Proton X70 CKD on track for 2H 2019 launch, local content to gradually increase to meet commitment

During a presentation on Proton’s future strategy yesterday, CEO Dr Li Chunrong shared a little of the company’s production plans for the near future. He reiterated that the national carmaker is on track to deliver a locally-assembled version of the X70 SUV within the second half of 2019, adding that the Tanjung Malim plant already produced its first body-in-white on April 10 this year.

Despite the introduction of an all-new model (and a number of other new models in the foreseeable future), Li said that the company only built two new plants for body assembly and trim and final assembly. This saves cost, and we assume that other production processes such as body stamping and painting will be conducted at existing facilities.

Li also said that the localisation of the CKD models will increase gradually to meet Proton’s commitment to its vendors – the company spent almost 20 months to localise the X70. The company has also promised to maintain a high level of local content for existing models, such as the recently-unveiled facelifted Saga.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Freezer on Aug 07, 2019 at 10:56 am

Second half is H2 not Q2. Title needs amendment.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Aug 07, 2019 at 10:57 am

My bad, the title has been amended. Thanks for pointing it out!

• Michael Wong on Aug 07, 2019 at 4:41 pm

I hope prices come down. Biggest joke is Proton X70 aka Boyue in China is RM59k. But come here become RM123k.

And I thought Proton was born to give Malaysians cheap cars being the National car company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
      • Siam kap on Aug 07, 2019 at 8:23 pm

Stop complaining and expecting tongkat from Proton, work harder so you can buy that X70. I know you can do it just work harder. The price isn’t high at all considered that X70 selling price is about same in Brunei.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
        • Kulit apa on Aug 09, 2019 at 10:15 am

Is the leather halal ? Tolong check !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
          • Orang Melayu takde pun kesah leather Nappa buatan sintetik halal ke apa, ni mamat kesah buatpe ye?

• Raja Kamarul on Aug 08, 2019 at 6:09 am

There are still people who think Malaysian made must be cheaper. If you want cheap, buy the Saga, Iriz or Persona. And yes, as Siam Kap said, work harder to afford the better equipped X70.

• Aikon on Aug 08, 2019 at 11:12 am

Cheap cars? And you want every bell and whistle in it? For cheap, go get the competitor. They make cheap cars for those who can’t afford anything else.

Cheap maybe was when they were launched way back in 1985…it is now 2019 and the company needs to move on away from the ‘cheap car’ image. Let the ‘cheap car’ image be taken by another brand. For the past 30 years they’ve been trying to do cheap cars…didn’t get them anywhere

• Logical Deduction on Aug 08, 2019 at 5:00 pm

Toyota Corolla first came out as a cheap A segmenter, now it’s inching towards D segment size and priced as such. Toyota was also born to give the world cheap cars but now their cars are no longer affordable to lower income groups. Biggest joke must be Toyota then.

• Blind One on Aug 13, 2019 at 9:46 am

Rm60k is for the base spec, non turbo, manual gearbox variant. Check a spec to spec comparison. Get your facts right.

• Real World on Aug 07, 2019 at 11:03 am

(Like) X70
    (Dislike) Santa Fe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 18
    • Mazda1530 on Aug 07, 2019 at 3:03 pm

Again, I can see spamming likes for his comment from our resident troll.

• Raymond on Aug 07, 2019 at 3:32 pm

Bro no need to lie lah! I can tell if it’s you by the english (no offence). Just admit it Wilson.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Roti Berhad on Aug 07, 2019 at 4:43 pm

Hyundai Santa Fe is a game changing SUV indeed as Proton have chosen Hyundai gearbox for their Proton Saga FL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Yazid on Aug 07, 2019 at 6:36 pm

What crap are you talking about Mario? How can 1 car have 3 different transmissions??

you ok up there brader?

• Celup King on Aug 08, 2019 at 10:06 am

Are you telling us Toyota & Perodua lost face for doing rebadging? So what?

• Sgt Scoop on Aug 07, 2019 at 11:12 am

What an achievement within 2 short years.
    Salute CEO Dr Li Chunrong! best CEO ever had

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • If the Standard X70 can get lowered to 80k+, bye-bye Aruz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • Cynthia on Aug 07, 2019 at 12:34 pm

Hope the ckd x70 can be had for rm70k and x50 at rm45k. Otherwise majority of the buyers will still go for the more superior Aruz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
    • Amran on Aug 07, 2019 at 3:49 pm

What? X50 rm45k? Iriz rm51k what?!!

• What are you smoking? “…. the more superior Aruz” compared to X70? And X50 at RM 45K?

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 08, 2019 at 11:20 am

I don’t want to be smoking that thing either…warped sense of reality occurs…

• EDITOR on Aug 08, 2019 at 3:21 pm

Aruz superior in what sense?

• Paula Tan on Aug 09, 2019 at 10:25 am

I told you not to drink expired milk so much…!!!
      see what happen?…you become a joker ohledi

• faizal azlan on Aug 15, 2019 at 5:41 pm

I hate to use this word but “bodohnye” Aruz is superior in what sense? only thing you got going for u its a left off the mill toyota which makes you a fan of toyota but cant afford one…

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 07, 2019 at 3:55 pm

Just make sure local vendors do not compromise on the quality. We do not wish to have another episode of poor quality local products on CKD models.

• panjang on Aug 07, 2019 at 5:13 pm

Actually there are plenty of local automotive vendor in My and some of them supplied parts to well known car manufacturers or their vendor. Some local vendor even supplied for high end european cars. For example, a local lighting parts manufacturer is currently serving 2 main german brand and a Swedish brand. That Swedish brand is owned by China brand which now owned a Malaysian brand. Surely this local vendor can serve the local brand.

Whats weird is that these vendor does not supplied to local make. Its down to previous management of running a business. Lets hope the new management ‘recognize’ these local vendor.

• Msia Driver on Aug 07, 2019 at 4:07 pm

impossible CKD X70 base model RM70k, Proton now need to earn as much as possible to cover their lost last time.
    for sure they will maintain the current price with add some gadget that all because now CBU X70 is selling like hot cake.

• john doe on Aug 07, 2019 at 5:18 pm

2H? wait for the excuse for 2020..

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 08, 2019 at 10:34 am

Increase of local content will reduce price of X70 in the future? Can local content quality be assured?

Your guess is good as mine…..

• Simon on Aug 14, 2019 at 10:21 am

I wonder when is the approximate date for launching of the CKD model. Already decided on the X70, just waiting for CKD to compare with the CBU