BYD Auto F3

It’s amazing what mainland China can come up with these days. Have a look at this sedan – the BYD Auto F3. It’s a B-class sedan weighing about 1200kg.

Doesn’t look too bad. From this angle, it looks something like the Toyota Corolla Altis. The tall, fat-boy luxury look.

From the back. I’m sure everyone knows this. It has the Honda City’s rear look.

From the front. It just oozes “Toyota Corolla Altis”.

The side profile reminds me of the Nissan Sentra we currently have on our market.

This made in China sedan is powered by a Mitsubishi 1.6 litre SOHC 4G18 engine, making 73kW at 6000rpm and 134Nm of torque at 4500rpm. Does the specs sound familiar? This is the exact same engine being used in our Proton Waja.

There we have it, a car that successfully combines elements of the Toyota Corolla Altis front, the Honda City rear, the Nissan Sentra side and a Mitsubishi heart.

This is the company logo. BYD seems to be a play on the word BMW, and the logo looks like the BMW logo except the middle circle is only divided into 2 sections instead of 4 sections.

*salute*

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• genitech on Oct 09, 2005 at 11:26 pm

paul…how bout the safety test???

• michly on Oct 09, 2005 at 11:30 pm

although is copycat.. but still good. . not bad.. Japan also start with copycat US

• the looks is fine,

as usual of china car,

so far,

the quality SUCK!

even the chinese are not buying locally..

(except QQ – chevy baby copy"- dirt cheap only RMB20k)

I will go for korean-proven, for extra few grand.

• dorjee on Oct 10, 2005 at 12:39 am

Ken, this is a under-statement.

Have you been to China?

Do you know how many chinese-made cars on the road in China?

Do you know how many chinese car manufacturer in China?

Have you driven a chinese-made cars before?

It is just too easy to be an arm chair critic…

• …still, if buying foreign, i'll save for japanese cbu, even recond jap also can..

• fulat2k on Oct 10, 2005 at 2:01 am

Wow…. This takes plug-n-play to a whole new level. And yet, it still doesn't look *that* bad.

• rainbow7j on Oct 10, 2005 at 2:01 am

I wont buy a SOHC what so ever :p

no power :p

• Is_me on Oct 10, 2005 at 2:17 am

actually chinese car overall better than malaysia, can see even their local brand car also better than iswara & wira. Been there last year in beijing, can see many many brand cars are there with much better advance car than bolehland, which is full with plotong crap.

• macspeed on Oct 10, 2005 at 2:28 am

u can buy china made cars…provided they r made by reputable companies…like toyota n honda n so on…..by their own cars….so far what i have seen from pauls web and in showroom…..r poor copycats n super suck quality………its easy to kutuk our own car….but please dont supprt other makes even though they suck…

• macspeed on Oct 10, 2005 at 2:29 am

i mean their own chinese makes r horrible….

• Shaun on Oct 10, 2005 at 3:17 am

rainbow7j: SOHC no power? i dunno about that but I drive a n/a 3.5L V6 making 230bhp

Cheers mate :)

• Shaun on Oct 10, 2005 at 3:19 am

Which is SOHC. Sorry i forgot to add that in

• e-Nabill on Oct 10, 2005 at 3:43 am

all car brands in one car….y buy toyta/nissan/honda wer u can get all of thm in one car?n y copy design from one car wer thy can copy from three cars?!!dats the way ! n i cant believe ppl actually praising such a fake sh*t…..wat the heck is hapening la….i take a 1995 saga anytime anyday n wil be stil proud of it!

• (the looks is fine,

as usual of china car,

so far,

the quality SUCK!

even the chinese are not buying locally..

(except QQ – chevy baby copy”- dirt cheap only RMB20k)

I will go for korean-proven, for extra few grand.

-yes, i am talking from my china biz experience. and i mean china-branded like BYD, Chery etc..U name it, they are all coming to Msia.

– RM40K range u get Jazz, City, Hyundai, Chevy, Vios

– china-made foregin car are dirt cheap: RM100k range, u can get accord2.4, mazda6 2.3, toyota MARK 2.4!!!!!, teaanna, (full spec. includes Massage Chair etc.!!!)

– new BMW 325 RM160k etc..

– CRApyy**** AP, PROToooo, Produaaaa…

– what do Thai know about Car Making,

– Msia suppose to be the detroit of ASEAN.

– pity, or else we malaysians will be enjoying US, china foreign-car buying value. (and save some money for better houses and schools!)

• blackhead on Oct 10, 2005 at 4:43 am

what?

you like Toyota? you like honda? you like nissan too? also mitsu engine?

this is what you're to buy!! grab your own BYD F3 now!!

