SPIED: Proton X50 next to X70 CKD with taped up wheel caps and front emblem – new Proton logo?

We’re fast approaching the fourth quarter of the year, which is the period where Proton plans to introduce the locally-assembled X70 SUV. Our reader Wan Yoi spotted a test mule with all four of its wheel caps covered in camouflage tape, and the front Proton badge is also taped up as well.

Does this mean it will be launched together with the new Proton logo? Only time will tell. What we do know so far is that the X70 CKD is on track for launch this year – the Tanjung Malim plant has already produced its first body-in-white on April 10 this year, said company CEO Dr Li Chunrong.

Li also said the localisation content for the X70 CKD will be gradually increased to meet Proton’s commitment to its vendors, and the company has spent nearly 20 months laying the groundwork in preparation for localising the SUV.

Parked right next to the X70 prototype is the Geely Binyue, or informally coined as the Proton X50. Next to each other, the size difference between the B-segment X50 and C-segment X70 is obvious. The former clearly rides lower to the ground, which means entering and exiting the car feels more natural and convenient, if you will.

As siblings go, the rear end is quite distinctly different between the two, but even under all the heavy masking the X50 still manages to flaunt its strong shoulder line. It’s also fitted with the sportier, taller rear spoiler that’s featured in our walk-around video, which differs from another prototype mule that was spotted on the East Coast Expressway (LPT) last week.

Another key feature that can be picked out is that this camouflaged X50, presumably the range-topping sporty variant, rides on dual-tone 18-inch turbine-style wheels shod with 215/55 profile tyres, which is identical to the model here. This is not the same set of wheels that was featured on our digital rendering (pictured below), although those are also 18-inch items with the same tyre profile.

Now, the X50 is quite possibly the most anticipated SUV in the market right now, so that alone necessitates a brief recap. It’s built on Geely’s B-segment Modular Architecture (BMA), measuring 4,330 mm long, 1,800 mm wide and 1,609 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,600 mm. Two engines are available in China, starting with the base 1.0 litre three-cylinder making 134 hp and 205 Nm, mated to a six-speed manual gearbox.

The one that we’ll most likely be getting is the 1.5 litre unit that was co-developed with Volvo, which outputs 174 hp and 255 Nm. A seven-speed dual-clutch transmission drives the front wheels. There’s also the Binyue PHEV, which uses the same 1.5 litre block but comes with an electric motor and battery pack. The total system output is 255 hp and 415 Nm, with a pure electric range of 60 km.

For equipment, the Binyue boasts Level 2 autonomous driving, which bundles features such as adaptive cruise control, parking assist, and autonomous emergency braking (AEB). Other features include the famed GKUI system comprising a seven-inch LCD instrument panel and a 10.25-inch fully digital instrument cluster, among others. Expect the “Hi Proton” voice command functions to be featured as well.

If you’re interested to know all about Proton’s upcoming star, click here to find out everything on the X50 that we know thus far. Also, watch the walk-around video below to see exactly how it looks like on camera, as well as an early impression on cabin build quality and spaciousness.

GALLERY: Geely Binyue

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Voting here please on Sep 12, 2019 at 5:01 pm

(Like) Proton X70 and X50
    (Dislike) Mazda CX-5

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 249 Thumb down 77
    • tables on Sep 12, 2019 at 6:27 pm

most will buy this but not buy cx-5 because price will increase and mazda aftersales service is bad

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 30
    • Sambal udang on Sep 12, 2019 at 7:07 pm

Yes, we believe in you Mario. Toyota, Perodua, Honda, Mazda, Nissan and Hyundai are game over brands while Proton is a superior carmaker selling billions of cars worldwide

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 22
      • JOACHIM on Sep 13, 2019 at 7:07 pm

I don’t see Mercedes selling billions of cars worldwide yet nobody would call them a failure.

• Jihan on Sep 12, 2019 at 7:32 pm

Sudah lah Mario. enough of your voting polls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
      • JOACHIM on Sep 13, 2019 at 7:08 pm

The thing about eating sambal udang is, dia termakan cili dia terasa pedas.

• tikus found on Sep 13, 2019 at 7:58 am

is tikus put 45 votes? seems no one ever vote

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Celup King on Sep 13, 2019 at 8:14 am

Vote with money. No point voting here. And 40,000 have voted for X70.

• Protok on Sep 13, 2019 at 9:27 am

Cant believe protoz sales men position the car to compete with jepunis. Proton china made shall compare with volvo china made bang. X50 or xc40 is more relevant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
  • The breathing is heavy. The excitement intensifies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • Roti j. Sdn Bhd on Sep 12, 2019 at 7:18 pm

Even though the new X50 looks stunning but it’s still a China car. I would rather buy Korean and Japanese SUVs like Honda HR-V, Mazda CX-3, Hyundai Kona, Toyota CH-R, Nissan X-Trail and Perodua Aruz. You will feel more confident in driving those game changing SUVs than China SUVs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 53
      • Only delusional little u. The rest of the world has moved on and realised China has made gr8 progress. Caveman can continue to stay in ur cave.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
        • redpilled on Sep 13, 2019 at 11:43 pm

Go easy will ya? The dudes prolly just woke up from the nineties.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Sep 15, 2019 at 11:48 am

Dude its your money. So buy whatever you want. That doesnt mean other people would bother to have your opinion as its their money. They will buy whatever they feel is appropriate for them.

