RON 95 subsidy scheme details announced – only for BSH recipients, cars below 1.6L, bikes under 150 cc

The government has finally revealed details of its targeted fuel subsidy scheme for RON 95 petrol, the new petrol subsidy programme (PSP) being outlined by domestic trade and consumer affairs (KPDNHEP) minister Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail earlier today.

Benefits of the scheme, which is slated to begin in January next year, will only be provided to eligible B40 recipients based in Peninsular Malaysia, as The Star reports. The subsidy scheme will not incorporate Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan, with the government saying that the price of RON 95 in the two states and Labuan will remain capped at RM2.08 per litre.

Saifuddin said this is because it does not cost so much for the government to subsidise RON 95 in East Malaysia, given that there are more diesel car users there.

It was also announced that the current price cap of RM2.08 per litre for RON 95 will be removed and the fuel floated – like RON 97 is presently – once the PSP kicks off.

Details of the scheme are as follows:

• The subsidy will only be given to car/motorcycle owners, and is limited to one vehicle per recipient. If a person owns a car and a motorbike, then he/she will receive the higher subsidy, which is for the car. The car or motorcycle must be registered under the recipient’s name.
  • The subsidy rate will be capped at RM30 a month for car owners, and RM12 a month for motorcycle owners.
  • The government will reimburse the subsidy once every four months, so car owners will receive RM120 and motorcycle owners will receive RM48 every four months. The payment method will see cash being directly credited into the recipient’s registered bank account. The first payment is scheduled for April 2020.
  • Only those who are entitled for cost of living aid (BSH) assistance, with their names listed in the BSH database for receiving such allowances, will be able to receive the new petrol subsidy. All handicapped people will also be given the subsidy.
  • The household income of the recipient must not be more than RM4,000 per month.
  • To qualify, a recipient can only own a maximum of two cars and two motorcycles at any one time in his/her household. See the info-graphic panel above for a clearer picture of what vehicle combination qualifies and what doesn’t.
  • For cars, the pre-requisite is that the engine displacement must be:
    1,600 cc or below
    – or above 1,600 cc, but only for cars that are 10 years old and above
  • For motorcycles, the pre-requisite is that the engine displacement must be:
    150 cc and below
    – or above 150 cc, but only for motorcycles that are seven years old and above

Saifuddin said that a total of 2.9 million people are expected to benefit from the new subsidy scheme, which will cost the government about RM65.4 million a month. This is lower than the average of RM133 million it says it currently spends weekly in fuel subsidies.

He said that if the price of petrol drops below RM2 per litre, the government will relook at the subsidy and may defer its implementation.

Without the price cap in place, RON 95 petrol would actually be priced at RM2.30 per litre this week based on the finance ministry’s Automatic Price Mechanism (APM) calculations. For the previous week, that price would have been RM2.49 per litre without the cap.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Avenger on Oct 07, 2019 at 4:21 pm

Hidup PH! Malaysia selamat sejahtera!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 36
    • Ajibkor on Oct 07, 2019 at 9:53 pm

The BRIM category of people in Bolehland very loaded now.Tons of goodies.Goodies should also be given to warga emas,who just didnt qualify for BRIM but are struggling cos children dont support them.
      Some brim receipients buying top branded handphones and smart Tvs once duit masuk pocket.

• Bye2 petrol RM 1.50 per litre

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Gabriel on Oct 08, 2019 at 11:40 am

Under PH, harga barang Pasti High…
        To be honest, I was dreaming for RM1.50 per litre price as promised by bakal PM8. Now, I can keep on dreaming.
        Laughing at myself for voting them in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
        • Mother Earth on Oct 08, 2019 at 6:30 pm

While other countries are phasing out petrol and diesels, our B40 peasants are still whining about petrol subsidy? Can’t these people think of our climate then everyday dreaming about RM1.50/l petrol? PH should abolish the subsidies. We know where these people will be using the money from subsidies – To buy cigarettes to pollute the Earth more.

https://paultan.org/2019/10/07/denmark-to-phase-out-petrol-and-diesel-cars-from-2030/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • U better stay in cave to have zero pollution

• Thaya on Oct 07, 2019 at 4:29 pm

No talk about Diesel

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 07, 2019 at 4:38 pm

beribu ribu tahniah after barang naik now is pasti high

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
  • Good Move, the people will move u up soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • vVivi Zurianti on Oct 07, 2019 at 4:39 pm

I dont wish to sound ungrateful nor unappreciative……but with RM30 subsidy/month for car???

