MRT Sg Buloh-Kajang line can reduce 160k cars OTR

Next week’s full opening of the MRT Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) line is good news for all who work and live in the Klang Valley. Many workers – whether from areas with already opened stations looking to connect to KL city, or from south Klang Valley – can finally give up driving to work.

Even those who are not yet ready to make the switch from driving to train-riding would feel the difference, if MRT Corp’s projection of 160,000 fewer vehicles entering KL daily with the full opening of the MRT SBK line is correct. That’s based on the estimation of 400,000 MRT riders per day, Bernama reports.

“One MRT train with four coaches can carry 1,200 people comfortably. Imagine the space needed for 1,200 cars on the road – that alone will create a traffic jam. But if these 1,200 users leave their cars at home and take the train, imagine the space that can be saved on roads,” MRT Corp strategic communications and stakeholder relations director Datuk Najmuddin Abdullah added.

Najmuddin said since the first phase of the SBK line opened in December last year, nearly two million people have rode on the line from Sg Buloh to Semantan. “Rapid Rail, the MRT operator, has forecast that there will be ten times the number of current users, from an average of 15,000 to 150,000 passengers a day once we open phase two from Semantan to Kajang,” he revealed.

He added that to encourage commuters to use MRT, the company has built 14 multi-storey and open-air car parks with 8,000 bays at several stations along the 51 km SBK line. There would be 300 feeder buses, each with a capacity of 62 passengers, operating at 10-minute frequencies. Another pull factor is the reasonable fares.

“Imagine if you are driving from Sungai Buloh to Kajang – the travel time, petrol cost, toll charges and the stress that you have to go through. Travelling by MRT gives you many benefits. You save time, money and its benefits your health with less stress and more comfortable travel,” Najmuddin said, pointing to the fare of RM5.50 from Sg Buloh to Kajang (with Touch n Go, cash fare RM6.40).

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak will launch the second phase of the SBK line next Monday (July 17) which will connect Sg Buloh all the way to Kajang, through the city centre. The second phase consists of 19 new stations, of which seven are underground.

The 19 new stations are Muzium Negara (which connects to KL Sentral), Pasar Seni, Bukit Bintang, Tun Razak Exchange Centre, Maluri, Cochrane, Taman Pertama, Taman Midah, Taman Connaught, Taman Mutiara, Suntex, Sri Raya, Bandar Tun Hussein Onn, Batu Sebelas Cheras, Bukit Dukung, Sungai Jernih, Merdeka, Stadium Kajang and the Kajang terminus station.

GALLERY: MRT Sungai Buloh-Kajang Line Phase 1

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 13, 2017 at 3:07 pm

i want to use the MRT but its actually faster for me to drive….increase the speed of the trains la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 39
    • Trains? Even snails r faster than cars during daily traffic jams into KL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 19
      • Zahid on Jul 13, 2017 at 6:12 pm

Care to share, How fast does your Snail take to travel from PJ to KL during peak hours? Don’t jz talkok singsong like ur master pls… #not expecting a coward to respond anyway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 19
        • Of cuz my snail cant match u. U cilok here & there like some crazy mad just escaped from Tg Rambut… oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
        • John Fake News Poster on Jul 14, 2017 at 12:27 am

do ignore fake posts like snails

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 13, 2017 at 9:40 pm

ha ha ha ha. This snail is like Malaysians earing RM8143 per month

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 17, 2017 at 7:47 pm

dei i already retired la….so i only drive on weekends….

• komuter on Jul 13, 2017 at 3:14 pm

Gave up driving to office in KL for the past 5 months. Took KTM commuter from Kajang. So far, exceed expectation. With MRT, hoping the travelling will be much smoother.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 3
    • Congrats on taking 1 more car off the road. Its gud to see a Msian taking the initiative rather than not doing anything except to bash & whine while expecting everything on a silver platter.

Kudos to u and those that took the steps towards a mobile society via public transports!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • Ironic on Jul 14, 2017 at 9:17 pm

Some people like to spend time policing other people’s comments. Thats even worse.

