2016 Daihatsu Boon unveiled – next Myvi incoming?

07_01_04

Alongside its Toyota Passo twin, the Daihatsu Boon has also been revamped for 2016. The B-segment supermini – which our Perodua Myvi is based on – has been completely redesigned inside and out, gaining several new features in the process.

As with the Passo, the new Boon is split into two models – a standard X variant and a more stylish Cilq. The former features a boxier look compared to its jellybean-like predecessor, with squarish headlights (LED items on the higher-end G package variant), C-shaped LED tail lights and a more upright greenhouse. There’s also a new black C-pillar appliqué that mimics the look of a wraparound rear windscreen.

Similar to the Passo Moda, the Boon Cilq is differentiated by teardrop-shaped bi-LED projector headlights, a trapezoidal grille, indicators integrated into the side mirrors and U-shaped front and rear bumper inserts. 14-inch steel wheels with covers are standard on both models, with new six-spoke machine-finish alloys available on higher end variants.

Inside, there’s a new bi-level dashboard, with a protruding centre console housing both the centre air vents and the head unit. There’s also a redesigned three-spoke steering wheel, along with a new dashboard-mounted gearlever (mounted on the steering column on previous models). As before, a bench seat is fitted at the front for a more open and airy ambience.

07_01_03

In here, too, there are differences between the X and Cilq models – the former gets an open tray above the glovebox, while the latter gains an enclosed box. A dark interior colour scheme with beige and red seat centres and red air vent surrounds is also unique to the Cilq. Keyless entry and push button start is now available as an option, along with a driver’s seat heater (standard on four-wheel drive models).

Standard safety kit includes dual airbags, ABS with EBD, Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) and traction control. As before, side and curtain airbags are available as an option, bringing the total to six airbags.

Also available as an option for the first time is Smart Assist II, which adds autonomous emergency braking, pedestrian collision warning, lane departure warning, false start suppression control to guard against collisions caused by pedal misapplication, as well as a preceding vehicle start notification that warns if the vehicle ahead is moving off from a traffic stop (i.e. a traffic light).

07_02_01

Under the bonnet, the 1KR-FE “Topaz Neo” 1.0 litre DVVT three-cylinder engine has been retained, producing 69 PS at 6,000 rpm and 92 Nm at 4,400 rpm. It’s mated to a continuously variable transmission (CVT) and automatic start-stop as standard, and is capable of delivering as much as 28 km per litre on the Japanese JC08 cycle, and 24.4 km per litre on 4WD models. The more powerful 95 PS/121 Nm 1NR-FE 1.3 litre four-pot has been dropped.

Should the next Perodua Myvi be based on this car (which it almost certainly will), expect it to feature significant body panel changes, unique head- and tail lights and a different interior to comply with more traditional Malaysian tastes. Also expect the tiny engine to be replaced by bigger 1.3 and 1.5 litre mills – likely from Toyota’s new NR range and equipped with Dual VVT-i – along with a four-speed automatic.

The new Smart Assist II could also make an appearance, in line with SAE Malaysia’s claim that the second national carmaker will incorporate such a system by 2020 – the company was spotted trialling a Daihatsu Move recently, fitted with SA II. Expect the Myvi to be unveiled about a year after the Passo and Boon, much like how the current model’s release followed a similar timeframe.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• -BigBalls- on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:42 pm

As someone who drops nothing but pure unadulterated TRUTH this had to be posted.

enough of these subpar cars on the road, its no coincidence 90% of reckless drivers on the road are myvi owners

-BigBalls-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 25
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:08 pm

Not sure if ur “balls” are big, but confirm ur brain is quite small

• VSC bashing in 3, 2, 1… Ehh? How come got VSC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Same L00 on Apr 13, 2016 at 1:31 am

When Perodua models have VSC, Proton can close shop straight. No one want to pay for junk.

• RavenAii (Member) on May 06, 2016 at 4:52 pm

Nissan start to offer VSC and six airbags as standard now on the Sylphy and Teana. UMW Toyota can close shop straight away. No one want to pay for expensive junk.

• Proton, you will never win your argument with your vsc. No matter how many times you talk about vsc, people just don’t buy it. If you want proof, just look at your Iriz sales figure.

• Pondok on Apr 13, 2016 at 10:18 am

Toyota can close shop as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • camtakpro on Apr 13, 2016 at 11:47 am

Japan model got mah. Malaysia models give you useless bodykit.

• Jimmy on Apr 12, 2016 at 5:21 pm

1. How did they pass the driving tests?
      2. In Malaysia, it will another 2 + 0 car. In case you don’t know (those interested in Myvi), 2 airbags with zero ESP (stability control).
      3. Again, minum milo anda jadi sihat dan kuat.
      4. Altis price in certain countries, buatan Malaysia konon. The low and middle-low classes always kena buli and yet they are the ones who supported me all this while, and nine millions big thanks yous to you all.

