Honda Gienia officially revealed for the Chinese market

Honda Gienia 14

Here it is then, the new Honda Gienia, which makes its official debut at the ongoing Chengdu International Auto Show. Our previous encounter with what can only be described as a City hatchback was back in June, where the model was leaked ahead of its public unveiling today.

The Gienia was previewed by Honda’s Concept B during the 2014 Beijing International Auto Show, and is based on the Honda City platform. The design appears to be identical to what we’ve seen earlier, with the large Solid Wing Face front-end accentuated by large chrome elements, black multi-slat grille and projector headlamps.

At the rear, standout items include the prominent combination taillights that span the width of the hatch, culminating in Civic FC-like units, along with a large spoiler just above it. Other exterior highlights include the reflector/rear fog lamp enclosures with chrome surrounds, five-spoke alloy wheels, front and rear parking sensors, as well as a reverse camera.

In terms of equipment, the Gienia comes with Honda’s LaneWatch blind-spot monitoring system, an electric sunroof, keyless entry, colour touchscreen infotainment unit and leather upholstery.

Honda Gienia 15

Official technical details have not been released as of yet, as the model will only be launched on October 18. However, it is reported that the Gienia will measure 4,517 mm long, 1,705 mm wide, 1,477 mm high, and have a wheelbase of 2,600 mm. Compared to its sedan equivalent, the Honda Greiz, it is only 22 mm shorter in overall length.

Under the hood, the Gienia will likely feature the carmaker’s 1.5 litre i-VTEC petrol engine, with 129 hp and 155 Nm of torque available. A five-speed manual gearbox is mated to the engine, with the option of a CVT.

According to the company, the Gienia is targeted at those born in the 1980s and 1990s, so the model should be appealing to the youthful crowd. What are your thoughts of the new Honda Gienia? Let us know in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Make it hatcback n i will own one.-1980

• Honda learned from VW, so don’t dare to release their TURBO to Mainland because they know is too RISKY should anything FAIL they will LOSE everything!

• uglee on Sep 02, 2016 at 10:31 pm

Ugleeeeee

• Ms Check Pick on Sep 03, 2016 at 10:36 pm

If this the facelift Honda city it would be a killer for other jepunis rivals.And we can see the cemeteries for each UMW region getting bigger exceeding their essemble plant’s size to bury unsold rusty vios.Pls Honda bring this in fast i would be the first to place a book for my show off car to park at my house beside toyota showroom..Listen to me this is real Vios killer.Ghost month continue another 5 years for Vios and their arrogant salesman.

• Ms Mongolian Flying Ghost on Sep 03, 2016 at 10:37 pm

Back side look stunning!

• Same L0rrong 18 Geylang on Sep 03, 2016 at 10:40 pm

No headache to design facelift City.Just bring this one to replace current one guarantee sold out fast

• I thought that only hatchback-to-sedan conversions are bad. This just proved me wrong. Seriously, look at that profile.

• RavenAii (Member) on Sep 08, 2016 at 10:01 pm

These are called as notchback as what we 1990 kids called it. Also known as liftback though.

• This shud replace the current City. If price between RM65-80k Vios and other B segment can close shop

• You kidding bro? With the era of gst and falling ringgit that pricing range will make Honda close shop first.

• Matchy on Sep 02, 2016 at 6:28 pm

City + Civic = Gienia

• come malaysia, we rename it “honda gardenia” awesome!

• Deric on Sep 02, 2016 at 9:58 pm

I think I see a hint of a Honda city facelift 2017

• pokmang on Sep 02, 2016 at 11:01 pm

city fastback after civic fastback

• Roger tan on Sep 02, 2016 at 11:19 pm

The front emblem looks huge!

• Lee Kum Kee on Sep 03, 2016 at 3:44 am

Look at the 3/4 rear view photo. Squint your eyes. Ain’t that look like a spiritual successor to Gen.2?

• Very Nice, pity for China only…

• Technically this is a hatchback version of the sedan, which is also a sedan version of another hatchback. Stop confusing us, Honda

• Rusmah on Sep 05, 2016 at 9:13 am

The rear design looks better than the brother Civic.
    Civic in C shape tail lights?
    Lets make it n shape tail lights instead.

Perhaps, Civic facelift may consider similar design to this.
    Good job Chinese.

• Why Honda want to make a hatchback that is based on a sedan that is also based on another hatchback? Are you drunk, Honda?

• RavenAii (Member) on Sep 08, 2016 at 10:18 pm

These are called as notchback as what we 1990 kids called it. Also known as liftback though. Really reminds me of the Proton’s aeroback series, the Kia Spectra, the Toyota Corolla AE92, Ford Laser and much more. Notchback and Liftback really have their own market and love back in the old days. The last generation of these body style ever reach Malaysia was the Proton Gen-2 which I’m not mistaken. That’s the last liftback car my family had. Now we had to switch to pickup and mpv. I really misses the old day motoring preferences though.

• that front end and headlamps might end up on our shores as a the city’s facelift….
    who knows…..