SPYSHOTS: 2016 Proton Persona sports new skin

12952823_1006446779446890_365589201_o

A fresh batch of spyshots of the upcoming 2016 Proton Persona have been sent in by reader Kamal Mcd Asn – these new photos show the Iriz-based B-segment sedan wearing a trippy new circular camouflage that is sure to make anyone’s head spin.

Apart from the new design for the disguise, the Persona also wears a little bit less of the disguise itself, revealing a few more details. The large rear “diffuser” makes a reappearance, while the Iriz’ distinctive “side blades” can also be seen. The almond-shaped tail lights and tall bootlid have been seen in earlier spyshots.

Previous photos have also shown a new headlight shape compared to the one on the Iriz – the Persona’s is slimmer and sleeker, flowing to the grille. The expanded “Proton Wings” chrome upper grille trim that run across the headlights is also visible in these photos. This matches the renders done by both resident Photoshop expert Theophilus Chin and Proton Design Competition 2014 winner Pow Ying Hern.

The front bumper with the gaping lower grille and protruding chin splitters is reminiscent to the one on the Iriz, although the fog lights are now round in shape instead of triangular – again matching Theo’s render. Down the side, the Persona is visually similar to its hatch sibling, with the exception of the C-pillar kink.

Renderings of the 2016 Proton Persona, by Theophilus Chin (top) and Pow Ying Hern (bottom)

The Persona looks to be taller than most of the competition, keeping the Iriz’s considerable height – the hatch is around 75 mm taller than both the Honda City and the Toyota Vios. This would explain the slightly awkward proportions compared to some of its rivals.

The Persona will be unveiled some time after the soon-to-be-launched Perdana, but ahead of the new Saga. The Iriz’s range of 1.3 litre and 1.6 litre VVT engines are expected to be offered on the Persona at launch, but the car could gain Proton’s new 1.3 litre and 1.6 litre direct-injected (GDI/TGDI) engines after production of the new mills begin by the end of 2017.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Jason Lim on Apr 04, 2016 at 2:51 pm

why the wheel so small?that is 15′ the most
    should be at least 16′ or 17′

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 10
    • It will be suicide to buy a Proton now for 2 reasons

1) Don’t know when the company will close shop. When close shop, my RV will rocket down.

2) With no money and so much of losses and hutang hutang hutang, how can one be sure they are getting a car with utmost quality parts used and all safety checks adhered to?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 31
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 04, 2016 at 3:55 pm

Outdents on the doors are very ugly. I just don’t get the Iriz’s design language. OK it’s eccentric like Citroën, so what? Proton still doesn’t have any worthy product to reenter UK market. Wait, even Indonesian market Proton is struggling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
        • Last year, in Singapore, Proton sold a Grand total of 1 car. And Singapore is our neighbour. Even the showroom also makan few million in rental

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
          • mat kutu on Apr 04, 2016 at 6:05 pm

Probably malaysia embassy bought the car for their pinnoy to goto pasar to buy vege.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
          • Kelle on Apr 04, 2016 at 6:16 pm

So what high sales number doesn’t always mean it is good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
          • P1noy on Apr 05, 2016 at 1:05 am

Losing money like P1 means it’s good…

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 05, 2016 at 12:25 pm

Good or bad sales, government subsidize. You are helping Proton direct or indirectly.

• Albert on Apr 04, 2016 at 4:16 pm

Tokok John,I have to with you,this time only.
        The bladdy politican blame Tun for the sad state of affairs at Proton.
        The entire cabinet gave the thumbs up when Tun mooted this idea of PROTON.
        YAB DATUK sERI ,OUR CURRENT pm was also in Tun’s cabinet at that time.
        Now,things go wrong..they point to scapegoats.
        Shambolic.
        Dont be surprised the bladdy gearbox sag and dislodge itself from the car when you drive your new Perdana,Persona or saga.
        Morale is so bad now,even Salesman Ah Beng is asking Sam Loor for openings.
        Insaf lah,Proton.dont waste our money and time.
        Have some self worth and dignity.Just close shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
        • Michael on Apr 04, 2016 at 4:25 pm

The news in town and in grapevine is that, nobody wants to buy Proton anymore after Tok Pa announced that company in shambles.

we have to thank Government of Malaysia for now officially killing Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
          • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Apr 04, 2016 at 6:56 pm

For Albert, Imagine when Proton Global marketing the cars will be hot sells like cake… Even Sir AleX Ferguson will bought it as Man U main transport car ! And you will cry for not owning a Proton car. Don’t like just don’t buy and go balik kampung eat jagung !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
          • john is otak batu on Apr 05, 2016 at 8:37 am

Person that sing “imagine” already 6 ft under..u also kena tanam bersama jagung

• rally_fan (Member) on Apr 05, 2016 at 9:05 am

“Have some self worth and dignity.Just close shop.” come on la.. dont tell me you are so naive to think that Proton can ‘decide’ to close shop on its own.. you dont think the govt actually controls proton indirectly? yes… they’re owned by DRB.. and do you believe DRB doesnt take direction from the govt..?

