Perodua Myvi officially launched in Brunei – 1.3G and S-Edition; new SE or GT body kit coming to Malaysia?

Perodua has officially launched the third-generation Myvi in Brunei, with distribution being handled by GHK Motors in the country. Buyers there will have access to two variants, including the 1.3G and S-Edition, the latter being rather interesting and isn’t offered in our local market (we’ll get to that later).

The 1.3G is pretty much identical to the 1.3 Standard G AT available here, and is powered by a 1.3 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder engine with Dual VVT-i that makes 94 hp and 121 Nm of torque. The engine is paired with a four-speed torque converter automatic driving the front wheels, with a rated fuel consumption of 20.3 km/l.

Standard equipment for the 1.3G includes 14-inch alloy wheels, LED headlamps, keyless engine start/stop, fabric seat upholstery, a standard head unit with USB input, reverse sensors, ABS with EBD, Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), traction control, four airbags and an emergency stop signal system. This variant is priced at B$17,246 (RM53,045) – about RM10,000 more than what we pay here – and comes with a three-year/100,000-km warranty.

That’s all well and good but the big surprise here is the S-Edition, which is essentially the 1.3G but with a body kit and other accessories added on. In the metal, the variant bears a close resemblance to the Myvi GT put on display at the 2018 KL International Motor Show (KLIMS), and is totally different from the GearUp items offered in Malaysia.

At the front, the S-Edition gets a bolder front grille framed by silver trim, with a tweaked Perodua logo placed in the centre of the honeycomb mesh insert. This insert design is replicated for the more aggressive bumper, which comes with three large intakes, a splitter in the lower apron and a small “S-Edition” badge.

Down the sides, the car doesn’t get the fancy wheels and Brembo brakes like on the KLIMS show car. Instead the 14-inch units are of a fan-style design that differs from the regular 1.3G, and is complemented by accented side skirts and decals that run from the VVT-i badge on the front fender to just beyond the rear doors.

Moving towards the rear, you’ll find a prominent diffuser element at the bottom and no dual-exhaust setup, along with a roof spoiler that is larger and stands out taller than what was seen on the Myvi GT. As for the interior, it remains unchanged and features the same kit as the 1.3G.

For now, the S-Edition is only offered in Brunei but it isn’t too far-fetched to say that this may (or may not) be the SE or GT kit that Malaysia (could) get in the future. There’s also a possibility that the parts are made independently by Perodua’s Brunei dealer and not supplied by Perodua themselves. In any case, what do you think of this body kit for the Myvi? Would you like this to be an option in our market? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi GT at the 2018 KL International Motor Show

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Avenger on Jul 04, 2020 at 3:28 pm

With cars so cheap in Brunei, why would they want to pay 10k more for a cheapo car? They could even easily cross to Miri and pay 10k less for the same car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
    • Char koey teow on Jul 04, 2020 at 4:35 pm

Very exciting news! It is good to hear that Game-Changing Perodua Myvi is going international. This shows that Perodua is trully a successful national carmaker not only in here but also in overseas. Therefore, we have to be proud of Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
      • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 04, 2020 at 6:03 pm

Sure. Bravo Perodua?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
        • Maju Perodua and Proton. Maju Made in Malaysia

• Darren on Jul 04, 2020 at 6:31 pm

Malaysia got 4 national carmakers, Proton, Perodua, Naza & Inokom… syukuring

• Raja Celup on Jul 04, 2020 at 8:53 pm

Better than rebadge China car and call it own car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
          • Lolwhut? on Jul 04, 2020 at 10:55 pm

So we should be ashamed for rebadging Daihatsu Indonesia cars and calling it our own for 30 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
          • Perodua is a rebadged daihatsu.

• This gonna be introduce in our market very soon?

• Tak payah pening lagi warga brunai, syabas!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Jamus on Jul 04, 2020 at 5:29 pm

Maybe they aren’t allowed to buy a foreign registered car ?

• Goblock loo on Jul 05, 2020 at 2:05 am

Brunei gaji murah nak mati. Kau duduk dalam tempurung ke?

• Proton number 1 on Jul 05, 2020 at 4:23 pm

Launch to fail only, just like Proton. May be can do better than Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 05, 2020 at 4:27 pm

Make up your mind, man. One comment dissing Proton, the very next one Perodua. Enough trolling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Looks very “Ah Beng”.

