2020 Proton X50 variant breakdown – spec differences between Standard, Executive, Premium and Flagship

So finally, the Proton X50. You’ve read our media preview report for full details and everything you need to know about Proton’s new SUV, now here’s a spec-by-spec breakdown of the four available variants 1.5T Standard, 1.5T Executive, 1.5T Premium and the 1.5 TGDi Flagship. Yes, the range-topper is called Flagship.

UPDATE: The Proton X50 has been officially launched, and it’s priced from RM79,200 to RM103,300. Full report here.

Before we start with the specs in point form, here’s a recap on the much-anticipated new SUV. If the Proton X70 is based on the Geely Boyue, its smaller sibling here is based on the Geely Binyue, also known as the Geely Coolray in some markets.

There’s no big difference between the Binyue and the X50 in terms of design – aside from the conversion from left-hand-drive to our right-hand-drive format, Geely’s “expanding cosmos” grille has been replaced by Proton’s “Infinite Weave” grille, which is rendered in gloss black and houses the new round Proton logo. There’s a red pinstripe “cradling” all of the above.

The “uncaged” tiger badge – revealed in September 2019 – is also found on the wheels and steering wheel. The rear end has the Proton script on the tailgate chrome garnish, while “Proton Full LED” text can be seen on the side of the LED headlamps, which are standard across the board along with quad tailpipes, which are real.

Inside, the speaker grilles have the Infinite Weave motif. Geely’s repetitive G pattern can still be found in the tiniest of places, almost Easter egg-like.

Size-wise, the X50 is very obviously smaller than the X70, and the figures confirm this. At 4,330 mm long, 1,800 mm wide and 1,609 mm tall, the X50 is 139 mm shorter, 31 mm narrower and 85 mm lower than its bigger sibling. Its 2,600 mm wheelbase is 70 mm shorter the the X70’s.

As far as B-segment SUVs go, the X50 is 4 mm shorter, 10 mm wider and 4 mm taller than the Honda HR-V, with a 10 mm shorter wheelbase. In other words, they’re around the same size, although this won’t be obvious when you see the X50 in the metal.

Four variants will be available, and the X50 range will have two engines. The 1.5 TGDi Flagship is powered by a 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine developed by Geely and Volvo. This direct-injection unit makes 177 PS at 5,500 rpm and 255 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,000 rpm.

In the Standard, Executive and Premium variants, the “1.5T” engine is a port-injected version of the engine, which we’re seeing for the first time anywhere. Unique to Malaysia and the X50 for now, this unit puts out around 150 PS and 226 Nm. All X50s have a seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission sending power to the front wheels – like the CKD X70, there’s no AWD here.

Like the Binyue, the X50 rides on Geely’s B-segment Modular Architecture (BMA), and features MacPherson strut suspension at the front and a torsion beam at the rear. Proton says that the X50, which will roll out of its Tanjung Malim plant, has 406 unique parts compared to the LHD Geely, and that local content is 40%. Around 70 local vendors are involved in this project, and Proton is looking to purchase RM2 billion of parts per year.

Now, let’s take a closer look at the four variants on offer, and the differences in spec. However, bear in mind that the full spec sheet is not out yet and Proton has so far only showed us the 1.5 TGDI Flagship variant. All the images here are of the range-topper.

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Standard
Gets as standard:

• 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder MPI engine
  • Around 150 PS and 226 Nm of torque
  • Seven-speed (wet) dual-clutch automatic transmission with manual mode (no paddle shifters)
  • Four airbags (front and side)
  • LED headlamps and DRLs
  • 17-inch alloy wheels
  • Quad exhaust pipes
  • Full carbon fibre-print bodykit
  • Electronic parking brake with auto brake hold
  • Fabric seats
  • Rear air con vents
  • Eight-inch touchscreen infotainment unit with GKUI 19
  • Reverse camera

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Executive
Adds on:

• Six airbags (front, side, curtain)
  • Leather-wrapped steering wheel
  • Automatic headlamps
  • Front fog lamps
  • Leatherette seats