See you again by 2018.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • BigBalls leads to zero brains…..

• Small Ballz on Apr 13, 2016 at 10:10 am

That’s because 90% of the cars are Myvis. Makes sense.

• Same L0rrr on Apr 12, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Buy Perodua better.. good RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 38
    • hailthepurist on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:46 pm

lol with the van interior..

• kuriang on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:53 pm

Boring lah uncle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Yea. Buy a Proton any your life will become interesting. Additional topic to talk when lepaking with your friends about how busy you are from calling tow truck for rescue and sending your car to service centre every week.

• Buy P2. Fastest way to afterlife

• policeman on Apr 12, 2016 at 7:47 pm

Mana ada RV? My friend drove brand new 2013 MyVi 1.5SE. Kereta terbalik. Total loss.

Insurance money from the car was used to pay back the loan and he had to top up from his savings to settle the balance.

The guy is paralysed. He was self employed and had no insurance. Luckily GH is free, so medical bill kaotim (thanks to our government)

His wife left him and took the children along. He receives RM300 welfare monthly (thanks to our government) which he uses to buy bread and onions to keep himself alive.

Rent for his flat was overdue for months. His brother is the owner of the flat. Eventually after 2 years of not paying rent, the brother had no choice but to kick him out.

His father had a stroke and died after hearing about the sons falling out. Mother went insane with all that’s going on and set herself and her house on fire.

He now lives with a friend who is a drug addict and they share a room in an old squatter house.

He just sits in his wheelchair beside his window staring at the construction site next to his house.

I visited him last year and I couldn’t help laughing. I told him in 2013, not to get a MyVi and get a Preve instead just like one of our other friend did. He said “wait for 2 years and we’ll see who has the last laugh” Turns out I did. Ha ha.

So is it worth getting a MyVi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
      • Reading the story about your friend, your life should be lebih kurang as pathetic as him.

• I have a friend who bought a Proton. Did not listen to me not to buy Proton but he bought it instead. He was a wealthy man staying in a semi-D in Sabah. The day he got his Proton, his life changed instantly. Wife left him on that day. Family disowned him. Got fired from his Executive Director. Even most of his friend severe their friendship with him. He went to see bomoh and as expected, the bomoh said the bad omen originated from his Proton. Soon he sold off the Proton at a lost, and he strike a lottery. Wife and family came back to him. Now he is an owner of a multi-million dollar business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • talldisc on Sep 25, 2017 at 2:34 pm

if he buys car 90% loan, 9 years period – the market value will dive faster than bank loan balance. try paying 20% up front and 6 yrs loan max. then no need top up. it works for every cars.

• Same Old Loo on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:22 pm

Don’t buy Toyota at all! No rv! Vios underpower! Camry so small! Altis hideous! Hilux sissy girl!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Pak Atan on Apr 14, 2016 at 12:34 am

Bash, bash, bash… Hanya tau bash like a girl. Balik kampung je tanam jagung. Memalukan melayu

• boxwagon on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:17 pm

copy design from new smart forfour/renault twingo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • zwei147 on Apr 12, 2016 at 4:50 pm

Ugly vehicle ever..!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • TakPro2 on Apr 12, 2016 at 5:07 pm

OK P2 engineers.
    Now u can start designing the bonnet and bumpers.
    Then u can go back to sleep. Ooopps!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Apr 12, 2016 at 5:29 pm

If their gaji is rm3888, then it is understandable.

Unlimited entertainment allowances for bonekas is to keep your mouth shut and do not interfere with my decisions; I am not talking about P2 or P3, it may not be you.

Suka-suka dijadikan director, senang-lenang dapat berjuta-juta, tak payah guna akal analysis, just baca isytihar dan kenyataan yang dibikin orang lain, I don’t mind to be called bonananeka.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • at least P2 did not need and never needed a bail out!!! P1 needed bail our because of terrible management, no sales and bad reputation as well as political matters and terrible corruption. P2 could take over P1 easily with their sale figures and revenues. if this car comes in as next MyVi which I am sure it will, it does not matter if it is ugly or not, people will buy them all and will smoke all the new Iriz based Saga and Persona. its the brand equity and name which P1 is gone to abyss.. at least P2 is far better managed and they have lots of cash. don’t underestimate P2. I drive a Proton myself but this is the truth I say. Proton is plagued with problems since Tun was involved and all biz was awarded to friends with no idea of car making and so many other terrible moves. Proton must close down and re-brand, restructure with a proper partner and hire all new staff specially top managers then it may do better. Shame that they have to ask Government for bail out so embarrassing when they have DRB with their head worth over 8B.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 30
    • padiyappa on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:59 pm