ROTFL

• well, if you guys can't see many Chery 160A in Malaysia street, you will know the expectation of Malaysian is getting higher and higher.

Very rough finishing, outdated shape, price at waja level, I would say even our Proton Waja overiding Chery 160A many many times. :)

• e-Nabill on Oct 10, 2005 at 6:50 am

i saw one the othr day in jln ampang had a red DCXXXX number plate,i persume its frm a an embassy,obviously chinese embasy…i tink the driver looked very embaresed! he wd have had so much more dignity driving a kancil with a manhole size exhaust!

• cbljkkj on Oct 10, 2005 at 7:48 am

A single over head cam engine does not mean it has no power, basically the differences between an SOHC and DOHC engine is that the DOHC has two cams per head and allows more intake.

• narrowband on Oct 10, 2005 at 10:04 am

There some very high-powered AMG models with SOHC.

• DOHC is not nessarily more powerful than SOHC, it just means that with one extra cam the engine has more power in higher RPM than the SOHC. it doesnt mean a DOHC will always beat an SOHC (whether on the dyno or on the street).

you guys have been screwed by the media..

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 10, 2005 at 5:13 pm

I agreed with Swee,

SOHC and DOHC had no big difference in terms of Performance. Only during HIGH RPM (or HIGH SPEED maybe over 140km/j or 5000rpm), DOHC might be a little better than SOHC due to CAM and Rocket Arm inertia forces and friction acting on Rocket Arm are much higher on SOHC.

Imagine 1 cylinder has 4 valves and 1 engine has 12 valves. Each valve has a Rocket arms to push the Valve for air inlet and outlet. 12 rocket arms focus on one single CAM rod (SOHC) compare to 2 CAM rods (DOHC) and each only push the vavle directly without Rocket arms. But during normal city driving speed, no body can actually feels the difference and performance is nearly the same.

In general, SOHC engine is low cost and cheaper in terms of maintance compare to DOHC. Therefore for economy user SOHC still better than DOHC.

For Racer DOHC only has a little advantage than SOHC.

I believed ppl buying DOHC because of Advertisment or based on friends comments or Auto trend and their are not fully understand the PRO and CON of it.

• honda_driver on Oct 10, 2005 at 5:46 pm

as usual, many people who hang out in forums or blogs love to make comments that are immature, baseless and are not based on any evidence or fact whatsoever.

at least i can say i'm proud that proton has managed to come up with a car thats completely their own design, good or bad. China are just copying wholesale. As seen in the landwind's NCAP crash test, they can only copy the look, but not the engineering.

All the other successful manufacturers today have been in the business at least 40 years or more. Proton at 20 odd years can still make it. Even a good idea needs time to succeed.

• narquis on Oct 10, 2005 at 6:05 pm

anyone heard of DADI distirbutor in MAlaysia ? I saw one of their showroom in Old Klang road. But, it was closed though there is a signboard.

• Nameless on Oct 10, 2005 at 6:10 pm

China automotive industry will forever mark as world international COPYCAT! Goodthing,COPY, bad bad thing also copy. China engineer must work very relax everday doing copying others people product. Think better Proton learn from them cause proton remarkable success was copy but not well study.Ha……….!! my word is true

• MutantTomato on Oct 10, 2005 at 8:35 pm

Hahahahahaha!!! What a Piece of Shit!!! :D Well, put it this way l… At least we can be sure that Chinese car makers are consistent…. consistent in churning out spectacular pieces of shit!

And BYD? What does that stand for la? "Buy Your Death?"

• leuco on Oct 10, 2005 at 9:15 pm

Honda_driver. Just to be hornest with you brother…I'm agreed with your explaination at least ppl not just give easy make coment. Whatever proton make a car from ground work not just pick & copy. meanwhile, hopefuly proton hard work to improve vendors part and design.

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 10, 2005 at 9:40 pm

hmm…

the chinese is very serious about this automotive industry…

many brands available…..

but it's sure that they're made to trick their local chinese people…lol

• stupid rafidah on Oct 10, 2005 at 10:07 pm

nice looking car

at least the ass nicer than the new cuty facelift

10/10 for the design

i think they should keep this car and up their quality and they can go against the koreans and the japanese

• pycazu on Oct 10, 2005 at 10:49 pm

Hey guys..

Even it's copycat product, but doesn't mean that China's engineers do nothing. Yes, they are reali superior in duplicate others's work, but they also talented to make it better than others.

China used to follow Korean in computer system and cybercafe management but nowadays their technology more advance than them too much… and they publish the knowleadge free on9…

We must aware that Chinamen must be doing better and better then…

• yeong on Oct 10, 2005 at 10:50 pm

i m dreaming our national car canB a copycat too.