P2 better not introduce such a silly looking thing here as Malaysians have taste.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
    • Ipprider on Jul 04, 2020 at 5:52 pm

Like more so of latest honda doesn’t look really cuter anymore compare that we have here.

• jay8393 on Jul 04, 2020 at 6:17 pm

Silly looking you say? But that’s what Malaysians want, based on the countless number of Myvis on the road that have the same front bumper.

• stupidcar on Jul 06, 2020 at 9:44 am

If Malaysians have taste, they wont be installing coloured LEDs in the gap of boot, on headlights. And wont be gluing fake calipers on stock calipers. And putting some other brand tyres bombs on some other brands. And using small vossens on economy cars. And kangkang their cars.

• Truth on Jul 04, 2020 at 3:51 pm

buruk dua myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • 25yrsOld on Jul 04, 2020 at 5:33 pm

nice bumper.

Malaysian need a fixed arm rest, bezza alcantara like leather, and AEB update to 80km/h.
    Sub rm60k very practical. Big boot for young man.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 04, 2020 at 6:17 pm

As usual we locals will get the good stuff later than other countries.

• Jimmy on Jul 04, 2020 at 8:06 pm

Wow! Front left & right air intake bukan fake woo. German car pon fake je. Syabas Perodua. Carwow stick of truth sure pass high mark

• I have been to Brunei and did not see anyone driving a proton. Perodua i dunno as it could be a daihatsu.

• Ben Yap on Jul 04, 2020 at 11:56 pm

We’re better off here as we have the 1.5 engine vs Brunei underpowered 1.3 engine. I rather have more powerful engine than bodykit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Myvi 1.5 never catch me after he high beam on me, hahahahaha… padan muka

• VW Scirocco Genting on Jul 05, 2020 at 12:22 pm

“The only thing that matter is who is behind the wheel”

You aren’t any faster despite you being front. But u the one kena pressured and sakit mata by high beam hahaha

• I no pressure at all because i already smoke him 800m away. Furthermore my rear mirror got dimmer, no matter how he high beam won’t sakit mata. Hahahahahaha… padan muka

• no wonder. U run through the red light. Myvi stopped at red light.

Myvi owner didn’t hont u for being road hogger.. only flashed at you.
            U lucky, no Saman hahahaha

• Siew Hong on Aug 21, 2020 at 5:52 pm

nice one haha

• razibar on Jul 06, 2020 at 8:45 am

are u sure? maybe it was axia tailing you…ha ha ha…

• 100% sure is Myvi, already smoke him with GPS speed 182km/hr…padan muka. Hahahahaha

• Joyce on Jul 05, 2020 at 12:32 am

Even wearing same front bumper, why it looks nice on concept car but ungly on Brunei version?

Anyone has the same feeling?

• azrai on Jul 05, 2020 at 7:11 am

Myvi AB Elegance Extreme Special Edition + Gear Up accessories.

• vivizurianti on Jul 05, 2020 at 1:19 pm

If the GT do arrives in Malaysia, abang abang la la will drive their GT and cucuk every car on the road.

Feel the power of a GT emblem, yo. Jangan main-main with cars with GT badge. ;)

• Ong Kah Jye on Jul 05, 2020 at 2:38 pm

more people will now drive against the traffic flow..WITH SPORT STYLE!

• Fariz on Jul 05, 2020 at 4:42 pm

It looks okay I guess … ???

• Gallivanter on Jul 05, 2020 at 9:05 pm

I honestly think the front change is an overkill. I’ve been told by a few Perodua salesman that there is a facelifted MYVI coming in the next few weeks, I just hope it’s not this Brunei version SE as the front is out of whack for my taste, makes it look they ran out of ideas and changed for the sake of change.

And the interior is exactly the same as rhe 1.3, perhaps that’s for the Brunei market, hopefully they refresh the interior (hopefully no pew pew pew lighting) if there is a facelift coming this month.

• Jessica L on Jul 05, 2020 at 10:31 pm

Its fine, we just need something different for 1 of the fastest production national car.

Ppl who are buying MYVI hoping to get some update too. The more the merrier, existing already better than AEB-less Honda Jazz

• Farhan on Jul 06, 2020 at 10:07 am

That bodykit easily adds 100 hp, no need turbo

• canbreak on Jul 06, 2020 at 12:35 pm

lower part of the front bumper will break easily, grill too big, pillar too small. be careful when parking nose first.

• Same L0rr on Jul 06, 2020 at 3:47 pm

Perodua good RV