January 2020 week 4 fuel price – RON 97 down 4 sen

It’s Friday, and as such, time once again for another weekly fuel price update. Good news for RON 97 petrol users, because the fuel is cheaper this coming CNY week (January 25 to 31) at RM2.49 per litre, four sen less than last week.

With the petrol subsidy programme (PSP) remaining on hold, no change to RON 95 petrol pricing, which continues on at the fixed ceiling price of RM2.08 per litre. The same goes for Euro 2M diesel, which stays at RM2.18 per litre, while Euro 5 diesel – typically 10 sen more – remains at RM2.28 per litre.

According to the finance ministry, calculations from the Automatic Price Mechanism (APM) show that RON 95 petrol would be priced at RM2.19 per litre and Euro 2M diesel at RM2.26 per litre if there were no price caps in place. It added that for the period of January 25 to 31, the government will absorb a total of RM49.30 million to subsidise these fuels.

These prices remain effective until January 31, when the next fuel price update is announced. This is the fourth edition of the current weekly fuel pricing format for the year and the 55th edition in total for the format, which runs from Saturday until the following Friday.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Petrol RM1.50/L mana? on Jan 24, 2020 at 5:15 pm

As above

• Roti john Sdn Bhd on Jan 24, 2020 at 6:27 pm

I am so grateful that petrol price is very cheap and affordable today. This is all thanks to our professional goverment PH. With Game-Changing PH in charge, Malaysia is improving everydat and now we can enjoy CNY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • AutoFrenz on Jan 24, 2020 at 8:34 pm

Syukur… PH kerajaan bagus..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • Awang Selamat on Jan 24, 2020 at 10:41 pm

How to keep the promise when we have to feed an overbloated 1.6 million Government Servants?

This is the main problem sucking all the Government’s revenue

We need to downsize these workers

for example, Proton has 12,000 workers but produce only 60,000 cars per annum

Mitsubishi in Thailand has 6000 workers but produce 350,000 cars per annum

10X productivity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
          • Aura89 on Jan 25, 2020 at 12:32 am

Malaysia 1.6mil govt servants- no raging bushfires.
            Aussie 250k govt servants- out of control raging bushfires.
            If they had 1.6mil govt servants they could have wipeout the bushfires and save the 1bil animals lost in the fires.

• awg1031 on Jan 25, 2020 at 1:52 am

Spot on Awang bro. thankful for peace and unity, and for cheap cars and petrol.

• Amran on Jan 25, 2020 at 11:11 am

Spot on Aura89. You made it clear. I hope those who keep harping on this to stop as our civil servants are running things well but all the problems are coming from Pakatan minister masuk campur kasi huru hara.

• The previous government had no issue raising 1.6 million government servants, infact it was planning to raise more. The more it raise the better the economy. The problem is obvious, can’t do don’t say and blame others at the end.

• Prince of the Earth on Jan 24, 2020 at 10:53 pm

I hope the people making noise realize how lucky they are. Other countries, people have to save for their kids higher education. here, you get it completely FREE

Be grateful for the free things in life you are getting

• English Teacher on Jan 25, 2020 at 11:17 am

That is the problem with PH people. They keep complaining about BN giving free education because BN want to make our citizen smarter but PH wants to keep us dumb. PH people prefers to send their children to UK, US, Aus for education but selfishly want to keep their fellow citizen here dumb. How selfish can they be? Then they go and talk about shoe colours and having festival celebrations in school but not how to improve the education system. What a bunch of jokes.

• Malam Jumaat on Jan 24, 2020 at 10:37 pm

the problem in Malaysia, too much of pampering in the past has made people lazy and always waiting for help from the Government.

Time to abolish the NAP, NEP and affirmative policy to make everyone equal and all can work equally hard and be a merit based society finally

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
        • Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 25, 2020 at 9:27 am

Agreed. Time to vote back BN for us to work hard. Nicely said!

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 25, 2020 at 11:03 am

The complete opposite. BN with its policies the past 60 years is why the majority including me are lazy today.

• Jeremy on Jan 25, 2020 at 6:10 pm

The Rakyat Malaysia below. You are lazy is because of yourself. Don’t go blaming BN and others but look in the mirror.

• Spin Too Much on Jan 24, 2020 at 10:56 pm

Here is another one that is telling us PH is a deadly virus. Eventually it will kill everyone. So everyone should beware of PH.

• Sick & Tired on Jan 24, 2020 at 11:17 pm

Janji RM1.50 petrol broken.
        Janji petrol targeted subsidy broken.
        Janji abolish toll broken.
        Janji reduce car prices broken.
        Janji reduce cost of living broken.
        Only janji they fulfilled is buy luxury Toyota Velfire and Honda Accord for ministers using taxpayer money while rakyat suffers.
        Janji me no more cuz no PH no cry.