• Jason on Oct 10, 2005 at 11:22 pm

I think Paul is being sarcastic by saluting to this car??? Btw, after looking at the safety crash of China cars, no way i will consider one. Maybe in 20 years time.

• Streamyx User on Oct 11, 2005 at 12:17 am

HAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAH

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHAHAHAHAHHA

HAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

AAAAAAAAHhAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHA

The funniest shit for today. Really made my day. Don't la guys backup because of race or anything, its damn fakes are noticible.

The logo is f**king hilaious. WOW.

• napps on Oct 11, 2005 at 12:33 am

BYD – BUANG YOUR DUIT

• napps on Oct 11, 2005 at 12:36 am

from www.autoindex.org

"Formerly known as Xi'an Qinchuan, Byd Automobile Company was set up in early 2003 when mobile phone battery maker, Byd acquired 77 per cent of equity shares.

Originally the Qinchuan Machinery Factory first ventured into automobiles back in the mid-1980s with copies of the Honda Today and the Fiat 126. In 1992 the factory was among the few companies which introduced licence-produced Suzuki Alto. This version was called the Qinchuan QCJ 7080.

The company's first self-developed model, called Flyer (QCJ 7081B) was introduced in 2001. About 20000 were made in 2003 as Byd is restructuring the company".

Just about every Tom, Dick and Harry are making cars these days in China…

• napps on Oct 11, 2005 at 12:39 am

check out the autoindex website. they've even made a knock-off BMW called the F6!

• MutantTomato on Oct 11, 2005 at 1:58 am

Ok ok, creative people out there, we need more of what BYD could possibly stand for. We don't want what the company says it means. We want the truth! So far, we have two:

1. (MutantTomato) Buy Your Death.

2. (Napps) Buang Your Duit. – Niiiiiiiice one bro! :P

Any others willing to give it a shot? Please give proper names ok! The three words have to make a phrase with meaning. So, don't just tibai 3 words like Bitch Yucks Dumb or something like dat… We are smart people. We can come up with something original; unlike them "Maoderplukkers!"

Ahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!! XD

• Irmis Peterson on Aug 18, 2015 at 7:11 am

Bust Your Dream
      I am lady almost on pension. Bought 2nd and 3rd hand cars all my life. ,but decided to go out with a bang my last few working years and finally bought my 1st new car,which supposedly I will finish pay as I go on pension.
      I will tell no lie ,I felt like the Queen of Sheba finally in a new car.All the modern and suffisticated upgrades I missed along the years ,I got in the car. It was realyy a Dream come through. But then the headache started after 8 months.Last week I in was at the garage 3 times.Today I decided I want a new car . I am too old to be hopping on busses or relying on friends for a ride ,after all that is not the reason I bought a new car. Tomorrow i have an appointment with the sales man.I am eager to hear his arguments

• gegaoff on Oct 11, 2005 at 4:09 am

yupe, chinese brand should call COPY CAT.

but hope u guys notice: they making money..

am i right?

i think is better than even copy also tak boleh pakai…

just a though… anyway.

• Steven on Oct 11, 2005 at 5:44 am

Come on, everyone. Don't get fooled by this pic. I am 100% sure the pic of this car is a computer generated fake! Ha ha!

• Nigel Pond on Oct 11, 2005 at 9:19 am

I see a trademark infringement suit on the horizon…

• Michael Chua on Oct 11, 2005 at 7:39 pm

Looks very much like the Corolla Altis, doesn't it?

• epalhead on Oct 11, 2005 at 9:06 pm

copycat……

• epalhead on Oct 11, 2005 at 9:08 pm

have u guys been in china????

beatiful, the people ok, and its a copycat country…wakakakaka

• Michael Chua on Oct 11, 2005 at 11:29 pm

That's what the Chinese are very good at. Copycat. As the saying goes, those who can't lead, follow in the rear.

• Joshua on Oct 12, 2005 at 1:17 am

when i compare proton and this china car manufacturer, at least i'm a little proud of proton that they did not just copy and paste. at least they got those designs legally and then they worked on their own original designs. the juara and savvy might be ugly, but at least original. the world might laugh at proton, but will give us more respect than those china carmakers.

• SEE FU on Oct 12, 2005 at 1:49 am

BYD: Burn Your Dollar

BYD: Bet Your Day

BYD: Bloody Yaw Dog

BYD: Bye2 You're Death

BYD: Besure You Death

BYD: Burn Your Dick

YAU MO kAU……..CHOU!!!! Which is better arrr!! DPP = Don't Play Play lah is much better.

