New national car launch delayed to 2022 – DreamEdge to invest up to RM1 bil, targets 3,000 units a month

The investment to develop and manufacture the new national car could reach as high as RM1 billion, according to a projection in an analyst report. The launch date of the car has also been extended by a year.

In its report, Affin Hwang Investment Bank said that Malaysian company DreamEdge, which is the lead in the project, has set aside a minimum of RM600 million as the initial start-up cost, but dealership network establishment and production-related preparation costs could see cost overruns of up to RM1 billion.

The research report – which was picked up by The Star and the Malaysian Reserve – adds that DreamEdge, which is currently in active discussions with several parties on funding, is aiming to sell at least 3,000 cars a month in the first year of sales, leading to an annual rate of 36,000 units a year.

There has also been a revision to the timeline. In a meeting with Affin Hwang, DreamEdge revealed that a working prototype of the car is on track for release by mid-2020, with full production set to take place by the first half of 2022.

This means another year has now been added to the project’s timeline. Initial projections stated at the announcement of the project in August said that the first model prototype of the new national car would be shown in March 2020, with the final product set to make its market debut in March 2021.

It was also stated at the announcement that an engineering capability model mock-up was slated to be shown at the end of that month, but there has been no sign of the mock-up, nearly four months in.

The Affin Hwang report, authored by analyst Brian Yeoh, reiterated that the model is a plus-sized B-segment sedan as originally reported by this publication (it was initially mentioned as a C-segment unit during the project announcement, and later corrected).

The car will be powered either by an internal combustion engine or a hybrid powertrain, and is expected to feature technologies such as connectivity and advanced driver assistance systems. It will be built by a contract manufacturer, with rumours of this being Daihatsu subsidiary Perodua.

The design concept and development of the car will be led by DreamEdge, with technology partner Daihatsu – which confirmed its involvement in the project in October – handling the development of the powertrain and providing the platform. DreamEdge however stated during the meeting with Affin Hwang that the car would not be another rebadged Daihatsu.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• RUGAL on Dec 09, 2019 at 12:36 pm

We don’t need 3rd national car. Waste of money. Better invest in improving our current national cars like Hybrid systems, electric cars, or safety technologies.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 3
    • No 3rd pls on Dec 09, 2019 at 12:55 pm

P1 is already a waste of money. In the end run by china company. Kuminis p1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 21
    • Celup King on Dec 09, 2019 at 12:56 pm

Problem is Perodua had promised us Kenari Hybrid since 16 years ago but until today janji dicapati. We are still waiting for this game changer car and waiting like forever but it never comes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • Might end up rebadge just to let cronies to untung

• YB Albert on Dec 09, 2019 at 6:28 pm

By 2022,no more PH go men…close shop,no need invest into a big money pit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Angry Voters on Dec 10, 2019 at 8:24 am

Let’s hope so. We need to boot them out, all of them, real soon.

• Yep. We gotta bring back scumno corrupts.

• PJ fella on Dec 12, 2019 at 9:37 am

Now I’ve seen how scummy Pakatan has turned out so soon, I don’t really mind going back to the grime of BN. Seriously.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 14, 2019 at 4:35 pm

what we need is a new party….

• Vader on Dec 10, 2019 at 10:30 am

P3? I sensed the fail is strong with this one

• Celup King on Dec 09, 2019 at 12:40 pm

Told ya so it wouldn’t be coming so soon. And I told you so it would take billions of taxpayer money for this pet project. They claimed no money for reducing petrol prices, they claimed no money to abolish tolls, they claimed no money to continue BR1M/BSH, but dunno where got billions to throw into this black hole for PH to songlap.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 13
    • Rakyat pay u know!!! on Dec 09, 2019 at 12:58 pm

Yah u mean also like 1.25 bil and 1.5 bil that p1 loaned from govt back in 2016 n 2017, which is taxpayer money also. Now we all pay for p1 wastage but in the end china takeover. Waste of money. Obviously a completely failure local p1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 09, 2019 at 2:31 pm

P1 in the end repaid back those loans with taxes on profits throughout the year. And besides, Najib had stop the bleeding when he married off P1 to Geely, now we are going back to saddling with another national car debt, all because we stupidly dumped Najib’s administration when the crunch came. Real stupid of us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
        • U slave on Dec 09, 2019 at 9:36 pm

U really sound like stupid desperate thief who waiting for judgement day like ur idol najib.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
          • You sound like a level F paid trooper to lick ur politicians arses here. Dei! If got proof, just send him to jail dy lah! Why all the accusations can be satisfactorily answered? Is he actually innocent?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • Can you hear it?
      That is the bells tolling the deathknell of Pakatan government.