• https://paultan.org/2018/09/12/rm1-50-petrol-not-in-ph-manifesto-targeted-fuel-subsidy-for-kapcai-cars-below-1-3l-next-year/

• Manifesto Dicapati on Jan 24, 2020 at 8:18 pm

That is the problem when they promised more that what they can put into a book and even those written promises have been capati one after another.

• EDITOR on Jan 24, 2020 at 8:47 pm

https://paultan.org/2020/01/02/decision-to-defer-petrol-subsidy-programme-made-out-of-concern-that-cost-of-living-might-increase-lge/

• Awang Selamat on Jan 24, 2020 at 10:40 pm

How to keep the promise when we have to feed an overbloated 1.6 million Government Servants?

This is the main problem sucking all the Government’s revenue

We need to downsize these workers

• Copy Paste on Jan 25, 2020 at 11:25 am

Copy paste: “Malaysia 1.6mil govt servants- no raging bushfires.
          Aussie 250k govt servants- out of control raging bushfires.
          If they had 1.6mil govt servants they could have wipeout the bushfires and save the 1bil animals lost in the fires.”

• Malam Jumaat on Jan 24, 2020 at 10:32 pm

another fake news by our regular troll. Why don’t you work hard instead of asking for cheaper petrol all the time? Singapore and Malaysia Merdeka same time and yet, one country is first world whilst the other country is still 3rd world.

This is because the first world country work hard and never demand cheaper this and that as well as demanding subsidi.

• Spin Too Much on Jan 24, 2020 at 11:02 pm

This is the problem with paid PH supporters. Always blaming the world except themselves. If your government were honest about their election pledges no one would be holding them accountable for it. Now everything is being spinned and shifting blame to others except themselves. Go mirror your own words and action before blaming other people.

• Copy Paste on Jan 24, 2020 at 11:42 pm

Copy paste: “I hope PH troopers don’t come here to tell us prices are cheap and PH never promised to give petrol at RM1.50 per liter. LGE has just admitted that Malaysia will go bankrupt if they had to fulfil all their promises. This is clear indication and proof that PH had made all those promises during GE14.

Don’t come here and lie to us again. All your promises are broken because you were lying to us since Day One. You and your ministers are the same species of liars.

You are a fake, your ministers are fakes, your promises are fakes, your government are a fake.”

• Dr Strange on Jan 24, 2020 at 5:21 pm

Now guys. Before our PH paid troller come here with his usual weekly bullshit, let it be reminded these drop in prices are caused by coronavirus epidemic. Yes, the price drop is due to a virus. So if our troller still insist PH did dropped the fuel prices, is he telling us PH is a deadly infectious virus? Hmm… perhaps he might be on to something. I need to consult the Ancient One on that.

• Malam Jumaat on Jan 24, 2020 at 10:38 pm

This is the problem with the majority in Malaysia. Always blaming the world except themselves. How to progress?

• Spin Too Much on Jan 24, 2020 at 10:57 pm

Nobody is blaming anyone here except you.

• Bro. Don’t go blaming other people. Find an honest work, work harder and you will success. Trust me bro.

• First the bad news. The coronavirus scare is wiping out the European stock market. Now the good news. The Malaysian stock market is not affected because there is nothing left to wipe out.

• John Sambung Bayar on Jan 24, 2020 at 5:26 pm

I hope our regular troll john does not come here with his 50 dupes and try to create an impression everyone is an angry voter.

Enough is enough la bang. Just enjoy the CNY holidays. Kan boleh balik kampung dan berlagak dengan Opah ada kereta baru! Kan?

So let us all enjoy this holidays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Rosman on Jan 24, 2020 at 6:57 pm

Don’t have to. Losing 5 CONSECUTIVE byelections tells us the rakyat is angry and ready to change back. If PH got any balls come do GE15 today and prepare to get slaughtered.

• Malam Jumaat on Jan 24, 2020 at 10:34 pm

tak kisah, pilihanraya dah kalah kan? Itu lah yang paling penting. Akhirnya tak ada kuasa dan tak ada dedak lagi….tentu lah bising

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Sick & Tired on Jan 24, 2020 at 11:16 pm

PH has obviously lost the rakyat’s confidence so why aren’t they giving the mandate back to the people by holding GE15 now? Takut kalah? Wakakakaaka!

• History Bender on Jan 25, 2020 at 12:38 am

BN kalah so we can get BS like this?
          https://paultan.org/2020/01/02/finance-ministry-to-decide-on-government-vehicle-fleet-supplier/

https://paultan.org/2020/01/02/decision-to-defer-petrol-subsidy-programme-made-out-of-concern-that-cost-of-living-might-increase-lge/
          Tg Piai voters knew what they need to do.
          Kimanis voters knew what they need to do. Rakyat will keep remind them again what happens when liars doublecrosses them.