• gullible me on Sep 30, 2019 at 10:04 am

As my name suggests I’m very gullible but I don’t believe a single word of you. You mean to tell me you have all those SUVs? Then, why the heck you’re here for bashing like this? You have a different car to drive for Monday until Saturday. Sunday you just offday stay at home or maybe toll a dice to pick which one you want to drive.. coincidentally a dice have 6 faces! Don’t forget to label you cars with numbers from 1 to 6 as well so you’ll know which to drive. Also, number them with 1 as the car you like the most to 6 the car you like the least. I wonder which will get no.1 & 6. ok bye.

• “Does this mean it will be launched together with the new Proton logo?”
    No. Its normal for test mules to have taped up badges so pipu dun recognise which brand the new car is coming thou most pro carparazzi will knows anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • After X70, this will soon be the best ever car from P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • Celup King on Sep 12, 2019 at 5:20 pm

The faster they launch both X50 and X70CKD, the sooner Aruz will game over. Make it so Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 6
    • Muahahahahaha on Sep 12, 2019 at 6:18 pm

The faster mesia become junk yard for no rv and condem x70 n x50 in 5-10yrs time. No 2nd hand value and just lelong to besi buruk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 86
      • The fear is strong in this one.

• Syer1n on Sep 12, 2019 at 9:41 pm

People buy to use. If you have such money to change car every 5 years, just buy your alphard. Nobody cares about your choice. Only you stick your nose too far.

• U jealous ke

• Elton on Sep 12, 2019 at 11:27 pm

Only those who hate their cars will want to faster sell it and hope got high RV. Why do you hate your Japanese rides? Got no soul like a Proton is that it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • panjang on Sep 13, 2019 at 9:08 am

Something tells me someone is scared shit of the upcoming model.
        For me its all good with lower resale value. It makes owning safer car easier to the masses.

• Nazrin Shah on Sep 12, 2019 at 7:29 pm

I have no idea why we need Geely’s cars. Why can’t Proton make our own game changing SUV? 30 years of automotive engineering also still don’t know how to make our own SUV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
      • Brian on Sep 13, 2019 at 5:56 pm

No? Same reason why Toyota 100 years old still need BMW, Subaru & now Porsche help to make their own game changing sportscars. 30 years of automotive engineering also still don’t know how to make own sportscars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Sam KK Loo on Sep 16, 2019 at 8:15 pm

I have no idea why we need re-badged ToyoTaik’s unwanted junks. Why can’t Poodua make our own game changing cars? 25 years of automotive engineering also still making a tin cola junk cars and don’t know how to make our car chassis stronger and safer.

• ECONOMICS OF SCALE bro, learn that.
        if developing cars is that cheap, PROTON wouldn’t have any problem doing trial and error models.
        look at Iriz for example; a result of syiok sindri.
        the result? (1) current persona (used to be a reasonably handsome cheap car) had to be made that FUGLY and (2) Geely’s had to assist in clearing the mess by revamping both iriz and persona to make it more appealing to the market.
        as much as i would (personally) love to see PROTON succeed on its own, i thank god for Geely’s partnership.

imho, of course.

• Saravana Bhava on Sep 12, 2019 at 5:22 pm

We are also lucky that Malaysians are finally getting high spec and high safety cars.

Thank you Geely. Thank you China.

Geely is truly my National Car company!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 29
    • Siam kap on Sep 12, 2019 at 10:30 pm

We in Thailand also thank China for giving us a high spec national car. WM is my national car company! khob-kun-Krub China!
      https://paultan.org/2019/09/12/thailands-ptt-teams-up-with-chinas-wm-motors-to-distribute-and-produce-electric-cars-locally/

• Protok on Sep 13, 2019 at 9:28 am

National car? Except the grill that designed by malaysian. That cost RM80

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • grill price rm30k in malaysia, x70 starting price rm70k, in malaysia go up to rm99k.. cost of designing the grill alone possibly billiunn ringgit(rm30k per car)

• X50 kucing launch will kill fews thousand of Aruz tikus monthly.
    Tikus where are you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Saw it on MRR2, should have that perfect shot on the road.

• Heropro on Sep 12, 2019 at 6:52 pm

Give us new logo please. No more thundercats logo. Biggest turn off for me from buying proton is the childish logo.

• kenot on Sep 12, 2019 at 7:10 pm

i believe the buyers need to wait until 4-6 months to get their x50.

• Together on Sep 12, 2019 at 11:00 pm

X50 – Push Honda city to 3rd spot..

• panjang on Sep 13, 2019 at 9:09 am

The 1.5 PHEV should be made available here.

• 1.5 PHEV on Sep 13, 2019 at 2:44 pm

If come, will truly game over many hybrid cars….many will wonder why they bought overpriced hybrid….that cannot talk, cannot autopark….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Protok sales man on Sep 14, 2019 at 12:50 pm

Even the japan suv cant talk, it is still 10 times better than so called national car

• X50 FTW on Sep 13, 2019 at 9:20 pm

Stop teasing us already Proton. Hope they will launch the X50 early next year. X50 will be a game changer car. If Proton sell it at around RM70K to RM90k surely will sell like hot cake. This X50 can challenge the likes of Mazda Cx5, Cx3.. Honda HRV. Aruz is no match for this upcoming Proton X50 but then again it’s in a different segment but Aruz hv 7 seats. That we must wait for Proton’s new replacement for Exora.. Proton partnership will Geely definitely benefits proton. Well done. Hope to see Proton grow stronger and be a better automaker in the future.

• Zafar alam un 354-13C 15667 on Sep 14, 2019 at 10:06 am

Ok

• Three cylinder engines how to have four exhaust pipes?