2020 Proton X50 1.5T Premium
Adds on:

• Tyre pressure monitoring system
  • 18-inch alloy wheels with red brake callipers
  • Digital instrument cluster
  • Powered driver’s seat
  • 10.25-inch touchscreen infotainment unit with GKUI 19
  • 360-degree camera

2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship
Adds on:

• 1.5 litre turbocharged direct injection three-cylinder engine
  • 177 PS and 255 Nm of torque
  • Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS)
  • Dual-tone exterior (black roof and pillars)
  • Panoramic sunroof

Six colours are available, and they are Snow White, Armour Silver, Jet Grey, Ocean Blue, Citric Orange and Passion Red – refer to the chart above for colour/variant availability. We have edited images that reflect the X50’s colour options below – do check them out and visualise.

Order books for the Proton X50 open tomorrow (September 16) and you can put your name down for one for RM500. Proton says that there will be a “City Preview” of the new model from September 19, so stay tuned for the chance to see the car in person.

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 colour options

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 official images

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Pijo Hafiz on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:07 pm

laaa Leatherette seats = FAKE leather
    naiyaaaaa’naiyaaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 33
    • Mee Hailam on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:14 pm

This is amazing. I am so glad Li Chunrong, Geely and China has given Malaysians a good product finaly.

Thank you guys. We are utterly grateful to you guys. We have been waiting for an affordable safe car for over 30 years. Finally it is here!!!

Syukurlah!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 18
      • Ghani on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:29 pm

That Flagship nomenclature too corny, becoz current Proton flagship model is Proton X70…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:31 pm

1 engine or 2 engines variant? Why ALL also 3 cylinders

• Hokkien mee on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:01 pm

Thank you Geely for selling your awesome Game-Changing cars to us through Proton. I hope Geely will replace all Proton outdated models with Geely’s Game Changers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
          • Michael Chong on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:26 am

Geely has done so much for Proton and Malaysia!!!!

What a kind and loving car company!

• Li Peng on Sep 17, 2020 at 5:10 pm

Because 3cyl. have less internal friction and need therefore less petrol.

• YB Albert on Sep 15, 2020 at 6:02 pm

The competition is getting hot,hotter,hottest.
        Now,it boils down to pricing.
        Why must we wait 30 agonising years for Proton to arrive at this level of mutu,gaya,keunggulan?
        If DRB has started the collaboration with Geely years earlier,imagine the billions of RM saved from countless bailouts.
        With Dr.Li as ” Captain “,we didnt hear of mass retrenchments.Anyway,it is not a one man show.It is team work.Covid or no covid,P1 is regaining lost market share.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • Engineer on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:44 pm

Geely didn’t become what they are instantly. They evolved and became more competent as they get exposed to outside world, their last acquisition of Volvo Cars finally gave them a worldclass system, design styling which they adopted wholely into their organisation and that which is now shared to Proton.

• Question for Paul Tan & Team on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:46 pm

Can Paul Tan pls tell us how many percent of this car is really Made in Malaysia and Made in China.

Many Malaysians would like to know this.

How much input did Proton put into this car? As Malaysians, we have the right to know because we have kept Proton alive all this years.

I would like to know where my investment has gone. ROI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 22
      • This car starts of at 45% local content which is more than any Perodua to date. Your investment have been wasted in a fake 2nd national carmaker. Anymore questions?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 30
        • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:53 pm

Perodua runs around 80-90% local content. Sorry buddy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
          • Kuih lapis on Sep 15, 2020 at 9:10 pm

john and friends are still spreading Game Over fake news because they cannot comprehend the actual meaning that is clearly written in Wikipedia. This is very sad!

• Avenger on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:26 pm

Sorry friend but I don’t call reskinning another car is having 80-90% local.

• Engineer on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:39 pm

Locally developed content or “locally” made from designs and moulds from the OEM? We know both Proton X70 & X50 would have high local content parts which are developed locally due to LHD to RHD shift necessitating new parts to be redeveloped but for Perodua? Nuh-uh. Not when chassis & drivetrain comes from Toyota.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 16, 2020 at 10:09 am

If we are going to go by “locally developed” rather than “locally made” then Perodua would still have a much higher percentage here. Not taking any sides here guys, just stating facts.

