GALLERY: Honda Greiz – China’s twin of the City

honda_greiz_china_12

Here are a set of photos of the new Honda Greiz, which was revealed by Dongfeng Honda for the Chinese market recently. Don’t confuse it for a facelift however, because the Greiz is essentially a Honda City underneath a revised exterior.

Exterior revisions include many elements of other Honda models, like the front-end from the HR-V and rear tail lights taken from the 2016 Civic. There are a few changes to the car’s dimensions as a result – length is increased by 45 mm, as is the width, by 10 mm, while the height is maintained at 1,477 mm. Wheelbase remains unchanged at 2,600 mm.

On Dongfeng Honda’s official website, four wheel options are available, depending on the variant chosen, including two steel and two alloy options, sized from 15 to 16-inches.

honda_greiz_china_31

Moving inside, the discrepancies end and things become more familiar, with an interior layout akin to the regular City. Features include a touchscreen display for the multimedia unit, along with a touch-panel to manage the climate control system.

Under the hood, a 1.5 litre i-VTEC engine provides 129 hp at 6,600 rpm and 155 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm, driving the front wheels via a CVT gearbox, the same as that of the Chinese-market Honda City.

Which design do you fancy more? The Honda Greiz – which must have been inspired by the City’s JDM name, the Grace – or the City?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• fact sales in china on Oct 20, 2015 at 8:13 pm

Fact;
    1. In China, City haven’t beat Vios sales volume since January 2015.
    2. City is under GAC Honda while Greiz under Dongfeng Honda.
    3. Majority people in China love to buy VW brands and Nissan Sylphy (for the sedan).

• Why China Buy VW:
      1. Anti-Japanese Sentiment is freaking strong.
      2. VW, got 10 years warranty.

However:
      In July the Volkswagen brand dropped 31% year-on-year in China to 152,300 sales (imports excluded), with its year-to-date total down 10% to 1.52 million units. T

The German manufacturer’s star models are all falling sharply in July: the Tiguan (-9%), Golf (-11%), Lavida (-16%), Sagitar (-36%), Bora (-40%), Santana (-42% despite the arrival of the Gran Santana hatch), Jetta (-43%), Magotan (-44%), Passat (-49%) and Polo (-50%).

We give a few pointers to better understand Volkswagen’s current predicament in China. While Audi (-6%) and Skoda (-27%) are also in difficulty this month, we will focus this Strategy Analysis on the Volkswagen brand, not the Volkswagen Group at large.

• Same L0rrrr on Oct 21, 2015 at 1:53 pm

China’s City is cheaper with better specs. Why? Thanks to Proton.
        When they can’t produce good car, they ensure no Malaysian can enjoy one.

• who said malaysian aren’t enjoying good car ?? we have nice toyota and honda with killing airbags :D … didn’t you read about the legendary toyota power window issue ?

• OMG…the rear lamp macam New Civic…overall nice.

• carlies on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:15 pm

Not only in China, almost the rest of the world Toyota leads every segment of the car except M’sia as UMW gives us a lower specification. Audi, VW, Mercedes, BMW and even Hyundai and KIA sales well in China, Japanese car need to work harder.

• facts about china on Oct 20, 2015 at 9:18 pm

China still hate Jap for the WW2. And that most China ppl buy VW.

• If only the new civic’s rear looked as good as this…

• BuRaIaN on Oct 21, 2015 at 12:13 am

Best looking city ever.

• VW Diesel Scandal on Oct 21, 2015 at 7:14 am

Better than honda city malaysia..

• Albert on Oct 21, 2015 at 8:40 am

Today’s Star Business report…HONG LEONG GROUP downsizing workforce.
    CIMB,AFFIN,RHB and now Hong leong….MUTUAL SEPARATION SCHEME/vss or Career Transition scheme. Shell chopped 1300 jobs lately,with local giant Petronas contemplating job cuts very soon.
    The 4 banks listed could have chopped 20,000 jobs.MAS 6000 jobs…now they are targeting PILOTS.
    The above tell us ONE THING.
    If you can afford to wait,DO NOT BUY NEW (overpriced) CARS.They can increase prices,dont be scared.
    If you still need to buy,get a preowned unit,or cheaper new car.
    The fact is BOlehland is in RECESSION.If banks can resort to chopping 20-30,000 staff,dont you think we are unofficially in RECESSION?
    Or you think the FRENZY buying should continue?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • You have the same exact thinking of those EU twits that impose austerity to Greece even though everyone knows it needs spending to boost the economy not strangling it with cuts til an inch of its life.
      Despite your figures (which I don’t know where you pluck it from), you shown to be anything but an economist. Maybe this charade should stop right here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • joseph on Oct 21, 2015 at 1:30 pm

Half Baked cybertrooper John strikes again, and now he is trying his hand in economics, which is Wayyy-Wayyy out of his league! Stick to your Utusan Malaysia and the half baked spiel that your Ruling Elite superiors has ingrained into your tiny Grey matter , and leave the real work of fixing the country’s economy and thinking to people who actually know what they are talking about. And that excludes your Spoilt Brat Ruling Elite Superiors!!

• Albert on Oct 21, 2015 at 9:51 am

Unthinkable John,my figures are from the Star Business compilations.Check it up for your self.I think u only read racist Utusa,,,.
    If people buy your SPENDING frenzy,more people especially generation Y,will need bankruptcy counselling very soon.
    Use your under utilised head.WE r in recession now.No bastard minister there to admit that.It is all hushed up.
    Maybe u are the type that breeds a lot cos of everlasting perlindungan.For u no issue.But for many,one wrong move means FINANCIAL problems.