Rear-facing child seat saves a two-year-old baby’s life – real-life proof of the importance of child safety seats

Please everyone keep your kids rear facing as long as possible! This morning me and the boys were on our way to koltons…

Posted by Kylee Barrett on Thursday, 14 January 2016

We can’t stress enough on the importance of child seats. Now, an incident in Tacoma, Washington, has been shared on social media by a mother who met with a terrible road accident. The accident involved her two-year-old baby, whose life was saved by a rear-facing child seat.

Kylee Barrett, who recounted the incident on social media, was in the car destined for school, some five minutes away from their home. As they were travelling along, the truck that they were in hit a patch of ice. Barrett swerved the vehicle to avoid hitting oncoming cars, forcing the vehicle to flip and hit a tree.

Thanks to the rearward facing seat he was in, little baby Hunter suffered a broken femur and some bruises and cuts. But looking past that, her baby survived.

In her posting, Barrett wrote, “my poor baby is okay, other than that, and I can say him being rear-facing is the reason why! And Kolton who is five, was in his booster with a seat belt and only has a bump on his head.”

“Please don’t use the excuse he doesn’t like to be rear facing or he’s too big! We all had to be cut out of the truck and thank God nothing more happened!” Barrett advised via her Facebook post.

Another Facebook user who shared Barrett’s post, noted, “this specific seat retails for USD$100. It’s NOT a ‘nice’ seat, but it further illustrates the point that you don’t have to spend a fortune to keep your child safe. Use it properly every.single.time. The life of your child relies on it.” So guys, please take note of this incident because this could save your baby’s life.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Inb4 sam loo says if the truck was a toyota, the cabin wudnt crush so bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rrrr on Feb 22, 2016 at 10:26 pm

If the car is Toyota, it won’t be crushed so badly. Toyota has good body structure emphasize on passenger safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • Yeah. Body structure of a tofu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • I see mainly kampung people have no car seat. All like to carry their baby on the ibu’s lap. then the other 4 kids sit at the back with no safety belt.

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 24, 2016 at 12:18 am

poor john can comment whatever he likes, the fact is, Toyota still selling good while Tun himself admit Proton is a junk.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 23, 2016 at 9:06 am

We can make this into law but it will still not work if got no enforcement. How to work when 90% of the Trafik Polis ask for duit kopi to settle the saman?

Until the PDRM and JPJ clean up their dirty corrupted force, good measures like having compulsory child seat like Australia will never work here.

• No law in the world mandated that manufacturers need to use HPF. Its their own initiative. Unless of course u live in Mars…

• Keep on blaming no enforcement. Even for the sake of your child also need to wait for enforcement? If you have brain to think, no need to wait for the gov to enforce the law to use the child sit. It always on you as a parent. Even through this blog you knew the important of using the child car sit. No need to wait for the police to saman you.

• domainicus on Feb 22, 2016 at 6:55 pm

Educate! Educate! Educate! I educate my wife and me for our baby to sit on them, it took a second for uneducated grandma to sit my baby on her lap. Enact! Enact the goddam law dammit. Eradicate! Get rid of the excuses; no money lah, difficult lah, come on lah!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • camtakpro on Feb 23, 2016 at 7:31 am

There are also so many non-standard or non-conforming baby seats on sales. Which one is safe and which one is not?

There are still no (star) ratings on baby seats.

I’m not gonna buy some useless baby chair for 400+ only just to know it is just simple fragile plastic chair wrapped with cloth.

• MeToo on Feb 23, 2016 at 11:21 am

I went for those branded stuff for the peace of mind… but its way more expensive.

I also buy extra to put in the grandparent’s car. So no excuse not for them to use it.

• domainicus on Feb 23, 2016 at 1:00 pm

My Maxi Cosi (Netherland company) baby seat cost RM600, My peg Perego made in Italy 3-6 years old cost RM1000. Peace of mind rather than Rest in pieces I agree. Safety; priceless.

• jimmyloo on Feb 24, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Most of them have EU cert really, which should be ok. Be realistic, not everyone can afford branded carseats so lets not discourage those buying affordable ones. By affordable I mean rm200 – rm500 for full sized ones. The ones with REACT carseat crumble zone system could cost you over rm2k.

• Sam loo bodoh on Feb 22, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Sam loo will say if that is Toyota car just bring this total lost vehicle to any Toyota showroom still got rv.

• the driver on Feb 22, 2016 at 10:45 pm

Won’t happen as long as there are still drivers who believe that indulging their children’s fancies include letting the kids hang there heads out and above through sun roofs like people letting their pet dogs hang their heads out. Safety is the least of their concerns, so don’t expect them to pay heed to such an article. Other excuse missing – hot lah

• chiakc on Feb 22, 2016 at 10:45 pm

kudos to paultan team.

your site attracts respectable numbers of malaysian and it is great social responsibility of yours to spread good driving habit.

please post more on safe driving, defensive driving, car maintenance 101 or tyre pressure checking, anything that helps make fellow driver go home safely.

• Body on Frame on Feb 23, 2016 at 12:48 am

Most trucks have weak upper structural integrity compared to a monocoque SUV/Sedan. The weight of a truck adds to the damage itself in a rollover. But when you hit a tree, all bets are off. Watch more Euro NCAP pole crash test to identify a stronger car. Then again if your impact speed is too high, nothing will save you except a miracle. Drive cautiously.

• superdriver on Feb 23, 2016 at 12:14 pm

The poor baby, please be ok.

• First rule of accident,

Try not to meet one. Try to reduce your speed, know your car and your ability limit. No phones.

This is the best bet. 89% car accident is due to own mistake, another 6% by others, while the rest is lain lain.