P2 only rebadge for all its model line up..no need to spend much money or perhaps none in R&D..so tak payah nak sembang gempak sgt bout P2..n btw the problematic savvy..tiara..juara etc were introduced b4 dr m become the ceo..lu sembang hancing la bro..way b4 tht laa the problem occured..n bout all biz was awarded to his fren? Too cliché laa..I know most of the vendors / towkay n they r definitely not his frens laa..btw not trying to bck dr m up..he is another #$&$ story..the point is..malaysian like to tokok when actually they know shit bout the topic..

• caicai on Dec 10, 2016 at 1:32 am

Did u just talking in front of the mirror? You too know s**t about the topic.. Do P1 not starting to rebadge their cars? Ertiga, inspira, old accordana? They are following P2 steps. P1 started with their own so called design. Then slowly realized it only bring them down. While P2 do the opposite. Rebadging n slowly start design their own car. I believe new myvi will be 95% local design. Same as biza. Mark my word.

• how much is perodua R&D spending? :D

• Zerome on Apr 12, 2016 at 5:28 pm

Do you guys view BM version for this topic….love the commercial vid there….sooo gayishh cars….hahaha
    p/s: passo aka myvi cars for sissy…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Stupidity on Apr 12, 2016 at 6:23 pm

Korang bising je lah, biar la Perodua nk buat apa pon. Bukan kacau duit mak bapak kau pon. Always keep complaining. Haritu aku g Perodua Service Center pon ramai je cina sibuk nk servis. Cina pon suka jugak kan Perodua? hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 42
    • Umno celaka on Apr 12, 2016 at 6:40 pm

Stupidity at its best!

• Ni mesti geng2 ajet JDM kan?? Paki MyVi made in Malaysia tp bajet konon pakai kereta JDM.. Konon pakai Passo, Boon… The real JDM tu haa, Alphard, Vellfire, Estima, Wish, Mark X, Mitsu Outlander, Honda Odyssey.. Nama dengan komen sama je, Stupidity….

• bukapintubayartol on Apr 12, 2016 at 7:46 pm

I have faith in the Perodua designers in turning the face of the Boon into something less fruity.. Also looking forward to all the new safety features. With the autonomous emergency braking system, it should be safer than the Iriz. I’m also liking the center arm rest, which seem to benefit from the handbrake being converted into a footbrake (i think)

• juggernaut on Dec 10, 2016 at 1:34 am

You will.next year new myvi will be launched. We will see

• They put 1.0 and 1.3 engine in Japan. Come to Malaysia P2 put 1.5 engine on this light body. Malaysian ricer think its bloody powerful thats why we can see many of them racing in highway.

• camtakpro on Apr 13, 2016 at 11:51 am

This is because the 1.3L and 1.0L run out of optimal gear when climbing up hill. Jap use CVT that’s why low cc still works.

The 4 speed auto just can’t upshift while dragging the engine uphill.

No choice to introduce 1.5L, but then…

• ex-VGM staff on Sep 25, 2017 at 2:42 pm

in cold countries like Japan and europe, small capacity engines have wonders. even Honda Jazz in UK sold in 1.2 spec.

in Malaysia, when the weather gets hot engine loses power (cannot achieve true power). remember why car engineers designed intercooler, cold air intake etc? its because of this issue. otherwise, the 1.3 engine may feel like 1.0 sometimes. but when we go up Karak highway, it feels smooth and powerful.

• mr1031 on Apr 12, 2016 at 8:26 pm

I don’t think so..it’ll cost too much for perodua to loose their revenue

they will recycle myvi for another 20 years..

• Local version to have 4 speed automatic? So gross! In the age where the norms are 5 and 6 speed automatic I hope Perodua won’t put outdated 4 speed automatic.

• Sendiri punya CVT so much problem ni nak komplen transmission orang lain.

• dont ever dreaming about vsc,smart assist,keyless etc perodua never care!

• Kus Cher on Apr 12, 2016 at 11:16 pm

Dis is the future of myvi? Bwahahahahahaa

• evilmonkey on Apr 13, 2016 at 4:12 am

Boon? More like nooB.

• hazzif on Apr 13, 2016 at 8:01 am

everyone is entitle to buy whatever they wish. its their money. who cares abt P2 or P1. you have brain, use it. you got money, you buy lorr..takde duit diam sudah..

• New myvi 2017

• The CILQ looks like a Mini Cooper !!

Hope P2 won’t change much of this design. Also add in a yellow + black top…WOW!!

• Kelisa?