Geely Coolray officially launched in the Philippines – three 1.5L turbo variants; price starts from RM78,641

The Geely Coolray has been officially launched in the Philippines, where it is offered in a choice of three variants – Comfort, Premium and Sport. This comes a few months after Sojitz G Auto Philippines (SGAP) was appointed as the importer and distributor of Geely models in the country, and marks the second time the brand has entered the market, with the first being in 2011 (handled by AutoChina).

The Coolray is essentially the Binyue compact SUV that we’ve known for a while now, and for the Philippines market, all variants are powered by the same G-Power 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine.

The mill serves up 175 hp and 255 Nm of torque, with drive going to the front wheels via a seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission. According to Geely, the Coolray will take 7.9 seconds to accelerate from zero to 100 km/h, and has a combined (city/highway) fuel consumption of 6.1 litres per 100 km.

Depending on the selected variant, the kit list includes projector halogen or LED headlamps, 17- or 18-inch wheels, fabric or leather upholstery, a panoramic sunroof, a 10.25-inch touchscreen infotainment system with QD Link Android connectivity, a seven-inch digital instrument cluster display and three driving modes (Normal, Eco and Sport).

Other features include a tyre pressure monitoring system and remote start, the latter allowing owners to turn on the engine and air-conditioning system to cool the cabin before entering.

All Coolray variants come with ESC, traction control, ABS with EBD, brake assist, hill start assist and hill descent control as standard, with the Sport also benefitting from a G-Pilot system that features semi-autonomous parallel and perpendicular parking with a touch of a button, along with an around-view monitor.

Pricing-wise, the range starts with the base Comfort variant that goes for 978,000 Philippine pesos (RM78,641), and is followed by the mid-spec Premium for 1,088,000 Philippine pesos (RM87,486) and the top-spec Sport for 1,198,000 Philippine pesos (RM96,331).

Closer to home, we’re still waiting for details about our own Binyue-based model from Proton, which many are referring to as the X50. Considering the Coolray is a fully-imported model in the Philippines, what do you think the compact SUV will be priced at when it is launched here?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• heart attack for Malaysian!
    cepat lar proton haha!

• Lolwhat? on Sep 27, 2019 at 12:34 pm

Geely enter pinoy mkt 1st. p1 selowpoke agains,

• Raja Celup on Sep 27, 2019 at 4:22 pm

The No.1 OEM maker will rebadge it fully.

• Carazy on Sep 27, 2019 at 5:02 pm

Based on ringgit performance, which indeed in the lowest form posible.. I would say the X50 price will be same as Coolray or higher price

• Nazir on Sep 28, 2019 at 12:00 am

Philippines is left hand drive market, for Malaysia it would require right hand conversion

• 25yrsOld on Sep 26, 2019 at 6:33 pm

alamak! Geely is focusing Philipines instead of Malaysia new Meow Meow?

Proton Saga BLM 2008, mod to FLX Campro IAFM+, then mod to VVT now. It’s too much profit without VSC and push start button by now. We are waiting Proton Saga LMST RM26,888 1.3AT.

https://paultan.org/2007/03/26/over-10000-proton-saga-booked-for-rm26999/

2007, LMST, Malaysian is waiting. Old tech but cheap is always welcomed. no push start, no VSC. that’s fine though. Affordable mobility.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Abdul Hakim Rehman on Sep 26, 2019 at 7:21 pm

Hope this car comes to Malaysia. We must thank Geely, Li Chunrong and China for saving Proton. Lucky now, we finally get good high spec cars that are safe for Malaysians.

No wonder the X70 sales are doing so well. For 30 years we waited for a safe car, finally we got one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
    • Ex-VGM staff on Sep 27, 2019 at 4:43 pm

Did well. The heat is gone for x70. And top Selling SUV belongs to perodua Aruz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
      • Yeah, comparing a 120k to 80k. Really shows the level of thinking to justify oneself.

• Come to papa on Sep 26, 2019 at 7:26 pm

Take my money… I want X50 pls

• Dong gor on Sep 26, 2019 at 7:39 pm

85k and higher for the base model. Top variant will be park close to x70 mid variant ~110k.
    My money is on the table, place ur bet :)

• Daniel Tan on Sep 26, 2019 at 7:40 pm

When this masuk Malaysia, Proton cars will be officially dead. lolz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
    • VoidDance on Sep 27, 2019 at 1:22 pm

This going to be Proton X50 here la bodo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Karam singh on Sep 27, 2019 at 4:45 pm

He is referring to Proton’s in house developed models la bodoh. Like top end Iriz/ persona, exora, perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • Troll and intelligence, is like water and oil.

