Proton X50 – three-cylinder engine vibration issue?

As many of you are probably aware by now, the Proton X50 will be offered with two engines, both being 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder petrol units. In the range-topping Flagship variant, the mill features direct fuel injection, which makes 177 PS at 5,500 rpm and 255 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,000 rpm,

Meanwhile, the Standard, Executive and Premium variants get a port-injected version of the engine that is rated at 150 PS and 226 Nm. All X50s have a seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission sending power to the front wheels, with no all-wheel drive option.

That’s all well and good, but “car experts” have been providing all sorts of claims and theories about the X50’s three-cylinder engines being a bad thing. As we were given access to the B-segment SUV during yesterday’s media preview event, we tried to find out if there’s any truth to the chatter.

Proton has said that the X50’s engines have received more than 10 specific parts to improve their NVH. In this video, we check out the Flagship’s 1.5 TGDi engine’s start-up vibration, noise and refinement, so if you’re curious and demand visual and audio proof, let Hafriz Shah give you the 411 on the topic at hand.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Oct 01, 2020 at 5:23 pm

Long story short. Great and grateful if PT suggest 3 cylinders will have no more issue than 4 cylinders to maintain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Engineer on Oct 01, 2020 at 6:31 pm

The expensive engine bearings of 3cyl to go first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • AliAhKauRamasamy on Oct 01, 2020 at 6:43 pm

‘Q: Proton X50 – three-cylinder engine vibration issue?

A: No issue. Don’t worry.’

We believe your words Hafriz/PT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Roti john on Oct 01, 2020 at 6:44 pm

The most important aspect of an engine is the reliability. People buy Perodua because Perodua uses Toyota’s Game-Changing engine that is capable to run more than KM500,000. Idk how long this engine will last, I would better wait for Perodua D55L with the same 3 cylinder engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 30
      • Chavez on Oct 01, 2020 at 7:50 pm

This is not the article about lousy cars, you want to talk about lousy cars go to those articles.

• Sure... on Oct 01, 2020 at 8:28 pm

P2 with their very basic engine design. Only vvt to widen the powerband. No power whatsoever. Paired with ancient 4AT, then you have the recipe, and the very definition of a “Boring Car” “Uncle Car” “Extra Car”. Soup it up with body kits and you got yourself an “Ah Beng Car”

• Meh! 500,000km is peanuts compared with X50 done 1.9million kms.

• 2year waiting list, Daihatsu Rocky and Toyota Raize. Selling in Hong Kong for HK$243,000 and S$86,888 (RM280,000) in Singapura. Great car come to those who wait..

• Copy Paste on Oct 01, 2020 at 9:45 pm

Copy paste: “Aww crap laa you have to compare this 1.5TGDI with P2 engines. But it was designed to pass 350,000km or 15 years tho, so yeahh let see.

Huuuge different, P2 engines are made bare bone to the very basic design, only VVT is the cherry on top. Got no power whatsoever, pair that with ancient 4AT and they pretty much nailed reliability. There you go, engine trying hard, but acceleration is lazy sipping fuel trying to pass a big truck on a climbing road.”

• Lee Cun Giler on Oct 01, 2020 at 10:48 pm

Don’t you get tired being a shill?

• Avenger on Oct 02, 2020 at 2:17 pm

He is paid for it so i guess not, but that says a lot about P2 sales tactic… it involves a lot of wallowing in mudpits.

• pathetic user on Oct 02, 2020 at 2:31 pm

If i praise P1 and whack other brands everyday in PT, does it mean im a p1 salesman? no right?

• Avenger on Oct 02, 2020 at 6:53 pm

Unless he got some kind of mental issues, normal people don’t troll this much for free unless they have ulterior motives. That usually involves a fixed salary and i can’t say i agree (in fact abhor) Perodua usage of internet trolls for their marketing.

