Dual VVT-i Toyota ‘NR’ engines for Perodua next year

Toyota Daihatsu Perodua NR Engine 6

Daihatsu has announced next-generation engines for the ASEAN region, benefitting both Indonesia’s Astra Daihatsu Motor (ADM) and Malaysia’s Perodua, JVs where DMC has interest in.

Here in Indonesia, where we’re covering the GIIAS 2015 show live, a version of the new engine made its debut in the recently launched Daihatsu Xenia facelift. That’s the 1NR-VE, a 1.3 litre DOHC engine with Dual VVT-i, 97 hp at 6,000 rpm and 121 Nm of torque at 4,100 rpm.

The 1NR-VE is also available in the Toyota Avanza facelift, which is manufactured by ADM for Toyota. The Avanza, as the car with the senior brand, is also available with a bigger 2NR-VE 1.5 litre engine (104 PS/139 Nm). The replaced engines made 91 PS/117 Nm (1.3) and 103 PS/136 Nm (1.5).

Intake and exhaust Dual VVT-i aside, the new engines feature teflon coating for the pistons (reduces friction), larger water jackets (better cooling, improved combustion, lower noise), roller rocker arm (reduces friction between rocker arm and camshaft) and iridium spark plugs. The roller and water jacket measures combine for 14% reduced engine noise in the Xenia, and fuel savings of up to 15% are claimed.

The base parts of the new engines have been jointly developed by Daihatsu and Toyota. In Indonesia, The new engines will be manufactured on a new line at ADM’s Karawang engine plant; the line incorporating Daihatsu’s production concept of simple, slim and compact (SSC). The company says that costs have been drastically reduced, thanks to the expanded use of local parts.

In Malaysia, we know that Perodua is constructing a RM600 million engine plant at the Sendayan TechValley near Seremban, which as of last month was 80% complete. The facility will be ready by the fourth quarter of this year and will produce the 1.3 and 1.5 litre NR engines. Perodua doesn’t use VVT-i branding, so expect a different term – Dual-DVVT perhaps?

“Technologies will be developed for many different applications, and will also be incorporated in the vehicles of Perodua, a local joint venture in Malaysia. In Malaysia, the new engines will be manufactured at a new engine company that will commence operation in mid-2016. The new company’s plant will also follow the concept of SSC,” Daihatsu said in a statement.

Toyota Avanza facelift

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• UMW Mampus on Aug 21, 2015 at 6:25 pm

Nothing is new in Perodua. Currently they are using engines from the 90s. This engine is just something Toyota stopped using in the 00s and now Toyota is using it as “new”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 24
    • betul jugak..
      And now, competitors still failed to be be more fuel efficient than this Dual VVt-i Avanza RWD.

competitors of Avanza:
      Honda Mobilio 1.5 FWD ivtec,
      Suzuki Ertiga 1.4 FWD. VVT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Proton Potong on Aug 21, 2015 at 11:59 pm

However still better than fuel guzzle Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 21
        • beaked on Aug 22, 2015 at 11:13 am

1.6l campro saga FC is similar to 1nz-fe in vios. 1.3l campro can tarpau ady. 1.6l turbo campro FC in exora FC is tad higher than 1.6l no vvti engine and of course frugal than non hybrid camry. Both are 1.4 tonnes monsters

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
        • Open Letter to Perodua on Aug 22, 2015 at 11:59 am

Thank you for coming out with this VVTI or DVVT engine as you call it BUT what Malaysians want is lower prices. Your boss Najib already promise the rakyat 30% reduction in car prices. As a national car maker, you should start first reducing your car prices before others start to follow.

Do you know why you have done well the past 20 years? You have done well merely because MITI has jacked up the prices of all other cars by RM30k that we Malaysians are forced to buy your car, being the cheapest.

But your car has ZERO safety features which puts of lives and our family in constant danger. We can only pray that we don’t meet an accident. If that happens, we are dead on the spot. Until today, still no VSC. VSC is now basic and compulsory in any car in Europe.

Again I tell you, Please don’t compromise on yours cars. You have indeed done well with other cars but at our detriment and at the expense of our safety. We are no more your guinea pigs Perodua. Give us cheaper prices as well as VSC and more airbags.

People always pick and condemn Proton but you too have got all the Protectionism like Proton. Yes, Proton may have sucked tens of billions to stay afloat, but you Perodua, though you have not sucked that much, you have benefitted from MITI protectionism.

Honda for instance was about to sell their Honda City for RM50k. But this proposal was shot down by MITI. How do I know? Well I used to work for Honda at a very high level. We used to negotiate with MITI. But MITI was always demanding we increase our prices.

Surprising why MITI is asking us to increase our prices. What else? It is to protect Proton and Perodua.

So, Perodua, don’t be proud of your achievements, especially this DVVT. Your cars, still can be reduced further and improve safety features. We are overpaying you as you have still not reduced your car prices by 30% as promised by your big boss Najib.

