VIDEO: Proton – five safety tips for this festive season

Many Malaysians will be making the long drive back to their hometowns in conjunction with the Chinese New Year festive season, but before setting off, one should always ensure they perform a few safety checks on man and machine for a pleasant journey.

Which is why Proton has released this short video that provides its viewers with five quick safety tips for the festive season, featuring its entire range of cars. The first tip focuses on tyres, which is a very important part of the car that shouldn’t be ignored, more so in light of the constant downpours taking place.

Vehicle owners should ensure that there is enough thread on their tyres by referring to the indicator normally found on them. Tyres with enough thread is important as they may help lower the chances of your car aquaplaning, so don’t wait till they are completely botak. Another overlooked aspect when it comes to tyres is proper inflation, as an underinflated tyre can result in a higher vehicle fuel consumption.

Making sure your car is properly serviced or inspected before the trip is another important tip, as a well-maintained car would perform better, and can help prevent the headache that comes with your car breaking down by the side of the highway.

Next, drivers should make sure they are well positioned inside the car, adjusting the seat, steering and mirrors to allow for effective steering and pedal inputs, while ensuring they are comfortable for the long drive. Additionally, they should be well rested before starting the journey, and follow the traffic rules as well. Don’t forget to buckle up, and have a safe journey ahead.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Uncle Plus on Jan 26, 2017 at 6:05 pm

Well rested? Apparently, PLUS asks us to use their highway between midnight to 6 am I order to get discounts. So how?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
    • Means sleep from afternoon until 1~2 hours b4 journey. U will get sufficient rest, cooler driving conditions, faster journey with less cars, and at cheaper rates. Peng, Leng, Cheng!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 26, 2017 at 9:23 pm

No people just love cramming up the highway driving at the same time. Then jam up all rest stops, punishing every single urinal they can find. Then some Waja or Wira overheating and stall in the middle, and all uncle hearted people slow down. “Accident ah? Teruk is it? Hey I think I’ve seen that car.” It’s a Malaysian sport. And we put this story on replay from your kid’s kindergarten days until now your grandkids are going to kindergarten.

• Prabanathan Muthusamy on Jan 27, 2017 at 12:18 am

Safety tips from the lausy brand? Even the safety specification installed are faulty! For your whole family’s safety,don’t drive near proton cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
      • Molly on Jan 27, 2017 at 4:56 pm

bro, no offence -‘lausy’? it’s LOUSY,… and dont drive near Proton cars?? what’s this suppose to mean? you mean the cars have some infectious disease?

personally, i think the newer proton cars have commendable safety specs, for the price one pays for a car

• Saleem on Jan 26, 2017 at 6:12 pm

Era kebangkitan Proton!
    Titik perubahan dengan harga kompetitif, ciri-ciri keselamatan dan peningkatan penjimatan penggunaan bahan api.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 68
  • Design flaws on Jan 26, 2017 at 8:26 pm

The new perdana is such a bulky car. If there is an E segment it would probably fit into that category. The front looks alright but they spoiled the rear end. They could have just made the rear simple but they overdesigned it. The Preve has very flat looking headlights and it’s not wide enough and there is something not right about the way the headlights were designed. If they made it a little sculpted (3D) and wider, that would have improved its look dramatically. The car slopes steeply and it has a high waistline making the rear end very chunky and bulky. The cvt gearbox doesn’t do any good and the light pressure turbo is just name sake turbo because it’s doesn’t generate enough power at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
    • Mr Design Frog on Jan 26, 2017 at 9:16 pm

Mind to share what beautiful car u are driving

• Preve tebo is not to gip top end HP. Its to provide insta pickup on tap. It out-accelerates any other C-segmenters bar Civic10 & contis. HP is roughly on par with 2.0L

• pro-proton on Jan 27, 2017 at 4:09 am

you bash Proton…do you ever had a chance drived a new perdana?? you own that perdana?? if not, just shut up…you always know the way to bash proton car tapi you pakai kereta import dari jepun or eropah….memalukan

• Tebor on Jan 27, 2017 at 8:11 am

Preve century sprint is around 9sec and 205nm at lower RPM is more than most C segment jepunis cars here.

And perdana…life cycle of p1 D segment car is longer than other makers, of course bigger dimension is the marketing strategy.

• applegreen on Jan 27, 2017 at 9:42 am

you should compare turbo with turbo not turbo with NA C-segment car. If we compare properly the 1.5turbo in civic is much faster and better fc than preve. Even the 1.6 turbo in levorg and elantra are 5 years ahead of current preve and suprima

• Kiddo on Jan 27, 2017 at 2:46 pm

Wah very smart to compare new with older engine. Go back to school.kid. Even 2 to 3 years diference of engine age may bring much difference. And the limitation is at the gearbox, not the engine

• mr1031 on Jan 27, 2017 at 8:56 am

old story already

• Musa Ranti on Jan 26, 2017 at 8:33 pm

Don’t drive, use sampan if your journey home is 9 feet deep in water.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • farghmee on Jan 26, 2017 at 9:18 pm

Nice video!

• old horse on Jan 26, 2017 at 9:19 pm

tip #1…dont drive a Protong..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Ahmad Zahar on Jan 28, 2017 at 6:41 pm

I’m so proud to own a proton saga car. As a Malaysian it’s the best despite local made car. Keep up the good work Proton. Just ignore the shallow head comment. Actually they know nuts about cars. I’ve read up auto car magazines all my life knows who are sincere in comments.