• Amran on Jan 25, 2020 at 11:09 am

Rakyat got fooled badly but now they regret and changing back. It is okay that’s the most important when the rakyat has sedar dari mimpi dan angan janji2 Pakatan. You cannot stop the Tsunami 2.0 of #UBAH BALIK

• History Bender on Jan 25, 2020 at 6:14 pm

After 5 strings of by-election heavy losses, it tells me PH no longer has the mandate and right to rule by the rakyat. PH should do the only right thing ever done in their short term as gomen, that is to hold a snap GE and let the rakyat decide who is worthy to be the gomen.

• BN cybertroopers live in a cave.

• John Sambung Bayar on Jan 24, 2020 at 5:28 pm

Let us all be happy with the cheap petrol prices. How low you want it to go? Then Government got no money to give bantuan kerajaan, biasiswa, BRIM etc

Majority demand all these privileges but have you asked yourself, where does the Government get the money for all these subsidi?

Don’t forget, all money collected from taxes and petrol goes to providing the majority an easy life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Kesian rakyat Mesia. Dahla kena tipu oleh PH, ni pulak dimaki hamun dari PH. Ingatkan undi harapan, undi ubah ke arah baik. Manala tau jatuh pulak ditimpa tangga, lepas tu puak PH datang ketawa rakyat. Mengundi PH adala kemalangan terbesar yg pernah berlaku di Mesia. Kesian Mesia, kesian rakyat Mesia….

• Abu Sahid Wahid on Jan 24, 2020 at 5:38 pm

Actually price of petrol in Malaysia is very cheap. Those who complain about price of petrol are those who live above their means. Most people just work as kerani but want to have many wives and about 10 children.

So of course you will feel everything is so costly. Because your commitment is so high, so you find that petrol is now very costly.

Keep your cost low and live within your means.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Manifesto Dicapati on Jan 24, 2020 at 8:16 pm

According to the good doctor above, here is one that insist PH is a deadly contagion and needs to be eradicated.

• Manifesto Dicapati on Jan 24, 2020 at 8:20 pm

PH cybertroopers live in cloudcuckooland

• Yazid on Jan 24, 2020 at 10:43 pm

I know so many people cannot make ends meet but they have 3 wives with 15 kids.

This is a big problem in Malaysia now.

• Chavez on Jan 25, 2020 at 12:41 am

Yeah, when taukes don’t pay a living wage for their employees and instead screwing them, how to expect they can survive? In First World countries these kind of discrimination is banned, this is the reason why we cannot acheive First World status.

• Chavez on Jan 24, 2020 at 11:38 pm

How to live within means in the city? Most of those demanding for PH to honour their promises of cheap fuel are fron the big cities and many are facing financial ruin. Most of them wanted to be bigshot towkay by hook & crook so they lent from ah longs but their businesses failed. Also because of face they want to own big houses in Cheras or Puchong or Jinjang, thiis further cost them money so they borrow even more from ah longs.

How lar to live like this way without help? They went for the demos, they listened to the ceramahs, they tell everyone and repost online, they voted for PH no matter how incompetent the person like LGE. And now PH is ruling but their dream is in ruins. They want to change back but dunno when can happen. So sad they got cheated like a scam.

• vivizurianti on Jan 24, 2020 at 7:41 pm

Syukur 1000x petrol price still cheapest in the region. Now, everyone can save money while CNY balik kampung or jalan-jalan during long holiday.

Tol oso decreased by 20%.

However, I sense everything will be “Barang Naik” once CNY-feel-good is over.

• intermilan on Jan 25, 2020 at 8:59 am

All political cyber troopers are most welcome to get the puck out of this website. The silent majority is very jijik with all your bickerings here.

I pity this once mighty website. Almost all commenters who focused on discussing the news within the context of automotive perspectives have either scale down or stopped contributing all together.

Aside to Paul Tan himself, dont keep mum, do something about it, will ya?

• Sick & Tired on Jan 25, 2020 at 11:19 am

Can’t blame the rakyat as they are all just sick & tired for all the unfulfilled promises.

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 25, 2020 at 8:46 pm

Much agreed Bro intermilan…. BN political cyber troopers all to blamed here, since they lost the past election and Cookies jar. Sigh….

• I pity the PH cybertroopers habing a difficult job coming here to plotek his bosses with lame excuses, trolling people, and using juvenile poorly written english that doesn’t make sense when they ran out of excuses, lies, fake news, stories, fantasies, and accusations to throw against the people’s anger at PH.

• Damon Lee on Jan 26, 2020 at 12:38 am

C’mon. Enough of the blame game la. Don’t blame BN for PH useless and incompetent govenance filled with plenty of broken promises and no more harapan. If PH cannot handle the responsibility give it back to BN for the good of the country. PH should not destroy the country because of their selfishness.

• Yeah bro. Agreed with the comment above me.