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Apr 04, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Don’t like or not interested then don’t buy, Proton no needed for basher like you… AND PROTON not the cause of MALAYSIA car price become so expensive !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 46
      • Another Juara in the Making on Apr 04, 2016 at 3:20 pm

Proton is the most stupidest company in the whole wide world. They come out with designs like Tiara, Juara, Savvy and Arena and when people don’t buy, they blame the rakyat for no support.

Hello Proton, do you know, those who bought your yellow Juara are now still single and nobody wants to marry them despite 10 years have passed?

Hello Proton, do you know, those yellow Juara owners, until today, get laughed at?

Now, this new car is following your trend of lousy designs. Wake up lah Proton. This is why you are losing money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 35
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Apr 04, 2016 at 4:18 pm

Rakyat always first, AP and sub link companies come to last that’s why Proton car is CHEAP !
          Proton admit a little design mistake BUT Proton always looks to improve the car… NOT LIKE P2 and UMW always lie to Rakyat on NCAP and safety. Never trust the unsafety car and manufacturer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
        • Michael on Apr 04, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Proton failed in every market we entered into since 1985. Failed miserably. but somehow, Proton thinks, with TPPA, they are going to sell millions of units to people in the US.

People in the US are going to stop buying their US$22k Camry, US$23k Accord and US$30k Lexus and buy Proton cars.

Toyota and Honda in US must be very worried

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
          • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Apr 04, 2016 at 7:02 pm

Micheal I won’t blame you as a girl name that don’t know Malaysia car industry system. AP system owners are to help Malaysia industry and IF NOT Malaysia car price will be same as Thailand and Indonesia expensive car price ! Please learn before comment…AP system is good for the country !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
        • rally_fan (Member) on Apr 05, 2016 at 9:09 am

good comments.. but actually.. proton didnt design some of the cars you mentioned. Tiara = citroen AX, Juara = Mitsubishi townbox… ok.. savvy.. no comment ;) and have you checked the prices for Arena recently? they’re still selling from between RM20-37k… and its hard to buy one even if you wanted as owners are not selling. plus over 80% of arenas sold in the UK are still on the road today.. source: www.howmanyleft.co.uk and everyone knows arena aka jumbuck sold plenty in australia.

• lilytan on Apr 04, 2016 at 3:46 pm

Looks like a shopping cart from that angle. Huge body, puny wheels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Nosushi on Apr 04, 2016 at 6:18 pm

Much better than jepunis cars with big tyres but prone to turn turtle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Sir Savinh Kaur on Apr 05, 2016 at 11:48 am

Wow Proton. Nice car. Saya mmg nk tukar kereta baru.Bila launch. I want book 3 unit. 1 for my mom, 1 for my young sister who still study and 1 for my daily workhorse.

• Not interested anything from a bankrupt company!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 24
    • Gobackkid on Apr 04, 2016 at 6:19 pm

Lol so childish. Mitsu hyundai nissan etc were about to go bankruptcy. But still going strong until now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Sohai tokok on Apr 05, 2016 at 7:44 am

Does anyone care about your preference in your life ?….. NO … WHY ? you are a nobody…

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Apr 04, 2016 at 2:55 pm

P1 Really living with Tun M spirit here with this Fugly design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Apr 04, 2016 at 4:22 pm

The aero dynamic is failed. Like Van

• Lotusftw on Apr 04, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Clearly you dun know anything about lotus proton handling

• Proton Pencuri on Apr 05, 2016 at 1:11 am

I only know Proton curi design of Mr Pow. How come Azlan don’t design it himself?