What is the value and what can RM30 do today? Simple going to eco/cheapo-supermarket, and will only afford half-basket of grocery.

I advice relevant minister to go visit (please open your eyes while at it) the real world and see what they can buy with RM30, if you have family to feed, bills to pay, installment, etc

The Barang Naik problem not address then, now and future, I;m afraid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 24
    • powerpuff on Oct 08, 2019 at 8:29 am

This is meant to reduce your load on petrol spending per month, not for you to go buy groceries. The problem with people like you nowadays is they always lose context of the subject.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • itnairuzivi on Oct 08, 2019 at 9:36 am

You seem to suggest that ministers doesn’t live in the real world. For you RM30 might not be that much but for someone, it might mean the world. You don’t wish to sound ungrateful but ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
      • Senor Sotong on Oct 08, 2019 at 2:38 pm

Let’s be clear on what they’re giving you, it’s 1 ringgit a day. I can beg on the street for an hour and make a ringgit.

• itnairuzivi on Oct 09, 2019 at 10:03 am

1 ringgit a day without having to beg on the street sounds better to me. If you rather be beggars, go ahead.
          Being ungrateful because gov gives you 1 ringgit a day but not feeling grateful when you’re not starving and not living in a country with wars or high crime rates. If you feel unsatisfied in your life, better start to count your blessings.

• yanggang2020 on Oct 10, 2019 at 9:56 am

You can be grateful but doesn’t mean you have to be stupid, duh. If you think 1 ringgit per day will be a huge help to this b40 people, you are huge fool. Let be honest, from the top of our head we can gives 5 better solution than this

• itnairuzivi on Oct 11, 2019 at 8:07 am

@yanggang2020 you want honesty? don’t depend on gov to give you money! in fact, don’t depend on anyone! u want to earn more, do more, work more. if you don’t work more to earn more but whine about gov only give rm1 per day acting like a spoiled brat than you’re a huge fool.

• Ha ha so creative plan ….PH only can make it …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • PitStop on Oct 07, 2019 at 4:58 pm

How about other people who is under the category of B40, but did not eligible for BSH?
    From the get go, the system is flawed massively, catering only for a certain group of people.
    It should be applied to a wider audience, and tax more of the T20 to support the others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 43
  • Absurd.

Is owning a 1.6 car a luxury these days? Persona 1.6 is so much cheaper than a 1.5cc City/Vios/Myvi.

What about those small CCs VW? Entitled to this too?

They really should subsidize according to HP, not CC!!!

Nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
    • Pak Toh on Oct 07, 2019 at 7:50 pm

I hear goverment may implement standardized road tax based on engine output.

they are in discussing now. For the time being, this is the legit info:
      https://paultan.org/2019/03/11/local-ev-road-tax-to-finally-switch-to-kw-based-rate/

Renault Zoe 65 kW (87 hp)= RM56
      Nissan Leaf 110kw (147 hp) = RM374

Next, Tiny engine Turbo will get taxed follow hp too.

Dislike – to show antisupport to this new system.
      Like – to show support.
      Honda Civic 1.5turbo 170hp, calculate yourself for road tax required. it’s above RM524.

This will compensate the petrol subsidized for them. RM30x12months = RM360.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 25
    • satish on Oct 07, 2019 at 8:35 pm

before commenting here, at least could you read the news properly? People who small CCs VW, they’re probably not going to be B40 groups

• lolpanda on Oct 07, 2019 at 9:22 pm

only those eligible for BSH will enjoy the subsidy (which is really targeting the B40). i highly doubt someone within that segment will be driving a Polo 1.2 TSI…a country cannot forever rely on subsidies.

• WoW, rm30 once every four month. I just laughing with sadness. WoW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 25
    • Dylan Ch'ng on Oct 07, 2019 at 7:37 pm

It’s RM120 every 4 months, not RM30.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • What’s the different? U syiok sendiri je…if ur income is rm4k, then u tell ppl rm16k every 4months….haaa

• Shaah on Oct 07, 2019 at 5:19 pm

Checking if i’m entitled to get RON 95 subsidy?
    last time, i used to earn Rm99k every month with 18 month bonus. but i resigned from my job, currently zero income. Jobless menganggur, entitled RON95 subsidy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
    • powerpuff on Oct 08, 2019 at 8:33 am

no you are not entitled. you still have 18 months bonus. use that and find a new job. don’t try to cheat people in giving you free money.

