SPIED: 2017 Ford Fiesta caught in production body

Spy-Shots of Cars This image has been optimized for a calibrated screen with a Gamma of 2.2 and a colour temperature of 6500°K

It may be hard to believe just by looking at its thrusting, hardly-aged styling, but the current sixth-generation B299 Ford Fiesta is now a staggering eight years old, so Ford is hard at work on building a replacement for 2017 – as you can see in these photos from our European spies.

From the looks of it, the company is aiming for a more mature, sophisticated look compared to the outgoing model’s edgy design, while still being recognisably a Ford. There are larger headlights, a sleeker upwards window line kink and two-piece horizontal tail lights that replace the existing vertical units. Dare I say it, it gives off the vibe of being a smaller Focus.

Smaller than its big brother it will be still, but the new Fiesta appears to be quite a bit larger than its petite predecessor, which should help free up much needed rear space – a bugbear on the current model. Nowhere is this more obvious than the wheels – this prototype wears the 17-inch alloys from the Fiesta ST, which look massive on the existing model, but they look just about the right size here.

Spy-Photo

Expected to underpin the new Fiesta is the same Global B platform as the B299, but will move up the food chain in terms of price, quality, refinement and features, both to cater to the more discerning tastes of today’s customers, as well as to make room for the upcoming European Ka, based on the Indian-market Figo.

The money saved on using the existing platform should enable Ford to address the biggest concern with the current Fiesta, which is the low-rent interior. Not only are materials and build quality expected to be improved in the new one, but it should also make room for the large eight-inch capacitive touchscreen on Ford’s latest SYNC 3 infotainment system.

While SYNC 3 is already being offered as an option on the current model in the United States, the dashboard has had to be mutilated and stretched to fit the display, and it looks incongruous as a result. The new interior design should be designed from the outset to carry the system.

Spy-Photo

Other features expected to make it onto the new car include driver assist systems such as pedestrian detection (Active City Stop is already offered on the Fiesta in Europe), lane departure warning, blind spot monitoring and traffic sign detection.

Under the bonnet, expect the Fiesta’s engine lineup to consist mostly of the 1.0 litre EcoBoost turbo petrol three-pot and the current 1.5 litre TDCI four-pot turbodiesel, and could see the current naturally-aspirated 1.25, 1.5 and 1.6 litre four-cylinder petrol engines be phased out altogether. As with the current car, a warm ST variant should top the range at some point, but an all-singing, all-dancing RS model is off the cards.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Apa LanJixo pun ada on Jun 08, 2016 at 10:25 am

Ford resales value was worse than Peugeot in Bolehland. Nice to test drive only, but not to own one for long term loan burden. U find hard to find dealer trade in your Ford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • If a how good a car is based on resale value … then cars like BMW, Mercedes, Ferrari, etc … are terrible cars.

• Boboy on Jun 08, 2016 at 6:33 pm

Yup. Everyone who buy cars will always want to sell them afterward. Changing cars like changing your smartphones every 1 or 2 years. Yup. Need to think about RV

• WT Fuchhhh on Jun 08, 2016 at 7:23 pm

Nice redesign. Luv it. Specially the all dancing n all singing part. Totally answers all the gripe i have on Ford cars.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 08, 2016 at 11:20 am

Have to agree. Nice car to drive but RV is the worst. My Focus, buy RM113k, after 2 years, sold for RM50k.

That is besides the fact that I had to wait 3 months for parts. Car was in the SC more time than in my garage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
    • Bring The Pain on Jun 08, 2016 at 12:36 pm

You must be spewing BS. Because you’re either stupid or desperate to sell it for RM50k if it is the MK3. The MK3 focus does not have any problems that renders it unable to drive.

It may have annoying clutch and jerking issues at low speeds, but these are just that, an annoyance. They can be replaced under warranty and these parts are obviously only ordered when required when you are referring to items like clutch packs. No one is asking you to leave the car in SC, unless you had a bad accident in which case all all continental and even luxury brands are the same.

It is also nowhere near the VW and Peugeot cars in terms of problematic issues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
    • You must have been really desperate to sell your 2 year old fiesta for 50K … unless of course, it was in a very bad accident, which is why your car was in the SC more than in your garage.

• FIST (Member) on Jun 08, 2016 at 11:44 am

Still remember the review by Clarkson. Driving through the mall and storming the beach

• sync 3? reach here probably downgrade to sync2, trend model probably downgrade to sync1 with dot matrix XD

• Same L0rr on Jun 08, 2016 at 3:20 pm

Very good car! But, Toyota is better RV!

• Andrekua on Jun 08, 2016 at 6:53 pm

Hot hatch could be a thing of the past from the looks of it. Kia Rio, Honda Jazz, and now Fiesta.