• Some pipu like to spread no source news, badmouthing, slandering, creating hatred etc, that’s the worst

• Chris on Jul 13, 2017 at 3:21 pm

Hahahahaha…what a joke…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 19
  • applegreen on Jul 13, 2017 at 4:02 pm

Yeay the road is clear! I can full pedal!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • Not Toyota Fan on Jul 13, 2017 at 4:26 pm

“IF….”

Kalau everything is “IF….”, Malaysia dah First World, Malaysia corruption free, Malaysia politicians actually work hard for the rakyat, Proton dah BMW of Asia ….

Yah right, “IF …”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 14
    • Ah Kow on Jul 13, 2017 at 4:50 pm

Totally agree with you. This is an estimation only. Hopefully what they say really happens la, you know la common Malaysian habit, all semua pandai cakap, tak pandai buat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
      • Pasola coconut on Jul 13, 2017 at 7:53 pm

1. menjangka
        2. berharap
        3. meramal
        4. mensasar
        5. tunggu dan lihat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • Its the consumer to decide wether to ride MRT or not. Why dont you take a step ahead and ride on it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
        • Same goes to P1 sales. If tak laku, even 5 star ANCAP, then blame P1.

• Nothing to do with public transport. Bring ur shiet somewhere else.

• Nothing to do, but the idea is there

• Ah Kow on Jul 14, 2017 at 8:33 am

I have been using public transport all the time. And I partially disagree with your statement. It MAINLY depends on the factor which “attracts” the consumer to use the service. People like me are used to public transport, used to suffering the sardine packed bus & LRT, tolerating rude people who don’t know how to queue,being pushed around,oh and experiencing some really disgusting body odour and sweat.
          Do you think the other group of people who are used to driving, able to get used to that? It might take some time eh. Are the current public transport able to attract the other group mentioned? It has to be better,cheaper, more convenient,safer, more comfortable than driving to attract that driving group.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
          • U mean car users that got used to sardine packed roads & hiways, tolerating rude drivers & rides who dunno how to use signals, being shoved aside by idiotic cilokers & jumpers, oh and experiencing some really disgusting behaviour from aholes who threaten bodily harm, cant get used to riding with other pipu? Oh the horror of MY public transport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • tokmoh. on Jul 13, 2017 at 5:12 pm

inb4 everyone still drives because they thought everyone else will ride MRT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • IF only MY pipu stop being hi keras and think public transports r for foreign labourers to use…

• C. P. MOHAN on Jul 13, 2017 at 5:13 pm

It is an alternative, acknowledged it is not for everyone, but what matters is the choice/alternative in decision making whether short or long term.

• Bashers want alternative to be at their doorstep and ends at all their favourite places but silent as a door mouse.

• Only if parking bays are reduced and parking fees increased drastically.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • 12yrsold on Jul 14, 2017 at 9:06 am

I think U mean increase parking bays & reduce parking fees

• No. Reduce parking in CBD, increase fees for those still available, congestion charges into CBD. This will force MY pipu to use public transport.

• Bernard on Jul 13, 2017 at 6:24 pm

Msians are not like sporeans or the British. No matter what happens, car is number 1. This mindset cannot be changed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • alldisc on Jul 14, 2017 at 7:42 am

Britain has congestion charges if you enter London city center during peak hours. £25 is not cheap. You will get exemptions if you drive EVs or super low emission cars like prius
      While Singapore limit cars to those who have money and pay for entitlement certificate. Govt control the cars over there, something yet to happen on KL

• I prefer that to happen soon here in malaysia soon. More abandoned cars can be seen on the road. the owners didnt bother to either sell it to a scrap dealer or potong kereta. They dont have the sense of responsibility as you dont have strict rules here. Mpre public parking spaces are occupied by these abandoned cars day by day. worst some have been even stripped to its frame. Its really an eye sore.

• If stack more parkings, good feeder services and fair ticket price…I don’t see the impossible!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • RejimKejamGanas on Jul 14, 2017 at 9:17 am

Since people still have to drive to the MRT and pay parking, the fares have to be a lot more reasonable than they are proposing. If this is not reviewed over time, people living in the city are not going to bother taking the MRT and the jam is not going to improve.