• Engineer on Sep 16, 2020 at 1:02 pm

I would humbly disagree. Even down to the rubber seals, the shape is too similar to Toyota cars that I might have chalk it down to convergence development if they weren’t already linked. Same shape, different lengths used for different cars, still isn’t “developed” by Perodua. This is just one part, when you drill deeper there are so much more similarities so nuh-uh I don’t agree on that Hafriz. When I said local develop content, I mean develop from start.

• X50 local strong R&D No 1 on Sep 16, 2020 at 7:23 pm

The malaysia super strong team again spent all its R&D fund to design the grill. Well done team.

• Engineer on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:48 pm

Your investment? When did Proton got listed in Bursa for your investment? Oh I know, it went into your 2019 Proton Persona that you claimed to have own. I’m sure you must have felt it was a good investment seeing how that you bought the car despite hating the brand.

• Rosman on Sep 16, 2020 at 12:51 pm

Kunta and dupes are still spreading Game Over fake news because he cannot comprehend that Proton was never listed hence he never could “invest” into Proton. This is very sad!

• So?
      Whats your point?

• Lollapalooza on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:52 pm

Oh really? Looks like I won’t be buying one then.. NOT!! Who cares about that!? Its not an integral part of the car that matters.. smh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Ever heard of Mercedes’ Artico?

• Pijo Hafiz on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:10 pm

Leatherette seats aka. FAKE Leather
    haha kulit pon mau tipU kaa?
    naseb’nasebbB

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 43
    • Simpan sikit on Sep 15, 2020 at 6:56 pm

Kalau betul Proton nak tipu, dah awal claim ‘Genuine Leather’. Ni Proton secara terang dah tulis kat spec list sbg leatherette pun kira tipu kaa? Lagi satu Mercedes pun guna fake leather Artico, cuma ramai yg ingat REAL leather.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
      • Justin on Nov 09, 2020 at 10:58 am

Why kill more animals and cause sufferings.
        Imitation leather is every where including luxury cars.

• Hahaha banyak features X50 yg bagus smpai takde benda nk kondem. Kondem fake leather pun jadi laaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • AlmightySnackBar on Oct 26, 2020 at 12:32 am

Tgk la muka celup main belakang dia, mestilah menyalak benda2 yg x de otak. Hahahaha.. Mcm mana la kita nak ikuti teladan yg ditunjuk oleh org “belakang2” ni.. Hahahaha..

• sakaisphere on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:14 pm

poor malaysians who cannot afford proper Western marquee will be attracted to this car like flies to garbagetruck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 72
    • Troll slayer on Sep 15, 2020 at 6:45 pm

Still better than bottom feeding keyboard warriors earning lifehood by spreading hate and lies, don’t you think?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • 5.7L V8 SUV on Sep 15, 2020 at 6:46 pm

Western marquee is a garbage anyway, sometimes money is not the problem, but the hassle when the car offten letting out christmas light on the dashboard is d*mn infuriating. Korean brands is a lot more reliable these days, but without the power and handling of the conti’s. No experience with a reverse engineered china brand, should try one and see.

• This is not the garbage bro

• Noice!

• Haidi on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:52 pm

One question. How about rain sensors and auto windscreen wiper?

• Ahmadjr on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:54 pm

Suruh booking tapi harga tak bagitau ni memang style geely ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Nissan give the best spec Almera in SEA to Malaysia… Proton give lower spec X50 to Malaysia (3 out of the 4 model in Malaysia are in lower spec engine).. And yet, we are the supposingly the “home” to Geely in SEA… Sigh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • Bruh... on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:44 pm

That’s just a strategy to push for those who can afford, which I believe many can.

Otherwise the lower spec 150ps, 226nm is a lot more than adequate considering the size of this X50 is about the size of HR-V which weight around 1250kg.

But the HR-V only got 1.8L N/A with 142ps, 172nm. The torque difference is really huge for their close body size and weight(probably), even for lower spec engine X50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • cardoc on Sep 15, 2020 at 6:11 pm

Why so difficult to mention the pricing?

• rosdi on Sep 15, 2020 at 6:13 pm

Loan kalau buat 20 tahun, sebulan berapa?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • What the Honda city should’ve been.

