child safety over the years has to be acknowledge and praise.

the public ignorance is a pity ..

• The people who complain about child seats being too expensive are the ones who change to sport rims the moment they get the car. This is how this country works.

• powershot (Member) on Mar 29, 2016 at 9:14 am

not just that. don’t forget that these type of people also tend to mod their cars like no tomorrow. & refuse to quit smoking cigarettes, which are becoming more expensive.

• Nobody will care it!!!!!!!! look at Malaysia Toyota,proton,nissan,honda……. and compare other country such as united state,euro… most of the car got 10 airbags,electronic stability control,blind spot warning system,auto brake…… Malaysian life are cheap.

• nabill (Member) on Mar 29, 2016 at 12:29 pm

Most parents be like ‘pfffft, i put my kid on my lap holding the steering wheel’