• Proton oh Proton on Dec 09, 2019 at 12:44 pm

Please don’t ask Rakyat to bailout…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Taxpayer on Dec 09, 2019 at 1:01 pm

Ohh sadly they will. Like how much proton bailed out from mahjib bn-scumno gov lastime? U guess whose money is that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • The first and last vote I will ever give to Pakatan…. Their politics was always a bit iffy, but I gave them the benefit of a doubt…. I think I’ll stick with BN for the foreseeable future. This is not what I voted for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • john is otak batu on Dec 09, 2019 at 3:39 pm

Rakyat already started to bail out by voting BN

• Marty on Dec 10, 2019 at 12:08 am

Marty, we need to UBAH Back For the Future!!!

• Angry Voters on Dec 10, 2019 at 8:25 am

High time for rakyat to bail out of this sinking ship we called Pakatan Harapan Government

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 09, 2019 at 12:45 pm

I’m going to downplay their aim to sell that many. It’s an unknown brand and you need to match P2 price to be able to move so many units.

• newme on Dec 09, 2019 at 12:46 pm

Dreamedge? Yes, keep dreaming.
    Btw, why bahasa penjajah? Why not Angan-angan Pinggir?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Celup King on Dec 09, 2019 at 12:57 pm

Because this is New(Old) Malaysia mah! You voted this, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • newme on Dec 09, 2019 at 2:15 pm

Did you vote the loser?

• Norlia on Dec 09, 2019 at 11:23 pm

I voted for sanity & reasoning, too bad the majority had a moment lapse of insanity. We all are paying for it now.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 10, 2019 at 9:49 am

We voted the winner but why do we feel like the loser now?

• newme on Dec 10, 2019 at 12:23 pm

Are we disappointed with the winner? Yes.
          Are we regret kicking out the loser? No.

• Darren on Dec 10, 2019 at 3:15 pm

Only you. I sure as hell didn’t vote for more of my tax money to go into another Mahathir mega wonderpet projects. If I knew this would happen I would rather keep the old government around. The damage has been done, it can’t get any worse. With PH, we’re creating new damages.

• Newme on Dec 10, 2019 at 8:37 pm

Then swindle money for own use is ok for you?

• Darren on Dec 12, 2019 at 9:40 am

Why not? We voted PH because we expect them not to do that, but they are swindling even more at a rapid pace. So might as well go back to BN swindling. At least they do it at a slower pace.

• Kelup on Dec 09, 2019 at 12:47 pm

Omong-omong aja tu si.

• Not Toyota Fan on Dec 09, 2019 at 1:10 pm

Mimpi lah tu. Cakap Syiok but will end up be another Daihatsu rebadge with ICE, with the hybrid coming “very soon”. Kena conned by the Japanese again.

Sell 3,000 units / month ??? In your Dreams lah.

Stop drinking that ketum juice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Rakyat kena conned by Kesian Atuk94.
      Rakyat kena conned by all the janji manis.
      Rakyat kena conned by Japanese again.
      All by PH.

Wait, I see a trend here….

• pomen on Dec 09, 2019 at 1:16 pm

invest rm 1 billion but ended with rebadge daihatsu car…later gov come and bailout..haha

• Daddykasi on Dec 09, 2019 at 1:18 pm

Come atuk 94.. Why need this another cronies project

• Ex VGM staff on Dec 09, 2019 at 1:33 pm

The technical partner is Daihatsu. A B segment basically is any car with 2500-2550mm wheelbase (where vios and city used to be) B+ usually means 2600mm as we can see now (where city and vios are today) or 2620mm.