You are still screwing the lower income people. The big guns in Perodua Boardroom all earn 6 figures per month so they don’t know about the man on the street who still earns RM900 per month. People say, even with RM10k is hard to live in KL. Can you imagine somebody earning RM900?

We tend to blame Toyota and Honda for high prices but let us assume they are for the middle class and Perodua is for the middle lower and lower income people.

Perodua is still very pricey and burdensome for the lower income. Don’t be proud Perodua. Lower your car prices Perodua. Now, your Sendayan plant, your cost can be even lower. Give us cheaper cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
          • Rubbish shit still cost 20k over definitely pricey laa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • karam singh on Aug 22, 2015 at 2:38 am

im sorry, but im bet the differ.
        1.5 ivtec coupled with CVT , I think it has better FC/power/torq than the 1.5 D-VVTi 4speeder from Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
    • Albert on Aug 21, 2015 at 11:30 pm

UMW Mampus,although Perodua is using 90’s engines,people still perceive it as efficient and value for money.
      A 1.3 Myvi 2005 still can fetch rm 18K.(43K brand new)
      A Gen 2 Proton 2004/5,you can have it for less than 10K.
      Why is the resale value of Myvi still so damn high?
      Blame it on PERCEPTION.
      Proton has been around going to the 30th year very soon,but still cannot create a good PERCEPTION.Ask yourself why?
      LAZY,POLITICS,BAD MANAGEMENT……all contributed to Proton’s dismal image and performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 13
      • 2005 Myvi i can get 5k with good condition

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
        • Japanese Workers vs Perodua Workers on Aug 22, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Amazing how Japanese can come up with a superb car engine I wonder why Perodua cannot come up with such a good car engine so far? Already 20 years, still cannot make your own engines. Just rebadge. How long want to rebadge?

See below and you will know why Perodua is a failure rebadge company.

Japanese workers :

“We must work hard. We must focus in our work. We take pride in our products and must deliver excellent quality. Only then, we can enjoy our remuneration for the hard work done. We must aim to be more hardworking than our other Japanese car plants”

Perodua Malaysia workers:

“Rilak lah bang, buat apa nak keje ni. rilak lah, nanti boleh buat. Letih lah ni, mari meh tido sekejap kat bilik stor, boss takde ni. Eh tengok awek kilang cun tu, bess lah dapat kongkek dia. Syok. Jom lah, mari pegi kantin minum teh dan makan kuih lapis. Tak payah keje kuat ni, kerajaan nanti tolong. Buat apa keje kuat ni? Nanti kerajaan mesti order Perodua banyak banyak, pasti jual. MITI protect. Cukup kalau kita rebadge dan tidur sahaja”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
      • Manager on Aug 22, 2015 at 10:11 am

“BMW of Asia”, “Volvo of Asia”. All signs of “syok sendiri”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
        • vsccer on Aug 22, 2015 at 11:17 am

Lol ok got 5 star NCAP??. Dun depend on engine. Engine alone is not enough to be safe car. Safety first.

• Mirzan on Aug 22, 2015 at 4:51 pm

ANCAP 5 star???? are you sure? I have a preve and I hit a Mercedes bumper at side at low speed when parking and my car door fully bent and when we checked it was made of thin metal. is this safe? the Mercedes plastic pumper only scratched but Preve needed days of work to repair.. safety my A***

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
          • ccssb on Aug 23, 2015 at 6:32 am

Cool story bro. Me chillin here. Lol

• Sam lor wanna be no need to badmouth here. Everyone knows preve is safe even got t-boned by lorry last time.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Aug 22, 2015 at 9:09 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Proton should buy this engine and put in its cars.

Confirm 1 million sales laku.

Proton with Toyota engine, just like Lotus!

• Why not produce a 1.0 turbo replace the 1.3L and 1.3 turbo replace the 1.5L. To be honest, A turbocharged engine has much higher efficiency in fuel save and emission compare to even Dual or continuous Valve timing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • You know why? Because people want to use the car as long as possible. Not use it for a while and spend the rest of the time at workshop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
      • Yaa…they no need spend time at workshop, a lot of them straight away moving to coffin, u can check Pero2 service center how many rubbish stock pile there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
      • Turbocharged smaller engine nowadays is not like the 90s.You have block cracked after turbo boost or gasket leaking, overheat. Just like 8AR-FTS, Toyota has melt in liner of alloy on the aluminum block. The cooling also much more efficient & able to sustain the high pressure of ignition. Even now they able to use direct injection on turbocharged engine.

Innovations bring us further. If we unable to accept changes through innovations, we stay use carburetor engines then.

• But this article is not about toyota turbo engine. It is just small obsolete underpower one

• camtakpro on Aug 22, 2015 at 10:18 pm

Correct. This article is also not about VW TSi engine failure nor it is about Prince engine squirting engine oil.

• Wont happen. If Malaysians can rush to buy the non-dvvt axia and accept the BS from P2, you can bet once it reach here the vvt in this engine will be wrenched out to save cost, all in the sake of “reducing weight and improve combustion efficiency for better fuel savings” sorry of an excuse.