• The shape look odd. In other word “Ugly”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
  • Mamat on Apr 04, 2016 at 3:02 pm

the next model suppose to be larger not smaller than the previous.. it is more to iris sedan.. not persona at all.. hrmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • superman on Apr 04, 2016 at 3:11 pm

so ugly. this an IRIZ sedan. whatever they do they are goners. everything is just Iriz, DRB Hicim’s sick child.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
  • aqeef on Apr 04, 2016 at 3:27 pm

wahh twin pipes? overkilling it hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Jonn Dol on Apr 04, 2016 at 3:28 pm

Not sure if anyone is interested with this model, given it’s exterior look. Proton might want to fully utilize the Iriz platform, and created the sedan variant. But unfortunately, it looks much worse than the fourth-gen Honda City , Ford Fiesta Sedan and Nissan Almera. It’s a side effect created by the design mistake of the Proton Iriz, with it’s supertall body profile. To be frank, it’s not worth the Persona nameplate, because the original Persona has more balanced/elegant exterior lines. When the Preve was first launched ,is was meant to be the Persona Replacement Model. But the sales of the Preve/Suprima S is a big disappointment. Proton could also be erratic in their decision..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • driver on Apr 04, 2016 at 5:07 pm

don’t think so. no other car can compete on hideous almera is..

• Ungainly, fat and too roundish. But hey. If dugong vios and almera can sell, why not this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • john is otak batu on Apr 04, 2016 at 4:20 pm

Not much ppl will dare enough to buy even it “looks like” Mercededes cause Potong is already at the edge of the fall now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • palon on Apr 04, 2016 at 3:45 pm

i think these cars going to moon…probably after 2 year these cars will landing into showroom.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 04, 2016 at 4:07 pm

Meantime we can enjoy endless striptease from Proton and spyshots from the fan boys. Malaysians might as well keep running our 1994 Proton Wira sambung halfcut..barely alive like zombie and legendary freezing aircond to beat the elnino heat.

• NIEKO on Apr 04, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Well lets not jump in to conclusion here pips …it may not be beautiful but if you remember cars like the Nissan Almera & Mitsu Atrrage are even more ugly in my opinion ..but in B-Segment sedans space is the most important subject that is frequently discussed ..so judging by the dimension of the car …what I see is a car with limitless space which is a good thing ….so all is not lost

• attrage failed big time in Malaysia. So how?

• Albert on Apr 04, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Tokok John.Attrage fail,distributor can stop the imports.They are not like big boy Protong,whose 2 factories are heavily underutilised(only 35percent each).They can produce 1.25 million cars(total ‘installed ” capacity}.
        ONly 100,000 units sold in 2015.
        Imagine how much unsold stocks they have.
        If suppliers need cash,I think they should be given unsold protons who then trade in to Mudah used car dealers,to get some hard cash..
        If not the proton vendors may get Rm1,when Proton is insolvent.

• kenpachi on Apr 04, 2016 at 3:57 pm

Vios is uglier than this.. still many ppl buy.. agreed that the wheels r too small but how many ppl don’t oredy changed their vehicles’ rims n tyres?? u can alwayz change the rims but not stupid ministers’ brains..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
  • Proton? Is this company still relevant?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • P2macai on Apr 04, 2016 at 6:26 pm

P2 safety feature without VSC still relevant?

• Relevant to send pipu to early afterlife

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • P1macai on Apr 05, 2016 at 12:23 am

Your Gen 2 got VSC or are you talking from afterlife?

• Bodo piang. My ESC-less Gen2 sold what year? Ur ESC-less keli vios sold what year? Why not compare my father’s KE70 as well hmm?

• P1macai on Apr 05, 2016 at 11:51 am

John, you lagi bodoh. Vios already have ESC on all variants in Thai and soon will be in Malaysia. Saga sold for 30 years got ESC ar? You should be in the afterlife and not talking crap here. Just RIP lah

• undertaker on Apr 05, 2016 at 1:15 pm

RIP john, RIP

• Oh yes. They are selling it. P2 people are so busy. Hari-hari sibuk kerja and no gossip news like Proton. They must be envy of Proton.

• Pak Atan on Apr 05, 2016 at 7:32 am

you are the one who is not relevent.

• its not really ugly but not pretty also. so so la.
    from start announced the project i was wondering since its a ‘persona’ why stretching iriz but not redesign the current persona and make it sexier? I dont know what proton designer was thinking

• rashuk_khan2 on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:45 am

Existing persona design is outdated. Using same platform with Iriz is the best solution.

• smokey on Apr 04, 2016 at 5:25 pm

wheels are too small and the car is too tall
    look not proportionate

i think ppl will jz buy it for the price and safety features, but for sure not looks

• Firdaus on Apr 04, 2016 at 6:17 pm

Back in 2005-2007, Proton held road shows around the country for feedback.I happened to test drive a Satria Neo 1.6 Auto.

After the drive, which was more like kura-kura walking down the street, I filled up a feedback card provided by the Proton salesman.