• honourMe on Oct 12, 2005 at 5:21 am

Bring You Dead. no kidding.

• keniJI on Oct 12, 2005 at 6:28 pm

Ken said, in china U can buying these type of Bargian Value Car!!-

I guess,

it is time to move to "CHINA then to enjoy Car VAlue.

– RM40K range u get Jazz, City, Hyundai, Chevy, Vios

– china-made foregin car are dirt cheap: RM100k range, u can get accord2.4, mazda6 2.3, toyota MARK 2.4!!!!!, teaanna, (full spec. includes Massage Chair etc.!!!)

– new BMW 325 RM160k etc..

• proton crap on Oct 12, 2005 at 7:34 pm

Poor engine

• FiveElements on Oct 13, 2005 at 12:16 pm

The more i read PAUL's blog….the more i feel being rip off by proton…….

THink when u buy a car, 40% goes to the government 40% goes to AP holder 20% cost of the car……:(

• SEE FU on Oct 13, 2005 at 3:53 pm

5element Arr!!

I agreeedd with U man!!

But what can wee do?

We all knew that, all car cost is less than RM20K per unit, all cost goes to Tax, Designer, Advertising, Big Ular, Crony, …….Under table, On table, …….AP Kings….Dealer,……Salemans,……….Then cost RM100k ++…..even with the CHEAP car in JAPAN honda Jazz or Nissan March…. in Bolehland.

Same as POTONG…..I think POTONG is not Cheap too, they should selling RM30K for SaWi and RM50K for Waja and RM40K for Gen2…..for Iswara case RM15K and below cause it is 30 year old technology….CRASH TEST results maybe negative!!! not even ZERO compare to China car.

YAU MO KAU……..CHOU!!!……..Yeah only BOLEHLAND BOLEH!!

• "40% goes to the government 40% goes to AP holder 20% cost of the car", how can say rip off by proton?

say lah rip off by G, AP holder!

• December on Oct 13, 2005 at 11:08 pm

Paul, how much is this trash anyway? avaiable in msia yet?

• December on Oct 13, 2005 at 11:13 pm

drive this car, park it in such a way which your friends in the mamak can only see the side profile of it, the second day park it again, this time the front is visible, third day, make the rear visible, and on the fourth day, your friends would be asking…dude…you have 3 different cars eh? one forking way to play rich man, BYD, i support you to the bones

ROFLMAO :D :D :D

• keniJI on Oct 14, 2005 at 5:01 am

frankly, the chinese employ Italian- panonini house to design thier national cars,

DAMN look good!

Keep U eyes open:

u will "suprise these new CHERY, GEELY etc.

those chinese imports that are coming to malaysia.

(but quality is still a question mark,

give me 5-10 years, will be as good as KOREAN)

SOON, we will be seeing AUDI, VW, JAZZ, GM etc…

(made-in-china, because of their large local market and econ. size)

EXPORTING as CBU to ASEAN!

• BYD supporter on Oct 18, 2005 at 7:09 pm

This car is approved by the government will be sold at RM52K.

All BYD cars are approved by the CCC which is the body for car standards in China. Even all BMW and Mercs have to go through this test to be certified approved for road worthiness.

• epalhead on Oct 29, 2005 at 5:54 pm

WHAT???

• Ferarri on Nov 05, 2005 at 5:54 pm

I saw a forummer said that Chev Optra 1.8 only has a price tag of USD4.5K, after conversion, less than RM20K, how much we pay OTR? More than RM100k. So what are you guys complaining about? It's a korean car too-just GM rebadged. This chinese car uses waja engine – for those who think that waja's engine is obsolete-think again. Mitsubishi Lancer RM106K for 1.6 is also using 4G18 engine. Go figure! So stop complaining about proton all the time, if you got money to burn, pls buy imports.

• kkrit ilovewasa on Nov 08, 2005 at 9:08 pm

From the front. It just oozes “Toyota Corolla Altis”.

From the rear. It just oozes "Honda City"!!!!!!!!!! I was confirm about that, because I have a honda city too!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I don't want to seen them copying my car too!!!!!!!! But another cars is Chinese's victims too!!!!!!!!

Is chinese copycating? Japanese copycated in 1930s too!

Why Chinese cars like mitsubishi engines??????

Brilliance Zhonghua = 4G63S4M

BYD F6 = 4G64S4M

Jiangling Langwind using mitsu engine too.

Hafei Saibao………. www.autoblog.com said it using mitsu engine again!!!!!!!

I want to see video about they was crash test!!!!!!