• Li Peng on Oct 02, 2020 at 5:42 am

Toyota’s Game-Changing engine is actually a Peugeot design from the Toyota Peugeot Citroën Automobile (TPCA) joint venture…

• Rawang boy protest on Oct 01, 2020 at 5:28 pm

Plsla guys, will you put this & that into just a few articles, kinda demoralizing, eye-bleeding to read every tiny bit of everything > 20 articles so far and its still coming. I swear on the X50’s Debut day, probably 20-30s more writeups in details ready to be publish. Im confused now whether this is paid advertising plan from Tg.malim or simply a PT ways to grab more view & traffic
    #my apologies, nothing against PT or TgM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 20
    • Red Karma on Oct 01, 2020 at 6:27 pm

Go read your book then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • Peace no war on Oct 01, 2020 at 9:15 pm

Everyone seems to like it about flooding the feed with x50 contents. This way consumer can focus on specific parts rather to read a long one with everything in it

• newme on Oct 01, 2020 at 5:29 pm

PT really go all out promoting Proton. From writing an article discouraging people from buying certain P2 models to bombarding readers with endless X50 promotional articles, times are hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 31
    • Avenger on Oct 01, 2020 at 6:43 pm

Cant help if PT decided to support a more ethical national car brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • #needsmoreVaseline

• Diplomatic bridge on Oct 01, 2020 at 8:18 pm

Sabarla sayang, tahan la dua mata you from today until mid Oct launch. Just skip skip la those articles, you will be fine.Dulu itu time P2 launch poon also the same ma puluwan articles xputus wor within 1week.Proton fans also sama liao sakit hati. So be fairla ok, now is their time to show off flexing their muscle lo.
      Oh that article, no longer available. PT already brought it down juz within 2days la amoi, so settle ok.Aiya stop & dont fight it!, just follow your instinct your untold undying love for P1.Lets make the secret no longer a secret ok. Now is the right time…coming soon wow! ‘2021 newme’, fresh & vibrant. My journey from a hater to be a protecter. Just come over to the other side, more are merrier, definitely cooler too!

• newme on Oct 02, 2020 at 12:54 pm

Ada lagi la ngok.

https://paultan.org/2020/09/14/five-perodua-models-you-should-not-buy-heres-why/

• Im just curious on Oct 02, 2020 at 2:33 pm

Can you tell me what was ur previous username (s) in 2019? u not roti john right?

• mr1031 on Oct 01, 2020 at 5:32 pm

Thks Friz for the 411. this Volvo engine is Error 404 Not Found

• Ethan on Oct 01, 2020 at 5:33 pm

What can be done about carbon deposits associated with direct injection engines? Thanks

• azrai on Oct 01, 2020 at 5:35 pm

According to so called ‘car expert’:
    i. Timing belt is not good
    ii. CVT is not good
    iii. 3 cylinder is not good
    iv. Brake drum is no good
    So on and so fourth…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • Red Karma on Oct 01, 2020 at 6:30 pm

The so call ‘car expert’ is not good then

• dream_125 on Oct 01, 2020 at 6:33 pm

You forgot:
      v. turbo is not good (only in hot Malaysia, in cold countries like Thailand turbo is okay)

• Muhammad Arshad Bin Mustapaha on Oct 03, 2020 at 7:44 am

U we’re wrong about brake..Trust me.. if u ever drive car with dual disc brake front and rear ; compared with drum at back.. it make a difference especially in REAL emergency braking..

• pirate on Oct 01, 2020 at 5:40 pm

Eventually…

• Basher on Oct 01, 2020 at 6:46 pm

I think can confirm PT and proton are linked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
    • I think can confirm Vaseline & pain cream will be the next big demand around here after facemask & hand sanitiser.

• Basher on Oct 02, 2020 at 7:19 pm

Whatever, i am stating the obvious. Just rename paultan to protan.

• So when PT runs their standard articles on the next Perodua launch, what are you going to call it? PeroTan? Do you know how ridiculous you sound?

• Basher on Oct 03, 2020 at 11:40 am

Oh, so 102874 articles covering a proton model that doesn’t even have a price tag is not ridiculous to your standard? Oh.. there are a number of articles that are focusing on “educating” us …3 pots vibration, drivetrain longetivity. Have you seen such a coverage on other brands? Oh, let’s not talk about multiple YouTube videos covering a small feature like iPhone mirroring.