2600mm used to be C segment wheelbase ( Waja, corolla Altis E120/ E140, sentra N16, civic S84) but C+ now is at 2700mm (civic FD, Nissan sylphy, corolla E170)

Daihatsu basically doesn’t built any B+ cars and above, neither sedan nor hatchback. The good guess is a new car body based on Perodua Alza.

If its a hybrid, Daihatsu doesn’t have any except the rebadge Prius Alpha 7 seater known as Daihatsu Mebius.

Daihatsu also dies rebadge the Toyota Camry as Daihatsu Altis but not the hybrid spec while its also a D segment.

Its going to be a rojak of some sort. Unless Toyota allows Daihatsu to use the blueprint for Prius C platform.

• The Grinch on Dec 09, 2019 at 4:50 pm

Ok everyone we have a technical expert here. All stand back.

• kek lapis on Dec 09, 2019 at 1:52 pm

Wow….its this hard to rebadge a car and ask someone else to build it.

Whatever it is they are building will be an unknown newbie. Previous article mentioned their product will be a niche in the market. Combined both and it will be an excellent recipe for ‘gulung tikar’ within 1 year. Who will pay the debt to their supplier and Daihatsu ( for breaching assembly contract )?

The fact that this is taking soo damn long is a clear indication that there is ‘red tape’ somewhere in the dealings.

• Kelvin on Dec 09, 2019 at 1:55 pm

When the world is transitioning to electric drivetrains and reduced car ownership, this company is still trying to develop something that came out 20 years ago.

• Greasemonkey on Dec 09, 2019 at 5:33 pm

To let my mahacai cronies to gasak your hard earned money ma….mkh!!!

• choha on Dec 09, 2019 at 2:03 pm

remember the “flying car” thing?
    this will be the next

• MyNewToy on Dec 09, 2019 at 2:43 pm

Let see how smart they are. The automotive industry is more than 120 years old and was with an electric motor before H. Ford mass production with ICE technology.

• vivizurianti on Dec 09, 2019 at 3:48 pm

hahaha…..take your time. When the PH govt collapse, the 3rd national car oso collapse even before so called copy-paste car business starts.

“Satu lagi projek PH (belum start) but lingkup”.

• Aura89 on Dec 10, 2019 at 2:14 am

Faster throw them out before we bleed even more money and later too late to stop it anymore. PH must be kicked out IMMEDIATELY!

• Ahmed Kamil on Dec 09, 2019 at 4:39 pm

Can someone explain how DreamEdge a 100% crony company made of ex proton engineers can secure such loan ? And real people will have to wait outside the Bank? Please explain

• Norlia on Dec 09, 2019 at 11:25 pm

Because normies are stupid to wait outside bank for funding. Meanwhile Dreamedge go straight to LGE’s office. Remember who is the true king of bankers & ah longs.

• jibby on Dec 09, 2019 at 5:01 pm

bila perodua mau gulung tikar? game over perodua

• Greasemonkey on Dec 09, 2019 at 5:27 pm

WTF, just scrap this useless project by the head clown from ph circus. Malaysia don’t need him & this perotiga.

• John Doe on Dec 09, 2019 at 9:02 pm

all so-called national car, should be able to EXPORT!

• Dr m a looney

• got RM 1 billion funds?
    put in FD is more profitable than running a car company with that kind of money ^^

• Stinks on Dec 10, 2019 at 11:46 am

Racun all you want, “warrior”.. wahahahahahahahaha

• Darren on Dec 10, 2019 at 3:16 pm

The crony speak up at last I see. You must be their PR fella.

• Stinks on Dec 11, 2019 at 8:45 am

OMG! someone got triggered!! lol lol lol

• Darren on Dec 12, 2019 at 9:41 am

Guess who got triggered enough to come here and plotek his shits company. ;-)

• Stinks on Dec 13, 2019 at 8:57 am

Did I comment anything “protective”? or “defensive”? Did I mention any “names”? or “company”? At last but not least, did I curse??? hahaha come on you, grow up la.. move on la.. don’t waste your time to “racun2”.. you’re better than that, don’t you?

• Keep on dreaming.