• Hashi on Oct 08, 2019 at 9:40 am

If you did earn 99K per month, why resigned? Also, if you did earn 99K per month before, where all the money goes? You spent all of it? You don’t have any savings from a 99K per month job? Just curious.

• Sap sap on Oct 07, 2019 at 5:38 pm

So Sabah & Sarawak people must be richer than peninsula ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • Misunderstanding on Oct 08, 2019 at 9:44 am

“The subsidy scheme will not incorporate Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan, but the government says that the price of RON 95 in the two states and Labuan will remain capped at RM2.08 per litre.”
      Isn’t this mean that Peninsular will have uncapped RON 95 price? How’s that “richer” when the RON 95 is subsidized throughout without the control of certain car CC?

• Go Ahead-lah on Oct 07, 2019 at 5:49 pm

This will definitely lead to inflation and cost of all goods going up. My bet is the PH government will not do it at the last minute and flip-flop the decision. Anyone want to bet against?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
  • Sammy Loo on Oct 07, 2019 at 5:50 pm

Thanks to the government for fulfilling another manifesto on petrol subsidy.

This will reduce the traffic jam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • Chong Yew on Oct 07, 2019 at 5:52 pm

Here comes further inflation. Upstream supply chain fuel costs are no longer subsidized.

• pengayuhbasikal on Oct 07, 2019 at 6:13 pm

congratulations…..

• Tun F on Oct 07, 2019 at 6:31 pm

Wow.. Previously it was meant for vehicle with 1.5 litre engine and now already improved to 1.6… Thundercats must be pushed govt to adjust the scheme… So persona, iriz, exora owners can take a relieve from this announcement…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • donut-trunk on Oct 07, 2019 at 6:37 pm

sabahrawak part of malaysia like singapore last time ar?

• Disappointed Rakyat on Oct 07, 2019 at 8:22 pm

Disappointed on supporting the wrong government. One term for you guys is also consider too long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 14
    • powerpuff on Oct 08, 2019 at 8:35 am

so how? go back to the bossku clown? hai.. keluar mulut buaya, masuk mulut harimau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • horrayooi on Oct 07, 2019 at 9:03 pm

Only 2.8 million people qualify this stingy subsidy. The rest of the population will be pissed. Smart move PH. You just dug your own grave. We have not forgotten Pak Lah RM2.70 during 2006. One of the reasons for his downfall. 31 million – 2.8m = 28.2 million people will be paying more for foodstuffs due to increase in transportation cost. GE 15….. BN back in Putrajaya. Bravo

• Nicholas Liu on Nov 16, 2019 at 11:30 am

Sami Loo all people need to drive their vehicles to work, it will cause more traffic jam, ask yourself do you need to drive everyday, go take public transport, idiot you!!

• Cuckoo bird on Oct 07, 2019 at 9:06 pm

Actually how is one household defined here? One address? Let’s say there are 6 of us in 1 house (renting) . 3 couples. Each earning average of RM 1500. Have 3 cars and 3 bikes. How do they qualify? Or don’t they?

Since by calculation 6×1500 = 9k. Above the threshold.

More than 2 car, 2 bikes. Above threshold

Let’s say got 2 cars and 2 bikes only. Qualify for RM 30 each or must share between 4 vehicles?

• Fireant on Oct 07, 2019 at 9:39 pm

Harebrain scheme only BSH recepients can benefit.. What about those who qualify but didn’t apply because they don’t want to burden the Gomen when they took over.. A lot of ppl still have some dignity left who won’t want a handout..but are living in B40 level or worse..what about these ppl? What is the Gomen doing for these ppl?? Always harping on one bluddy specific race and religion to benefit from everything.. Make it beneficial to “All” the poor & needy…irregarless or race & religion… 60 years of walking with crutches is enough, yet some VC still have the thick face to say its their right.. Yet the recent gathering is about their “maruah” roflol..
    PH manifesto is a laughing stock..”Barang Naik” issue not solve..ppl still suffering.. But here they are talking about new taxes to tax the ppl..These Grab drivers mostly in B40 group..MOT wants to cucuk to let out more blood..causing more hardship.. New rules & regulations to comply..mostly will drive up cost for all Rakyat.. But all these issues T20 no impact & no contribution… Bluddy useless Gomen.