I want to see video about BYD F3/F6/Flyer crash test!!!!!!

• Chineseman on Nov 16, 2005 at 9:36 am

First 10 units of BYD F3 cars are coming into "Tanah Air" for R&D in December..

Lets see how they fare in the tests…

• JDMfreak (Member) on Mar 06, 2006 at 7:59 am

oh my god.

A complete rip of the corolla altis. The chinese are really good at industrial espionage…

I'd take the junk from ancient china over this piece of unoriginality.

Poor poor effort by BYD (whatever it stands for)

Paul, you should update your article on china piracy on this.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 11:11 pm

There's no doubt that it lacks originality and/or creativity, but hey, at least it's not as weird as the quirky and tasteless Geely (geli!).

• mill (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 8:25 am

A rip off all the way around. It’s not enough exporting poison all over the world? Now China have to copycat cars and act like they made some high quality stuff? At least stop exporting lead painted toys and poison toothpastes laced with Prestone antifreeze. If you want to do 0-60 in 15+ seconds and want to die in a 15MPH crash, go ahead and buy this crap. For me, I would hope that someone will teach the dirty Chinese a lesson with unforgivable and brutal lawsuits. And they are going to come in waves.

• drwho (Member) on Jan 19, 2008 at 7:21 pm

15 january 2008
    BYD F3 – a Chinese car with a European safety level

The last crush test was held at Dmitrovsky Poligon (testing ground) during the last days of 2007. Why was it special? First, a car of BYD, one of the most promising Chinese car manufacturers, was tested. Secondly, the test was held according to EuroNCAP rules which are considered among the most advanced today. These rules are not mandatory in Europe yet, but they are the ones all leading brands use to test their cars. And now that was the test for BYD F3 distributed to Russia by IRITO company. That was IRITO to decide to test the car to check its compatibility with high world standards.

According to the rules of a front-face EuroNCAP crush-test, a car collides with a shock-absorbing wall driving 64 km/h. BYD F3 tested was equipped by two safety bags (for a driver and a passenger). The bags worked perfectly – they saved the mannequins from the hit on their head. The engine compartment was considerably damaged, however, the cabin had enough living space for both the driver and the passenger. A slight fold on the roof did not prevent the driving door to open, which makes the car even safer, though this fact does not influence the EuroNCAP evaluation result. Contemporary solutions used in BYD F3 made it possible for this car to show considerably good result among the representatives of Chinese car manufacturers.

Because of the fact BYD F3 was not tested with a side collision test, it got a normal grade – 10.2 points out of 16. Compare with its main rival – a flagship of Russian passenger cars – Lada Priora which got only 10.56 points.

So, Chinese cars are slowly winning the Russian market. The fact that apart from a low price these cars can provide a normal safety level is rather optimistic.

http://www.eng.auto-dealer.ru/articles/event.php?id=25593

http://youtube.com/watch?v=yAskckqdCLk

if this what 40 mph look like then i am sure you won’t die in 15 mph.

Buy this or proton ?

• Altezzar (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 8:18 am

Here we go again…..another china rubbish… No Shame……
    And why is it when third world car maker always use Mitsubishi engine or
    Renault. Must be cheap and nasty.

• jaygan (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 8:23 am

I am disgusted with the Chinese (from China), for not coming out with their own design. Maybe the Chinese lacks creativity learning when young, due to their education system – every study is just momorize momorize momorize momorize momorize momorize.

As if the poison milk that tarnished their image is not enuf, now this (of course it has been like this all along). -sigh-

• Kris-n-china on Aug 06, 2009 at 7:48 am

I live in China and have worked for Mercedes, Ford, and GM.

I'm personally going to the dealer this weekend to check the BYD (build Your Dream- sounds like a load-da-crap0.

I have been looking for a cheap car to run mack and forth to the local school in and i've hired two taxi's using this car.

I gotta say, so far it does look like a nice multi-clone. I have spent 20 years in the automotive world from top to bottom and so far i think this car might actually show up in the states soon. So far from my inspection of the year old taxi cars i am blown away at the actual quality to price.

I have worked on, built and repaired my fair share of cars and so far I gotta say I'm serious about a purchase. I'll confirm that thought his weekend when I get my chance to pick this thing apart.

Chris Carter- engineer/ technician/ designer

• cost???

• Ben Dover on Nov 09, 2009 at 2:50 pm

the BYD F3 is a lot of car for a little money. Mine is just fine and I'm happy with it.

• aoday on Feb 08, 2012 at 11:53 pm

I like to mention that Europeans laugh so cry when they see cars at the beginning of Japanese industry in the last they took a lot are crying and the Americans, and that history is repeated now