• Daniel Tan on Sep 26, 2019 at 7:48 pm

Geely cars are so cool. I am glad we are now using Geely cars now.

• Marion on Sep 26, 2019 at 8:11 pm

(Like) Geely Coolray.
    (Dislike) P2 Aruz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
  • Sarjit Singh on Sep 26, 2019 at 8:15 pm

Wish Malaysia could come out with its own solid car like this…..

Why others must make it for us?

• kslee on Sep 27, 2019 at 12:24 pm

u pay for r&d money? do u even know the cost of manufacturing an engine? all the qc and testing? body subframe, chassis all need to go thru safety inspection and testing. u wan government to fund it again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • wow, if they can price it similar here by Proton, it will sell like hot cakes

• Syer1n on Sep 26, 2019 at 10:18 pm

I don’t know if 50k starting price is too much to ask but with more local content I’d love to hang around that price. Me poor but me want.

• Dong gor on Sep 27, 2019 at 11:55 am

Work harder to make ur want come true

• Gabriel on Sep 27, 2019 at 4:05 pm

This is new Malaysia. If you want something you need to work harder.
      Take this for an example. If you want a bungalow without a swimming pool with under value price, you should work hard to learn the trade on how to do corrupt practice. If you want more money, you should work hard and pay people money to do feasibility report. Report no need to finish, you can take the money first. Key word here is work hard.
      I sincerely hope you can get the X50 by working hard.

• If estimated hold at Rm78k, Aruz is finished one year after making its debut.

• Cool…please bring into Malaysia soon

• brainless consumer on Sep 27, 2019 at 5:55 am

Proud of proton? or it’s geely’s national car?

1. why has foreign car much expensive than national car?
    thus, Malaysia’s consumer has to suffer.
    2. KERAJAAN seksa rakyat. I smell Decentralize reformation! 1 day there will be no government.

• ThAboIT on Sep 27, 2019 at 2:31 pm

There are a lot of cheaper car options with adequate safety features nowadays. Some more, you don’t need a fast car in most places because it’s against the law to drive fast. This has nothing to do with gov. They don’t force you to buy the “expensive” cars. What most people want with those type of cars is basically just “style”. And mostly rich people buy expensive cars to reduce their tax a bit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • donut-trunk on Sep 27, 2019 at 10:10 am

china car r getting really good looking !!!

• Robinhood on Sep 27, 2019 at 10:15 am

Sell the highest variant at RM70k and Proton will sweep the market!

• Chris on Sep 27, 2019 at 10:21 am

The best price is from RM75-95K…

But knowing the Gov, they will force proton to price it 80-100k because Thanos think they are no longer a malaysian company…

would have been the best bang for bucks…

• normal_user on Sep 27, 2019 at 2:40 pm

Hi Li Chunrong
    70k to 80k please

• alldisc on Sep 27, 2019 at 4:39 pm

78k means already include profit margin. If you dig deep inside the CIF, actual car landed price can be as cheap as 30k. Why Malaysia 99k?

You know I know lah..

• granny on Sep 27, 2019 at 5:38 pm

can we have the Geely Coolray.

We dont want Proton X50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • granny on Sep 27, 2019 at 5:41 pm

1 thing is confirmed, Proton X50 branding is not available @ philipine.

I thought Geely will help Proton export to ASEAN.

• Clearly, this old lady still have problem differentiating left and right. Know what is left-hand and right-hand drive?

• Nazir on Sep 28, 2019 at 12:03 am

Philippines left hand drive market of course Proton not going to sell there.

• nasikandar on Sep 27, 2019 at 9:01 pm

Geely said that it wants to position Proton as the market leader in southeast asia. Hmmm

• Realist on Oct 08, 2019 at 10:52 am

Geely said Proton will be the RHD base/hub for ASEAN and other export markets lah…

• Unfortunately, even though “our” Proton is under Geely’s umbrella, we are not getting new cars in sooner than other countries. We will be 1.5 year behind Philippines for this Binyue. By the time we finally getting this full petrol variants, Philippines will launch Binyue’s PHEV version. Speaking of who is more advance.