• klata-klata on Jul 14, 2017 at 11:44 am

“…the fare of RM5.50 from Sg Buloh to Kajang (with Touch n Go, cash fare RM6.40)”

Isn’t both are cash fares?
      RM6.40 is definitely cash fare as per the statement;
      RM5.50 is what? doesn’t that mislead you to Touch n Go?
      Can’t understand how TnG can command a premium of 90sen.
      Day-light robbery to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • Comprehension fail right there.
        Rm5.50 for TnG
        Rm6.40 for cash

• Sadly many Malaysians can’t get their buttocks of their car seats.

I have seen people staying near train station but still drive. Continue to pay toll, petrol, drink starbucks everyday, bbq lunch evertday, shopping hard, buy expensive car with 2k salary and then keep complain life is hard, not enough money to use.

It’s all about financial management. I gave up driving for the past months. Now take train + bus + walk a while to work. Exceed my expectation.

Many people say bus not on time, train not on time, KTM not on time, dirty, smelly, pack, this and that. HAVE YOU EVEN TRIED? Most of the answers are NO.

So please, just TRY public transport. Sometimes the cost is about the same but you get ZERO stress cause no jam. Our mindset needs to change. Have good financial planning, buy a house.

• Ah Kow on Jul 14, 2017 at 10:23 am

Base on own experience and still experiencing up to today…

Bus: okay la if you are a frequent bus user, we somehow can get the timing, more or less. Downside, certain bus seriously jam packed , worse if bus aircon spoil, hot humid smelly. Certain bus drivers drive bus like drive Ferrari like that, swerve there swerve here, jam brake, making us standing passengers sway 360degrees. Sometimes I dunno why some bus you see inside quite empty but they won’t stop but instead speed up and drive by you. Another thing, bad Malaysian and foreigner habits, no queue, all like zombie rushing to get into the bus, sometimes got queue also kena cut, cut already somemore no touch n go, have to wait for them to slowly dig their syilling and wait for ticket, KURANG AJAR man. Then when you want to get out, you will see another flock of zombies outside trying to get inside the bus, BLOCKING YOUR WAY PUSHING YOU IN INSTEAD OF GIVING ME WAY OUT, making the bus more cramp up and harder for the passengers to exit the bus, chill la the bus won’t leave you one.

• I agree with you on the bus part. Some routes are very popular and you get many people.

But train wise it’s still ok, monorail, KTM, LRT, MRT they are all doing just fine.

• Upgrade the connecting bus service first then its worth a look. A lot of hype and talk but shortfall in action taken. Even the current buses serving the Klang Valley is plagued with delays, insufficient buses n driver who are very impatient. This country is 1st class facilities, 3rd class mentality.

• Improvements r ongoing. Rome wasnt but in a day. Do u even see all those new MRT busses going around?

• Guys I am an expat and I have been using the MRT since December 2016 all I can say is excellent and great project I wish you Malaysians more development and success

• Thanks for the encouragement. Its just gonna get better and better from onwards.

• Thumbs up if you laughed reading the title

• Hambali on Jul 14, 2017 at 10:10 pm

Haish im reluctant to write here becoz i know our comments wont be read by those who actually matter and can do something about it..but alas, im gonna write it anyways.

Its a good initiative with this new MRT project, definitely beneficial for everyone. We all know that. Those who live nearby can even feel it.

But the question is, will it serve this particular purpose, i.e. to reduce the number of cars on th road?

Now u got to think like a consumer/user. Will the use of MRT reduce ur time spent to go to work, and most importantly, will it be more costly than driving itself? Most people can give and take either one, but very few can give both time and money together. We all know money is the trade-off for time nowadays if you live in KL.

So for people like me, who money matters more than time, would the use of MRT cost me more as compared to if i just drive? And same goes otherwise for those who concern more on time rather than money.

Yes with every development like this, there will be charges or fees consumer or user have to bear. So the big question is, is it worth it?

Thanks for ready my long post.

• Logic on Jul 15, 2017 at 10:08 pm

How much does it cost for parking, toll and petrol? In central KL, parking alone will easily cost more than the train fare. Petrol cost will probably cost more than the train station parking. So how is it that public transport won’t be cheaper than driving?

• Shaan on Jul 22, 2017 at 8:12 pm

Why should Touch & Go users pay more?