• vivizurianti on Oct 02, 2020 at 6:34 am

nampak bias sangat dah….

• Bolster on Oct 01, 2020 at 8:25 pm

I don’t know why these honda SA have spent whole day for talking fake feedbacks and always badmouthing to P1. Even, Honda SA always like to talk feedback about proton spare parts problem. Really, This is going to be very unhealthy if honda SA aka proton bashers continuing attacking proton. Especially, honda SA also attempting for attacking other brands, the same goes to Honda City RS AD. Well, I think it is time for Paultan to get rid proton haters aka honda SA here. Enough is enough and hopefully we don’t want to see honda SA coming here to talk fake giving fake info to ensure future blogs will be more peace and having more freedom from Honda SA.

• i’m wonder is Germany ppl comment about BMW 3 cylinder engine issue?

• dream_125 on Oct 02, 2020 at 4:14 pm

What is the BMW 3 cylinder engine issue?

• Troll Hunter on Oct 02, 2020 at 7:17 pm

There isn’t one which is why its downright idiotic for certain segments of the internet to troll this much against a 3potter.

• That’s why…what I look on here is, proton 3 cylinder have plenty of people saying is a issue…but no issue on p2 or bmw 3 cylinder engine…

• Basher on Oct 03, 2020 at 11:44 am

Oh, on P2 you mean viva? Oh ya, that 1 liter engine vibrates like hell after 30-40k km. It’s a viva, no one will complain. Compare to a BMW 3 cylinder is just silly I think.

• Plenty of people mind is just like 3 cylinder engine by other car manufacturers from all around the world have no problems…the only proton 3 cylinder engine is the big problem..what a joke…

• Basher on Oct 04, 2020 at 9:45 am

I guess it’s waste of time reasoning with you. You are thinking at a very shallow level. If you go one level deeper into the category of customers these cars are targeting you would get what I mean. How often you hear BMW owners complain about maintenance, if this person can really afford a BMW? Viva is the cheapest car you can get which serve the other end of the customer spectrum. X50 is targeting I guess the most cost conscious group of consumers here which also tends to prioritize price/performance ratio if you get what I mean. Yes, 10 parts to counter 3 cylinder vibration ensure things r rosy in the beginning, but do you know the cost to replace engine mounting down the road? Oh ya, nvm, guess it’s a waste of time to discuss here.

• Yes folks, u pin pointed the most consumer worried problem and issue, i raise my both leg and hand fully agreed and support the point u bring out. at the end $$$ still is the main problem. no harm to speak out, there is no right and wrong folks. at the beginning, the only point i bring out is 3 cylinder engine actually is not an issue, no matter p2, nissan, bmw, suzuki, proton and etc. what i wanted to point out is comparison must be the same (3 cylinder engine). actually if consumer worried about the replacement costs of engine mounting, they can ignore or don’t choose 3 cylinder engine with high market price car, simple right?. i believe car manufacture choose 3 cylinder engine for their car will have their reason.

• Coolray on Oct 02, 2020 at 1:32 pm

Once it is launched, a test drive will tell the whole story.

• Troll Hunter on Oct 02, 2020 at 7:18 pm

Hafriz will be doing just that on his own car. That is as close to real world as you can get.

• Dreamweaver on Apr 18, 2023 at 10:20 am

I am not any car salesman, but to be fair, myself drove a p2 and honda, i dont find p2 car has any better management in noise insulation and vibration level too. the only factor our ppl debating here is abt a branding. p2 has strong toyota techical support, where PT has done enough of damage in the past under the old proton management where the brand denotes a poor build vehicle. Vibration issue is prone to have be it 3 or 4 cyclinder. if you want less vibration, get V6, V8.

anyway, now with new management under china Geely and impecceble volvo tech support. lets hope PT really come out a ground breaking model that rocks the market.