Sam Loo’s lil bro will make a killing continuing to sell outdated tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • idealtech on Aug 22, 2015 at 11:52 am

Axia’s overall package is sure a big leap than the Viva hands down. The downside?spot on it is the engine. It revs so hard (thanks to good insulation) that it aint accelerate proportionately. So much for the “state of the art tech” engine despite the DVVT of the Viva is actually more advance than then Axia’s.

• Munta on Aug 24, 2015 at 8:10 am

Your repetitiveness is so sam loo.

• Hopefully the whole new Perodua Myvi and Alza , maybe in 2017. can achieve EEV Status.

• Cusco on Aug 21, 2015 at 6:38 pm

I wonder what Toyota/Daihatsu model will be use as a new Alza since Passo Sette/Boon Lumina already diacontinued. Absolutely not the Xenia coz it will be the new Avanza.

• Ali Mumcu on Aug 21, 2015 at 9:01 pm

Materia

• Rubbish still coming, no need talk the new

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
      • Basher on Aug 22, 2015 at 9:45 pm

Rubbish is here and it is you

• The “RUBBISH” meant that a project, object or ideas is useless can’t uplift a ppl life if u to own it, ppl will unable compete bcos lack of wisdom, knowledge, capability and too rely on others ppl skill/design/technology and etc.

So i think that u worst than rubbish, u just a shit and very bad smell.

• Basher on Aug 23, 2015 at 11:39 am

Yes, you’re piece of thrash talking shit. Hahaha

• Yupe…i talking shit, u read, u reply and eat that shit. Hahaha

• Teksi Kangkung on Aug 21, 2015 at 6:57 pm

Perodua,

show me the car first…….Not just talk, talk, talk

• These engines should easily last at least 10 years without much issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Yaa…car total lost within 2 years time, engine still can use as spare part without big issue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Aug 22, 2015 at 9:05 am

Consider a used 12 month old Tucson.

Very Dai Mai

• camtakpro on Aug 24, 2015 at 9:21 am

There’s reason why Dai Mai. lol

A second hand 12 month old maybe is Dai Mai, a third hand 13 month old is even more Dai Mai.

• Rubbish close shop laa…Malaysia moving EV already, save more and more safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Savvy88 on Aug 22, 2015 at 5:35 am

i more interested with Diesel engine and GDI engine. Just look at Mazda 2 1.5l GDI engine can acheive 19km/l with much hinger torque and BHP. can’t wait for proton GDI engine in 2016/17

• Sawi Kangkung on Aug 22, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Lotus still prefer Toyota engine. It is reliable, proven quality, fuel efficient and tidak bocor.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Aug 22, 2015 at 7:23 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its not a K5/Sonata or elantra, start writing a will

• sam proton on Aug 23, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Sam can only afford proton. That’s why he thinks everyone make hard earn little money like him. Those who bought kimchis are affordable pakcik.

• rubbish campro on Aug 22, 2015 at 7:31 am

Rubbish campro will soon meet its dooms day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • vtecbocor on Aug 22, 2015 at 11:21 am

I-vtec 2.0l still cannot beat 205nmlowish torquey campro turbo

Wait till vtec turbo bocor comes

• camtakpro on Aug 24, 2015 at 9:29 am

That 205NM lowish torquey Campro turbo even sucks more fuel than Mazda rotary.

CFE means Contemptible Fuel Efficiency (or Cursed Fuel Efficiency).

• Of course lah… New engine coming soon. haha! but too late I guess.

• mesinrumput on Aug 22, 2015 at 12:57 pm

1N-VE for perodua. i knew it!

• pearjai on Aug 22, 2015 at 2:34 pm

For ur knowlege ar !
    First myvi n nowday use k3-ve 1999 engine !
    These nr engine not so old…just 2008 engine…with fuel consumption 21km/ litre….n cvt also…honda jazz also use their 15 old engine …honda still not give their dual vvt ma ! ?…honda still play safe with their old but tune to sky….still nowday give us single cam engine…pebarang single cam ! In japan their jazz use doch vtec dual vvt…

• tokmoh. on Aug 22, 2015 at 9:32 pm

Because we tak persoal.

Persoal skit, butthurt. Jealous la, poorfag la, tak reti cukur la. Win liao lor.

• camtakpro on Aug 22, 2015 at 10:20 pm

Honda Malaysia different, if cannot sell then let Proton rebadge. After all same boss.

• Samurai G on Aug 24, 2015 at 3:12 pm

P2 please do not compromise with people safety !!! everybody know why your car is cheaper. Low quality, safety almost no (especially Axia) …at least P1 get their 5 star ANCAP ..no matter how ‘harsh’ comments for P1, but u can’t deny it.

• monty on Apr 27, 2016 at 9:35 pm

1.3 k2 or 1.5 engines pls i need quote how much

• And the 1NR-VE engines finally arrived into the Bezza. Looks like they have already prepared this plan years ago, just waiting for the right opportunity.