• Always like reading Danny’s articles. Unlike the others, he writes in a matured manner, doesn’t resort to hyperbole and cheap fanboyism. Thanks man, keep up the good work.

• Avenger on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:27 pm

You mean unlike how you put your comments. Well said.

• Hehe, didn’t know I was a PT staff. Then I got to go and claim my backlog of salary, LOL.

• Kalimaca on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:03 pm

Like : Porsche Macan
    Dislike : Proton X50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
  • David on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:07 pm

Open for booking but never reveal price. Conman style

• Hyundai did the same with Seltos. So?

• azrai on Sep 16, 2020 at 7:33 am

Still waiting for gov price approval? My prediction the price range from RM78k – RM92k.

• The sales reps already know the prices. They will tell you if you show real interest in the car.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 16, 2020 at 9:57 am

No they don’t.

• If I were Proton, I will finalise the price according to the number of bookings recieved. The more bookings, the higher the price.

• yeah, not going to book the car if I don’t even know if I could afford to buy

but I would like to guess RM 88,800

• cant wait to see pricing of the standard model.
    i dont mind fabric seats and no dual tone roof ^^

• sardin on Sep 15, 2020 at 9:36 pm

its good that geely brings this here. despite the small-ish market for this country with hrv-dominating the scene, offering two engine variants is also quite impressive.

but its sad that it is yet another rebadge exercise. i really want a new real proton…although i also realize its not a feasible option in this near future.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 16, 2020 at 12:38 am

hyundai kona is dead

• Sniper Gunung on Sep 16, 2020 at 2:48 am

Greely Geleman…… huhuhuuu

• Kar Meng Sow on Sep 16, 2020 at 4:06 am

Brother, nowadays people are going for safety, performance,and beauty to the features,too early to tell of resale value Remember all assembly automobiles plants are using local contents ranging from bare metals to finishing products .I was past QC controller in the assembly plants and are interested of safety and performances on the roads and to my opinion ,if I am not wrong you are more towards in local contents,then if I were you , don’t buy any automobiles,just walked bare footed as so called japanese slippers are locally make also.So called smart guy.

• AmFly on Sep 16, 2020 at 7:49 am

Itu la pasal., tak faham btul manusia ni

• Meanwhile i am still waiting for my X70 early bird package gifts, six months after i bought it. Talk about after sales service.

• Like : X50
    Dislike : Seltos

• Teh Teik Bin on Sep 16, 2020 at 10:24 am

Appears stunning, like to make a booking. Please advise…

• Lolapalooza on Sep 17, 2020 at 3:49 pm

No need advise. Do some research on the binyue & coolray then you can decide yourself. It’s you money, it’s your choice. Don’t depend on the people from PT comment section. If you feel strong about it (I do), go for it!

• Maria on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:48 am

Everything from design, engine and spec look good except for 4 airbags at standard variant. Whatt??? Proton are you serious?? At this segment and price point 6 airbags should make it as standard fitment for every variant. Since proton did not make the spec official yet, I hope that they change the standard variant airbags from 4 to 6.

• Celup King on Sep 17, 2020 at 3:37 pm

But 4 airbags at probably super cheap price of 60k, this is a steal. You prefer Myvi at 55k with 2 airbags only?

• alldisc on Sep 16, 2020 at 7:23 pm

Why only the top spec gets TGDi?

So others not direct injection as well??

• Li Peng on Sep 17, 2020 at 5:19 pm

Why only top spec gets Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS)?

So others no Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS) as well?

• is it confirm that the standard model gets digital instrument cluster?

• Same ques here. Gues no1 kno for sure. I booked Standard.. Anticipate tis surprise v much

• Abdul Hadi on Sep 22, 2020 at 10:58 pm

That what i also want to know…..if that true that good….but i think that not true. Paultan also not reply…

• Interested on Sep 17, 2020 at 4:13 pm

Hopefully the maintenance cost affordable compared to Sedans at RM80K to RM100K price range, and improve on availability of spare parts, then we have a real winner here

• Abdul Hadi on Sep 22, 2020 at 10:55 pm

Refer to the spec….it’s that true? Digital instrument cluster for all spec?