MRT, LRT, Monorail tickets – 50% discount till Aug 31

Good news for Klang Valley commuters. Rides on the MRT, LRT and Monorail lines will be 50% off starting from tomorrow till August 31. This was announced by prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak after he launched the 51 km Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) line of the MRT, which fully opened today.

“With the integration of the MRT system with KTM Komuter, the LRT and the Monorail, residents of the Klang Valley and Greater Kuala Lumpur will be able to enjoy a more efficient, quicker system,” Najib said in a Facebook post today, adding that someone from Kajang could reach Bukit Bintang in just 33 minutes using the MRT, and that the ride would only cost RM3.80.

“I hope that more will choose public transport to reduce traffic congestion in Kuala Lumpur,” the PM added. MRT Corp’s projection is that the opening of the MRT SBK line can potentially remove 160,000 cars from the road per day.

Not sure about you, but I’m looking forward to utilising this new and improved Klang Valley rail network, massively boosted by the MRT SBK line. Direct service to Bukit Bintang, Ikea Cheras, Sunway Velocity and even Kajang for Haji Samuri’s satay! Beats driving, getting stuck in the jam, the hunt for parking and paying multiple tolls, no?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Md Talha on Jul 17, 2017 at 6:15 pm

Good job Gamuda & Dato Lin! No Gamuda, no MRT. Rakyat boleh!

• Kalau orang bagi something always say thanks. So thank you PM

• Ahmadjr on Jul 17, 2017 at 8:35 pm

Ni baru langkah kajang. Bukan kajang banjir, cabut lari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Add A Comment on Jul 18, 2017 at 8:12 am

I grew up in the area and era of driving is the main transport. Even going to a shop that approx. 2KM away also drive. With this new rail lines in Malaysia and if all integrated properly, with the connecting buses and more civilized people…I can see a change here. However, safety is still the main concern here…

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• xoxox on Jul 18, 2017 at 8:26 am

always give sweet before the bitters one come…i wonder how much increment per year after this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • Seriously dude? Just enjoy live. Go ride the MRT. Just enjoy it while you can. Seriously.. baru launch one day you dah complaint.

• I think it’s time that the feds should look into the development state of other regions. Any additions to KL would have sufficed to bring a lot more improvement and benefits in other regions.
    Dear MPs, PM n DCM, time to wake up and work for the salaries that we have paid to you guys every month. Clearly the management is failing but you managed to stay afloat somehow. Repent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • pengayuhbasikal on Jul 18, 2017 at 10:47 am

sila lihat pada jadual tambang mrt…default Rm0.80… gst pun baru 6% … ini lagi tinggi dari gst…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • No discount for BRT? With this discounts, Sg Buloh to Kajang (52km) fare is more cheaper than 5.4km travel using BRT!

• Eason47 on Jul 18, 2017 at 8:54 pm

BRT is blood sucking… When travel in 2 people, I would rather take grab car or uber instead of BRT

• Ben Yap on Jul 18, 2017 at 11:45 am

MRT is good…. if everyone takes MRT and no one drives. Than there will be less paultan readers.

• well done…now i can have satay kajang near stadium kajang area without driving from Taman Tun…good job MRT Corp!!!

• Bernard on Jul 18, 2017 at 5:36 pm

Msians will never give up their cars…

• Waiting for MRT to Putrajaya. So KL folks who works in Putrajaya or vice versa can enjoy cheaper ride. Padan muka itu ERL.