What did I write then on the card?
    I said in a proffesional way that the engine lacks torque.And now, after 11 years only they fire up a new range of engines(new or still campro need to confirm).

Now, I want to said it in an unproffesional way…..
    Dei Proton, go fly kite lah!!!
    I hope your new Persona still with Campro engine would sell millions just like the hot cake Iriz!(pun intended)

What do you call idiots who never bothers about feedback?
    Proton, the release of your Campro engine caused the Rakyat to build you your Coffin!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • You never read about new tgdi engines kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • U must have not driven CPS engine, or CFE engine or VVT engine to make that judgement. So which cave did u crawl out from?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Firdaus… U told them the truth, but u see what will happened to u? Proton`s fanboys shouted to u like no tomorrow… very loud, like their campro`s engine.

• kennedy on Apr 05, 2016 at 1:23 pm

They cannot handle the truth lah, don’t bother. They don’t care about feedback but will just go back to eat Nasi Lemak and sleep as usual. Proud people like john here will just ask you to crawl back to cave

• Just becoz the truth doesnt conform to what u think, so u need to show ur butthurt? LOL

• kennedy on Apr 05, 2016 at 11:45 pm

More likely you are butthurt since you ask him which cave he crawl out from after he gave his feedback on Proton. That is the truth lol

• Muhammad on Apr 04, 2016 at 6:40 pm

Ah pek M fool you deserve your 15% share of msia auto market. By end 2016 it’ll become 10%. 30 million people pray and wish your lousy Proton will close shop immediately. You are a utter disgrace to this country and had caused us sooooo much suffering. What goes around comes around. Now you eat and swallow the karma.

• Sack designer on Apr 04, 2016 at 7:01 pm

Yes sack the designer!

• Potong Lelong Semua on Apr 04, 2016 at 7:12 pm

Potong is a nightmare of its own, no matter how much they try, the car designs are just ugly and with lack of technology, good engine builds, its like putting together a rojak from where they can find and meshing it all up together, stop the madness Potong, close shop with dignity that you have been building cars for 30 years plus and cannot get it right, sometimes its just not meant to be, you can do other things like manufacturing for other car makers increasing those huge plants at their maximum capacity while everyone gets to keep their jobs.

• Sam VHL Loo on Apr 04, 2016 at 11:05 pm

It’s already a nightmare to own it (rosak here and there), but biggest nightmare is driving a ‘strong startle’ cheap Punchtaik CVT automatic @ automampuih transmission (feels like anytime it will condemn). Want to trade in, don’t say at Same Lorrrr’s beloved UMW Toyota showroom, any other car showroom will potong harga kawkaw until the owner yelling out ‘HaiLat Lorrrr’.

• Persona used to be a wide & low sport sedan. Now some stupid make it become a narrow & tall extended butt hatchback. Why spoil the name of Persona? why don’t just give it a new name? or just simply name it as Iriz Sedan?

• Nice! But.. on Apr 04, 2016 at 8:14 pm

Look so fat n roomy.Why not.But…

• Firdaus on Apr 04, 2016 at 10:01 pm

maybe Arul Kanda can turn around this company after his job in 1MDB is done!

• Who knows! It be a waste if Najib let him go after his Herculean feat at 1MDB (imagine doing all 7 tasks simultaneous, while circling vultures pecking incessantly).
      Shud make him Deputy Fin Minister or next Bank Negara Govnator

• Tong Sampah on Apr 04, 2016 at 10:35 pm

why Persona? yup, since Persona cronies cant give up..

Preve, Persona, Saga, virtually same size..waste money.

strategy? r&d? LOL…

• MrMan on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:52 am

every where in here must linked remarks “cronies” talking. Bored. perverted tongue

• wow proportionately is just wrong

guess they added some ‘skirt’ again..

• MrMan on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:48 am

The ‘pain’ Proton had now will make it batter. I’m confident Proton hardly rectifying major mistakes done before. After Exora Bold & Iriz going out I could feel that Proton will up to success sooner, especially new SAGA and Personan. Also after Tun’s resignation as Pengerusi to take donw the political heats associated to Proton. But I heard from Proton staff that his son’scompany already planned to take over majority shares from DRB soon?. So that’s why Tun M try to persuade us to continue supporting Proton.

• RavenAii (Member) on Apr 08, 2016 at 1:01 am

Omg this look outrageously weird… Like those Suzuki Dzire and Honda Amaze. At least the Suzuki SX4 sedan looks better even though it follows its sister car hatch design. The fact Iriz and the future Persona has small wheels just makes it more laughable…