• Tz1234 on Oct 07, 2019 at 9:47 pm

For you, rm30 a month may not be alot. But this is definitely help to ease some burden of B40. While there is flaw and not 100% fair to all rakyat, but at least there is something the current gov willing to try. Remember we have to start somewhere to get the thing move or improvements to be identified.
    I’m stuck in M40 and realise how hard is to make a good living in the big city. Work hard and improve yourself everyday, don’t put hope the gov can be at your side for everything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • Jangangadoh2lah on Oct 07, 2019 at 9:57 pm

Smart move!!!, next E this smart G will be slaughter like previous one. Next trip – moon. Anyone??

• Another half baked scheme that will fail badly.

Just bring in Ron91 cheaper loh.

• Haidi on Oct 07, 2019 at 10:22 pm

This is Ridiculous.

• vVivi Zurianti on Oct 07, 2019 at 10:29 pm

……Brace yourself for Barang Naik 3.0

• Wow so creative. Targeted subsidy for the poor. But then petrol price increase which causes inflation and extra burden on the poor. I don’t see how this is any different than BN giving cash handouts through BR1M.

• Is a poor family with 3 cheap motorbikes in a better financial position than a family with 2 cars and 2 motorbikes? Our govt officials seem think so :(

• maverick on Oct 07, 2019 at 11:34 pm

the reason i voted for PH is because i hated najib and rosmah….but right now i am starting to hate this government as well….because of many unfulfilled promises(the toll could be abolished…petrol prices should be rm1.50???)…and their stupid ideas(flying car/third national car project)……messing up the petrol subsidy is a huge mistake as it will affect people’s livelihood….so good luck PH in PRU 15…..harap tak jadi kerajaan satu penggal sahaja.

• Rushdi Ahmad on Oct 08, 2019 at 7:23 am

Rm 12 per month , not even enough for a week use it looks good on paper but imagine all the paperwork involves.

• John L. on Oct 08, 2019 at 8:22 am

Let’s say average market price of RON95 is 2.40 (not sub). 2.08 (sub). 0.32 is the different.
    If you use 100 liters/m by then you paid extra rm2 for the feul. 0.32×100= 32-30(gov sub) = 2
    If your car has a big appetite, good luck.
    If you drive like Hamilton, good luck as well.

• maxvot on Oct 08, 2019 at 9:06 am

totally rubbish

• plchan on Oct 08, 2019 at 9:25 am

A merc C200 is 1497 cc and costs around 260k.
    Lucky for the owner to own this car and still get 30 bucks a month.

• itnairuzivi on Oct 09, 2019 at 10:10 am

Ok I’ve had it with these type of comment. Why are you so stupid!? How can a person with enough income to buy a 200K+ car can hide his income and apply for BSH or even this!?

• panjang on Oct 08, 2019 at 10:40 am

I like the fact that subsidy is ‘removed’ but i dont like the fact that the gomen still does not reveal how they calculate fuel price.

Why not let the station decide how much they want to sell but just control the max price according to the market price?
    Scared a relative will start to lose money or profit ar?

• No more fuel subsidies …..import duties for cars should be abolish too!!

• Shiok sendiri also not enough.

• Mangsakerajaan on Oct 08, 2019 at 12:10 pm

As a middle class, I keep paying more tax and didnt get any benefit from the gov. Not all middle class are living the dream. More like ‘surviving’. And this new petrol policy is unfair because we middle class travel everyday to work by car or motorbike.. pay our taxes.. and now we dont get the subsidy?? PH.. you are going down.

• harapan palsu on Oct 08, 2019 at 4:17 pm

Time to send a strong message in the next by election. make sure they received it loud and clear.

• Robinhood on Oct 08, 2019 at 5:14 pm

I really can’t wait for the coming GE. Things are going from bad to worse!!!!!

• ThAboIT on Oct 09, 2019 at 2:01 pm

I am gonna go back to just read the news and skip the comment sections once and for all. The toxic level of these comments by possibly 2-3 person using different names are just too high. One advice, if you keep feeding the toxic feeling inside you, you’ll never be happy with anything. You will always try to find a fault rather than being sincerely grateful. And that will increase your toxic level up to the point that it’s just waiting to explode.